Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Broad Farm Touring Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Broad Farm Touring Caravan Park Reviews

Broad Farm Touring Caravan Park
Fleggburgh
Burgh St Margaret
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR29 3AF
Tel: 01493 369273
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 482
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cotty1967 3 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights here, our first impression was not great, there was no-one in reception on arrival. There were a couple of telephone numbers to call that went straight to answer phone, we waited an hour until someone helped us, she was not staff she owned some static homes on site and had another number to call. She was given a pitch number for us which we then had to drive round the site and search for. The pitch numbers were not very clear, they were very small and located on the electric hook up.

Our pitch was very large, enough room for a 10x8m tent plus a wind break and a couple of cars.

The showers block was very close to our pitch, there were loads of toilets which always had toilet rolls although there was never any soap on the sinks, there were no hand dryers only more toilet rolls outside the toilet doors. The showers were always hot but the scum in the corners was never removed. The door height was a bit of a shock it was a bit like carry on camping as they only covered from my neck down. This could do with some updating.

The pool was great it was a great size and my kids aged 11 and 12 loved it. It opened Friday afternoon, all day Saturday and Sunday.

The shop seemed to have a bit of everything in it, right down to the second hand bric-a-brac.

There was a good selection of arcades for the kids, mainly 2p machines which was great, there were more in the clubhouse which was easier to keep an eye on them.

The clubhouse was very large with plenty of seats, we only tried the chips off the menu which were very yummy. The only thing that let them down was the choice of drinks, on the Saturday night out of 4 drinks ordered they only had 1. There was live music on the Saturday night and every Saturday night I believe. On the one occasion I used the toilets in the bar there were no toilet rolls.

Mobile and wifi signal in this area was absolutely dire, almost non existent, installing wifi in the clubhouse is surely a must.

The washing up facilities were more than adequate, there were two sinks, but we never had to wait.

The site itself was very clean and tidy can't fault them on the grounds maintenance and the whole atmosphere was very relaxed.

Thrigby Hall was only a mile away and was a very enjoyable day out. I have never seen animals so active in a zoo. Great Yarmouth was only about 7 miles away.

Overall it was a very enjoyable, relaxing break. The children seemed happy here even though there wasn't masses going on. We were able to play tennis and football outside our tent as there was lots of space between pitches.

We would definitely stay here again for a short break and would love to see the showers updated and wifi added. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debndunk 2 reviews from this member

 This site is very large with plenty of space between the caravans. It has 3 different fields for tourers plus a tent field. The toilet blocks are cleaned daily, the showers were always hot whatever time of day they were used. The staff are very helpful. The club was packed and the drinks were ok priced. The owners drive around the site to keep a check on things several times a day. The pool is a good size for children. We had a wonderful time we stopped for another week with no problem. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve47 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful site this is. It was a lovely surprise that there was no feral kids running around and creating havoc. When you arrive there is someone to show you to your pitch. The pitches are large. The site is a mixture of statics, tourers and tents. There is a pub with restaurant which is reasonably priced and the food is plentiful. There is an amusement park with mostly 2p machines which is great for the kids as they don't keep mothering you for more money.

The showers are free and are kept clean. Infact the whole site is clean. Couldn't fault it. There is a large play park for the kids and also a swimming pool with seating around it which is also kept clean and tidy.

You are 5 miles away from Great Yarmouth and close to Cromer. It was nice to leave site to tour the area without worrying about your van being damaged from footballs etc.

We will definitely be going back next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Watso5 4 reviews from this member

 My husband and I have recently returned from our first ever family camping trip with our 3 children aged 1, 4 and 6. We chose this site for our trial run because it is near to home and I have fond childhood memories of the place!

During telephone contact with the site and also during our visit we found staff to be helpful and polite.

We had read a number of previous reviews so arrived on site expecting the absolute worst with regard to toilets/showers! Yes the facilities are dated compared to many sites these days but nevertheless they are adequate.

There are ample toilets which we always found to be clean - you can never escape some cut grass getting through the door, can you?! Following on from previous comments additional toilet rolls were supplied and they never ran out during our visit.

The showers located within the toilet areas lacked privacy when changing but were basic but again clean and with free hot water. The main shower block (separate to the those in the toilet) was closed during our visit due to a new oil tank being installed so we can comment on it.

The site was relatively quiet during our visit so cannot comment on whether toilet rolls are replenished or additional cleaning carried out during peak periods. In summary we were pleasantly surprised with the toilets and showers!

The play area provided fun for our 4 and 6 year old but it did lack a little for our 1 year old. This area did resemble a park play area or pub garden from the 1980s but again was perfectly adequate for us. The children enjoyed the outdoor pool for several hours and you got used to the temperature after a while - or so I am told!

The on-site shop (again dated) was only open Sat and Sun but we were visiting during an off peak period. It had limited supplies but met our needs (papers, milk, sweets, ice pack facilities).

We did not use the clubhouse during our stay but it did appear to be undergoing a bit of a facelift compared to the website photos and a live band was playing Sat eve. We did hear a few campers returning late in the evening but we did choose to pitch near the main route through the site in order to minimise the amount of traffic we heard from the main road.

We did not venture off site during our two night stay but living locally we know there are lots of places to visit near by.

Yes this site could benefit from money being spent on it to bring it in line with some of the more fancy sites but it could risk losing some of its quaint charm.

We enjoyed our visit and will definitely be returning. The site fees offer good value for money and pitching was very relaxed during our off peak stay. All in all a great first time family experience.  


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rockytom 2 reviews from this member

 We as a family of five with a dog visited the campsite. The place was easy to find. When we first arrived we were politely shown to a good pitch which wasn't too close to the tent beside us. We were also pleased by the location since there were local shops nearby and it's great for if you want to visit the beach on your holiday.

On the other hand we were disappointed with the bathrooms. We thought that they weren't very clean because we spotted bugs on the walls. Also most toilets didn't always have toilet roll, the toilet doors had been written on, the taps always had warm water meaning that's what we had to brush our teeth with. We also didn't fancy using the showers. The shop and amusements weren't great either.

As a result we think the campsite needs updating and to be managed better.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familytime 1 review from this member

 We spent a total of 7 nights at broad farm originally booking 5 but increasing it due to very good weather(we being a family of four). Booked very last minute due to work.

Found Campsite easy to find. We could chose to pitch our tent wherever we liked on the 2 tent fields, but chose the field with pitches furthest away from the road.

Shower blocks were best in the morning, toilet paper and handsoap were replenished each morning. Be aware if you don't like bugs, there were plenty of spiders, crickets, and various other creepys!

Didn't like cleaning teeth with warm water so took some cold in a bottle along with a hand towel to dry our hands.

Showers were basic but always had hot water and we were lucky to never have to wait for toilet or shower in the ladies section.

Wash up area had lots of hot water again whether it was good luck or judgement we never had to wait for a sink.

Children's playground was a bit of a walk from our pitch but it wore the children out that little bit more! I would say it's for children up to 12 years old. Pool we didn't use but it always seemed to have plenty of people but not too full.

Clubhouse and bar were good, decent portions of food were served. With entertainment on most nights, pool tables and gaming machines.

Separate amusement room near the shop with 2p machines etc giving you tickets to trade up, could do with some updating though.

Shop next door has lots of what you'd expect for camping but also has 2nd hand jigsaws, books and clothes - handy if its wet I suppose. Again the shop could due with some updating as its a bit dingy.

I must say the staff were very friendly. We didn't stay the whole time on site we used it as abase for the area.

We hired bikes from Bewilderwood, canoes from Martham Broad and a day boat from Ludham Bridge all of which I'd recommend, along with Hemsby Mega Maze. For a fabulous view of Great Yarmouth visit the viewtower on the seafront. 1 per person for as long as you like.

For a great pub visit the The White Horse at Neatishead very tasty food for all tastebuds. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wanleg 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed a week here. Toilet and shower facilities campers are supposed to use are quite old and run down. Clean but old and run down. Fortunately by talking to a chap on the site I managed to get a key for the block reserved for use by people with seasonal pitches. These were much nicer although still a little basic as there were only hot taps (teeth brushing interesting) and mirrors weren't about sink so wet shaving tricky.

Also no hand soap or hand dryer in the toilets we ended up carrying in a bottle of liquid soap, hands were dried naturally on the walk back!

The site itself is ran by friendly folk and has a bar/restaurant, shop, arcades, outdoor (non-heated) swimming pool and playground.

Tent pitches are enormous, loads of space even for my 4m x 7m tent and car.

Tesco is only a few miles down the road in Caister.

Location is good for Great Yarmouth, only takes about 15 mins to get there. Gt. Yarmouth has a 24 hour Tesco and Asda.

Toilet and washing facilities on site need an update but this is still a very enjoyable site to stay at. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greenside 1 review from this member

 Just spent a fantastic 4 nights camping at broad farm. When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff and got great directions to our pitch.

The toilets and showers and washing facilities were clean and well maintained, . The swimming pool was great and the arcade my kids who are 12 and 14 enjoyed these very much. Also the shop was very reasonable and not overpriced.

The evening entertainment was ok not sure we enjoyed the bands very much think they could do with being a bit younger to keep the teenagers and young adults happy.

But overall the bar prices were very good and staff always happy to help. All the guests were very friendly as well and came home having made some good friendships. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yoshi1979 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a two night stay at the Broad Farm Campsite. The staff very very friendly and accommodating, however the campsite is next to a very busy road, which was also busy all night, so be careful where you pitch your tent as it was very noisy.

The toilet and shower facilities were in desperate need of updating and were not very clean which is a little off putting. The bar and restaurant was also in need of some TLC although the food was very basic but fine.

The pool was great for the kids but was not heated and was freezing! But it was fairly shallow all over and they enjoyed splashing about in it. The Kings Head in Filby served good food and were extremely friendly.

Could be a fantastic site as all the facilities are there, it just all needs a spruce up. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chalmers30 4 reviews from this member

 The site is large, with good basic facilities - pool (shallowish - for kids splashing around), shop, restaurant/bar (didn't use), arcade etc, and caters above all for caravans - static and mobile. We were in a tent and as such felt somewhat 'poor relations'. The facilities are there, but don't work terribly well.

The toilet blocks (which are above all used by the tents) have a good number of loos, but although loo roll is put in every morning, many have broken holders (which are on the backs of the door, so hard to reach and lead to wasting a lot of paper when reaching and pulling back) and even where some was at the beginning of the day, there was very little left by late morning, possibly because there are no driers or paper towels, so perhaps the loo roll gets used for that as well? Adding some hand-driers may help.

The basins only have hot water taps, which is a bit annoying when cleaning your teeth. There are three showers per block, which are the mid-height door type, so heads poke out and they have virtually no room inside to dry and get dressed again easily and just one hook outside the door for easy reach supplies like your towel.

However at least you are waiting inside and the water however was always hot whenever we went. There are just two washing up sinks (plugs provided) per block with a strange set up for hot water coming from a sideways spout.

The washing machines are in the same room (3). Its 10p to freeze icepacks at the shop, which many sites we visit do for free.

It had poured with rain the day before we came and the upper part of the site (mainly caravans and statics) was quite damp, but the very bottom 'tent' field was an absolute quagmire!

My other main complaint was that it was very noisy at night - its the only site I've been on where cars are allowed to move around it at night and because there is an on site restaurant/bar, there were many people returning to their pitches late

There are also local geese and cockerels that honk early morning so don't expect to sleep well. The road was less of an issue than some other reviewers have found it - may be luck of the traffic.

Overall it was alright and some caravanners we spoke to loved it, but we felt it was not 'cosy' nor terribly friendly, nor had quite enough support for those in tents. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Broad Farm Touring Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Broad Farm Touring Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Broad Farm Touring Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Broad Farm Touring Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2349 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement