Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodlands Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Wareham > Woodlands Camping Park > Reviews

CLOSED: Woodlands Camping Park
Bindon Lane
East Stoke
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 48 Reviews
                8/10 from 48 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foggers 20 reviews from this member

 This is exactly our kind of site! It is tent-only, so there is none of that feeling like the 2nd class customer here. We are just back from 11 nights here during the worst spell of wet weather that the UK has had for a long time. The attentiveness of the owners Beverly and Kingsley Elliott was apparent before we even set off; Beverly rang us to discuss the state of the pitches and to offer the option of cancelling. Undaunted, we set off, and are so very glad we did so. We were offered the choice of the useable pitches (given the waterlogging caused by the weather) and have had the 50 pitch site more or less to ourselves for the whole time!
The grounds are surrounded by trees and these offer shade and shelter, as well as encouraging a wealth of wildlife. The facilities are in a single substantial brick building at the centre of the site - in the male and female ablutions there are 5 loos and three showers, which operate on 20p - one coin suffices for a quick swill but 2 or 3 are needed for a full shower. In the central area of the building there is a large fridge freezer (including freezer blocks you can swap for your own at no cost). There is also a pair of potwashing sinks, a washing machine (£2 per wash) and a drier (50p for about 10 mins). All the facilities were of a beautifully high standard and were cleaned thoroughly every day.
There is a strict no noise-after-11pm policy, which suited us fine, but it also means that this is NOT the place to come if you want to sit up and talk/laugh/sing late at night; it is quite clear that you would be asked to leave. We certainly would not come here with a group of friends when we wanted to sit out late. Also there is no play area and loose ball games are not allowed - there is a clearly stated policy that parents are expected to keep their children supervised at all times. This was something that attracted us in the first place, and we met a couple from Nottingham who use this site regularly, and they confirmed that this policy creates a setting where everybody respects everyone else's rights to a peaceful break.
The site is 1.5miles from the village of Wool; the Black Bear in the village has just changed hands and is a lovely pub with good beer, good pub food and very pleasant staff too. There is a rail station in Wool so it is possible to leave the car there and travel by train when going further afield. There is a Spar shop opposite the pub which is open until 9pm and is the nearest one to the site.
Wareham is a small town about 4 miles east of the site- its a lovely walk round its Saxon earth work walls and there is a good camping shop there for anything you have forgotten or broken! Just do not go in the Antelope Pub - the only bum note in our holiday was their mediocre food and glum service and atmosphere.
This area of East Dorset has lots to offer; Corfe Castle for the history fans, Monkey world (fantastic for all ages) the lovely gardens of Compton Acres in Poole, Bovington Tank Museum, Sea life centres in Weymouth and Bournemouth, and the lovely seaside town of Swanage complete with a steam railway, or the long NT own beaches of Studland Bay.

We have had a superb holiday, despite the wet weather, and this is largely due to the tranquility and peace of the site, the high standards of maintenance and the friendly concern of our hosts. We would recommend this place highly to anyone who wants a good quality holiday -at £14 a night (£7 per adult) it was worth every penny. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Noodle28 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this campsite. Its a brilliant site that is quiet and very spacious. Beverly and Kingsley are friendly and are more than happy to help. The site is well located within easy reach of all the major attractions including Bovington Tank Museum, Monkey World, Lulworth Cove and Swanage. Would definitely recommend it for those wanting a quiet and relaxing holiday. Thank You Woodlands! 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris Halloran 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site! So much wildlife on the site and surrounding areas. We wanted a quiet site and this fitted the bill exactly. Facilities were so clean they seemed new. Friendly welcome and willing to help with any information or a packet of sugar - that we had forgotten! Easy to locate the site, shops and a pub within 1 1/2 miles - an easy walk. Very central for the tourist areas, Monkey World is 5 minutes away. Not a site for families with children as it is without playgrounds, just what we wanted! 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobbit1 16 reviews from this member

 SSSSSSShhhhhhh can you keep a secret??? Keep this quiet?! This is the best site in the land, please don't tell anyone, it will only spoil the wonderful peace and quiet. Beverly and Kingsley are just the nicest couple, nothing is to much trouble, the site is quiet and peaceful, the facilities are just brill. Positioned just right to explore wonderful Dorset.
Already booked our next weekend later in the year, thanks again Beverly and Kingsley and bigger steps! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Leas 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic campsite.  The owners, Beverly and Kingsley, were lovely.  The site was quiet, very clean and spacious. 
 
Everyone was made to feel welcome and the children had a great time.
 
We had a double pitch, due to the size of our tent and it was great.  The rules of quiet and no ball games were kept o by everyone.  If you want a quiet site with great hosts, this is the place to go.  It is close to loads of places to visit  and there is a fantastic farm shop close by with pick your own fruit and veg.
 
We will be back and so will our friends once we tell them about it.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nyreerose 2 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful location and such a quiet site.  Our hosts fully understand the needs of simple folk looking for a quiet time without the ping of footballs and shrieking kids.  Bliss! 
Site is the cleanest I have ever stayed at with immaculate toilet block(scrubbed even behind the doors!) and all necessary facilities supplied including the wonderful ice pack exchange system(ideal for that heatwave we all experienced).  They also pin up a five day forecast in the loo block - means you can avoid having to seek out TV or papers. 
The site is completely enclosed within a mature woodland with excellent opportunity to watch the resident jay and a pair of tree-creepers.  Small shop sells milk, BBQ, chocolate etc and they promote the local farm shop which is a short drive / walk away.   Wareham provided us with excellent eateries (Duke of Wellington for a pint of Fossil Fuel) and all Dorset's most appealing geological attractions within a half hour drive.  
We recommend going to Durdle Door and Lulworth cove at sunset rather than during the day.  It showed up the colours and striations in the rock amazingly. 
My only negative comment about Dorset is be prepared to pay for all parking - even in the middle of nowhere!  Distant military gunfire can be heard and for us, this added to the appeal!  Thanks so much for making us never want to leave. Loved Dorset, loved the site, loved our Woodlands experience! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Satori 3 reviews from this member

 My fiancee and I stayed at woodlands for a full week in July 2006 and we had a fantastic time. I cannot say enough good things about this campsite.
The owners were very welcoming and we were able to book a pitch over the phone without paying a penny. We were glad we did as when we arrived on the Saturday night every pitch was taken.
The cost was £7 per person per night when we stayed, for this you do get excellent facilities. There is one large building in the middle of the site and because the whole campsite is not particularly large every pitch is close the toilets. In the main building there is 2 washing up spots, a pay to use iron and 2 large fridge freezers. These prove very useful and campers are allowed to keep drinks and foodstuffs chilled in the fridge and re-freeze ice blocks in the freezer. The toilets are spotlessly clean and cleaned every day. There is plenty of sinks and 3 showers for each sex. The showers take 20p coins and on average I would use 60p per shower.

We chose this campsite because it says on the campsite 'A quiet site for quiet people' and indeed it was. There were very few children running around and making noise, which suited us perfectly.
The week we went I think was the hottest week of the year so we were on the beach every day. We tried all the beaches in the area and in our opinion the Studland beaches are the best. Totally unspoilt beaches with scrubland backing the beach and owned by the national trust (parking is £7 a day, ouch). The nearest town to the Woodlands campsite is Wareham which is fairly large and has a good Somerfield supermarket and plenty of pubs and restaurants for eating & drinking, including a curry restaurant, yum. Monkey world is about 5 minutes drive away and there is plenty to see and do in the whole area. Swanage is also worth a visit, the beach there is good and you can take a boat ride across the bay for £6, bargain.
Woodlands campsite is certainly worth recommending and if we ever go back to Dorset we will definitely stay there. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JKinnell 1 review from this member

 This camp site does exactly what is says on the tin! Perfect, spacious, very clean with good amenities! One of the best camp sites I've been to. The owners seem to be more interested in quality of site rather quantity of tents they can squeeze on, plenty of room. Nice location secluded by trees but you still get the sunshine.

Great location only 5 miles or so from the beaches and coastal walks.

I would recommend this site to anybody and will be returning! 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scooby2drew 1 review from this member

 Have just stayed for 4 nights at this lovely site. A warm welcome was followed by a choice of pitches, and we were not charged extra for having a large tent. Although you have to pay for the showers, (average 40p), they were kept spotlessly clean and were warm at all times. There is also a hair dyer ( average 20p) and washing up facilities as well as a washing machine and tumble dryer. Were able to swap ice blocks with those of the campsite's and there were also free fridge facilities.

There is a little shop on site for sweets and crisps. For all other needs there is a Spar shop in Wool and a fantastic farm shop called Goldys, both very close to the site. 

This is a very secluded site, and the rules regarding children and ball games meant that we had a fantastically quiet few days.
Would highly recommend this site for anyone who really wants to get away from it all.

Ideal location for visiting Dorset's attractions. Would definitely recommend Monkey world and the Tank Museum.
Would certainly go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Karen Frost 1 review from this member

 Friendly and efficient hosts and friendly fellow campers. Pretty, level site. Clean amenities but beware 20p in the shower doesn't last long enough to shower and wash your hair, even at top speed! So go armed with plenty of 20p! (There is a pot of 20ps at Reception if you need change). Great to have access to fridge/freezer. Beware of tree roots and an old road under some pitches when setting up camp. 2" of soil is challenging when the tent peg is 8" long, you've had a long drive and it's 9pm! Near to lots of amenities/attractions.Food at Beach Cafe down in Lulworth Cove excellent.Would definitely visit Woodlands again. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3720 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement