Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cheyney Manor House

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Cheyney Manor House Reviews

Cheyney Manor House
Barford St Michael
Banbury
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX15 0RJ
Tel: 01869 338207
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Artymandy 24 reviews from this member

 A lovely site. Quiet, picturesque and a great place to unwind. Well kept grounds and lakes. Facilities are enough for what you need and were kept clean and tidy.

Village shop/post office on site. But didn't disturb us at all. Its a shame the local pub was closed but there is a variety to choose from within a short drive, we ended up at The Black Boy to eat. Very nice.

Excellent value for money, will go back if in the same area again. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fruitbat8 3 reviews from this member

 Just stayed here over the May Spring Bank Holiday.

Whilst the site is in a lovely setting the facilities are just too primitive - like a throw back to the 70's. There were 24+ units (tents and vans) using just 2 showers and 2 toilets (unisex) which needed a good clean and updating - loo roll obviously kept on running out!

Our pitch was already allocated to us on arrival which normally isn't a problem but we were squashed together in a row on a slope - no 20 foot rule here like the Caravan Club!

The elsan point is quite a walk away to empty, it's across the road. We were told to throw the grey waste away in the hedge! The local pub didn't open at all over the bank holiday which was a shame as we would love to have sampled the local beer.

All in all, this is a picturesque site but too many units for the toilet facilities at the moment. Would be back if it was brought up to date to the 21st century! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Badu 4 reviews from this member

 If you want peace, beautiful surroundings, accommodating host this is the site. I have chosen to stay on this site several times and each time I have been welcomed. There is an on site shop and it is also the village post office offering laundry, gas bottles plus other services which is really helpful.

I would say it is mainly used by anglers and their partners/families, the field is big so there is no reason to be cramped together. I am not an angler but enjoyed the tranquil setting, bird lwatching and feeding the fish. I was offered freshly caught crayfish.

I personally did not use the showers or toilet, as I have a recreation vehicle which has on board facilities, but my son in law did, he had no complaints regarding the showers. The only downside was phone reception, Internet connection was very poor, at times the television was also prone to interference. I personally relocated several times whilst staying there the owners did not mind this at all.

The village is delightful there is a local pub, friendly landlord who allows dogs inside the pub which is great if like me your a dog lover. The sky at night is crystal clear as there is no street lighting so if you have children and access to a telescope great star gazing.

In the larger village of Deddington their is a co operative supermarket, an amazing deli and Foodie shop, I noted there were several places to eat including a Cantonese Restaurant, a choice of traditional pubs offering a range of food plus a chip and fish shop.

I would highly recommend this site and I have stayed on many often preferring more remote campsites that are not corporately run, with wardens who have no connection to their service users. As a lone camper I felt safe on this site also. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue and tony 1 review from this member

 Have been to this site many times, very peaceful and relaxing, our 'get away from it all' place. The fishing is excellent but also a good base for visiting the Banbury area and into the Cotswolds.

Not really suitable for young children, perhaps really adults only site. The village is a real hideaway, with a nice pub and church. A moderately easy walk into Deddington with antique and other little shops.

Overall well worth a visit, we love it. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daz and Sara 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night at the end of April. Lovely little campsite, very cheap with basic but clean toilets and (free) showers and outdoor washing up area.

We were given a lovely site right next to the fishing lake. There is an on site shop/post office which has all the essentials plus 2 lovely cats who love a good fussing.

Quiet location with a short 5 minute walk to the local pub where a we were given a warm welcome by the landlord and locals and also the resident dog, Dillon affectionately known as Dilli the Dip!

The pub has restrictive opening hours which can be found on the front door - Saturdays it opens at 7. They don't serve food but we were fine with that as we like to cook our own when camping.

We enjoyed it so much we are going back next weekend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kelphick 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site set in the beautiful Oxfordshire countryside.

It has 2 excellent fishing lakes and a small country store and Post Office on site. Situated on the edge of the small village of Barford St Michael and only 5 mins walk from the local pub, though this doesn't sell food it does sell excellent beers.

The toilets and showers are basic and unisex and could be under pressure at weekends. Have had 4 short breaks now and always enjoyed my stay.

This is a cheep, basic and relaxing site ideal for a short break if you like 'no frills' camping. I can't wait to go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Peterpaw 5 reviews from this member

 My Wife & I visited this site for three nights having taken my mother to stay with her sister in Banbury.

It's a great location in the heart of the country on the edge of a small village. The site owners were warm & friendly clearly making you most welcomed.

We were situated near one of the fishing ponds. We arrived during midweek and found the campsite very quiet and virtually all to ourselves. It was clear to see though come the weekend, it was a popular site with many returning friendly customers pitching on their 'preferred' site, not that this was a problem, there was plenty of room for everyone.

However, whilst we were visiting the local pub one evening, upon our return, a caravan had been sited rather close to us because they had arrived very late and in the darkness. We were given apologies the next morning but as we were only there one more night we felt that this was not causing us any problems.

The only downfall, but worth putting up with, was one shower and two WC's for the whole site. But they were kept clean & tidy.

The shop was a full of everything, to the point of 'you name it, we've got it' so to speak, was great even locally made cakes etc. , .

We both felt that we would be happy to return and will most likely do so sometime next month. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kirst 1 review from this member

 We has a wonderful 4 days on this site. Set in a lovely quiet village, it is basically a sloping field with a few EHU, large fishing ponds, lots of space and wonderful wardens. There is a great pub in the village just a few minutes away where the landlord is very welcoming. No food, but you are welcome to bring your own.

The shop on site is the village shop and post office, and sells everything you need, with the most delicious pasties and sausage rolls!

Handy location for visiting the Cotswolds, Oxford, Banbury.

The only downside is the toilets and showers. Two of each ( however only one shower was working) one basin and an outside sink. Whilst the actual ceramic ware was clean, the whole block is tired and looking a bit grubby. Washing up outside in the rain isn't fun either. The water in the shower runs out, presumably the tank runs out of water. Not ideal mid washing! Probably time for an overhaul of the facilities, and a shelter over the outside basin would be a help. But this is reflected in the price per night.

This aside we managed and with great weather, it is a lovely place for a short stay. We'll return if just for my daughter to revisit the farm cats! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amythecellist 2 reviews from this member

 If you want a quiet break in the country with no noise, no washing machines, dryers, hairdryers, games rooms etc etc, this is the place for you. If you are keen to go fishing you probably know it already, as it's ideal for fishing fans, with its own small lakes, with swans and special fish that the staff feed every morning.

The 2 showers and 2 toilets are adequate and cleaned regularly. There are lots of pitches with electricity. The large field for tents slopes slightly in places but hardly noticeable.

There is a fantastic shop on site which even has pasties, gaz, other food and lots of things including newspapers.

There's a pub in the village.

The camping field is next to a beautiful manor house, on a quiet lane, with farmland all around. What more could you want. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheesy sheep :) 1 review from this member

 I am 13 years old so I am doing this as a child's perspective.

My family are all into camping so we go often. We love this campsite and the price is very reasonable.

The area is very pretty and is very peaceful too.

The shop is great because it has a lot of stock. It is also a post office, dry cleaners and you can buy a fishing license from there. The staff are lovely too.

In the village, there is a pub about a 3 minutes walk away. There are some lovely pubs and restaurants in Deddington which is about a 5 minute drive away. My favourite is the crown and tuns pub/restaurant also known as the pie place.

The facilities are very basic, 2 showers and 2 toilets which are shared by everybody which may not be you cup of tea.

There are two fishing lakes which seem to have lots of fish in and you can catch some big one's if you're lucky. You can buy a fishing license from the shop which is very cheap for children but I'm not sure about for adults. My brother who's 15 paid around 5's for a year. You can get a day license too but it's not such a good deal.

There are two swings there but they looked very old to me and made quite a loud squeaking noise. We took cricket bats and balls to entertain ourselves because there is a lot of space to play.

Overall I would recommend the Cheyney Manor House if you are someone who likes peace and quiet but if you life is filled with action and you want to keep yourself filled with fun for the whole day maybe this isn't the place for you. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cheyney Manor House child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cheyney Manor House?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cheyney Manor House dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Banbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4222 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement