Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cheyney Manor House

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Cheyney Manor House Reviews

Cheyney Manor House
Barford St Michael
Banbury
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX15 0RJ
Tel: 01869 338207
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisdotcom 4 reviews from this member

 We Found this campsite via this website, and after reading the reviews, and contacting the site owners, we decided use this site for our family group, for the Price we paid we were extremely pleased with our choice.

This site is definitely geared toward people interested in Inland Fishing, which we are not, however do not let that put you off if its not your thing.

We stayed for eight nights, and found the site to be very Quiet and peaceful. We used the site as a base to explore the surrounding area, National trust, Heritage sites etc, We also travelled further afield to Whipsnade Zoo & Didcot Railway, all within 90 mins. The site was centrally located for our needs.

There is a local Pub, and the site shop serves the local community as its shop, P/O and recycling centre.

The part of the site we chose has a very slight slope to it where we pitched our tent was sheltered and away from the main area of the field where hook-ups are available. If you choose to camp nearer to the shop area you should find more shelter. During the week that we were there a few people passed through but this is by no means a busy site compared to many that we have used.

The toilet and shower facilities are

1). Small, (two showers, Loos and one basin). 2). Unisex (In a area near to shop) and

3). Well maintained, if a little tired. Plenty of hot water for no extra charge.

Bearing in mind that there were five of us in our group at no time did we have to wait to use them. The staff that greeted us on arrival, were very helpful, friendly and informative and then allowed us to set up and enjoy our break.

If you are looking for a Quiet Back to Basic site then I would have no hesitation in recommending this site. Should we decide to revisit this area we would certainly return to Cheyney Manor. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: POSR 2 reviews from this member

 What a find. Sadly only used for one night to break a long trip from Glasgow before we continue our journey to the Isle of Wight.

Found this campsite using this website after a general search on Google.

The site was easy to find and the welcome very warm. The pitch was already marked out for us with EHU, although the site has a very gentle slope we were able to pitch on a flat spot.

Lots of area for the kids to burn off some energy while the older ones pitched the tent.

Toilet block was basic and well used.

The Post Office shop had everything that you may need for a short visit.

The pub is a short 5 minute walk along a country lane, watch out for the odd car or two, but very quiet. A warm welcome from the landlord saw us with several pints of Real Ale, soft drinks, crisps and enjoying the summer evening in the garden.

This is a great little site, very quiet, good for carp fishing, and a great spot to explore the local area. This is one site that is at the top of our list to revisit. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moonwharfpoet 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights with a tent & total of 4 adults.

The site itself is located just outside Banbury, Oxfordshire and is in a very quiet location.

Ground Facilities:

The shop on site is the local shop for most residents selling basics.

EHU is available

Water facilities were ok, showers & toilets very basic, and in dire need of modernisation. These would not be so bad if they weren't unisex. Two showers and two toilet cubicles in same room so could be a problem in the height of summer when more campers are on-site. The showers do not have a temperature control, and leak all over floor by loos.

Fishing seemed very popular on-site with 2 small lakes in same field as camping field.

Local pub open til 11 most days serving good beer, but no food. Walking distance from site also.

To get to Banbury centre you need to use the car as no public transport.

For a tent with no EHU we paid 6p/n which included 2 adults. Extra adults charged at 3 p/n extra and our gazebo was extra 1.70 p/n

All in all nice area, not too expensive to camp here, but the quality of the facilities was reflected in the price. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Okuden 2 reviews from this member

 The site is basic, two toilets and two showers [which were cold / tepid]which are used by males and females. Electric hook ups are on site there is no playground for children although they did enjoy trying their hand at fishing, a bit dear at 4 per child for 12 year olds. The post office /shop on site is very good/helpful. There is the village pub two minutes walk away.

The wardens pitched the tourers and tents very close to each other which could be dangerous in case of a fire. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deakin 1 review from this member

 I agree with all the good points listed by other reviewers, but I would add that the showers and toilets are fine. Extremely cheap camping with plentiful free hot water is hard to find. The showers and toilets may not be new or scrubbed spotless every day, but they work well and were supplied with toilet paper. Admittedly the site was not full, so we never encountered anyone else using them when we wanted to, but is it ever very busy? There were around 4 caravans and 3 tents on site while we were there for 4 nights during the school summer holidays.

An excellent place to stay in a very clean, quiet field in peaceful countryside, and with a good village shop & post office on site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bedgar 9 reviews from this member

 Firstly I must say that the location is excellent, its in a quiet village with no traffic noise at all and some lovely views of open fields etc.

It's perfect for real camping and the camping field includes 3 fishing lakes (so ok young children should be controlled but not a problem) and is very nice to sit in and just chill. It is slightly sloping but we had no problem finding somewhere reasonably flat to pitch and for a bank holiday weekend, it still seemed spacious and not cramped at all.

The toilets and showers are basic but fine, and nearby .Also there is a shop which is a real treasure trove as it appears to be the village post office /shop and so is a bit of an Aladdins cave - very useful if you have forgotten something. The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

There are plenty of walks to do around this area - we only stayed one night so did not get to fully explore,.And yes we will be going back.

The village pub is one minute away but does not do food - the nearby town of deddington has various pubs and restaurants (including the Crown and Tunnes which specialises in very good pies but sadly asks for children to be gone by 7.30pm) 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JennieLP 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a weekend. The site itself was very pretty in a quiet village, although it was slightly hilly and we were told to pitch on a slight slope.

The toilet block was unisex, which wasn't a problem, but it was dirty and very small - we didn't fancy trying out the showers.

The other thing which was a bit of a surprise was that the manor house garden has a marque which is used for weddings. On the Saturday we were there, there was a live band and disco playing until midnight - not a problem for us, but could be for people with children.

All in all, a pleasant, cheap site, but a shame about the toilet block and the local pub not serving food. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tina W 3 reviews from this member

 I only stayed on this site for one night en route to Blenheim Palace, for the bank holiday show. It was very wet and had been raining non stop. As I arrived late afternoon there was no-one at the office to greet me or show me to my pitch so I phoned the owner who was sympathetic and offered to come and show me, if I couldn't find it.

The Manor House is a beautiful building at the top of the drive next to the office / shop. The toilet / shower block is unisex, but I didn't let this put me off and everyone was very friendly who I spoke to. There are fishing pools around the edges of the field and I was lucky enough to get a pitch next to one, looking out onto the water and wildlife. There were a few people fishing, despite the bad weather. The field itself is grassy with no hardstanding pitches and goes up into a hill, where some poor sole got stuck in the mud, trying to exit with their car and caravan. The farm tractor came to pull them out!

I didn't get the opportunity to explore the village and was told the local pub was shut that evening. All in all quite a nice site, friendly people. May return some time. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Swindon_campers 3 reviews from this member

 We made a group booking for this campsite, we had about 8 tents in total, and were given a huge space to ourselves to fit into. Pleasant site, lake for fishing, and exceptionally well stocked shop/post office (cash withdrawals if you have the right bank account!). Very friendly. Also great pub just next door, and the village hall had a Hog Roast on while we were there, so not bad!
Only comment would be that contrary to one of the other reviews, there was no toilet in the tent field, and we had to walk to the farm for toilets/showers. And yes, the showers really just were a trickle. 2 showers and two loos was not a lot between the number of people on the site!
All in all, we liked it a lot, and some of the group are heading back there this May Bank Holiday :) 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bex28 1 review from this member

 Spent a couple of nights at this site over the May bank holiday weekend. We were situated in a separate field opposite the Manor House away from all the Caravans which was nice as there we pretty much had the whole field to ourselves. However, although this field had its own tap and toilet we had to venture across the road to the main site to use the showers and shop.

Showers were more of a trickle but were warm and did the job and didn't cost a penny.

The pub in the Village (The George) was very accommodating for the 11 of us and the man kindly kept the pub open for us on the Sunday evening when he normally has an evening off! Sadly he doesn't serve food but was very helpful in recommending various restaurants and takeaways in the village of Deddington just 2 miles away. I can definitely recommmend a visit to Pudding-Face where they specialise in home made pies! Get there early to avoid disappointment.

All in all a pleasant weekend (despite the rain and muddy field) and all at a bargain price of 5 a night! 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cheyney Manor House child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cheyney Manor House?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cheyney Manor House dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Banbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4422 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement