Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Orchards Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Clacton On Sea > The Orchards Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays) Reviews

The Orchards Holiday Park ( Haven Holidays)
St Osyth
Clacton On Sea
Essex   (Browse area)
CO16 8LJ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Scottwhite 1 review from this member

We had a 3 night stay over the end of May bank holiday. We were offered a choice of pitches and informed of the location of all the facilities. The staff were very helpful and helped us with the best option as we had two large tents.

The pitches are reasonably flat but they are could have done with a bit of a trim as the grass was quite long. The toilets ran out of bog roll early on and didnít seem to be replaced on a regular basis. We are out at the mash and barrel on the first night and found it a big disappointment.

They hadnít got three of the choices that one of our group wanted and also had to stand 15 deep at the bar to order. There is not a lot to do off site unless you want to get in the car and drive although it is a nice walk on the beach to the Ferry Inn pub. Would I go back? No is the honest answer. I would rather go back to the haven site at Cleethorpes.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kmendham 1 review from this member

I visited this site on 22 March 2019, when it had just opened for the year. I was alone with two dogs. The touring site is very good, although 15 minutes walk from the main attractions.

Everything was good, clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful. I hope to go again in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sonygeezer 8 reviews from this member

Stay here last year in june and it was very good!

Returned this year in april and site was very muddy and a lot of the plots were churned up and unusable but we had the best week weather wise of the year so far and our plot soon dried out, toilets were reasonable clean, the touring park is a good 5 min walk from the club house but this can be a blessing sometimes.

Had Sunday carvery at the Mash and Barrel and it was carp all veg was under cooked and the roast parsnips were raw, complained and was offered a free drink. Pity as when we stayed at Haven Caister on sea the food was excellent at the Mash and Barrel.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bramston 3 reviews from this member

This campsite has everything but it lacks style and to charge above £35 for a single night for a single person a campsite requires style.

The swimming pool closed 15 mins after I booked in and would not reopen until I was due to leave, so much for leisure facilities.

The catering facilities were well used and not in need of subsidy so my camping fee did not go there.

I went to bed early and was woken by drunks tripping over my guylines. Someone vomited on the floor in the men's toilets and someone else left a used nappy in a toilet cubicle.

It was raining in the morning and looked set in for the day, given the choice of paying to sit in the rain or to go home I chose to go home.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sonygeezer 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here 5 nights, the site is a mixture from tents to caravans and about 50 pitches all of a reasonable size and water and electric hook up one for every three pitches.

Toilet block clean and tidy with three showers and one disable shower, a good pot washing area with lots of hot water. Included in the price are passers for the entertainment.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bee4ilph 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to the site and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Rumours of the site being taken over by gypsies were found to be vastly inflated and we had no issues whatsoever with security or noisy neighbours.

The park is well maintained and the pitches are a generous size. We had no trouble fitting caravan plus awning, our pick-up truck and 2 motorcycles into one space, and there was still plenty of room for a picnic table and chairs.

The washroom / toilet facilities could have been a little cleaner, but this is no reflection on the staff, who tried their best. Unfortunately, there are always some people who haven't been house trained properly.

There was plenty to do on site. The shop was a pleasant surprise as it is well stocked with all sorts. The entertainment programme is more aimed at kids, but we did enjoy a couple of games of Cash Bingo in the early evenings and spent a fair bit of time in the arcade. Only one annoying issue: a lot of the machines would not accept the new £1 coins which is very frustrating when you are hooked on a particular game.

We had fun trying to catch crabs on the beach (all of which were returned to their normal habitat fairly sharpish and unscathed) and enjoyed a few trips out on the bikes into the surrounding areas.

Would we come back? Yes, possibly. But this was only our second outing in our caravan and there are still lots of other places to explore.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Biggus2503 3 reviews from this member

An absolute disappointment.

The shower block was diabolical, the floor in the make family room felt as if it was going to give way under me, the toilets weren't cleaned all that often.

The local kids ran havoc, on their bikes, smoking, drinking and swearing on the site as it's so easy to access due to its layout.

If you like bingo it's for you, that's all that seems to be on in the club,

Trying to book the activities for the kids whilst everyone else wants to go swimming is just plain silly.

One and probably only positive was the ranger, our kids made birdhouses and he was great with the kids

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tinytina 17 reviews from this member

Just spent five days here, This was our 5th time on site and it was as good as ever. The site was packed out it was the most people I had ever seen on this site and yet the toilet blocks was always clean and tidy.

I don`t know if it was because it was almost the end of the season (shuts in three days) but they only seem to have four Haven Mates on site and the Entertainment was poor compared to past times.

It was nice to see that they have turned the site into a one way system as it could get tricky if another caravan was coming the other way, I also noticed this time that some of the speed humps seemed to be bigger than they needed to be.

We look forward to returning at Easter for the 5th time.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 38 reviews from this member

Our first time on this site. We didn't use the many facilities, as we didn't seem to have the time, but they looked pretty good. We used the Spar shop which was well stocked. The dog walk wasn't recommended at the time, due to adders in the area, but I did pick plenty of blackberries. We used the sea wall and beaches for the dogs, although I did see an adder on our last morning! Good site for visiting the surrounding area and St Osyth is very pretty. We had wonderful fish and chips delivered to the van one evening. If we were revisiting the area we would certainly consider using this site again. CC offer coupled with their offer meant a very cheap 5 days.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simon raivid 1 review from this member

It was the most amazing time of my holiday their are two different playground with a mixture of younger and older stuff to do.

There is a toilet block which they give you a code as they lock the doors so that you can still use the toilets during the night the showers are next to the toilets in the same block. The females have their own side and males are on the other side. There are loads of activates.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4152 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019