Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Acres Down Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Lyndhurst > Acres Down Farm Reviews

Acres Down Farm
Minstead
(new Forest)
Lyndhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO43 7GE
Tel: 02380 813693
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 44 Reviews
                7/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Widu13 3 reviews from this member

 I booked this 'blind' having decided so late to go away for the weekend that I didn't even have time to look at the reviews! We have a 21ft long motorhome and were told it was no problem for the weekend.

We were late arriving (8. 30pm) having had difficulty leaving home on time. Understandably the reception was lukewarm but it was late.

We drove around the track as instructed and followed the main tarmaced drive- no it wasn't that one but a dirt track that ran at about 15-20 degree list to one side. The track is full of pot holes (well ruts). The approach is a motorhome is not pleasant, to then be confronted by an almost 90 degree turn to enter a field which slopes at about 10%. That is a significant slope to a 3. 5t FWD motorhome. Luckily it was dry but had it been wet it would not have been fun.

We ended up parked at the top of the field next to the house fence and 10ft from a neighbouring tent that we drove around. It was the most level area and still we were at the very top of levelling ramps.

We usually wildcamp so the toilets were not of concern to us, but on arrival I was pleasantly surprised to find newish toilet blocks, but astounded at £1 a shower! The toilets were clean in the gents but the single dirty looking towel dumped on the windsill was the same one on Sun as it was on Fri night, and was by now VERY dirty. The loo rolls were not replaced, and I'm guessing the toilets not cleaned in the 36 hrs we were there. We had our own shower so didn't see theirs. The was a single 'hand' basin for ablutions. No proper ablution sinks in the the toilet block or mirrors and no washing up facilities on the rest of the site.

There was no chemical toilet disposal point, no grey (waste) water emptying point and a single tap for drinking water.

The site is unsuitable for medium and above sized motorhomes. WARNING: For all of those tuggers out there if you meet another tugger on the access road one of you will have a great deal of trouble reversing! There is also a ford to cross which was very narrow and only 2' deep but it hadn't rained for over a week. The ford may be a problem for tuggers on the approach and departure angles.

The positive side is that the site is ideally located for exploring the area either by motor or on foot ie Lyndhurst

There are few rules no fires on the ground (fire baskets are allowed), dogs on leads on the site. I made the mistake of bot catching the dog (a springer)as it escaped from the motorhome and was told by the owner to catch it. I replied not to worry she won't run off and the reply was 'I don't care, get it on a lead' fair enough his site, his rules! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: JoeHorner 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Acres Down for 7 nights from 8th September, for the Beaulieu Autojumble, after our planned site was only accepting weekend bookings. Having read the reviews we were prepared for the worst but we certainly didn't find it!

The site was easy to find (we don't use satnav) even having broken down and arriving in the dark at 8:45 in the evening. The owners were a little frosty when we phoned to let them know we'd be arriving late - the best estimate we could give was 'before 9:30' - but it IS a working farm so they understandably didn't want to be waiting up too late!

When we arrived a little earlier than feared, we were greeted pleasantly and given a quick run-down of the very basic rules.

The track to the field is quite rough, to the point that I grounded out a couple of times the first evening in the dark. Bear in mind that was with a small 1969 saloon car, fully loaded and with a trailer attached so it was probably as much to do with the car as the track! The next day, in daylight, it was easy enough to pick a 'safe' route in and out.

The site has a gentle to moderate slope and quite a lot of mole-hills. Setting out the trailer in the dark, it wasn't obvious what the dark lumps were but they were only mole hills! Because it was late and dark we pitched across probably the most sloping part there was, which was no problem except for a slight tendency for coffee to spill. It certainly wasn't bad enough to be uncomfortable.

It's true that there are several notices giving 'don'ts' but they're all basic commonsense and courtesy: Don't leave the gate open, don't make lots of noise, don't have campfires and don't let your dogs run loose just about covers it. Even with a maximum of about 10 units on the Saturday night, people still managed to 'forget' a few of them, so I hate to think what it would be like without the reminders!

The toilet blocks are nothing like the previous reviews suggest. Presumably they're the new ones or, if not, they've certainly been refurbished to a good standard. The gents' was consistently clean apart from a small amount of mud on the floor - not surprising seeing as it's a field and it rained!

My partner did comment that the ladies were in a poor state a couple of times but this seemed to be (again) down to inconsiderate users. Whether it was campers or customers for the excellent cream teas we don't know but it seems unreasonable to expect them to be checked every time they're used so it can't really be blamed on the site or owners.

The 2 showers are quite small and did have a slightly musty smell but nothing more than you'd expect with an unheated wet room. The showers themselves were clean, hot and easily controllable, with excellent water pressure.

I'm not quite sure where the previous comments about 'rudeness from the owners come from. They expect users to respect the site and it's rules and they're quite forthright in dealing with people who don't. Speaking personally, that's certainly preferable to a site where unacceptable behaviour is ignored until other campers have to complain!

The farm has a small farm shop that sells milk etc and it's not difficult to pop into Minstead or Lyndhurst if you need a bigger selection.

The price may seem high for the facilities to some people but you only have to look at the prices charged on nearby Forestry Commission sites with NO facilities to see that it's pretty good value for the area.

Would we go back? Definitely, in fact we're already looking forward to next year.

Would we recommend it? If you want a quiet, well run, base to enjoy the New Forest from then without reservation. If you want somewhere to party into the night then probably not - unless you want to have the owner telling you to keep quiet or leave, and have the couple in the trailer tent next door trying hard not to laugh out loud as he comments on your 'outrageous behaviour' :-) 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ibrows 1 review from this member

 Just back from a five day break at Acres Down Farm, which we would highly recommend for those who like a small family run site, in a perfect position for exploring the heaths and woods of the New Forest, which also provides breakfasts (if ordered the night before) cream teas, and now has a brand new farm shop offering meat produced on the farm and a whole range of preserves,fresh vegetables and other tempting produce. I've never seen such a profusion of mushrooms growing in the surrounding woods, some of which we're about to enjoy with a join of beef raised two fields away from our tent.

Excellent value for money, we'll be going back soon. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Autumn9 19 reviews from this member

 I stayed one night at this campsite, calling in on the off chance late one afternoon in September. There is an upper field, which is reached along a narrow track and has hook-up but no toilets or showers, I think. There are lovely views of the New Forest. I stayed in the lower field, next to the farmhouse, which also has a pleasant view. It is reached via a pitted track and a short, sloping, rutted track. The gate to the field must be closed behind you, to avoid animals wandering in but it is difficult to keep it open in order to drive through as nothing is provided to wedge the gate open, save a small rock and a broken piece of wood.

There is a new toilet block, which is clean, and a shower, which costs £1.00. The key is collected from the farmhouse. There is a drinking water tap and an open trailer where rubbish is put. A black bag is provided on arrival. I didnít see a chemical disposal point. There are plenty of neatly typed ĎDonítí posters, which I suppose is necessary but always a bit off-putting. I thought £13.00 a little steep for what was provided.

At the front of the farmhouse is a large conservatory made into a tea room, which is open to the public, as well as campers. I read that breakfast was available but must be ordered. In the morning the tea room was empty and I asked the owner if some toast could be available. She said, no, as I hadnít ordered. The room smelt a bit musty, so I wasnít too bothered. The owner says everything with a broad smile, but you get the impression that the campsite is an add-on to their main business on this working farm.

The icons here indicate that the site is for tents only, but I have a small campervan, as do some friends of mine who also stayed here (when campers were packed in tightly). The field has a slight slope and was beginning to get a little muddy when I left, as it had poured with rain during the night.

The site is near to the village of Minstead, which has a church, a pub and a shop. The unusual church, where Arthur Conan Doyle is buried, is well worth a visit. The other nearby village, Emery Down, also has a church, some attractive alms houses, and a pub, The New Forest Inn, which serves very good food. About ten minutes drive away is the small town of Lyndhurst with its quaint shops, pubs, restaurants, cafes and an excellent information centre in its large car park. I recommend the restaurants, The Passage to India and The Crown Brasserie (within the Crown Hotel). Apparently the Chinese restaurant is good and the Italian restaurant, which is a few steps beyond the end of the town, towards Ashurst. There are plenty of lovely walks through the New Forest. Expect to see herds of New Forest ponies grazing and drinking from streams but also wandering across the roads, without warning Ė you are hardly aware they are there until they stroll in front of you! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kimgarymia 1 review from this member

 Have just spent the August Bank Holiday at acres down farm. We absolutely enjoyed every aspect of our 3 days, we arrived at our destination and found the lady very accommodating in every way.

The new toilet and shower blocks are up and running with plenty of hot water, we found them to be very clean and well looked after.

We could not of wished for a more central place to visit the surrounding forest with a walk way straight into the heart of it just outside the farm gate, the ponies walking up and down the lane by the side of the farm was really lovely too.

During our stay we sampled the homemade sausages which I can recommend and had cream tea in the garden, if it was not for the wasp population this would of been a very enjoyable experience too, my only criticism is that having sampled the homemade cakes I think that home made scones would be so much nicer than bought ones?

Will definitely be going back to explore the rest of the New Forest. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevedh1967 14 reviews from this member

 Midweek break with my brother, first week of the school hols. Site was very busy and not very level. Facilities were basic but ok, although new toilets and showers were due to open soon.

We were staying in separate tents so were paying for two pitches and didn't want to pay the higher fees charged at Forestry Commission sites - that said the FC sites provide better facilities without a doubt but you pay for that.

The location was great with direct access to the cycle network and away from the main roads. Site does cream teas and cooked breakfasts but we didn't try these. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsmcdreamy77 1 review from this member

 I to had read reviews and expected the worst. It was an ideal site for my 1st camp. Close enough to home but still away.

I believe the new toilet block has been completed as there were no signs of mildew and they looked modern and clean. I did take my own toilet roll with me as had read previous posts about toilet roll being on the floor. There are covered toilet roll dispensers on the walls of the cubicles but glad I took my own as on the last night none of the 3 cubicles in the ladies had any toilet roll. My only issue is there are no hand drying facilities other than a towel hung on the fence outside which looked like it hadn't been changed for a while.

The field itself slopes down from the main farmhouse and toilet block and some pitches appeared to be quite flat but most were very bumpy and 'pot holey'. It wasn't overly busy when I arrived but still quite difficult to find a pitch on outside of the field and still be able to park the car without parking on guy ropes and pegs, by the time I left people were starting to pitch in the middle of the field which leaves little room for getting cars round and children to play.

Rules and day to day running of the site were explained on arrival and showers are now £1 (I didn't use these as only there for 2 nights).

Everyone looked out for each others children. This was especially handy at the end of the stay when the site was filling up and lots of toddlers were running around and new arrivals were looking for pitches rather than what the children were doing.

I enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay again if I want to get away without going too far from home.

I did email with a query nearly a week before arrival and still no reply. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ShiveringSky 1 review from this member

 Having read some of the previous reviews I have to admit that I was expecting the worst when we booked into this campsite. I could not have been more wrong. Perhaps it was just the weekend in question but the place wasn't rammed to the brim at all. They let you choose your own pitch.

Breakfast was an extra £6 per person and included home made sausage and eggs from the farm and was very filling. Location wise the farm is situated just off the hiking trail up through to Bolder Wood. You really feel a part of nature up there.

The toilets were absolutely fine and I can report no smell or stench of septic mess as previously reported. On top of this they are currently building a new set of toilet blocks although I am unsure when that will be complete.

The site is basic but clean and I would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: W0mbat 3 reviews from this member

 A perfect base for exploring a lovely part of the New Forest. Minsted village is a short walk away with excellent village shop and pub. There were forest ponies and cows roaming right outside the gate all the time.

As mentioned by others there is a sewage problem there these days. This was my third visit and I've not noticed it in the past. We originally set up along the hedge line of the field and by the end of day 2 a nasty sewage smell was lurking all day so we moved to the other side of the field as we were staying for 5 nights. The toilets themselves are very basic but looked after, always stocked with toilet roll and frequently cleaned, but they still get smelly. A new toilet block is currently being built.

All these things need not spoil your stay if you are prepared for them. Basic toilet and shower facilities, and don't pitch along the hedge that runs along the roadside. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lost the Plot 1 review from this member

 What a shame this campsite is getting such negative reviews.

My husband, myself and my baby daughter (who was 7 months) stayed at Acres Down for 5 days at the end of June. We had an absolutely fantastic stay and vowed to come back to this campsite next time.

We had checked out a few of the bigger campsites, but preferred Acres Down as we liked the basic outdoor feel we got from it. It was just like setting up camp in a field in the middle of the countryside (ah that is because it is just a field in the countryside).

Yes the toilet block was a bit mouldy, and just before cleaning time the toilets started to smell. However, the owners helpfully left loo disinfectant by the toilets so you could freshen them up yourself.

We didn't use the showers they looked a bit mank, we filled up a little bucket with hot water and just had a quick bucket wash in the tent and went swimming towards the end of the week for a more thorough wash!

The woman (who was very pregnant at the time) was warm, friendly and helpful. The older man seemed a bit quirky, but I don't think he deals with the camping side of things for the most part.

The location was great for getting straight out in to the forest and for seeing the ponies lazily drifting about their business.

The campsite had about 5 tents so not very busy, probably because we went mid week during term time. The pitches were on a bit of a hill but we managed to find a flat-ish bit for the air matress.

We had the car so found it very easy to travel into Lyndhurst. The local village of Minstead is a short-ish cycle away and a long-ish walk away. The local pub serves very nice food indeed, it is a bit more pricey than your bog standard pub meal, but then the food is not exactly bog standard and worth every penny. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Acres Down Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Acres Down Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Acres Down Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyndhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2672 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement