Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dornoch Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Dornoch Caravan And Camping Park
The Links
Dornoch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV25 3LX
Tel: 01862 810423
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TomMac 27 reviews from this member

Been here a few times. Two large areas for tourers and tenters. Can be windy; right on the beach and no trees to block it. Mainly holiday statics. Two toilet blocks and excellent laundry. Site shop sells some essentials. Walk into Dornoch; speciality shops, restaurants, pubs, co-op and takeaways. We drove up to get the ferry (a good few hours north) and stayed a night on Orkney. Also went to The Falls of Shin near Lairg. Fed various birds, like hooded crows from our van, but I did see people leaving rubbish bags outside overnight being picked open by them. If you haven't heard an RAF plane break the sound barrier, you may here, sometimes as late as 11pm. Deafening!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

We had a one night stay at this site which is quite a large complex mainly comprising of static mobile homes with a section to one side for tourers (there were a few tourers pitched in the static side as well) The pitches are marked off with logs and are all grass, the toilet & shower facilities looked old on the outside but were very modern on the inside and were very clean (although the hand drier in the gents didn't work) The site is situated alongside a large area of sand dunes then onto a huge expanse of sandy beach (there are no views of the beach or sea from the site) The town of Dornoch is just over a mile away and has a good selection of shops pubs and a co-op supermarket. At 26 per night with EHU this was the most expensive site we came across on our Scottish trip.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne oxley 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights as it was the only area for miles around without rain in the forecast. The site is well laid out with sectioned off pitches using logs.

The toilets were in old buildings but as mentioned are all newly renovated.

The staff were all friendly.

21 a night for 2 adults and hook up was one of the more expensive sites we stayed on.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Folkiedave 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here recently and we were delighted. It looks a bit higgeldy-piggeldy at first, don't let that put you off. Brand new toilet block is now open, cleaned twice a day with good showers. Convenient for the lovely wee town and I endorse what someone else said about the Eagle. One word of warning - there is a speed camera (30 mph) as you come into the village!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bonanza75 1 review from this member

Not stayed here before, and can highly recommend it. We stayed 3 nights, in good weather, the main toilet block at the entrance is somewhat dated but clean, they do appear to be slowly renovating the other blocks, with modern wipeable wetwalling which is very nice and clean. Office/shop appears to have strange opening hours, closing far too early in the evening. Good site for kids, plenty of space and not far from the beautiful beach or 5 mins walk to the village.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Eileen Devine 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here 2 nights. Fabulous setting with great views all around. Staff were pleasant and friendly and facilities were excellent. A 5 min. Walk takes you to the village with pubs. The Eagle hotel is the best for food and drink. The whole village is lovely with a catheral and coffee shop. We will definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 173 reviews from this member

Great location, a few minutes walk from a fabulous beach, backing onto one of the two golf courses. This beach outweighed the many niggles of the site. Friendly management allocated us an EHU pitch in one of the many rows of units: it was like a huge full bumpy grass car park, not appealing. Pitches were demarkated by logs, which was useful as we were the minimum distance from our neighbours on three sides; we could not avoid overhearing their phone conversations. You need a stock of 20p coins - I've never before had to pay for the hot water to wash clothes by hand! The toilet block was a fair hike - bikes would have been handy. It was very dated and institutional, but cleaned twice a day. One corridor of maybe 8 toilets was closed off with a piece of plywood and used for storage, so there were only 3 toilets in use, resulting in a queue. One inefficient old hot-air hand dryer for 10 sinks, so there was usually a queue for this too. (This lack of investment in the facilities is at odds with the efficient computerised check-in system. ) The jets from Lossiemouth put on a show every morning. Dornoch Cathedral has some beautiful stained glass. Dunrobin Castle at Golspie is worth a visit - the falconry display is the best we've ever seen. Would we come back? a cautious yes as the site could be so much better.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mummybeelee 5 reviews from this member

We spent two nights here with our three children and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. For the bargain price of 17 a night we were greeted by friendly staff and able to pick our pitch (non electric) on the camping area. Nice flat pitches and a short walk to the facilities.

Facilities were dated but spotlessly clean (closed for cleaning twice a day at which time the other block is available) warm and sufficient. The block closer to the entrance had newer facilities.

The children loved the games room (couple of arcade games, pool, table football and table tennis) and small play park. We also had a go on the putting green for 50p each. Beach was a short walk over the dunes. Probably five minutes over a bumpy path. We didn't spend any time in the beach but it looked like it would be fabulous on a sunny day.

Somewhere to freeze ice blocks and to charge mobile phones would be welcome improvements which would make the facilities 10/10 for us.

Dornoch itself was a ten minute stroll away and a lovely wee town. Several small supermarket type shops for all the basics, fab little bookshop and plenty of gift shops, cafes etc. Very picturesque to walk around the town. We enjoyed fish and chips from a local chip shop. We plan to visit again in the future and explore the surrounding area more.

All staff we came across were pleasant, friendly and helpful. Overall the site appears a little dated but the cleanliness and friendliness and bargain price during peak summer season more than made up for it. Thanks for an enjoyable end to our summer holiday.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ScotsKayaker 4 reviews from this member

Excellent showers and toilet block, clean, hot and warm. Lots of space around pitches. Rolling grassy areas and dunes.

Nice flat grassy pitches. 17 for two people and Camper Van. Few minutes walk tot he huge beach.

It's halfway between Golspie and Balblair mountain bike routes, hence the stay.

Only a few minutes to walk into town, delightful village with authentic architecture and unspoilt. No litter or obtrusive signage.

Would go back.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Binwaitin 5 reviews from this member

Very welcoming arrival at this site stayed for one night 5 min walk from the sea and local shops only 10 min walk away. Toilet facilities were clean and tidy shower was a bit cold.

Laundry was great asset there was a lot of space to walk around on a nice night. And no problem getting a tv signal so all in all a good place to be and the toilets were very clean so top marks there.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3183 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019