Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dornoch Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Dornoch Caravan And Camping Park
The Links
Dornoch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV25 3LX
Tel: 01862 810423
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kgray67 1 review from this member

Stayed 3 nights over Easter weekend, friendly welcome on arrival and shown our pitch. Site made up of statics and two touring fields.

Toilets clean and warm showers.

10 min walk into Dornoch one way and the same over the dunes to the fantastic beach.

Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 546 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site just 5 minutes walk from the village centre, its on the sand dunes and a 10 minutes walk down to the sea.

Pitches on the dunes are reasonably flat, well separated with logs and all have ehu. There is a water tap at the front or a motorhome fill point by reception.

From the outside facilities blocks don't look great - the second one from reception had been refitted inside and was perfect. Warm, plenty of hot water and immaculately clean - it was cleaned twice a day.

There is wifi at the reception area - we found it worked fine on pitches with a booster. There is a laundry, 2. 50 for a large wash and 2 for 40 minutes in the dryer.

The village itself was lovely, plenty of quirky shops to wander around - the old jail being well worth a visit for the building and the shops.

There is a Lidl and an ASDA back over the bridge in Tain, there is a small coop in Dornoch itself.

Last thing to mention would be the adorable lady who owns the campsite, Sandra - very friendly, nothing too much trouble - she just wanted everyone to have a great time, likewise the rest of the staff we really friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Yvonne and Robert 1 review from this member

Myself and Robert with our 3 kids ages 15, 12, 4, all had the most wonderful time at this beautiful site. I agree with the previous review please do not change a thing, I have been to the bigger nosier sites but this site by far was the best. My kids all loved it, they would go out amd play for hours in the park and we would all have a wander round the site also go into the games room.

The caravan itself was spotless and very comfortable, the price was awesome for a family holiday and only 5 minutes walk into town, but the best part was the beach, you can walk for miles and always find something different you haven't seen. We all loved it so much we are returning in June this year for a week cannot wait, thank you for an awesome holiday Xxx

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alanawayfromhome 17 reviews from this member

Very nice site, friendly and welcoming staff. Touring pitches are at the front of the site, wide pitches on links grass, relatively flat with open views over the sand dunes and then the sea.

Toilets and Showers clean with lots of hot water, possibly a bit dated but still perfectly adequate.

The site is situated close to 2 golf courses, one is the Royal Dornoch, and seems understandably popular with golfers.

Dornoch itself is an attractive wee town with a Good mix of shops cafes pubs and hotels and is within very easy walking distance.

There is a lovely sandy beach ideal for dog walking as it goes on for miles.

Very enjoyable stay.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eebo 8 reviews from this member

Nice location, right next to the apparently World famous Dornoch Golf Club and the beach. There is a five minute walk to the extremely pretty village of Dornoch with a range of nice shops and eateries.

The site has a mixture of tourers and statics, grassy pitches on undulating ground but clearly defined and numbered pitches.

The toilets were clean, but the showers had the dreaded curtain, which probably would creep towards you if the shower was powerful enough, but as they're electric showers, this wasn't likely. It's always disappointing when the shower in your motorhome is more powerful than the on site ones. So why don't I just use my motorhome one then, you may ask? Well, if I'm paying for the facilities on a site, I expect to be able to use them and when I do, I expect them to be reasonably good. These aren't.

Good washing up area and there's a motorhome servicing point and a reasonably well stocked shop at reception, along with a games room, which we didn't use.

Being next to the sea, the noise from the gulls can be a pain, but at least they weren't nicking our sandwiches as we ate outside.

A nice enough site, apart from the showers and the proximity of the fantastic Dornoch village makes up for any shortcomings.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cgwcmlw 2 reviews from this member

Excellent location, only a short walk to Dornoch Beach and the town is only minutes away by foot. The reception and ground staff very friendly, facilities excellent and kept spotless, a very enjoyable stay.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rangers 1972 2 reviews from this member

My wife and I went to the Dornoch caravan site supposedly for three day, s we ended up staying for nine. We fell in love with the place. So relaxing. The site was very clean and tidy. Couldn't fault the place. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The facilities were spotless. Will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rowena8256 10 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights didn't book and lots space. Large site with tourer section in the centre. Good facilities although motorhome water and waste bit difficult to access. Close to sand dunes but long walk through them before you reach the sea! However the beach is sandy and glorious goes on for miles. Dornoch is lovely town full of unique shops change from other towns and only short walk from camp. Really enjoyable

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rowena8256 10 reviews from this member

Stayed 2 nights as part of our round Scotland coast tour. Large site but has a central touring field all grass. The site is surrounded by sand dunes but it is quite a walk to get to the huge sandy beach. Dornoch the town is lovely with good selection of shops and there is a little local airport at edge of the site so can watch planes take off.

Facilities good although the gents was quite cold first thing in the morning. Showers hot and untimed. Staff helpful and quite relaxed, reasonably priced

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Richardh1905 15 reviews from this member

Pleasant open site adjacent to the beach, and within easy walking centre of Dornoch town centre. Plenty of space around our grass electric pitch, and superb views.

Facilities are perfectly adequate.

I have also stayed here in a backpacking tent; there are some surprisingly wild feeling pitches down towards the dunes at the south end of the site.

Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2495 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!