Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Acres Down Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Lyndhurst > Acres Down Farm Reviews

Acres Down Farm
Minstead
(new Forest)
Lyndhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO43 7GE
Tel: 02380 813693
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 44 Reviews
                7/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsBertie 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a weeks stay at this lovely peaceful site. The family that run the place are lovely, the man has a very dry sense of humour and we thought he was a real character. The farm is at the end of a dead end lane in the heart of the New Forest, really beautiful, easy walking or cycling straight into the forest itself.
The toilets were basic but clean, the shower could do with a bit of a update, but we never had to queue. Met some lovely campers as there was a real family feel - all the children played in the centre of the field every evening making for stress free evenings for me. The farm also do breakfast by arrangement, didn't try that but we did have cream tea and also tea and homemade cake - very very nice! They sell free range eggs and also whatever surplus they have from their extensive veg beds, so came home with some salad too.
We absolutely loved it, very friendly, very back to basics, lay there listening to the barn owls screeching and wishing we could stay for longer. Really recommend it. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stuart176 2 reviews from this member

 The couple who run this site were very friendly -don't believe the other reviewers who misunderstand the gentleman of the couple - I found him very welcoming, if in a cynical, English resigned way.

Great site if you want somewhere quiet with easy access to the forest. Given the traffic around Lyndhurst it is great to be able to head straight into the woods without getting into the car. We hired bikes from the farm, which were pretty dodgy. Not bad value, but not good bikes either, despite being marketed as decent ATBs. The nearest pub was a good half hour walk away, and nothing to write home about. So if you're here for more than one night you will want to drive somewhere. Or cook yourselves of course!

Breakfast at the farmhouse was a plate of grease - very disappointing. Facilities though were fine, if not very extensive. We were there when the one field was verging on being full and we had to queue for the shower, which is a pain but not the end of the world, and worth it given the location.

All in all, will go back here if we go back to the New Forest. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: C Cox 1 review from this member

 Fortune smiled on me when I left it too late to book into one of the more up market camp sites. After desperatly searching the internet I found Acres Down campsite and I didnt even have to book just turn up.

When I first arrived in our group of three adults and two grandchildren, I was made to feel really very welcome by the host, a truly lovely lady. We pitched our tent in a large field that was full of campers all ages. It was a lovely community feeling and the sun was hot so we looked forward to the weekend.
We found a nearby carvery and had a great meal then retuned to the campsite and we settled in for the night. But after a few hours the storm hit the rain hammered on the tent and the wind blew with all its might, in the end the tent started leaking and we had no option but to abandon tent. So at 4.45am there we were driving about the new forest in the rain through what I can only decribe as small rivers running along the road. The kids loved it and as we are lucky enough to own a four wheel drive we just splashed through all the puddles.
At eight o.Clock we went back to the campite for a massive breakfast and lots of hot coffee for a very reasonable price. But sadly when we returned to the tent everything was soaked so we had to leave early, but not without promising myself that I will return to Acres down later in the year. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarah + Ian 1 review from this member

 This a gorgeous little campsite, right in the heart of the forest. We hired some bikes from the farm and had a lovely day cycling through the forest to have lunch in one of the local villages. Facilities are basic but were more than fine and were just what we needed. It suited us well as a couple, but probably wouldn't bring a large group of friends wanting to stay up all night as it's a small, quiet place. The breakfast and cream teas on offer are great but be quick to get your brekkie order in early the night before! The family were friendly and welcoming, especially the farmer's wife who was so helpful to us when a local taxi driver let us down horribly and stranded us in a downpour.

There are a couple of lovely pubs doing decent food within a 30-45 mins walk from the farm but grocery shopping is a bit more tricky so stock up in Lyndhurst before you arrive.

This is a gem of a campsite and I'm sure we'll be back again soon! 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bedgar 9 reviews from this member

 The various reviews preceding mine became clear to me once I met the couple who ran this site. The wife is a charming lady who was very nice and helpful, the husband is frankly a bit miserable/blunt so I suspect that reviewers are swayed depending on who they met!

For me the site says its basic and it is, but the toilets etc were reasonably clean so no real issue. The location is perfect as it is at the end of a lane, that then becomes a track into the forest, so take your bikes or walking boots and enjoy (I took my 3 yr old off for a walk at 7am and it was beautiful and we saw plenty of wild ponies). Also you are only 10 miles for the coast and we had a great time at Mudeford, swimming and crabbing!

The lady of the house serves cream teas and cooked breakfast - I cannot comment because we didn't try this simply because we prefer to do our own thing.

You cannot book so its a risk but a small one I think as they have extra fields (it is a working farm) and open them when they're busy.

The site is a sloping field so pick your place carefully and I am glad that I left the big tent at home and took a smaller one, as it made it easier to find a good spot (But they do charge by tent £7.50 small and £9 for 4 man and above, so 2 2-man tents will cost you more than a 4 man tent).

Overall I would use it again, as a basic base in a lovely area 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bostock 2 reviews from this member

 This is the best campsite I have ever been to. Real back to basics camping. The toilets may be basic but they are not dirty, neither is the shower. The old farmer may be a bit short sometimes, but to us that adds to the character of the place. We think it is highly amusing. If you want to be cosseted go to an hotel. This is outdoor life the way it should be. The location is stunning, and you are left alone to enjoy yourself as you see fit. You can keep your Hollands Wood type "proper" campsites for me this is the real deal, we have been every year now for seven years, and would not go any where else in the New Forest. P.S. My dog Todd says it is wonderful. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bananagang 1 review from this member

 I have stayed at Acres Down for the past 5 years now and would recommend this site to anyone looking for some 'real' camping.
It is easy to find and is in one of the nicest parts of the New Forest. 
The facilities are basic and include 2 toilets and 1 shower complete with cobwebs!  Hot and cold water is also available to take back to your tent.  At £7 per tent per night you cannot expect any more.  It is best to have some form of transport for evenings out.  The village is only up the road but makes a long walk back especailly after a few drinks in the evening! Unlike some campsites, I find this one very quiet and relaxing. 

I have read other reviews stating that the farmer who owns the place is unwelcoming and rude.  Well, he can be a bit off hand sometimes but he adds to the character of the place and we all find him very funny.  Do as he says and he will not bother you and thats another nice thing about this site,  you don't have camp wardens walking around all the time. 
I'm going back this year and can't wait.  


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: W0mbat 3 reviews from this member

 Well I read the reviews for this site and decided to trust my instincts and I have to say it paid off.

It's a lovey little site. right in the heart of the forest but so easy to find, only about 5 minutes from the A35. The location is 100% perfect for walking or cycling to explore the beautiful forest surroundings.

The people were fine, perfectly helpful on arrival and let us get on with our stay in peace, we stayed for 2 nights.

Toilet and shower facilities are fine, 2 toilets, 1 shower all unisex, 50p for a shower, collecting the key from the farmhouse. They are freshly painted, and kept clean. On our second night a group of school children stayed approx 20 of them, but still the toilets were clean. It is only a small site on a farm, not an all singing and dancing holiday park, but it's lovely and we shall most definitely go back 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Channelpirate 1 review from this member

 I read the reviews and was aware of the site and loved it. Yes there are 2 loos and one shower. They are cleaned every day but yes there are cobwebs. The site is a working farm run by Ann & Bob and is right in the forest, 200 metres and you are on the tracks for walking/cycling. Breakfast is £5 pre-order only and £3.50 for kids and is good value. There are bikes for hire but we took our own. The pub in Minstead does great food £7 - £14 for a main course but was busy so you will need to book - it's about 1 1/2 miles and is called the something Servant. You can have BBQ's so long as they are off the ground but there are no facilities to wash up. People were friendly and spoke to you (which makes a change) and this was like camping as a lad in the 70's. My daughter (9) didn't mention iPods etc for the whole time and brought back some memories you can't buy. If you like camping with mods cons don't go - that way you leave it for people like me!  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mglady 1 review from this member

 Well, this was certainly an experience and I am so glad that I read the reviews here so my expectations were set well in advance.

The site is in a beautiful location, and very easy to find off the main Southampton-Bournemouth road.

It suited us perfectly as no-where else would take bookings for one night only, and this is all we needed.

But, what the reviews say here about the facilities are spot on - and they are fine as long as this is what you know you will face - it's like camping in the old days! It was stomach turning to see the mop being used to clean the toilet block - had it been used to clean out the livestock first?

I felt sorry for the couple who were put into a field separate from the 2 main camping fields and who were woken up by curious sheep.

None of the nearby pubs are particularly local - unless you have a lot of time I'd recommend taking wheels of some sort.

I'd be interested to see how this site passes all the very strict planning regulations in place for campsites.

All of the above (particularly the hygiene implications) put us off trying the breakfast on offer, or returning for a cream tea which were both on offer.

In summary - ideal location, shame about the rest, but if you go expecting it you'll probably have a nice time. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Acres Down Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Acres Down Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Acres Down Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyndhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2545 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement