Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Orchards Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Clacton On Sea > The Orchards Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) Reviews

The Orchards Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
St Osyth
Clacton On Sea
Essex   (Browse area)
CO16 8LJ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jane cornell 2 reviews from this member

Brilliant. As a mum with 4 kids under 5 this is excellent- great swings and slides in a super setting.Club house just far enough away to be good! excellent swimming pool,

Would recommend for all tourers. Super site and with the option of using local cafes as well. Really good for the family who want to involve in all the facilities or just refrain from some

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyokeeffe 36 reviews from this member

Our party, as usual, was made up of me (Dad), the wife; our two boys aged 9 & 7 and our doggie.

Driving to the site with the aid of a Sat-Nav is recommended but with the following advice: The directions provided by Haven are for those who wish to proceed through to almost Clacton-on-Sea and then back towards the site.

I would only say to do this route if towing a van as Sat-Nav will try taking you down routes that are not very van friendly. I recommend using a good A Class road as above and then when you are near the village of St Osyth, following the Sat-Nav as there is many a road near to the park that is just not suitable for towing an outfit down.

The Haven on site directions to the touring area are clear and check-in is simple and straight forward and the touring warden was helpful and polite. During our stay the Warden was always polite and helpful and was generally seen keeping busy around the field.

During pitching we found the grass pitch to be very uneven but it is hit and miss as some pitches like ours was poor but others were perfect. Electric and water were on tap so to speak and grey water points were also nearby.

The touring field was amongst the quietest I have even known of haven and we never had cause to complain about any noise at all. However, the Haven texts quotes 30 pitches and this is nothing but incorrect.

I'm writing this review from the site and looking out of my vans windows there is not less than 30 mobile homes and caravans plus at least another 10 tents at the very least. In conversation with the Warden, it appears there is 50 Electric pitches and 10 tent pitches, but of course, tents can also book on the electric pitches.

There is a new toilet block installed but I hope Haven have a way to claim back their money as during our stay we found a list of faults as follows: 1, one of the 3 showers was out of use due to the door hinge hitting you on the head as you walk in due to stress failure of the securing screws. 2,

There is no shelving and only one hook in the showers to hold either dry clothing or soaps while you wash. 3, Should you be in the shower for more than 30 seconds then the waste water overflows the shallow drain and spills out into the drain outside of the shower therefore soaking anything on the floor due to no hooks.

There is no family room provided but the wash block has 3 covered sinks for pot washing.

During our stay, the gents showers were always at an acceptable level, but the wife said that the ladies was at times not up to basic levels with used female hygine and used nappies all overflowing the minimal bin provided.

As always, these sites have to contend with some people that seem to treat camp site's wash blocks different to their homes and one afternoon I passed a bloke who should know better after he had been washing his bike in the shower.

There is the usual Haven entertainment complex which is protected by a security guard / watchman who ensures no-one enters the complex with any food or drink not brought in the complex. We saw one family turned away as they had a pint of milk which had just been brought from the Spar. Random bag searches are in force to protect their business here.

The day time and evening entertainment was up to its usual standard but as always, you have to pass them arcades to get there.

We found near-by attractions to be a task to get to each day with most being a long drive away. Near-by is Clacton-on-Sea but we only found a day’s worth of entertainment there.

On site Vodafone mobile signal is good and 3G mobile broadband had fair to good reception.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bluepoolshark 1 review from this member

We booked this site as the location for our first ever camping trip and generally all was good. The lure was the new shower block and the fact it only had 30 tent pitches, also the cost of £26 for 3 nights! The only problem was the tent area was a bit of a free for all and when the warden told us where to pitch there were only probably around 15 tents up but we found that there was only one place to put our tent as everybody had pitched unhelpfully. It also left us a little to close to other tents but we didn't really have a choice. It wasn't a big issue as long as you like cosy living!

The shower block was good on the male side as I had no issues with the showers, but my other half and daughter got wet shoes a couple of times as there was nowhere to place them other than the floor and the water didn't seem to clear.

The park itself is excellent, the children's entertainment was top notch and my daughter had a fantastic time. The swimming pools were both clean. The shop was well stocked and not too bad price wise. There is a Tesco store not too far away should you need one. There is also a small children's play area directly opposite the camping area which is handy if you have children.

We would definitely go back but I sure wouldn't want to be on the tent area in peak season which starts this week, especially if they do book the full 30 tents.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Black-cats 4 reviews from this member

What to say? It was cheap as chips. But don't be fooled by the 30 pitches quoted in the blurb. They probably do have 30 pitches for caravans and camper vans but goodness help you if you book a tent.

We had a trailer tent and booked electric hookup which is what probably saved us from the ram them in free for all which we saw on the tent bit of the touring area where some of our party were staying.

Apparently when you book a tent you are only getting the size of your tent and anyone and everyone could and does turn up sitting beside you when you have a barbecue or a drink! At one point over the weekend we saw about 8 or 9 families occupying what I would have said was the equivalent of 2 average caravan pitches.

On the plus side, there are new washing up facilities and new shower blocks. The downside of those is that in the ladies some of the showers don't drain away so you end up paddling in the previous person's bubbles and I was seriously worried about the lack of adequate ventilation in the showers. Hot and steamy is not a good health indicator in a shower as I am sure the local health protection agency would confirm!

There is an on-site Spa shop but my advice would be to head out of the camp site and just up the road (5 minutes) is a local NISA mini market with everything you could want. From fresh veg and lovely fresh bread to barbecue packs and local papers all very reasonably priced.

We took the local foot ferry across to Brightlingsea which was lovely and there were plenty of walks in the area. The ferry operates a scheduled service in the summer and doesn't need to be telephoned (in spite of what Reception told us) and we wish we had made the round trip. But, honestly it was not our scene - we were lulled by the mention of only 30 pitches.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MARKNSYLV 3 reviews from this member

If you are looking for a large, well run, family site with always lots to do. Look no further.

If however you like things a bit more personal and laid back then this is possibly not for you.

Site is large with good facilities, although you do get the impression as a tourer that you are an afterthought, after the owners, which this site is very much geared up for, the bar even shut early one night for an owners party, even though as far as I know they have a separate building that could have been used for this.

Entertainment is child friendly, early on, and good for the adults later.

Some good deals can be had so do check before booking.

Reception staff I found to be extremely helpful and pleasant.

Nice walks around site, with plenty to do in Clacton or Colchester or Flatford mii (Lovely), should you get bored which is unlikely.

Indoor/ out door pools.

Would visit again but probably as part of a larger group.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Francophile1947 17 reviews from this member

Brand new toilet and shower block - only let down was no shelves in the showers for specs etc. Pitch was pretty uneven, but it didn't affect me and other pitches looked fine.

Staff were very welcoming and shop well-stocked, if, as expected, a trifle expensive (£1.49 for a loaf of Kingsmill bread). Entertainment was possibly the worst I've seen at a Haven site, but improved after a couple of drinks LOL.

All in all, it represented excellent value at £8.50 per night (including EHU) for Monday to Thursday nights. There is also a half-hourly bus service from the site entrance to Clacton - ideal for us old folks with bus passes.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bus nut 7 reviews from this member

Our first impression was that we had arrived at a military field hospital then realised the world cup was on. We were given welcome packs by a friendly welcoming site warden.

Flat,firm and large pitch. The toilet and shower block was immaculate in the centre of the touring field. The site is huge with lots to do including a free indoor pool. The Spar shop is well stocked but does not sell chips.

Clacton is only 7 miles away with the normal seaside attractions. A 24hr Tesco is at CO15 4EF.

The on site Museum is well worth a look but not for under 14's.

Now the down side. 29 chips for £1.95 in the central bar!

We will be back only off season as mid-week deals are unbeatable.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ppjjo 3 reviews from this member

Good Haven site lots of improvements (new toilet/shower block) and decor.

Level/large pitches that take a mix of tents/caravans etc

Some pitches face the play park which the kids loved and. Nice dog walks around the sea wall. They have just added a boating lake on the fleet, never used ourselves but plenty out on the water. Its a large park but with plenty of room and was very hot when we went and the pools were not to crowded.

Some of the entertainment was good, some not my taste. Staff friendly and a 5 min walk to the main complex and shop

Food ok but small portions.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soaplady 2 reviews from this member

We have just come back from camping for a week at this site in our Trailer Tent. On arrival the warden was incredibly helpful, and let us choose which pitch we preferred. A £10.00 deposit is required by him for the key to the toilet and shower block, but it is returned when you leave.

The toilets and shower block are at the moment portaloo types, which will be upgraded to permanent brick built ones, by this time next year.

They are cleaned three times a day, but as normal some people are a lot messier than others, and like to be a bit dirty and messy, and this is normally outside the cleaning times. Although if they are not satisfactory, if reception are contacted they will be cleaned immediately. The showers are fixed heads, and have a changing area in the shower with a fixed seat, (handy for towels), but no electric point for hairdryer.

By the toilets two large, deep sinks with lots of hot water are available all the time, along with an elsan point (well away from the sinks)

The touring park itself has a supermarket which is very well stocked with food, newspapers, magazines, gifts and alchohol, and have great customer service.

There is also a small children's play park, which is well looked after, and a launderette, all on the tourers pitch. Elsewhere on the park are a chinese takeaway, sandwich bar, and a pub.



The pitches themselves are a good size, very flat, and have been put down with a mesh over them,then covered with soil and grass. Parking for a car is on gravel right outside your pitch, and at each pitch is an electic hook up point, and drinking water.

The park itself has lots of good things for little ones to do. Our son enjoyed the Cubs club, and especially the swimming pool, and there was lots of entertainment all the time for everybody, along with bowls, an amusement arcade, and bike hire.

Also something we found very interesting,by the pub is a war museum, free to enter, and is incredibly thought provoking, fascinating, and moving. Run by very knowledgable volunteers, it has lots of war memorabilia, and is well worth a visit.

The park is kept very clean, as are the pools, but the surrounding areas are a bit run down and shabby, but do try and overlook that.

There are lots of things to do outside the park, we loved going to Constable country, (very beautiful), and had a fun day at Clacton beach and pier, and Jaywick beach is lovely, although the area is quite run down. Nazeby tower is well worth a visit, it is family owned and run, and the cafe inside the tower is lovely.

The town hard in Frinton on Sea is a great place to go crabbing, and spend a few hours watching the boats come and go, with lots of places to eat there too.

Haven were doing special offers on the touring when we went, and the cost was £120.00 for the week, including the fun passes for all of us, which meant we could use all the facilities on site. All in all, very good value for money, especially if you have small children, as a lot of things are included.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Touringguy17 1 review from this member

I recently stayed at The Orchards over the Bank Holiday weekend in May and had such a wonderful time! I had read a review on here, and it must have been extremely outdated as we could find no faults.

When we arrived we were welcomed at the entrance to the park and directed to the Touring area where the Touring Warden met us, checked us in, and directed us to our allocated pitch. He was such a friendly chap and couldn't do enough to help.

The toilet and shower facilities were spotless, and were cleaned 3 times a day, every day! The pitches were extremely well maintained, each with electric hookup.

The only negative point I can mention, is the amount of time we had to wait to be served at the bar - but it was the Bank Holiday weekend, so I suppose that is to be expected.

All in all, I would recommend The Orchards to anyone and can't wait to go back again!

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3455 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019