Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Crowborough > Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Goldsmith Recreation Ground
Elridge Road
Crowborough
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN6 2TN
Tel: 01892 664827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fairfield campers 1 review from this member

 Very good site, the toilet block was small, but we never had to wait for the showers and they were always very clean.

Great site for young children, as it's very friendly and safe. Although no play area, my 2 are a bit older so had brought games etc

Will go back to this site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jan westhead 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site. As it is a caravan and camping club site we expected good faciltiies. This campsite had excellent facilities. It was very wet the weekend we were there and we had full use of the recreation room which was open all night, in case we floated away in our tent. The washing room was always immaculate My partner is disabled and the facilities for him were first class. Dry, warm and plenty of space to change. The wardens were very helpful and friendly. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Deeana 16 reviews from this member

 This is a very nicely kept site with good facilities and the location is good for Ashdown Forest and all local attractions including Tunbridge Wells. The site managers are very pleasant but one of the assistant managers is very abrupt and authoritarian about enforcing the strict letter of the law, which makes one nervous. We have curtailed our stay there because of his attitude.

Very muddy pitches, with no real drainage, which is a bit of a problem especially since Crowborough is famous for its rain. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentpecker 3 reviews from this member

 High standards of cleanliness and hot water at all times, very friendly wardens, pretty site, good size pitches, peaceful site. It does slope in places but no great problem, good dog walk, 2 separate shower blocks cleaned at different times. Crowborough town is a 2 minute drive, 10min walk. Very good Chinese and Indian takeaways in town, also a Morrison’s and Waitrose. Ideal touring base for visiting Brighton, Eastbourne, Hastings, Battle, etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jfarbrace 2 reviews from this member

 First time to this site on very good recommendations. Was not disappointed.

Very friendly wardens who certainly put them selves out to help (gave me an onion when I forgot to buy one for our spagbog).

The toilet block & showers (2 of) were very clean, hot water all the time and smelled very nice.

The site is very pretty on split levels, some grass pitches some hard standing. It does slope in places but only slightly. More noticeable if in a tent.

There is no playground for children but the grassy areas are great for cycling round, as our two did. You can play games but have to be respectful of others. There is how ever a leisure centre just out side the campsite with a swimming pool which does family fun time. Next to this is a large sports field which you can play in to your hearts content.

Crowborough is a 2 minuite drive, 10min walk with Morrisons & Waitrose. A very good fish & chip shop, Chinese, indian & pizza takeaway. We stayed on site most of the time but did go to Penshurst place which is about half hour drive and well worth a visit. The site do have a book and leaflet centre on surrounding attractions.

Definitely will go there again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dog_tired 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a great 2 days at Crowborough. The site was excellent and I fully agree with the reviews posted previously. The toilet blocks and showers were very clean and well kept. I had a shower first thing this morning and they were still immaculate - good going as the site was quite busy.

We took the kids (9 and 10) to the neighbouring swimming pool and got a reduction because we were using the campsite. A child's swim was only £1.75 and the kids must have been in the pool for 2 hours. It's not a big pool, but it was very quiet and the pool staff brought out lots of swimming toys for them. Shame the toilets weren't as clean as the campsite.

Had good fish and chips from the chip shop at the crossroads (traffic lights just up the hill. Morrisons and Lidl are just a bit further, but the Morrisons car park is accessed further up the hill towards the coast (signposted 'Superstore'). There's no access to the store from the Petrol Station - or the good's entrance!

Probably too close to home for us to keep the kids excited, but certainly well worth a visit. And perhaps for us without the kids :). It was great for us coz the kids are already looking through the Camping And Caravaning brochure looking for another site. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dknellie 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site and it certainly won't be the last. The couple who run this site are so friendly and helpful. The ground was quite wet when we arrived and the grass pitch was sloping, but the man who ran the site came and helped us to level our caravan and even provided us with wood blocks to stop us sinking even more, and when it was time for us to leave he towed us off the pitch.

The toilet and shower facilities were spotlessly clean and lovely and warm. The television reception was very good here too.

The site was very quiet but near the town centre, there is a Morrisons and a Lidl nearby and plenty of pubs if you want to eat out.

We visited Wakehurst Place while we were here it was lovely there.

We had a lovely weekend - apart from the weather - and will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kazevenden 4 reviews from this member

 This is the first time we have been to this site and was very impressed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The toilet and shower were lovely and clean. The site was children friendly. There is a leisure centre just up the road from the camp site which was good with a train ride across the road which the kids loved. There also a park behind the leisure centre which was brilliant for the kids 2 let of steam. A very enjoyable weekend will be going again and add bonus as the weather was so good. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Whites 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping trip with our 16 month old daughter and we absolutely loved it!
 
The site's facilities were spotless and included a family room with baby bath and a kitchen with microwave.  We haven't yet invested in cooking gear so this was great for us.  The site was immaculate with really large pitches, we actually wanted to be a bit closer to our friends in the tent next door but there was lots of room for the kids to run around.
 
The site managers were very helpful and friendly, which was good as we hadn't camped for years and were a bit wet behind the ears!
 
The site was quiet at night, apart from our babies crying but we hope that it didn't disturb people too much!
 
There is a fab leisure centre next door to the entrance and we all went swimming to cool off from the heat.  Lots of walking to be done right from the site, but it was too hot.
 
Local shops included Waitrose and Morrisons.  We went for dinner in nearby Tonbridge Wells so can't comment on the local pubs.
 
Went to nearby Pevenesey Bay, would advise you to go early on as the tide comes in around 12 and leaves a very stony beach. 
 
All in all this was an amazing weekend and we can't wait to return to the site.  Although I guess we were spoilt with the fabulous weather. 


Date of Visit: January 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cas54 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over a Bank holiday weekend . Very nice clean and tidy site, as you expect from a Camping & Caravan Club site. Highly recommend levellers,in case you get a slopping pitches.
 
At the beginning  of the road to the site there's a public swimming pool, (about 5 minute stroll from site) with reduced prices for camper's. The pool has a floor that moves to alter the depth of pool. Ie: for the family fun time.
 
Worth a return visit . YES 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crowborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3943 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement