Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Crowborough > Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Goldsmith Recreation Ground
Elridge Road
Crowborough
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN6 2TN
Tel: 01892 664827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2024 to 02/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Esermalda 6 reviews from this member

 Having been warned re the sloping sites, we brought chocks with us. Not too crowded at this time of year.

We arrived in a deluge, the wardens were very helpful indeed. Having set up we tried the emu but ours failed, the warden came over and tested both his stands and our unit, we were unable to get any electricity. He suggested a couple of places to shop. We went the following morning and sorted ourselves out.

The warden came especially to find out how we got on. Very kind people.

The site was tidy with plenty of places to walk our elderly dog. The showers were lovely and hot but not too powerful.

The washing up area was clean and tidy and so were the toilets.

Apart from the amount of rain which made a stream outside our awning, the place was lovely. The planes overhead you could hear but were not too intrusive.

We were in the area visiting family so will use this site again and hope for better weather next time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 17 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 87 reviews from this member

 We live in Crowborough and have stayed at this site a few times while refurbishment work was undertaken on our house. Now that it has been completed we thought we would write a review. Crowborough C&CC site is actually owned by the Town Council but is leased to the Club for them to run. Locals are very supportive of the campsite because it brings in a lot of revenue to the Town.

Access is straightforward off the A26 look out for the brown camping sign about 150 yards before the turning. The site is part of the leisure complex so once you turn into the road go past the boating lake and miniature railway and the site entrance is at the top on the right. Look out for the campsite sign and note if you have a large unit the entrance is a bit tight.

There are two toilet blocks. The larger of the two also contains a recreation room. As stated by previous reviewers the blocks are a bit dated but are kept very clean. Water and waste water points are dotted around the site and there is a Motorhome point opposite the larger toilet block. There is a mixture of hardstanding and grass pitches and some of the hardstanding pitches have been recently renewed. The site, especially the grass pitches is sloping so you will need chocks.

The town centre is about 10 mins walk away with several supermarkets to meet all pockets, Waitrose, Aldi and Morrison’s and a Tesco the other side of town. Plenty of pubs nearby the list is displayed in the aforementioned recreation room. Our favourites are The Boars Head (20 min walk) and The Crow and Gate (10 min drive). There is also a very good Weatherspoon’s in town (10 min walk) and an excellent Italian Restaurant, Donna Maria (15 min walk).

Bus links are available from the main road to either Tunbridge Wells in one direction or Lewes and Brighton in the other. Tunbridge Wells is worth a visit to see the Pantiles where there are many tea rooms. Crowborough is also on the edge of the Ashdown Forest for walkers and also the Ashdown Forest (Hartfield) is the home of Winne the Pooh, Piglet etc.

Yes there is plane noise as the area is under the Gatwick flight path but living in Crowborough you get used to it and it is not that bad to be honest. I know we live here so perhaps we are a bit biased but we would thoroughly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Vario600 14 reviews from this member

 Only stayed for 1 night but a very nice site in great location and walking distance to shops,

Facilities were also very well maintained and clean,

Would definitely sty again. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Georgi 1 review from this member

 The site facilities were extremely clean and well maintained by the very helpful and friendly hosts Julie and Paul.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: PedroPete61 31 reviews from this member

 Having been here last year I knew where it was and how to avoid Royal Tunbridge wells and its traffic.

The site is in the grounds of the Goldsmith Liesure Park and the signs are about 300 yards from it, with a turning on the road.

The town has two main shops as well as the clubs and social to visit. The Goldsmith centre has plenty to keep you going and you can join the groups if you speak to them.

A large Walking area and the younger people will have a good time.

All in All a nice place to stop, allowing for the odd plane depending on the Wind direction but that is life. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 125 reviews from this member

 Not too clearly signed off the A26 but if you drive slowly you will be OK. There are warning signs a few hundred yards in advance but not at the junction itself. Enter the Leisure Centre site (still no visible signs!) and go to top right where you will see a small C&CC sign to follow.

Very pleasant site and friendly helpful wardens. Discounted rate for pensioners was £19 per night for hardstanding and electric. Two small but spotless facilities blocks.

There are bus stops at the entrance off the A26. Lewes and Brighton in one direction and Tunbridge Wells the other. 10 minute walk into Crowborough.

An enjoyable stay and we will return. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jandan 20 reviews from this member

 There are some beautiful views from part of this campsite. It's a shame it is only seen by glamping units. The rest of the site is terraced and hasn't any views at all. Where we were, we came out of our tent to face a gigantic hedge just a few feet away. A lot of pitches are on a slope.

The caravan park seemed overcrowded although it was very tidy and litter free.

The two shower blocks are kept spotlessly clean but are badly in need of an upgrade - the colours and tiles in one of them reminded me of an old NHS hospital.

Recycling and rubbish bins are outside the entrance which was a bit of a trek each day.

It is a fairly quiet site, although parked next to a running track, there were a fair amount of joggers and dog walkers at all times of day. Aircraft noise at night was a problem to us. Take a torch if you are parked up behind the hedge.

There didn't seem to be any children's play areas but there are nearby - there's a leisure centre right next door and there is an indoor table tennis table.

There are some basic food supplies in the reception area.

Entrance is via a security barrier and code between 7am and 11pm.

The wardens were very friendly but it isn't a place we would go back to.

Crowborough town is a 10-15 minute uphill walk away with a Waitrose and a Morrisons. There are some coffee shops and restaurants/pubs. Tunbridge Wells is a lovely but very busy town worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PedroPete61 31 reviews from this member

 A lot has changed since the last review, Hardstandings, Wi Fi and Glamping tents

A bus route just outside the site, there is a Leisure centre with a swimming pool and running track along with a multi gym inside and out, the town is a short walk up the road with pubs and shops.

It is easy to get in and out. It has storage for Units not required in winter and so on. I heard few aircraft during my 4 night stay and Tunbridge wells is only 6 miles away.

There are various eating places with the spoons open early for Breakfast, plenty of places to walk the dog or stroll around at the view when clear 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CampingRays 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a wonderful three night break in our tent at Crowborough Camping site.

The site was in an excellent location with dog walks behind and to the side of the park. 10 min walk to town with the shops and a pub. A short drive to the Ashdown Forest.

The site was lovely and clean no litter, grass cut lovely, toilets and showers immaculate. Will definitely be coming back. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AndyJ82 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with the family for a 5 night break to visit family close by and other areas. Towing to site was very simple from the M25. The site is adjacent to a leisure centre which we didn't make use of, except myself on its running track.

The site is nice and quiet and located close to the town and its amenities. Unfortunately the site was very badly water logged. Even the weight of my 10 year olds was enough to visibly see the ground move beneath them, thankfully we had a hard standing, which was level side by side but note that you may well need blocks for use under the corner steadies.

The warden team were good, and considering the grass guided me onto the pitch to minimise the chances of getting bogged in. We were situated next to the second toilet block, which was closed. That being said the second was not far away and attached to a rec room with some local information. The block was always clean and tidy and stocked with loo roll. Not much for the kids to do on site but they survived with the day trips out and about.

For info, 3 network 1/2 bar reception, 3G/4G very hit and miss. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crowborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55655 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement