Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dornoch Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Dornoch Caravan And Camping Park
The Links
Dornoch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV25 3LX
Tel: 01862 810423
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 40 Reviews
                8/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grahmd 5 reviews from this member

Least favourite site I have been to.

Toilet block far away from pitch which I was on.

Was never shown where drinking water or any facilities were. Showers were not the cleanest.

I got put in the area least sheltered from the wind which was no good for cooking and sleeping as it was windy for the 3 nights of staying.

The beach was clean and nice location.

Wasn't much to do in village or surrounding area.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Galeforce 3 reviews from this member

This is one of our favourite local sites i. E. One which is less than 1 hour from home.

The site owners are friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The site itself is open and well laid out with ample pitch space for caravan, awning and car.

Although perhaps not very well signed, water points are easily accessed as are all waste disposal facilities.

We had a minor problem with a tripping electrical supply but were able to plug into another source without having to seek assistance. We are confident that the problem would have been speedily resolved if we had sought assistance.

The main toilet block (the only one we use so can only comment on it)is spacious, clean and is closed for cleaning for one hour after the morning ablutions have all been completed. A small adjacent toilet block is available for use during this period.

The site is very conveniently located for the town of Dornoch and as such is a mere 10min (max) stroll. The town offers plenty variety for self-catering supplies, eateries and take-away foods as well as friendly hostelries.

Golfers, walkers, fishermen and those of us who just want to 'chill' in lovely surroundings, will all find what they are seeking in this lovely area.

This site is excellent value in every respect - that's why we keep going back!

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DIGO 4 reviews from this member

Visited early October and plenty pitches with hook-ups at this late time in season. Did not seem to offer hard standings, but grass pitches over bumpy ground plentiful.

Electricity tripped frequently and we had to keep moving hook-up cable though this would not have been possible if the site had been busy.

Shower blocks clean but freezing cold with showers which were poor but free.

No signs indicating waste disposal, water or rubbish and as site large, this necessitated asking staff, who seemed reluctant to part with information. One chemical and one waste water disposal point only and so far away would have needed transport across the site to get there.

Staff were fairly pleasant but not helpful. The code for wireless connection had to be prized out of them even though we paid 2 per day for this facility.

Site was saved by its proximity to beach and Dornoch. Both very attractive.

Generally the 'take it or leave it attitude' means we will not be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Burma Boy 3 reviews from this member

During our cycle from John O'Groats to Lands End we came across this camp site at the end of day 1.

The 4 cyclists were staying in a 4 man tent and the 2 support drivers were sleeping in the van. Thought 20 was a little expensive seeings we were doing it for charity, didn't expect to get charged for 2 people to sleep in a van, but maybe I'm a little naive.

The shower block and toilets were basic, but served their purpose.

Didn't really take make in of the surroundings as we were tired and wet and just wanted to get to bed, but there is nothing in the town, I can assure you of that, we went back to the town we passed a few miles earlier.

One camper was not too happy that somebody had pulled his electric out ( for the 2nd time ) and all the food had spoiled. Fortunately we just had a cool box.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happycamper49 2 reviews from this member

Facilities were adequate only 1 toilet and shower block opened so a bit of a walk to get there.

Be careful where you pitch your tent though as the burn can flood at high tide and we got wakened during the night when our tent flooded so try and pitch your tent up away from the burn. We had to move after the first night and noticed that the water seemed to come up onto the site most days.

Beautiful location and Dornoch has a lovely beach. Was nice and peaceful would recommend this site as long as you do not camp near the burn which runs through the site.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deuchries 3 reviews from this member

Lovely location and helpful staff. Beautiful beaches within walking distance but not if you are carrying too much. Site shop has the necessities and you are close to Dornoch anyway.

One criticism is the poor toilet block facilities on the part of the site over the bridge. This block is antequated and smelly compared to the other blocks on the site and could really benefit from a revamp and two showers are not enough for the number of users. Also a more thorough clean would help.

A check of the electrical outlet system would be in order as there were numerous occasions when there was blackout areas - one of the staff just pulling plugs out does not constitute system checking.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tiredmummy 2 reviews from this member

Spent 7 nights at this very friendly campsite - the owners are helpful - no charge for freezing cold blocks - they keep a check on any noise after 11pm - toilet and shower blocks cleaned and serviced twice a day - we didn't require electric hook up so booked the day before but if you are planning arriving at a weekend and need hook up I would definitely book in advance.

Good shop on site although Dornoch is only a few mins walk and plenty of shops and cafes/places to eat. Went to swimming pool at Golspie - a bit expensive to get in but nice facilities - we drove on the back roads to get there and saw the seals on the sand banks at Loch Fleet.

Small play area on site but as ours are 12 & 9 they didn't really bother with it - the beach is a short walk away and nice and clean.

We will definitely return as it is not regimented and there seems to be plenty of room even when busy - excellent value for money -

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PaulineMRoss 16 reviews from this member

The site is large and open, with numerous static caravans, and a number of caravans parked for the season, but still loads of room for tourers. Pitches are all on grass, slightly bumpy, with plenty of hookups, although we found that many had tripped out and needed resetting.

Being late season, all but one toilet block was closed, entailing a bit of a walk, but it was large and immaculate, with soap and hairdryers. There was a long walk, too, to the chemical disposal point and waste water drain. There seemed to be only one of each, with no signs - I had to ask.

There is a launderette and a good little shop at reception, a children's playground and a putting green. The managers were very friendly and helpful, and seemingly always around. It's always nice when you don't have to search around to find someone. The price was reasonable, too.

The site is within walking distance (5-10 minutes, depending on where you are on the site) of the beach, a golf course and the town of Dornoch, with all the usual facilities. There is an excellent farmer's market on the High Street on Saturday mornings.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Magic48 23 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights on this excellent site. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Facilities are clean and plentiful. Site doesn't take bookings and tends to fill up by 4pm so arrive early.
Location is superb. Easy walks into charming Dornoch town or to beach. We didn't use our car the whole time we were here. Site is quite large but has a very quiet and spacious feel and seems safe for children. Would definitely return.
Instead of paying 20 a night on a club site pay 16.50 here!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happy campers14 4 reviews from this member

Very friendly site with lovely pitches. We had electric hook up and there are loads of these available don't think it would be a problem getting one of these even in high season, has a well stocked shop.
Being in April we had a choice but the pitches were all well kept. The toilet blocks were spotless have no complaints and would definitely stay there again.
A visit to Dunrobin Castle is a must, The falconry display is amazing, just remember and keep your handbag closed one of the birds missed its snack and it fell into my bag!, was brilliant and would love to go back. Also went to Falls of Shin which was good as well nice things from Harrods to buy.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2272 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019