Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodlands Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wareham > Woodlands Camping Park Reviews

CLOSED: Woodlands Camping Park
Bindon Lane
East Stoke
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 48 Reviews
                8/10 from 48 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 1264andy 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our second visit to Woodlands, and found the new owners to be as friendly and helpful as the old ones.

Shop on site was stocked with essentials and the toilet block was kept clean. Showers were great. Handy fridge, freezer, washer and drier for use of campers. Pitches nice and level set amongst trees.

Local pub the Black Bear, 1.5 miles away, serves good food. Weymouth, Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door all close by for visiting by car.

Enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gmackinder 1 review from this member

 If this campsite allowed campfires it would be virtually perfect. The owners are friendly and help out whenever they can, the shop they run is actually great value, and whilst being small manages to sell a lot of stuff.

We rented out bikes for our stay, but weren't charged for days that were just too rainy to use them. This serves as evidence for the decency of the owners.

Great value site, even when taking into account the twenty pences for the shower (which you can obviously change up at the shop). Shower block was clean, well done out, and the lobby area had fridges you could use free of charge. Nearby Wool and Wareham are nice, great coast a bike ride away, monkey world and tank museum if it rains. No play area for kids, but we were pleased with this as it meant there were less of 'em!

Only criticism is it gets pretty boggy in the rain. A lot of the pitches are raised, so not too much of a problem tent wise, but you need to carefully pick your way through the field to prevent getting stuck in the car. My girlfriend's solution was to make me walk in front of the car checking for firm ground! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brucejnr 1 review from this member

 We visited the site in May half term and as teachers (and boring farts) were looking to get away from children! When we arrived, the man was extremely friendly and suggested a pitch for us away from the families on the site. Saying that, the site was very quiet and the families staying on the site were very friendly.
The weather was pretty awful but this did not spoil the holiday. We spoke to the owner every morning when he cleaned the toilets and he was welcoming. The toilets were very clean (cleaned throughout every morning) even though everyone was treading mud everywhere! The showers were 20p and exactly the right temperature. 40p would get you a decent shower and scrub. Urinals even had their own flush. Very pleasant sinks and toilets.
I was unlucky enough to get my car stuck in the field because of the mud, but another person on the site came over and helped us out which was extremely kind. It was going to happen with the amount of rain we had and the owners tried their hardest to pump out the water.
Our pitch was very flat and there was no stones. On our final day there was a young imbecile who thought he was the next David Beckham, playing football and 'doing' keepy ups around our tent. If we were staying longer we would have mentioned this to the owners who had made us feel that if were unhappy with anything like this, they would stop it for us. As it was our final morning though, it didn't bother us too much.
We read the reviews on here as we had a few choices of where to stay and it was the comments on here that helped us make our decision. If you are looking for a quiet, out of the way campsite, this is definitely the place for you.
You may need a tom tom to find it. We printed the directions from AA route finder, ignore the final 3 directions saying left, left, right. Follow signs to Lulworth Cove and turn right at Bindon Lane and it is straight down there on the left. Tucked away in the country. We also didn't have any cash to pay on arrival so were able to pay a couple of days later when we had withdrawn some.
Overall an extremely pleasant stay and I can't recommend the site and it's owners highly enough 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jasonanddavina 1 review from this member

 Took ourselves away for bank holiday weekend for our first trip camping. Chose this site for it's proximity to our home town, with 4 kids, bound to forget something. Found the site very easily. When we enquired about a pitch they were fully booked but offered to phone us back if had any cancellations. Thought this was just to keep us happy but got a phone call the next day to say that they had a pitch for us. Very friendly and helpful on arrival, new owners since December so very keen to help in any way possible. Facilities were very good and clean, shop open and very reasonably priced. Just a shame that the weather wasn't too good and our Argos Tent wasn't up to the job. Definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobbit1 16 reviews from this member

 Our first trip of 2008 and of course Woodlands to start the year, a new owner and now B&B at the house. The site was virtualy empty when we arrived on Sat and on Sunday we had the whole site to ourselves.
The new owners are really nice and plan to keep Woodlands as it is. The site speaks for itself, quiet, great facilities and close to all the delights of the purbecks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire+mike 1 review from this member

 This was my first time camping and I loved it! The campsite was lovely and peaceful and we felt very welcomed by the owners. The toilet/shower block were always very clean and well maintained. It would cost about 60-80p to have a decent shower. The pitches were a good distance apart so you felt that you had your own space, even though the other camper's were friendly! Overall I will be using this campsite again next year!
 
There is plenty to do in Dorset, we visited Monkey World, even though I have been many time before but its such a happy place to be!
We also went to Lulworth cove and walked to Durdle Door, I have to warn those who don't have a head for heights to be wary! but it is lovely and the scenery is fantastic. We also travelled on the Swanage Railway to Corfe Castle which again was amazing! the views from the castle are stunning.
We then went on to Swanage which is like any other seaside town, the beach was clean but a little crowded for our liking so we walked along to the cliff and sat on the grass for some sunbathing! again stunning views!
 
Overall I thoroughly enjoyed camping and the day trips. We will be going back to the area with my parents next year to show them the sites!
 
The only negative comment I have to say is that if you are used to urban life like me then be prepared to drive to attractions and even to pop to a shop! (there is a small shop on the campsite that sales a few things) 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S + N 1 review from this member

 The Woodlands camp was lovely - very quiet as promised and the shower/laundry block was spotlessly clean with everything on hand. Showers are cheap (40p enables you to have a good wash and shampoo and condition your hair) a hairdryer is provided and 20p is plenty (my hair is shoulder length)
We found Beverley very welcoming, helpful and friendly. We felt very secure as any visitors to the camping park were approached on their arrival. As it was our first ever camping trip, we didn't really know what to expect. We enjoyed it very much and will be taking Beverley's recommendations into account when we purchase a more suitable tent for our next trip.

Dorset is a very pretty part of the country that we have never visited before. It is ideal for walking and cycling or just relaxing! The camping park is set in beautiful woodlands but within easy reach of a supermarket for supplies. Although Woodlands does have a small shop on-site for some basics and change for the showers. It is also near to Monkey World and some very nice local pubs providing good food (we recommend Sun Ray for a perfect steak and friendly service). We were sorry that the weather let us down on the last evening but it enabled us to miss all the traffic on the way home making it an easier journey - although it still took us four and a half hours, but we do live 350 miles away! It was well worth the trip. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobbit1 16 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another wonderful weekend stay at Woodlands. One of those few sites, where you almost feel at home straight away. From the perfect hosts in Beverly and Kingsley to your sleep sweet at bedtime and the wonderful facilities. Wildlife all around, with ease of access to all the nearby attractions, you couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay.
Sadly Beverly and Kingsley are selling up, it really will be sad to see them go. Bernie and I wish them Bon Voyage and blessings of happiness in the future. Hopefully the new owner will maintain the high standards, and marvellous quiet site for years to come. Thank you Beverly and Kingsley for the wonderful stays we have had, we raise a glass (or two) to you. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EE25 3 reviews from this member

 Cant add much more to the other reviews - immaculate camp site with immaculate well thought out facilities. Very much appreciated the quiet rule as well. Also the owners were extremely considerate - it had rained a lot and they rang the day before we were due to go to check we still wanted to come as the ground was very wet. We did go and the welcome and concern about where we could camp was great, we discussed the merits of the different pitches and were able to take time choosing. Not had such personal and attentive reception anywhere else. Would definitely go again and recommend this to anyone who likes quiet camping. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windy2 1 review from this member

 I apologise for not leaving this review earlier but I wanted to confirm what all the other reviews have said. It is a lovely, quiet campsite with excellent facilities. As mentioned before, wherever you are pitched, it is not far to the shower block.
A wonderful atmosphere, everyone very considerate of others.

We hired bikes from the campsite which were in excellent condition and went on some fantastic cycle tours as directed by Beverly and Kingsley - the perfect hosts!

Fond memories! 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4654 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement