Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodlands Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wareham > Woodlands Camping Park Reviews

CLOSED: Woodlands Camping Park
Bindon Lane
East Stoke
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 48 Reviews
                8/10 from 48 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MiniMassif 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night in early September, just found it in passing as we travelled west from Wareham. We only stopped the night so didn't explore the local area or try the local facilities.

There was a sign on the gate with a phone number to call to check-in. We were told we could pitch anywhere to the right of the gravelled driveway. There was plenty of space, as it was a Sunday out of school holidays. There were three tents already on site.

There are separate men's and women's toilets, in good quality portakabin-type units. A similar unisex shower portakabin has two cubicles in it - however the changing/drying off area is spacious but not segregated, so best to go in with someone you know, or lock the door and have it to yourself. The units seem well maintained and clean, and the showers don't require coins or tokens.

The washing up area is a large shallow sink, with just a cold water tap, so ideally you'd bring a washing up bowl and heat some water. We managed our few items without these things. Also the sink is at about shin height, so you don't want to spend too long at it!

The site is surrounded by tall birch trees, which means you lose the evening sun at this time of year, but then it is also sheltered from the wind. Morning and evening shade in the height of summer would of course be a benefit.

The site was quiet in the evening and overnight, we were not aware of any military manoeuvres or noisy wildlife, just an owl hooting for a little while! Distant barking dogs went quiet early in the evening. No road noise or light pollution.

Someone came over in the morning to get the money.

As an aside, there is a large holiday house on the campsite, which seems a bit strange but not really a problem for campers - but I'm not sure that people renting a holiday home are expecting to look out over a load of tents in what they might have been thinking was the garden! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Louisar 2 reviews from this member

 I had a booking but no phone so it was necessary to send an email to arrange the payment for the next day. A chance I had power in my ipod.

The place is quiet, not expensive, clearly cheaper than what I saw elsewhere with the same services, with a plus: a small fridge near the service shack.

At 7 min. From the station (bike)

It was ok for me, with a bike, to visit the tank museum.

The manager was kind enough to let me put my stuff on the ground until the afternoon the last day so I could return finish my visit to the museum.

The camping has also houses to rent I think. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Michael reynolds 2 reviews from this member

 Hello, I camped here for one night on my way around southern england on my motorbike, the bloke running the site was spot on, I was told to pitch wherever I wanted, and chose a shady spot in a corner under a tree, there were plenty of bench sets for the grabbing to make life more comfortable. The toilets and showers were spotless, they have a large chest freezer for your ice packs and beers, and the whole site is level, so no undue stumbling about when your pissed, or rolling out of bed in the night. They do have the army for neighbours though, and they were doing night training when I was there, if you cant sleep in the middle of a battlefield don't stay here ! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fa-Fa 13 reviews from this member

 In theory this site should be great: location-wise and no caravans. Our weekend turned out to be a bit of a disappointment despite the glorious weather.

Whilst the site is quite large, they cram you into one of 10 fixed pitches which aren't overly generous. Although the site owners can't be responsible for the guests next to you, we had a crying baby all night which wouldn't have been as bad had we been able to spread out over the site. What I did find annoying was no mention of the military manoeuvres you have to contend with at nearby Lulworth Camp. That brought us overnight gunfire, tanks and helicopters both Friday and Saturday. To put the icing on the cake we had the local foxes screaming which set off numerous barking dogs. A 'quiet park for quiet people' it certainly was not.

Since the site is not attended by day as there is no office/shop, the limited shower blocks do get into a bit of a state and generate queues.

Positives ? Well if it wasn't for the noise and the cramped layout, the copse of trees we pitched under is lovely and it is a great location for access to this part of Dorset coast. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K1lljoe 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite located close to the Tank museum and Monkey world.

The owners were friendly and very welcoming.

The small on site shop well stocked with every day items.

Shower block in a great location bang in the centre of the campsite with a fridge and freezer and washing/drying facilities. Showers and toilets always clean.

Pitches well spread and ample room for car and tent.

My self and my 3 boys had a great time and made lots of great friends there.

Looking forward to visiting the site again in 2011. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The-laughtons 9 reviews from this member

 This is a small site, set in the countryside. It is surrounded by trees and farm land. The site itself is flat and grassy with a few trees dotted about. The toilet block is situated in the middle of the field. It is a well kept and clean site.
The facilities were more than adequate for when we were there, the site was about half full, perhaps they would be a bit stretched when the site was full.
The beautiful Dorset coast and countryside are easily accessible. It is possible to hire bikes. The owners were friendly and welcoming, and came round the site in the evening just to make sure all was OK with everyone.

This is a quiet peaceful site. No EHU, clubhouse or bar. Families and couples seemed to enjoy the peace. All was peaceful by 11.30 on the busy Saturday night, you could have heard a pin drop on Sunday, when there were only about 6 tents on the site. In fact the noisiest thing to be heard was a cuckoo!

We would definitely return here, perhaps not over a Bank holiday weekend, as I think it could feel a bit cramped, but any other time it would be lovely, quiet and rural. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blisters 6 reviews from this member

 Beautiful and well-run smallish site for campers only. Owners, Dot and Dave, could not have been more pleasant and helpful. We all had plenty of space and our large group was allowed to set up in a circle rather than in a regimented row which we much appreciated.
No ghastly transistor radios blaring out whilst we were there and all was quiet by 11.30 p.M. Enough showers and loos and washing facilities, and iron and board provided, too. Also a guests’ refrigerator which was really useful. Would certainly stay there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Unanstu 4 reviews from this member

 This was a very nice site. Owners really nice, friendly and welcoming. The weather had been really bad and a lot of the pitches were soaking, but they showed us round and suggested where we could pitch that would stay reasonably dry. The owners even came round in the morning to make sure you were still dry and ok. Site was busy when we arrived but we had plenty space.
Toilets/showers and dishwashing were very clean considering the amount of kids that were running in and out of them playing. There is no play area for the kids. Showers require 20p but don't last very long you need about 40p to get a decent amount of time. The only complaint I have is that there is a ramp at the entrance, which runs at an angle, and every time we went out/in the bottom of the car got thumped, didn't matter how easy you took it. The pub is about a mile away. Wareham town centre has plenty to offer. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morph27 5 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a two night visit to this site.

Firstly the owners are very friendly and helpful from the time of booking to your time on site. They always had a word to say which was very nice.

There is a small shop on site that sells the basics. It opens for long periods of times. Although not always manned a ring of the bell brings someone to the shop.

The site itself is largely flat and many of the pitches are under tress. There are no electric hooks up or chemicals disposal ponts. This meant that there were only tents on site.

The toilet block was clean. However there were four of us in our or party and no one could ever get hot water either from the showers or the washing up station. It was warm but not hot. The other slightly strange thing was that the lights seemed to be on a timer. On a cloudy day the lights went of and it was quite dark to try and wash up.

On the whole I thought the site was well placed for the local surrounding. Nice a peaceful and would stay again. You can hire bikes if you wish to.

I know the owners are new to the site and have plans for its improvements and I would like to return to see how they do. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ClaireSull 2 reviews from this member

 Been meaning to make sure I added my comments since our trip back in May/June Half term. Previous comments had led us to our choice of Woodlands & we weren't dissapointed. Was a bit worried that the Kids might kick up too much for this quiet site but as we came at the other end of the bank holiday there was plenty of space & the kids were well behaved.

The site was ideal for us, great toilets, fridges, freezers, great owners & good location for trips to the beach. The rather water logged pitches dried up pretty quickly but I would keep an eye on the weather if planning another trip. Lots going for it so we would definitely use this site again. Ideal if you need a get away from it type of site. Was a bit worried my three year old kicking his ball around would be frowned upon, but as I mentioned site very quiet at that point in the week & I think a certain ammount of tolerance is allowed. Not really a site to take loads of friends. We enjoyed our 3 nights here. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5029 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement