Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Orchards Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Clacton On Sea > The Orchards Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) Reviews

The Orchards Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
St Osyth
Clacton On Sea
Essex   (Browse area)
CO16 8LJ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vbailey 3 reviews from this member

We spent 5 nights in our tent over the bank holiday weekend.

On arrival the site and the touring area was well sign posted, the touring warden met us and we drove through. We could pick a pitch and chose over the far side by some hedges. Our pitch was grassy, had electricity and water. It was a good size, plenty of room for our big tent, canopy, 2 cars and room for the children to play!

The toilet block is located in the centre of the touring area. There is 4 big washing up sinks and drainers. A freezer for ice packs and a vending machine for snacks and drinks. You need a code to open the door to the toilets and showers. There were plenty of toilets and 4 showers (1 being a family). They were always clean, with loo roll, soap and plenty of hot water. There are benches & chairs. A squeegee to mop the floor and lots of hair dryers and hand driers.

There is a small children's play park next to the touring site and lots of space for the kids to run, cycle and play.

It is a short walk through the site to the main centre of the holiday park. Here we found and indoor and outdoor pool, with plenty of sun loungers to watch the kids. A big play park. The entertainment centre, arcades, Mash and Barrell pub, large very well stocked and reasonably priced Spar shop, sports courts and lots of other bits for the kids to do.

The pool areas we found to be clean although too small for the amount of people. The arcades were good, a lovely atmosphere in there. The pub was fine, reasonably priced drinks, the bar staff are unfriendly though.

There were lots of activities going on to keep the kids amused, some free and some paying. There was a really good atmosphere down by the outdoor pool, I am sure the sunshine helped!

You can hire bikes, karts and go on boat trips.

The sea wall walk looked lovely although we did not do this (run out of time!)

On site there is a pizza place, which is very yummy but pricey (but most take out pizza is) They do deliveries as well! There is also a fish chip shop and a Chinese, which we did not use.

The reason I have not given it full stars it because the entertainment is terrible! The complex singers are completely out of tune, and rather painful to listen too. The visiting band we saw was very good The kids entertainment was OK, lots of the usual games etc but the seaside squad is pre recorded horrible voiced and allowed no interaction with the children.

Some reviewers have mentioned the housing estate in the park. It is a bit odd but its more like the original houses and chalets that were there and the park has grown around them and encompassed them! It gives character!

All in all in is a fantastic holiday park. We will definitely be returning. Loved it!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spask 1 review from this member

Toilet block was clean most of the time however it did smell bad in both ladies and mens. Loads of mossies in there so bring your repellent. There is a larger shower in both which can be used with children but there are only total of 4 showers in each.

Washing up facility clean with 3 sinks not too much queuing and freezer for blocks was available.

Electric pitch was large with the water/electric facility just behind the tent (again beware of mossies!)

Child's play area near the campsite was good but got a little boisterous in the evening sometimes the screaming going on till midnight.

If you have children and want to take advantage of the activities you must book in advance (as soon as you arrive!) As they get booked up very quickly. Swimming pool area indoor and outdoor was good if a little small, could do with more sunbeds outside as again these go very quickly.

We had a young child with us and were a bit shocked with some of the language used by the other kids. If this worries you then I suggest you give the site a miss.

Papa Johns Pizza we used once and was very tasty also the Spar on site was useful and not overly expensive.

Overall we felt the pitch was overpriced even with the extra facilities. Average clients are what you would expect from a 'kiss me quick' UK resort. I'm afraid we will not be returning for anything more than a single night.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monstermash800 3 reviews from this member

This was our second stay at The Orchards Haven site.

The site as last time was very very clean, the warden there does an amazing job and is always willing to help out, she even lent our friends we were travelling with an electric hook up.

As this was our second time on site, we knew what to expect so arrived for the kids entertainment early as it does get busy. If you stay here you must order the Hoy Burger from the Fish and Chip place.

An amazing site for the price, and maintained by the best warden we have ever met!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Delightfulmonkeyys 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, tidy and set out well although was a little cramped. The toilets and showers were clean most of the time. There is a code you have to put in to get in to the toilets which is a bit annoying at 3 in the morning. The showers were lovely and hot, there is also a wet room which was handy for me and my toddler.

On every pitch was electric, water and a light which was on all night (it seemed like day time at 2 in the morning)

My boys (10, 8) loved the playground and the area set aside for football games. If I was in this area I would use this campsite again.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Insurancegeezer 4 reviews from this member

My parents used to have a static van here when I was growing up, but I havent been back in 5 years. We purchased our first tourer this year and have been to lots of places in UK, last weekend we wanted 2 nights with 15 year old daughter and her 16 year old, decided to try point clear as under an hour from us.

Upon arrival we head to the touring reception (too many road bumps!) A really helpful lady warden (from Lowestoft)let us choose us pitch, all pitches have a fresh water tap next to them (Assume this is a hangover from when static vans were sited here), lovely flat pitch, if you pitch caravan sideways with awning at front you get a nice roomy pitch

Shower etc - Small shower block no where near enough showers for the size of the touring site.

As people have said this is a massive site, part village, part Haven, part private site.

Swimming pools - A let down to me when went in a very hot Sept, the outdoor pool was closed for season, though it looked like it had been closed for a while, this outdoor pool is very small for the size of the site. The indoor pool is very shallow and quite small, when outdoor pool is closed this gets very busy. Right next to the touring site is two lovely outdoor pools and jacuzzi etc but these are owner only :(

Entertainment - the main club etc are fine, usual for a Haven, overpriced, too hot and always a strange smell.

Other activities - Bowling green, fun pedal go karts, fishing lakes and pitch and putt.

At other end of point clear, on the point is a pub called Ferry Boat Inn this is a proper pub and has been there many years, it offer pub grub and drinks at a decent/normal price, the pub has a nice kids play area, seating outside and covered outdoor seating area, there is entertainment most evenings. Next to the Ferry Boat Inn is a small amusement arcade, slightly older machines but good price, the amusements has a burger/chip take-away. Opposite the amusements is a small cafe.

The other side of Ferry Boat Inn is a Martello tower which is a small museum dedicated to war, well worth a look around.

Restaurant - there is a nice independent restaurant call Tudor Rose (turn first left at entrance round-about)this is righ on see wall and serves good cheap meals.

Take-aways - There is the usual Papa-Jones pizza in the complex, an independent Chinese take-away on road between main haven complex and ferry boat inn, also there are Indian and chips shops in next village of St Osyths.

Walks - I would recommend getting up on the sea wall just to the left of the main entrance round about and walk right along the sea wall, stop at ferry boat inn for a pint then carry on around along the grass sea wall.

The best thing we found was that as we were not there peak season, there was no pressure on us packing up early on Sunday, we packed up at 17:00.

On the whole nice place you can do the Haven thing and spend a small fortune or relax in your caravan.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne1658 3 reviews from this member

We don't normally visit these larger sites because when we have previously the size of pitch had put us off, being crammed in isn't what we want when we go camping! But was pleasantly surprised with this one, very spacious pitches, and the warden a lady called ann was very helpful, we was told on the phone that there was no electric available ? but when we turned up she managed to find us a space with electric.

The site itself we all gave it a 9 out of 10.

My husband said the was only 3 toilet cubicles in the gents, and for a site that size more are needed. My only problem was the washing up area only 3 sinks !? and had to queue a couple of times, its nothing major but quite frustrating.

Pool good, easy access to beach, facilities and haven entertainment excellent as always.

We would go back for another visit soon

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bullrog 3 reviews from this member

This was the second time we visited this site (the first was July 2010) we thought it was very good then although did get eaten alive by flys / Mosquitoes. We didn't have such worries in April!

The first time I booked I was told by the central booking number that anything over 20ft had to have 2 pitches? So between 3 tents we were told we had to book 5 pitches.

When we got there the pitches were plenty big enough for 1 each. We didn't make the same mistake this April. The pitches aren't marked out that clear but generally didn't cause any issues.

The shower block was generally very clean there is one larger family type shower room in the gents shower with space for clothes other wise clothes can get wet. Also the showers are the type where you have to keep pressing the button. The hot water did run out a few times, probably as the site was full but frustrating none the less.

Great facilities on site indoor and outdoor pool the changing rooms however are completely inadequate with space for 2-3 people in a site that can hold so many people isn't good. I assume that they expect most people to wander back to their

Tents/caravans to get changed.

The site is huge with lots for everyone to do nice play park close to the camping area. Will definitely go back as lots to do on and off site.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jshores 7 reviews from this member

Just got back from a 4 night break here. On first impression the site looked tidy and clean.

Upon arrival the touring warden was about on the park but when she arrived we were greeted with a nice welcome. We were shown to our pitch and as there was only 1 other tent we were allowed to pitch anywhere within a specified range.

Grass was almost flat and a bit bare in places showing the green netting underneath. We pitched opposite the children's play area so we could keep an eye on our children.

The camping field is quite open, there is no shelter so if you have some strong winds (as we did) the tent will get a bit if a battering as the winds tend to come straight across the site.

Took a walk round the huge site and enjoyed the walk along the sea wall which goes all around the site. There is a also a pub on the site at the far end from the touring field.

The Spar shop on site had limited stock and what they had was a bit pricey. There is a Nisa Local a few minutes outside the site or a large Tesco just outside Clacton. The club looked okay when we walked through but never sampled it at night. The indoor pool was okay a little small and got crowded quite quickly. Also found that if you timed it wrong you would have to wait for a changing room. Also found the pool to be quite gritty and ended up scrapping our feet several times.

There is a multi use sports complex but is only 1 court but is mainly set up for football unlike other Haven sites where they have small basketball courts alongside the large court.

The toilet and shower block on the touring field was okay and relatively clean. There were 3 normal size showers and 1 family shower in each of the ladies and mens, although there was only one hook on the door but later noticed there is a plastic patio chair placed near the sinks in which you can use to store your clothes whilst showering. There is also some hairdryers in both sets. There are 3 deep sinks for washing up in and hot water was not a problem.

Found the site quite noisy at night whether it was people walking /shouting back to their caravans or people revving their cars up and wheel spinning.

Overall for the price we paid the site was okay and we would probably go back but out of season because I can see that in peak season they will try to get as many tents in as possible like other Haven sites tend to do.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bec_xx 8 reviews from this member

Our first ever camping trip. Family of five and not knowing if we would enjoy it or not?

On arrival we were told by reception to go to the camping area and find the warden.

We did just that and were greeted with no more than Name? and Go pitch somewhere over there!

Its a free for all with pitching on this site and it doesn't seem as though anyone checks the spaces between tents. We had some one set up next to us and their ropes crossed with ours along one side.

We pitched by the road as it was the only space big enough for our tent. Wasn't a bad pitch and we had a clear view of the children on the park which was helpful with three little ones.

Noise levels were high and it did not go quiet till gone 1am maybe later at times with people leaving the club.

Lighting was poor at night on the camping area so would advise keeping a torch handy for late toilet trips.

The price was great £33 for three nights with fun passes included. Only let down was there are no electric tent pitches.

The site was nice, the facilities were clean. The pool was gritty and got very over crowded and allowing ball games in there it got very rough for the kids at one point.

Clubhouse was ok, things for the kids to do throughout the day. For a haven site we saw very little staff, we had to go find them for the kids activities. I remember as kids we were asked by staff walking round if we wanted to join the clubs.

The night entertainment was good but the drinks and other bits very expensive. Not good for a family on a budget.

Overall a nice holiday and we would go back for a short break.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Prematurity 2 reviews from this member

We went to this site the last week in august, there was 4 of us plus a dog.

We was not overly impressed with this site and this surprised us after reading past reviews.

Firstly I will list the good points, the toilet block is indeed new and their seemed to be plenty for size of site, 3 washing up sinks in a covered area, the sinks were the biggest I have seen and you can easily wash a cadac grill in them fully submersed, the water points are shared between 2 pitches and drains were basically road drains located along the road (a bit smelly whilst emptying I am afraid). Also the site is very flat. So no problem for wheelchairs.

The site is very child friendly with all the usual things you would expect.

Thats all the good points I am afraid.

When we drove onto touring side of the orchards we were immediately thinking oh no, the site just looked untidy and scruffy, there was litter everywhere and the grass was quite long, my wife was told over the phone that the pitches were astro turf now I'm sorry but plastic netting under laid grass is not astro turf, it was still patchy and weedy the same as any other grass pitch, so sorry but please don't make it out to be something it is`nt.

To be quite honest we never saw the warden tidying up the site at all and even though there were pitches empty, there was no grass cutting except for where the statics are.

The toilets although new were not particularly clean, tiles and shower curtains had all sorts of dirt on them.

Haven describe this site as dog friendly, unfortunately it is not! there is one main road/path through site and the start of this from the touring field is full of glass please be careful with your dogs paws.

If you carry on down this road you come to the main complex which is out of bounds for dogs and as all outside eating/drinking areas are facing into the complex you cannot even have a cup of coffee or something to eat, this becomes a problem if it is too hot in the caravan and you have no choice but to take them out with you, there are lots of areas around the statics where you could walk but cant because no dogs are permitted basically the only place you can walk with the dogs is to the shop or around the sea wall, when I questioned reception on the policy of dogs not being allowed in the outdoor areas of the complex I was told that it was health and safety and dogs were not permitted in any outdoor pedestrianised area at all even in shopping centres or markets in towns, however this is the first we have ever had heard of this.

Also there seems to be no enforcement of the noise policy in place as we were frequently kept awake until 1 or 2 am with kids screaming and shouting or people in tents shouting.

So we cant really comment on the actual complex as we did not spend much time in it.

Unfortunately we struggled to find much to do in the surrounding area, we went to jimmys farm which was ok would recommend the sausages although quite expensive (£11 for 15 sausages), if you like pigs you will like this attraction.

A few mile down the road st osyph is a nice place to walk with the dogs and has the usual amusements (dogs are welcome in these amusements)and rock,burgers,chips etc, it also has a small market on a wednesday.

Unfortunately because of the condition of the touring site and because we felt more tied down with a dog than we ever had in 16 years.

And would definitely not recommend it to dog owners.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3978 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019