Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Crowborough > Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Goldsmith Recreation Ground
Elridge Road
Crowborough
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN6 2TN
Tel: 01892 664827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wooltman 19 reviews from this member

 Nice site near to Crowborough town centre which is a ten minute walk up the hill, the town has the usual outlets and supermarkets.

Our grass pitch had some nice views, bring blocks as the pitches are sloping even the hard standing.

The toilets were always clean and we had a friendly welcome on arrival. The water tap was a good distance away from our pitch but this didn't bother us to much.

The site was quiet at night but as we had a larger group of children in the next area it did get a little noisy at times during the day.

This site is on the flight path too, we think Gatwick airport and the planes go over every five minutes or so in the day, we didn't find this a problem as we liked looking at all the different types as they went over.

There is lots to do in the area and the coast is only a short drive. We spent a lovey day at Lewes.

A miniature railway is just on your right as you turn off the main road, this runs on Saturdays from 14. 00 well worth a ride. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trubytribute 17 reviews from this member

 I wondered whether this site would be noisy due to the proximity to a large sports centre and field but I needn't have worried at all as it was a very quiet and peaceful site. We have dogs and the dogs were allowed on the extensive playing fields and what views from there. Living in the Welsh Borders I was actually surprised to find such beautiful scenery.

Crowborough was just about within walking distance depending on how active you are. However it isn't motorhome friendly. There are barriers in car parks and notices not allowing motorhome parking. We asked at the campsite if there was anywhere we could park the motorhome for proper shopping and they didn't think there was. However on walking to Morrisons on the Monday of our holidays we noticed that the barriers seem to have been moved and we could have indeed parked our 10 ft high motorhome in the car park and this was confirmed by the staff.

Also a tip if going in a tall motorhome to the Bluebell Railway which is nearby - go to Horsted Keynes via A275, large open field type car park - no barriers at all and a most lovely spot to have a picnic and if you have dogs they can be walked there too. Roads off A road are an interesting drive!

As for the site, handy location to see lots of places, pleasant environment and up to the expected standards of camping and caravan club sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taylor_rich 1 review from this member

 I am a seasoned traveller and have stayed on many sites throughout Europe and the world for that matter, and can only give this site praise. The site is clean, well kept and quiet.

I am on a hard standing seasonal pitch with electricity, and for a UK site the pitch sizes are generous. The site is well located to local services and also lives up to the club Moto of being 'The Friendly Club', as both couples that work there are incredibly helpful and friendly, nothing seems to be an effort for them.

I would not, and have not hesitated to recommend this club site to friends and family alike and would without a doubt return. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Inkpen 8 reviews from this member

 Very nice 4 day break in a tent with the kids & wee dog. Lovely leafy site, not packed too tight. Very pleasant managers seemed laid back and wanted to help us enjoy our stay. They didn't mind us camping out of two tiny cars, unlike many sites (107 + Agila hardly equal one 4x4!).

The kids enjoyed the bingo session put on by the managers, cycling around the site, the swimming pool right next door, the little steam train round the pond next door (open Saturdays only), jigsaws and a selection of games in the rec room, and the kids & dog loved the park past the leisure centre nearby with super views.

Our pitch was a little the worse for wear and started to get slightly worryingly muddy after all night rain, which fortunately went away for the remainder of the stay and dried up nicely.

The two toilet blocks were nicely kept and checked multiple times a day. For me, I would have dearly liked private washbasin cubicles as I was sporting a bandaged leg which prevented me using the shower - apparently one of the ladies' had them, but not the gents'.

That aside, a lovely campsite and a great holiday, thanks. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beerstalker 12 reviews from this member

 The site adjoins, and is accessed via, the Leisure centre. The layout includes a mix of pitch types and sizes spread over three or more levels. Families need to be aware of deep water adjoining the lower site boundary.

Facilities very clean although the water pressure seemed low in the showers (temperature adjustable with the head on a hose, hooray!). There are two toilet blocks, the mens in each has two toilets and two showers.

This may not be enough when the site is full There is a recreation room available with a good wifi signal - the signal varies across the site. Crowbourough town had little to detain me but Tunbridge Wells is well worth a visit.

Make sure you go to the 'Pantiles' arcade. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 36 reviews from this member

 Site is on three levels, middle and lower mainly hard standings with some grass, the upper level is grass with very few electric pitches. The two wash blocks are well looked after, the only problem here being that the water pressure is rather low. Site has a recreation room, where they held a bingo on Easter Sunday evening. Holiday Site Managers also laid on an “Egg Hunt” for the kids. As well as Winnie The Pooh country, site is handy for Spa Valley and Bluebell railways.

Site team were very friendly. They recommended 'Jade Garden' for Chinese meal, which is in easy walking distance. Unfortunately it was closed the night we wanted a meal, so we settled for the 'Wok Inn' in the town which we enjoyed. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Topcat+Dibble 18 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a two night stay. We asked for a non electric pitch and were offered two locations - a row of pitches at the top of a slight slope just inside and to the left of the site entrance and a field at the back of the site which had great views but sloped more. We chose the former.

The facilities on site are what you would expect of a C&CC site - not the newest or poshest but fine for our needs.

Can recommend the White Hart and Blue Anchor pubs, which are within walking distance(just!) of the site, for a drink. Can't say about food as we catered for ourselves.

Visited Pevensey Bay, Beachy Head and Brighton on our only full day.

Would recommend to others who want a quieter site. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iain72 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site with 4 other families. We all stayed in tents and were allocated a perfect area that accommodated us all comfortably. The pitch sizes were generous and the children had plenty if space to run around.

The management were extremely helpful and there is a great recreation room that we used on the second night - evening bingo in the room was a bonus! and we all thoroughly enjoyed our first official bingo games - we could take alcohol into the room which added to the enjoyment.

Handy little shop on site to buy milk etc

The site was quiet - ie no road noise etc. The site had a great atmosphere and we will no doubt visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mikey1banana 15 reviews from this member

 I've just returned from Crowborough C&CC Site and I'm not sure if I like it or not. I arrived on Saturday lunch time to be told that a local electricity sub station had exploded the night before and that they weren't sure when power would be restored. Fair enough but a courtesy call that morning would've been nice to give me the option of going somewhere else.

Understandably the Wardens were a bit stressed but we didn't really receive the welcome that we've come to expect from the club.

We were shown to our pitch and given quite a comprehensive run down of the facilities. There are 5 toilet cubicles and 4 showers across two blocks for the gents and I believe the ladies was the same. This I feel will not be enough to service the site when it is full.

The old shower block is old, incredibly dated and smell of damp. The new shower block has got a new feel about it but feels equally as dated and tired as the old block.

While I don't expect pristine marble surrounding the CDP, it would be nice to have a little bit of privacy while seeing to my business.

The on site shop doesn't stock bread which caught us out. The site is close to a leisure centre in which you can swim but we found that boy racers gather in the car park.

There is a sign that says Crowborough council camping and caravan site on the entrance to the site and it very much feels like neither the Council nor the C&CC want to spend money on this site, and it shows.

If you are approaching this site via Tunbridge Wells, allow a minimum of 20 minutes to get through it. The traffic is horrendous.

I will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathy6973 20 reviews from this member

 Wanted a few days away somewhere close to home as had just replaced our car and was not sure how the new one would two - delighted to report that both the campsite and the new car were better than expected!

The staff on site were exceptionally friendly! We arrived and were allocated our pitch, but it became apparent that our twin axle beasty was going to be too long to go on the original pitch so we were moved instantly with no hassle whatsoever.

They put on Bingo in the evening of Halloween, and all the kids dressed up, followed by a game of Play your Cards Right! Welcome drinks provided and then 'Bring your own' meaning a really fun cheap night!

Visited surrounding area - Hastings, rode the Cuckoo trail etc - weather a bit disappointing but that's what you get when you go camping in October in England!

All round, a gem of a campsite, and we will be returning in 2013.

Oh, and in case you were wondering, the new car is a Kia Sedona TS(2007), and it has turned out to be the best touring car we have owned, even better than the Discovery we had before! 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crowborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3810 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement