Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Knock School Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Site Reviews

Knock School Caravan Park
Monreith
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 8NJ
Tel: 01988 700414
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 19
Open: Easter To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Terrynclaire 1 review from this member

Found site on ukcampsite.Co.Uk we booked just for the weekend but decided to stay 10 days. Lovely quiet site, minimal facilities but more that adequate. Electric to all pitches. Only a mile for a quiet coved beach and golf course. Ideal if you want a quiet get away. Brilliant for star gazing having dark sky status in the area. Not all pitches are level but site have blocks to use. Site is very well maintained and has pretty flower beds.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LMG68 1 review from this member

This is our 2nd visit to Knockschool Camping and Caravanning Park in Monreith and we had the most wonderful weather which allowed numerous visits to historic places of interest and of course the Monreith Sands Beach for a wonderful dip in the hot weather. Hubby grew up visiting Monreith with his parents and as a result we are hoping to continue the tradition and visit on a regular basis. We booked last minute on this occasion and thankfully accommodated to our relief! Our visit was greeted with a big warm smile and welcome (and of course were able to buy a few pots of Gran's amazing jam which we later enjoyed with baguettes or hot toast and hot chocolate - just delicious!).

We were shown to our tenting pitch and set up our 6 man tent to start enjoying our holiday break. The site is very well maintained, beautiful lay out. Toilets, showers etc although basic are very clean and tidy. We were able to take our jack russell again with us who also enjoyed his time there immensely. Pauline, hubby and son were wonderful hosts and were always willing to help if needed. We had a great laugh and relaxed completely.

We hope to return next year and if possible stable our horses nearby - either way this is a wonderful site, you are left in peace to enjoy your holiday and the hosts are always around to help if needed. View is fantastic - what more can you ask for.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jacquibuckley 1 review from this member

We have just spent 2 weeks at this site during the wettest August ever registered in Dumfires and Galloway and because of the site and its owners we had a wonderful time!

The site is clean, tidy and beautifully presented. Pauline and John (the owners) put a lot of time and effort into ensuring their site and facilities are of the highest standard. The toilets, shower and washing up facilities are basic but immaculate. They are cleaned regularly throughout the day.

We initially had some misgivings about the proximity to the road which seemed to be very busy, however this turned out to be the local farmers making the most of a weather window and although there were still busy times on the road it wasn't continuous noise.

The surrounding area is well worth visiting with everything you could ask for on a family holiday - walks, sandy beaches, cycling, golf course and lots of local history.

Pauline and John are extremely friendly and very helpful. They were always around for a chat and to offer ideas of places to visit.

Our 11 year old son said it was the 'Best site he'd ever stayed on' (and he's stayed on a few now!) and our 19 month old just loved the freedom of being able to run up and down the field safely(the camping field being separated from the road by a wall).

This is definitely a site we will be recommending to others and will return to ourselves.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mallyshe 1 review from this member

Booked for 7 nights stayed for 11 would have stayed longer if Pauline or Gordon would have adopted us.Our first visit to the site but it won't be our last. A quiet beautifully kept site all credit to the hard work of Pauline and Gordon. We were surrounded by beautiful views, birdsong, sheep,cows and ponies. The area is so unspoilt and not ruined by commercialism it didn't take us long to settle into a much slower pace of life. We had one of the cheapest but most enjoyable holidays ever and enjoyed visiting places like Newton Stewart, Stranraer, Cairnryan, Wigtown, Sandhead and the Mull of Galloway. We absolutely loved the Isle of Whithorn, Portpatrick and Garlieston. We also enjoyed our visits to Monreith Animal World and the Bladnoch Distillery and had some great meals at the Bladnoch Inn. We didn't want to leave the area or the site.Don't forget to try some homemade jam which Paulines mam makes and try some of the cream of galloway icecream sold on site. Gordon told us a lot about the history of the old school and about the area and even though he is always busy finds time to have a chat, he also makes some lovely handmade cards which you should look at.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coltex 1 review from this member

We have been coming here for well over 30 years since the kids were small and now that the eldest is 50! we thought it time to share this great site with a wider circle of fellow campers.

Owners John, Pauline & their son Gordon, are very helpful & friendly and the grounds are so well kept it's like camping on their front lawn. The toilets are basic but adequate and always very clean. There is a network of quiet country roads ideal for cycling and visiting the surrounding villages and ports with good restaurants and pubs. There is much for mountain bikers, sea anglers, birdwatchers, walkers etc. And Scotlands Booktown, Wigtown is only a few miles away.

St.Medan's Golf Club is within a quarter mile, is usually quiet and ideal for beginners. The green fees are very reasonable with a further discount for Knock School campers.

Dogs are welcome and there are good walks for them nearby not to mention runs on the beaches.

Caravans are not in rows but well spaced out round the perimeter of the site looking into the grassy centre so that if your children are playing there it is easy to keep an eye on them.

Blackpool it is not - but for those who want to get back to a more leisurely pace of life this

Should do the trick.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: C Jackson 1 review from this member

Having stayed at this site 15 years ago as a teenager I was delighted to find it to be exactly the same. The site is well presented and the owners are helpful and friendly. The old School toilet block and shower are basic but perfectly adequate and are always clean and tidy. The area for tents is small (space for 4 tents) but is sheltered. The surrounding area is beautiful and the site is ideally situated, being near to several beaches and local places of interest.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve morley 4 reviews from this member

This was my first visit to this site, it was a sea fishing expedition with my brother and 2 nephews, who had all been to this site several times before.
We had the place to ourselves, so no problem with space when pitching the tent, a Hartford XL.
The facilities are a bit basic but clean and tidy.
There is no shop on site, this didn't matter as we had stocked up at Somerfield's in Newton Stewart on the way here.
The site it's self is very well cared for, we stayed for 3 nights and the grass was mown every night!
As we were there primarily for the fishing, I did not get to explore much of the surrounding area. Although the sky was so clear at night (no light pollution here) we saw lots of shooting stars along with the orbiting satellites and much nearer still the lights of The Isle of Man.
As for the fishing, we tried; beech, rock and harbour, best result was Isle of Whithorn harbour at night.
I'd go to the site again but with the same company, as I don't think there would be enough there to appeal to my wife and children. 

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lorrnev 4 reviews from this member

Thought campsite was really nice when we got there, really nice and clean , lot of traffic noise from the road though, this does die down at night.
We felt this site would suit caravaners better as there is no hot water for dishwashing, only a cold tap in the field.
The toilets are clean although there is only four of them and one shower for whole site which works on a meter.
The pitches are nice and spread out well, but again the small tent field is over the hedge from a busy road, so try and get into the caravan field if you can.
I wouldnt advise this site for dog owners, altho they are accepted,as the owner insists dogs do not foul the site, not even if you clean up immediatley. You will be advised that your dog should be taken off site every hour or so in order to comply with this. After this happened to us early one morning, we packed up and moved on                 

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: G+K MIlls 2 reviews from this member

This is a great campsite, John & Pauline Heywood (The owners) are really friendly and helpful. The site is well kept and caters for 4/5 tents and 15 caravans with hook-ups, the facilities are basic but well maintained and  clean.
It is a short walk (500 metres) from some great beaches with caves to explore. St Medan's Golf Club, Scotland's southern most Golf Course is about 300 metres from the campsite, (Discounted green fees if you are staying at the campsite). 
It is only a 20/30 minute drive from all kinds of attractions, (Whithorn, Portpatrick, Port Logan, Wigtown (Book Town) & Newton Stewart). If you're into cycling, this is the place to be, the local roads are 'relatively' flat and there is some great off-roading/forest/mountain biking facilities at nearby Kirrroughtree in Galloway Forest near Newton Stewart. 
Nearby Port William has a small store that will provide all your basic needs. 

Reviewer: Aeronic 1 review from this member

August 2004
A very nice family campsite. We visited for a week last year and stayed in the cottage which is available to book, in addition to the tent and caravan site. Lots to do locally, trips out to Galloway, Castle Douglas, the beach and golfing all within a stones throw.

A small shop that sells a few basics, but only 3 miles to Port william where you can buy all your basics, and those fabulous scottish breakfast bread rolls. Will definitely be back sometime in the future.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40     Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3126 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1016