Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Knock School Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Site Reviews

Knock School Caravan Park
Monreith
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 8NJ
Tel: 01988 700414
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 19
Open: Easter To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Redmum3 1 review from this member

We drove past the camp site and we both thought it looked really nice. We turned round in the village and went back. So pleased we did, even if it was only for 1 night. The owner was very friendly and helpful we felt welcomed as if we had been there before.

The facilities were adequate, very clean and the shower cost only 10p!

I strongly recommend this site, we would love to return hopefully in the near future.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rickystyx 3 reviews from this member

This is a little gem of a site with four hard standing pitches and electric hook ups. The facilities are kept nice and clean and the grass is well trimmed.

It seems a crime to share this as one of the really nice things about this site is how quiet and peaceful it is, only a short walk down the hill to a fantastic beach and the widlife is stunning.

The folk who run the site are very friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this site to anyone who likes peace, quiet and tranquillity

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leeandcraig 1 review from this member

This is a gorgeous site in well maintained grounds with basic but very clean facilities. The site is tiny but the owners are welcoming and friendly and the site is ideal for touring the local area including St Ninians cave and the surrounding beaches. We are normally not keen on small sites as it can feel like you are intruding on the owners private home but this site has totally changed our opinion. The owner was welcoming and keen to help you get to know the area to get the most out if our stay. We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EdwardC 1 review from this member

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 10 days and had a great time. The owners were very welcoming and the campsite and facilities were kept incredibly clean although basic. The campsite was very quiet and peaceful. Lovely beach nearby and great places to visit such as St Ninian's cave 5 minutes down the road. Also, Monreith animal park just up the road is a great attraction. We would definitely come here again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fowler1 2 reviews from this member

We have never stayed on a small site before so we took the bull by the horns and gave it a go! What an absolute gem was this place. The owner was so welcoming, she could not do enough for us. All the facilities were absolutely spotless we were very impressed. There was even shampoo in the shower for if you had forgotten your own. The site was very quiet with lovely walks down to a beautiful bay. We were only going to stay one night but ended up staying 4. We will definitely return from Colin and Sandra Fowler.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Grububus 2 reviews from this member

A beautiful tranquil site, large pitch, immaculately kept. The facilities are basic but very clean with toiletries provided. One 10p in the meter gives a good shower! The hook up was adjacent to the pitch.

The owners were very friendly and helpful.

If you want peace and tranquillity without too many neighbours then this is an ideal site for you. Ideally located for touring the area - definitely the best site that we stopped at on our holiday in SW Scotland.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tresrikay 1 review from this member

What an absolute joy it was to visit the area and this site, the friendly welcome from the owner, who soon had us pitched up and ready to enjoy the joys of Monrieth Bay. Although small just 10 pitches for caravans and motorhomes, there is a separate area for tents, the site is immaculately kept, with attractive flower beds. The facilities though basic are kept squeaky clean, just one toilet each for males and females and a unisex shower, also 2 wash areas near the gents. These are the old schools facilities so are a bit antiquated but adequate. For me only one thing lets it drop from a full marks site and that is a lack of an elsan point, due to being a septic tank system but providing visitors use green chemicals an emptying point would give this little gem of a site top marks. The beaches are just a 10 minute walk away and the views from the Gavin Maxwell otter are fantastic. Definitely a must for us to visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Evil in Tent 5 reviews from this member

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at this small, very peaceful, quiet site set in a peaceful, quiet area. Not far from the sea it's great for a relaxing break: walking, fishing, etc.

The basic facilities provided on site were all we required and seemed adequate for the small number of people staying on site.

Other facilities like grocery shopping, pubs, etc. Are all available in Newton Stewart and, to a lesser extent, Wigtown and Whithorn a few miles drive from the site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alfrescoliving 1 review from this member

The knock school campsite was lovely, having scoped it out on the map first I wasn't disappointed in the least when we arrived, apart from the weather! However after that evening our week was pretty much perfect weatherwise.

The facilities were basic (ie no pool, gym, bar, solarium etc), but it had everything we needed; clean toilets, hot working shower and washing up area. If you want the holiday park then look elsewhere, but if like us you are looking for a small family run campsite in an absolutely beautiful area of the country you have to visit this site!

The one slight criticism I had was that the ground is a little hard to get my pegs into, but I was offered other pegs by the owners to help if I needed. Eh?! That's a first!, you can't ask for any better.

The owners were welcoming from the first day to the last.

The whole area is beautiful; roe deer in the field across the road, red deer on the estate next to the site, just around the corner from the Alex Maxwell monument and the stunning beach and to top it off Galloway forest dark reserve within driving distance - it is brilliant

Local towns are Wigtown with most amenities and the larger Newton Stewart a beautiful vibrant town.

There is so much to see and do we don't feel we have scratched the surface yet. We will have to visit again!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Florence Romahome 7 reviews from this member

Definitely one of the best sites I have ever visited.

A small and very friendly site, located round an old village school. The buildings themselves were a pleasant reminder of childhood.

The site is immaculate in every way, beautifully kept lawned areas with hard standings and flower gardens. Toilets and showers are not the biggest but are more than enough for a site of this size and are very clean and well kept.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, giving advice on the local area and helping in any way they can. Sandy beach just a short drive or nice walk down past the golf club and Gavin Maxwell memorial. When you are there do buy some of 'Gran's Jam' its delicious.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2912 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0918