Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Acres Down Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Lyndhurst > Acres Down Farm Reviews

Acres Down Farm
Minstead
(new Forest)
Lyndhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO43 7GE
Tel: 02380 813693
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 44 Reviews
                7/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cruiser_crew 13 reviews from this member

 We promised ourselves that we would stay at this site after stopping for a cream tea previously.

The site is on a really good walking / cycling path (can get all the way to Burley off road).

Other reviewers have focused on the 'basic' nature of the facilities - they are basic but that is what I expect in a camp site like this.

The problem is that the site feels overcrowded. Wherever you pitch there is always someone who comes after who will pitch up right in your view or so close that you can hear them breathe in their tents. The 2 toilets are almost always in use so you have to queue. On the Saturday night the only toilet roll was found on the floor of one of the toilets.

They are building a new toilet block so many of the issues with facilities may be solved later in the year.

The site is popular with young groups who haven't yet worked out how far their music travels at night. Definitely worth taking ear plugs.

The location is excellent although the view isn't great. The owners are friendly and the Cream teas are huge and filling.

However, I don't think that I'll camp there again - certainly not on a summer weekend as I really didn't enjoy being hemmed in and kept awake. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neep 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights at Acres Down. It is basic but cheap! Beautiful surroundings, I found the owners friendly and helpful. Someone did get asked to leave as they failed to close the gate and got a bit lippy with the owner. Toilets were grotty and I didn't fancy using the shower. However as said before, new toilets were being built. Weekends seem to be very busy. I would visit acres Down again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Diverjustin 1 review from this member

 Stayed over the first May bank holiday weekend in 2009. Site was very busy but managed to get a pitch. Went to this site approx 7 years ago and nothing much has changed since then. The facilities are basic as others have said: one tap on the fence line for cold water; one shower (50p per person); two toilets; hot water available to collect from toilet block for doing the washing up back at your tent (no dish washing allowed in the loo block sink - and it's too small anyway!). The owner said they're due to re-build the shower/loo block later this year - but he also said that last time I was there! There were queues of 10+ people for the loos and 5+ people for the shower when I was there but it's nothing you can't live with for the price and location. Small tent (up to 3 person) 8.50/night, family tent 11.00/night. Don't expect posh facilities and you'll be fine. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andr3w 1 review from this member

 Location:

Easy to find in the middle of the New Forest. Like entering another world from the main roads. Well maintained varied terrain bike routes in all directions. Beautiful. Pubs and bike hire shops within biking distance 30 mins to 1 hour.

Camping Area and Amenities:

(1) Gently (but not uncomfortably) sloping grass field. Strong sewage-like smell (like overrunning cesspit?) wafted up to tents at bottom of field. Caused some campers to have to re-position their tents. Smell was OK half way up the field. Please fix this smell. A second field opened when first one fills.

(2) Farm house has a very smelly and dirty common-use annex block (cold) with two toilets (mostly no loo rolls, poor locks) and 1 pay shower. No way my wife would stand it (ours was a Dads and kids trip). If you are hardy then no worries. Single common tap in corner of field (approach area to toilet block). Drips mean it gets very muddy around tap.

(3) No other significant facilities apart from prime location which is the main point (one of only very few in-forest camping locations). They hire a few bikes and do cream teas, and breakfast. For quality and reliability I strongly recommend FLC bike hire in Burley. You do not want bikes to break down 1 hour from site with kids crying.

(4) No fires allowed on the ground. 11pm music etc curfew reasonably well observed.

Prices and Check in:

It is cheap and we had a great time! The owners are a bit eccentric. But its OK. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twixthecat 41 reviews from this member

 A pretty little site with great access to the forest for walking and cycling. It has great potential, though at moment its location is its particular strength.

Fairly close is a great pub in Emery Down, which even has a handy cycle park at the top garden, round the back. There is another pub in Minstead but was closed at the time of our visit, with a big banner outside saying reopening 22nd September. Also in Minstead I noticed a small village shop, but didn't actually use it. Lyndhurst is a short drive away, with lots of nice gift shops, a couple of pubs, tea rooms, restaurants, butchers, a Budgens, visitor centre and a camping shop! Further a field we also stumbled across Milford on Sea which is well worth a visit for Hurst Castle. A gem which from the outside looked deserted and closed off when walking to it from along the Spit, not till we walked round the corner did we even realise it was open to visitors! Either a 30ish minute walk along the shingle, or park by the marina for a boat ride to it. A National Heritage castle, it is fascinating, a huge 'proper' castle with layers of history, the interpretation mainly in specific exhibition areas - so we mainly had fun exploring! Also a lighthouse, but didn't have time to get that far. We could have stayed for hours, had we had chance.

The main strength of Acres Down is its direct access to the forest without having to touch any roads - which can be busy, narrow and bendy so pretty hairy at times. I'd recommend picking up a proper cycle map before setting off (about 1.50 - 2 from the visitor centre in Lyndhurst or I saw a notice to say they sold them on site), or printing one off from the forestry commission website for free before leaving home, plus carrying an OS map just in case. The area is vast and we quickly got disorientated and could have been in a mess without the combination of the two maps when stuck which turn to take as the number posts only help if you have the official cycle maps, but aren't in great detail! The site is by number 15.

Now for the facilities of the site - they are BASIC. Unfortunately they are also very grubby. I think they are surface cleaned everyday, which keeps them usable, but they are is desperate need of a thorough deep clean at least, preferably complete refurb. In the short term new toilet seats, new toilet brushes and in the shower room duck boards and some ventilation would make a difference. There is a notice saying they have plans for new ones next year. The ones they have are functional. At present there is one sink with very hot water, from which you can take a pot back to your tent for washing up etc.
Two toilets which are oddly very small - like they are from a primary school, but with rotten mdf seats that seem to absorb all the nasties, probably because they are so low the men find it harder to aim. But did always have paper and did seem to have been brushed out occasionally. At the (one) shower, which to get the key you have to pay your 50p to the house. That too was very grubby, lots of hair in plug hole and mud on the floor. Also small and lacked ventilation to pretty mouldy.
Though the water was hot and a proper shower, no timer so would've thought it could be a real pain if you were waiting on the queue - though we were lucky and it was very quiet on site, only us and one other camper (it wasn't the weekend!. Apart from that there are two out side taps for water and there are signs saying the house can do cooked breakfasts for campers if you order the evening before and do cream teas all day - though we didn't get to try either.

To sum up: you get what you pay for! 8 per night is cheap and the facilities are basic, though you do get what you need, hot and cold water and loos that work. Ideally located for a short break to explore the forest. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark +3 2 reviews from this member

 Great campsite right next to the forest ideal for walking and cycling on marked forest trails. The field has a gentle slope but this is not a problem, the ground is soft so pegs go straight in. The toilets and shower are basic but the owners are planning to build a new block for next year. The nearest pub (The trusty servant) is about a mile away which does food and has a garden, a little bit further is The new forest inn this also does food and has a garden, a bit further on towards Lyndhurst is The swan this also does food and has a children's play area in the garden (our favorite). Didn't find any local shops but everything you need in Lyndhurst with a New forest tourist information centre where you can get plenty of ideas for places to go and see. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crunchiepink 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a 4 night stay over Bank Holiday Monday. The busiest weekend this little site has probably ever seen. It was great!

In fairness the facilities are basic, 2 loos, one shower (which was broken for a few hours) and 2 cold water taps. There was also possibly 100 - 150 tents! Yes there were long queues for the loos, I didn't bother with the shower, yes there was one sink for hand washing, teeth brushing etc. But we just took water back to our tent for washing, the hot water tap was scorching and little buckets were provided, so youcould take hot water back and do the washing up, face, feet whatever back at the tent.

The campsite itself is in a perfect location, really easy to find, and we arrived on Friday late afternoon and managed to find a great pitch, the atmosphere was really chilled, as bit 'festival' like with everyone pitching wherever there was space. Sat am was perfect, blue sky, deer in the woods, really amazing. However it then rained!

Sunday moring the sport of 'get your car out of a boggy field began'! It was hilarious (OK others who were stuck maynot think so!) We watched loads of cars getting totally stuck, wheels spinning eveywhere, mud splattering all over as people were desparate to leave. One drip of rain and people packed up to go - more fool them. Then sun was out by 11am and we had an amazing walk in the forest.

By Monday when everyone had nearly gone home, there were only about 15 or so tents left it felt like our own private paradise.

This campsite is a joy, really basic, really relaxed, great cream teas (do try one) We will be back at a quieter time. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Minkydavis 2 reviews from this member

 Well this site is as everyone described set in pretty setting, minutes away the forest. There is two path both of which cars go down to the end car park.Then you have a gate. I was a bit nervous with my dogs off lead they walk to heel good, the path is a bit rough so that cars don't go too fast. Miles and miles of tracks.

The owners were very nice people, the old man is supposed to be grumpy, I did not fine this to be the case. I had flattened my battery he was very helpful found me some jump leads . He did also tell my friends boy off for climbing his gate and so did I. Parents dont let your kids climb gates, he has to fix it.

I did love this site with the exception of the toilets. The men and women use the same one, wee all over the floor, The stench of wee as you approach the building was bad. Girls could you go in the loo after your husband first thing in the morning not me. The owner makes a brill job of cleaning you cant smell wee for about an hour. The volume of people did not help.

Watch it when it rains the path is slightly sloped watch you dont slip. They should upgrade. Apart from this is great they dont come round checking on you which is nice. If you want them knock their front door. 10.00 per night is per tent is a bargain. Would love to come back, but not until they fix the toilets out. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckyfitz17 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely three nights at this campsite. Being fairly new to camping we were looking for cheap/ reasonable & this was at 10 a night for a family tent. It rained a fair bit but didn't spoil our enjoyment. Found the facilities basic but perfectly adequate, used the shower once & it was perfectly sufficient, although decor is rather run-down. Loved being in the middle of the new forest & going for night time walks, kids loved the field of cows & calves next door to our field. Great atmosphere, all the kids played together of an afternoon/evening, & no rules about ball games etc made for great fun. Just what I want from a campsite, would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bellasclan 2 reviews from this member

 We found this site to be exactly as described by previous reviewers! although we found the couple to be friendly and helpful. The toilet block?? well I think this is as basic as it gets. There are no light bulbs in the two small loos and only one wash basin (so everyone trying to wash hands, clean teeth and do the dishes) so always a queue! scalding hot water could be taken away in containers supplied. We camped in the weekend field which is a working cow field during the week so lots of cow pats and it is gently sloping. What this campsite lacks in facilities it gains in location absolutely perfect if you want to walk out of your tent and straight into the forest with the dog. This is a working farm and this is reflected in the price. We didn't hire bikes this time but they looked like they were really good quality mountain bikes.

Beware they only take cash, no cards or cheques. We had a great time and would go back for short stays. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Acres Down Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Acres Down Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Acres Down Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lyndhurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4107 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement