Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Acres Down Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Lyndhurst > Acres Down Farm Reviews

Acres Down Farm
Minstead
(new Forest)
Lyndhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO43 7GE
Tel: 02380 813693
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 44 Reviews
                7/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffinch 24 reviews from this member

 Firstly, the location is perfect if you want to cycle or walk in the forest, as there is no need to drive anywhere once you're here (except to shop for food perhaps). You can get directly out onto the forest paths and Acres Down itself is a beautiful walk.

The campsite is basic but adequate. You pitch where you like which may be a problem when it gets very busy, as it is only a small field. We stayed midweek and it was ok. It's a bumpy field, the facilities are basic (3 toilets for the ladies, washing up at your tent) but then we only paid 16 a night for a large tent, so it's worth it. They really should just get rid of that dirty hand towel in the toilets though! Either provide a hand dryer or let people use their own towels. (The trouble is that children see it and think it's ok to wipe their mouths on it. )

Showers are 1 per person and you have to ask for the key and it's only up to 8pm. So this is ok if you're just staying a few days, but if you're staying longer you might get fed up with it. I see the sense in only charging you what you use. However freezing freezer blocks a little expensive at 50p per block in my opinion.

The shop is lovely but it's a farm shop rather than a camper's shop, ok for fresh meat and fancy cakes, but not that useful for every day. Minstead shop is not useful either, so you need to go further afield.

The cream teas are delicious but they are very inflexible about the 'menu'. For example, you can't just have scones and tea. You have to have scones and cake and tea. But you can't let someone else have your cake (well you can, but they won't be allowed a cup of tea!) Oh well, maybe it's the way of the countryside. Save the cream tea for when you've done a 20 mile bike ride perhaps! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Klw270299 3 reviews from this member

 Cheap but not so very cheerful! Just returned from a couple of nights in the new forest at Acresdown Farm. On a practical note the main field (that has to be virtually full to the rafters before the overflow field is opened) is on a very large slope, limited areas offer flat surfaces. For that reason this campsite (farmers field !) is probably suited to much smaller tents.

The toilets were ok, 3 cubicles, namely clean, however the only means to dry hands was a hand towel hanging off the window latch which was not changed for the entire 3 days that we were here. This I feel would not have taken much effort to be changed once in a while. The showers were ok if you can locate the owners to pay for the key to enter, during One entire morning we were unable to locate the owners who had left a sign on the door advising that they had had to go out, after checking several times we all were resided to the fact that we would not be getting a shower that morning!

The field we camped in was completely infested with wasps, (the great outdoors of course provides such insects for our annoyance rather than this being a problem affiliated with the campsite). However if you do not like wasps then this really isn't the place for you, from the moment we woke up to the time we went to bed, ( and even joining us is our tents too) we were plagued by wasps. While we are on the subject of insects, it's worth noting that every night we were infested with flying insects which gathered on the tents in their thousands, ok if you have a sewn in ground sheet and fly screen but a big big issue if you haven't.

On a positive note the location of this site is directly in the new forest, walks are fabulous. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisysmum 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here earlier this year and had a lovely time. The loos were clean, the owners very friendly and helpful and it was lovely and peaceful and there are some lovely walks around the site. The cream tea was one of the best I've ever had (and I've had quite a few!)and the breakfast was great, delicious and lots of it. From reading other reviews, I'd suggest maybe out of high season is the time to visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ralph71 7 reviews from this member

 Being caravanners we purchased a tent for something different for the kids and decided to head down to the New Forest to try it out particularly aiming for a tent only site and found this site. On reading reviews and looking at the website this seemed ideal the location was perfect in the heart of the forest. Unfortunately one of my main concerns were met by big groups of tents drinking all day and blaring music from their cars and loudly singing along until late (site paperwork states no loud music) I thought maybe someone would come and have a word with said groups but they didn't and it was down to a woman whose small children were being kept awake by the noise to ask them to turn it down (they did for around half an hour-then up it went again) this being the same group walking up and down the country lane which runs adjacent to the site shouting at the tops of their voices at who knows what hour. It also stated no open fires in the rules (good for me as an asthmatic - another reason to choose this site) but again there were people with open fires burning wood. Therefore inconsiderate people have ruined a weekend in a tranquil location for others and it is a shame as the site is perfect for back to basics camping saying that I would go back and try again but would avoid the weekend for the fear of the lairy people.

The toilets are clean enough and there is a water tap at the top of the field.

Its a perfect location to explore the New Forest but only if you're not kept awake all night and have the energy to do so the next day. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mustang75 22 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the second time in 2 years and nothing had changed. Its a basic site with basic facilities but it was the only one in the area that had pitches available as they don't take bookings. As it is basic, it is cheaper than the rest of the sites in the area but we have experienced better facilities for the same money in other parts of the country.

The site is down a nice quiet lane across a ford and with direct walking access into the forest. You can often hear ponies trotting down the lane! The owners are friendly and pleasant and accommodating enough. They also offer cream teas and have a nice shop with local produce.

The showers are 1 but we didn't use them this time. The loos and basins are adequate but not the cleanest. But as I say its quite a cheap site for the area.

The drive down to the field is rather precarious but once you are in the field all is ok. There are a number of areas that are quite flat although it is on a slight slope.

Nevertheless we had a pleasant stay and it helped to break up the journey back home. We also got to visit Buckler's Hard and had a lovely walk to Beaulieu village.

We would probably use the site again for convenience. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Addictedtotents 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here on a few occasions with other family and friends and on each occasion we have had a lovely time. The site is a couple of fields with portacabin style toilets and sinks and a separate male and female shower block. You have to pay additional charge for shower. Very relaxed atmosphere and great walks in the forest. Owners very accommodating and polite. Little farm shop on site which is great. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happycampers19 3 reviews from this member

 Was looking for a site in the Forest that wasn't ridiculously priced back in in 2011.

Came across this one and all seemed well. 14 per night for basic proper camping sounded great.

People were pitched round the edge spaced out and we found a pleasant spot. Lots of room for kids to play. Overflow field next door so great. On arrival back from a day out the site became a joke.

The owners allow people to camp down the middle anywhere to the extent it becomes a free for all with tents 2 deep down the middle so bye bye to the space kids played in and hello irate campers trying to park their cars after days out. Basically all hell let lose with dogs running about. It became stupid with cars trying to turn round, people arguing and basically a horrible place to be.

Only then did the owners open the overflow!? Rather than packing them in only for them not to return, have pitches marked round the edge of both fields and start to take bookings? Plus clean the loos more! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mt116 1 review from this member

 Site is in a lovely location backing onto woodland where children were able to go and play in. The site was busy by Friday evening when we arrived and was full by Saturday evening (although everyone still had there own space) when we came back from a day out (First weekend of the school holidays).

Cost was 15 for a 7x5m tent per night to be paid for on arrival, no deposit was asked for. They did not take bookings but have an overflow field that gets opened if necessary (which it was this weekend).

Toilet block (3 cubicles and 2 sinks in the ladies, 2 cubicles, 1 urinal and 1 sink in the gents) was always clean however the soap had run out by Saturday evening in the ladies and had not been replaced by Sunday 11am. Light in both male and female facilities was not working Friday night but had been sorted by the following evening. You could order a full English breakfast the night before to be served between 8 and 9 am for 6. 95 adults and 4. 95 children.

Cows had obviously been in the overflow field recently as there were plenty of cow pats to dodge!

In summary a site with basic but clean facilities in a beautiful area of the South West, we recommend it. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mylesk 7 reviews from this member

 We booked this because it looks small and simple and in the New Forest, and it met all this. Unfortunately when we arrived there was no one there for over an hour so we had to wait (we had phoned ahead, but were 2 mins late) which means we didn't get to see much.

The site is very small (basically a paddock) and sloping. Reasonably basic but not to much. Basically a nice site in a nice part of the world 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Unravel 2 reviews from this member

 Our stay here was not a nice one, it sounded cheap but there was a non refundable deposit which we weren't made aware of until we arrived and it was too late to change our plans.

The toilet block was sufficient, showers weren't really worth the extra time and money getting a key, and their availability was not made obvious.

The site is decently located and there is a pub within cycle distance. Rubbish was piled on a cart right by the tents which was not cleaned or removed during our three night stay, so I would not recommend it as a child friendly site. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Acres Down Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Acres Down Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Acres Down Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyndhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2928 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020