Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cheyney Manor House

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Cheyney Manor House Reviews

Cheyney Manor House
Barford St Michael
Banbury
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX15 0RJ
Tel: 01869 338207
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Pipidoda 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed to visit a friend who lives in Barford St Michael. We based ourselves here as it was very affordable and a perfect base for walking.

Just us with our rescue lab in the campervan for 1 night.

Overall more on the cheap n cheerful side of campsites, but if you want peace, quiet, fresh air and to get away from the rat race then this place is perfect! Scores low on bells, whistles and fancy pantsy site luxuries. Scores high for peace, quiet, laidback and just enough to make it not wild camping :-)

A lovely friendly site with simple but clean facilities (2 Saniflow Toilets & 2 showers) & EHU. We tucked away in the corner and had a beautiful view of the River Strewe & fishing lake.

Even when busy I would imagine this site is fairly quiet

Sadly the shop & post office have closed due to COVID plus the simple fact that lovely Barbara (an amazing 90 years young!) really does deserve a well earned break.

As there is a fishing lake and the river, there is a lot of water on the site so may not be best for small children if you want to let them wander & explore.

One massive plus. The George Inn is a 2 minute walk away ~ very friendly and serves amazing food! 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nicola Weldon 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic campsite, from booking the pitch to leaving it, pleasant experience.

Run by a really helpful family, who went above & beyond to make us feel welcome - only saddened by the fact the Post Office/community shop has been economically hit by Covid, such a shame.

Pitch was spacious, other campers respectful, toilets/shower block was kept clean - our teenagers took great pleasure in opening & closing the gate to the field, each time pretending they were directing us to festival parking!

Thank you for a lovely stay! 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kezza Mac 1 review from this member

 I am a keen camper, and a this has been my favorite site in England for years. Visited again in August 2020 - still excellent!

Plenty of space to pitch up. The staff are warm and welcoming, but also give you space. The shop is handy and well stocked.

The views are stunning, the pub is a short walk and the toilets/showers are well maintained/cleaned.

Amazing value - highly recommended for a peaceful, close to nature camping break. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DJ32 3 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site based on the edge of a lovely quiet village. The camping area by the manor house is very small and if full would be very cramped. The main field (accessed by a gate just up the Road from the main entrance) around the moats is spacious with a few electric hook ups dotted about.

The large field is on a slope with very few flat spots, so take blocks, you are going to need them. The check in for this site is difficult if you arrive after the shop closes at 1pm. Be aware as we were not told this when we booked and it took us ages to fine someone to help.

Initially we were told we had not booked but eventually our booking was found. The owners struggle with this aspect of the campsite it seems. This certainly was realised when car after car arrived to join those in tents in the evening on both Friday and Saturday, no one seemed to be policing this and sadly it made for two very noisy nights whilst large parties of people partied into the small hours, getting louder and louder as the night went in.

We never used the showers as I donít think they had been cleaned in days. The toilet was no better and I never saw anyone clean them all the time we were there.

No site map is available and I spent a long time wandering around looking for the Elsan point, which is not actually on the campsite but over the road at a farm house. Chap there was very friendly so all was good.

There are excellent recycling facilities, it is a shame that hardly anyone uses them.

There are fishing opportunities on site for a small fee. Kids love this.

Moats are open water access so children need to be closely supervised.

The little shop has very basic items but no bread etc.

The local pub in the village is lovely but be aware itís a tad on the expensive side, that said the food was excellent.

This is such a wonderful location and I would love to see it managed well as it would be a haven. I would still say that it is value for money but you need your own facilities for sure. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: NHOOPER 1 review from this member

 A beautiful site located in quiet and idyllic Oxfordshire countryside with fishing ponds and loads of natural history.

Plenty of hot running water, and there's a shop cum post office with plenty of supplies including good locally baked bread and lovely bacon.

Not at all over-crowded, and a real feel of being away from it all. And it's located by an ancient Manor house that was mentioned in the Doomsday Book.

Prices are good too! We have been enjoying this site for nearly twenty years. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SallyBaron 1 review from this member

 We love this place! It is so peaceful and there is beautiful nature around you.

Owls hooting in the night and beautiful views towards the fishing lake.

There is a shop on the campsite which stocks everything you need and lots of lovely local village pubs nearby.

I couldn't fault it! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Treefrog 1 review from this member

 Have stayed here many times over the years. Always found staff to be helpful and friendly. Never had any problems with grass being too long ( as some people have commented).

There is a shop and post office on site where you can withdraw money without having to travel or find a cash point. The local pub is just a couple minutes walk where they serve good food.

All in all if you are looking for a quiet and peaceful site to stay then would recommend this place. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heartbeat22 3 reviews from this member

 Where do I begin. Well we have stayed here a couple of times and the site is quite idyllic. This was our third visit which we booked in June, when the booking page was empty.

On arrival Friday evening we where told that there was no booking made in our name. Bare in mind we had two pitches booked, the pitch number and names and addresses given in person. All details appeared to be lost. And this is one of the many problems. In would appear that there is more than one piece of paper used to write bookings down and things get misplaced.

There appears to be no computer bookings. So the net result was; we where allocated one pitch for a large tent and a caravan. We were about 18 inches apart. This I'm sure is against camping regulations - but they don't care - only the money is where the interest lies. In the end we were charged over £100 for three days for one pitch.

Totally unacceptable. We had electric which was problematic all weekend - again too little available for the size of the site. The grass was over 10 inches long in places and clearly the site is very tired and unloved. I made a mark on the shower wall in June and the same mark was there at the end of august.

The Toilets are cleaned regularly though. Sadly we will not be coming back here and advise anyone to think twice about booking. There are far better sites locally where your money is not the only thing welcome. You have been warned ! 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyns 26 reviews from this member

 Nice location seriously let down by the facilities. We donít mind basic facilities, but two shared toilets and one sink struggled on a site of this size, this was made worse when one toilet broke, leaving one for the entire camp site.

Other than that, the site is nice with many pitches facing one of the lakes. Pitches are not marked which leads to confusion when booking in, parking cars, etc and the staff were not overly helpful and seemed more concerned about ensuring everyone had paid.

The local pub, The George is open again now, apparently having been closed for some time. Nice pub within 2 mins walk of the site. They will even box up food to takeaway for you and the chips were great, with local Hook Norton beer on tap and a nice outdoor seating area.

Fishing was hard work. Speaking to the regular guests the carp have all but disappeared over the last few years with only one being caught for the 3 days we were on site. Smaller silver fish are present, but somewhat illusive, which was a shame given the idyllic location. Fishing is £6 a day.

The on site shop serves the village community and stocked the essentials, including news papers and some nice local cake. There is a Chinese takeaway about 5 minutes drive form the site too and other local shops are within about 10 mins by car.

A nice site but the lack of facilities has deterred us from going back. Better suited to caravans than tents. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SMH56 4 reviews from this member

 This wasn't our first visit to this little gem of a campsite, it's only 30 minutes away so I call in the morning and book a pitch. No minimum nights stay, we have always picked our pitch never a problem. Some electric if required all on grass. Yes the showers are a little behind the times, depends what you want.

It's got a couple of lakes for fishing - we didn't this time, very quiet, no main roads anywhere near. This morning treated to a hot air balloon display going right overhead! So relaxing.

Only down side is the lovely local pub has closed so take your drinks with you and enjoy the site and at £6. 50 a night for the two of us and our dog a bargain!

The Manor House is also the local post office and village shop. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cheyney Manor House child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cheyney Manor House?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cheyney Manor House dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Banbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4521 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement