Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dornoch Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Dornoch Caravan And Camping Park
The Links
Dornoch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV25 3LX
Tel: 01862 810423
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dannimac1204 9 reviews from this member

Found this to be an excellent site for our purposes. I can't comment on the toilet block as we didn't use it having our own facilities on board. However all services required for a motorhome were available (fresh water, grey water dump and elsan) . Only downside was that they seem to have quite old taps for the fresh water which we didn't have a hose connection for but when they saw us struggling, they were quick to give us some hose that did fit. Very friendly wardens and willing to help.

All motorhome pitches are grass and a little bit on the bumpy side but well spaced out. As far as we could see, all pitches have electric hook up. Pitches aren't clearly marked but the hook ups tend to mark them out for you. Plus so close to the beach that you can't really complain.

Site is also very handy for Dornoch town with a 5 to 10 minute walk taking you in to the town.

Definitely a site that we will be visiting again as it covers the bases and is close to a lovely town and beach.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 41 reviews from this member

Site well signposted through the town. It was fairly quiet in late August, so no problem choosing a good pitch. Site is very good - functional rather than fancy. Toilet block and washing facilities were plain but spotlessly clean.

Easy stroll into town or over the dunes to the excellent beach. Not much in the town, but the Cathedral is beautiful in its simplicity and well worth a look.

Very good for a short stop on the way North or South.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zippy66 1 review from this member

I just had to post my review of Dornoch Caravan and Camping park as we just came back from a great week at the park yesterday.

This is the third time we have visited the park, twice before my husband and I, plus kids, were in a caravan and this time, I was camping with my friend and our kids in a tent.

Dornoch is a beautiful, old little town and a terrific base and we loved seeing the dolphins (again) at Chanonry Point, plus the salmon jumping up the falls at the Falls of Shin. We had a terrific meal at the Eagle Inn. During previous visits we went to John O’Groats and Ullapool. It is a great base to explore northern Scotland.

The park itself is nice and flat and great for pitching. The toilets are cleaned three times a day, even though the notices claim twice a day. In addition to a morning and evening clean, the wardens were cleaning them at about 11-15pm at night. I found that the toilet and showers were more than adequate for our needs and we are fussy campers (cleanliness comes first with us). I would not say the facilities were too dated.

The park has a great little playground where the children spent most of their time playing. In addition, there is a little pitch and putt area which we did not use, but saw other families enjoying.

The campsite itself is sandwiched between the golf course and one of the nicest beaches I have been to.

I like the fact that the campsite request guests to keep the noise level to a minimum between 11pm and 9am. Thankfully, a very noisy crowd were asked to leave the next day for flouting this simple rule.

A group of about 3 tents had arrived on our first day and became progressively noisy as the night went on. The group were constantly shouting and laughing out loud (they were cheering and clapping at 1am!). Their children/teenagers were running around screaming and shouting until they went to bed at 2.30am in the morning. Eventually the adults, who made no attempt whatsoever to be quiet, went to bed at 4.30am. It was only then that myself and (I found out later) other campers were able to get some sleep. My 17 month old son woke me up as usual at 6.30am in the morning.

When myself and other campers (there were many of us) complained to the wardens the next day, the group were told to leave the site that day. This left the rest of us to get a good night’s sleep the following night. Phew.

We will definitely be back again next year because we love the campsite and the area itself so much.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mulac 1 review from this member

Just back from Dornoch Caravan & camping Park and had a very relaxing time a big plus point is that it is very closer to the beach which is just a walk over the dunes so it is partially sheltered as well more so if you don't have a hook up as there are pitches at the start of the dunes. Although it is a big site it is very peaceful especially in the morning pitches are flat with great views and Dornoch has a reasonable selection of shops (would recommend the Dornoch Inn for meals very reasonable)

Great area to see seals near Skelbo Castle and dolphins at Chardnoy point.

Only down side is that the showers & toilet block could do with being modernised but would definitely like to go back again the sound of the sea as you go to sleep or wake is great far more relaxing than the alarm clock.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Poisongirl 3 reviews from this member

This site is quite large and ideally located for the beach, golf course and town of Dornoch, all within 10 mins walk. On arrival we were given the option to choose our own pitch even at peak season. But this was not as good as it sounded as pitches were not marked and it was left to campers own discretion to pitch at reasonable distances apart. The toilet blocks, although some are very outdated, were spotlessly clean and the showers were always available, without queueing when needed. The shop in reception provided basic provisions and the small games room adjoining housed two pool tables and a few fruit machines.  The cost was very reasonable - £29 for two nights (Motorhome, 2 adults, 1 child & electric). The whole site was very open and had a '70's feel' about it.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thelaings 6 reviews from this member

This is a very large site and it's worthing looking about before you pitch. The facilities did not look too great when we got there but all credit to the staff it was cleaned when they said it would be and that was done twice a day. Considering the amount of people on site it was pleasant to shower in the morning in clean facilities. A big pat on the back for that one. Nice and close to the beach and the boys disappeared for an hour to fly their kites while we washed up and collapsed the tents. Nice and close to the town and a short drive to a nice forest walk.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gmc2508 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights in June 2006 and would recommend this site.
 
The reception housed a small shop (bread, milk etc) and the prices were not too steep.  There was a TV / games room adjoining the reception but we did not use this facility.  There were two toilet blocks - one close to the static vans and another closer to the camping area.  The showers (free) and toilets were clean and notices were displayed indicating cleaning times.  Washing-up space with hot water was in the building adjoining the showers / toilets.  Free-standing pipes with cold water were dotted around the site.  When we visited, the site was not full (around half the tent pitches were used) but there was plenty of space. 
 
The big selling point for us was the proximity of the site to the beach and the ease with which we could walk into town.  The beach was a very quiet stretch of clean sand at the Firth and the water was clear.  This was about a 2 minute walk from our tent.  The walk to the main street in Dornoch (an appealing area around the church with shops, e.g. Spar, restaurants, bars, Chinese takeaway and other amenities) was around 5-10 minutes. 
 
The only downside to the site (which is fairly minor) was the occasional noise of aircraft overhead.  This was only during daylight hours and only a few craft passed per day. 
 
The staff on-site were helpful but not intrusive.  On our way to this site we looked at others and we were pleased that we had chosen this one.  We would definitely return to this site again and we would recommend it to others.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ahalst21 29 reviews from this member

Large site near beach, mostly statics but plenty of room for tourers and tents.
Good level pitches and plenty of separate areas so you aren't on top of each other.
Lovely facilities which are cleaned twice a day.
Friendly staff and just a short walk from Dornoch, where pubs serve meals all day. Golf nearby and I would recommend this site very highly for everyone in a lovely part of Scotland too.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ianork 4 reviews from this member

Brilliant site that will suit everyone.I loved it. Great family owned site with very friendly staff. Excellent drying ground makes for great pitches even in bad weather( and it was!) Single, couples, families, dogs, children: this is the site for you!.

Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Scotreviewer 1 review from this member

Visited for three days, found the people and the managers helpful and the scenery was great. Downside to the stay was the cost within the town, food and drinks were very expensive. Local shops were far too expensive and we had to travel south for something within a reasonable price range.
The further north of Inverness you go, so the petrol goes up.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40     Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2768 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1020