Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Goldsmith Recreation Ground
Elridge Road
Crowborough
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN6 2TN
Tel: 01892 664827
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 51 Reviews
                8/10 from 51 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 40 reviews from this member

Not too clearly signed off the A26 but if you drive slowly you will be OK. There are warning signs a few hundred yards in advance but not at the junction itself. Enter the Leisure Centre site (still no visible signs!) and go to top right where you will see a small C&CC sign to follow.

Very pleasant site and friendly helpful wardens. Discounted rate for pensioners was £19 per night for hardstanding and electric. Two small but spotless facilities blocks.

There are bus stops at the entrance off the A26. Lewes and Brighton in one direction and Tunbridge Wells the other. 10 minute walk into Crowborough.

An enjoyable stay and we will return.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jandan 15 reviews from this member

There are some beautiful views from part of this campsite. It's a shame it is only seen by glamping units. The rest of the site is terraced and hasn't any views at all. Where we were, we came out of our tent to face a gigantic hedge just a few feet away. A lot of pitches are on a slope.

The caravan park seemed overcrowded although it was very tidy and litter free.

The two shower blocks are kept spotlessly clean but are badly in need of an upgrade - the colours and tiles in one of them reminded me of an old NHS hospital.

Recycling and rubbish bins are outside the entrance which was a bit of a trek each day.

It is a fairly quiet site, although parked next to a running track, there were a fair amount of joggers and dog walkers at all times of day. Aircraft noise at night was a problem to us. Take a torch if you are parked up behind the hedge.

There didn't seem to be any children's play areas but there are nearby - there's a leisure centre right next door and there is an indoor table tennis table.

There are some basic food supplies in the reception area.

Entrance is via a security barrier and code between 7am and 11pm.

The wardens were very friendly but it isn't a place we would go back to.

Crowborough town is a 10-15 minute uphill walk away with a Waitrose and a Morrisons. There are some coffee shops and restaurants/pubs. Tunbridge Wells is a lovely but very busy town worth a visit.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PedroPete61 20 reviews from this member

A lot has changed since the last review, Hardstandings, Wi Fi and Glamping tents

A bus route just outside the site, there is a Leisure centre with a swimming pool and running track along with a multi gym inside and out, the town is a short walk up the road with pubs and shops. It is easy to get in and out. It has storage for Units not required in winter and so on. I heard few aircraft during my 4 night stay and Tunbridge wells is only 6 miles away. There are various eating places with the spoons open early for Breakfast, plenty of places to walk the dog or stroll around at the view when clear

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CampingRays 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a wonderful three night break in our tent at Crowborough Camping site. The site was in an excellent location with dog walks behind and to the side of the park. 10 min walk to town with the shops and a pub. A short drive to the Ashdown Forest. The site was lovely and clean no litter, grass cut lovely, toilets and showers immaculate. Will definitely be coming back.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AndyJ82 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here with the family for a 5 night break to visit family close by and other areas. Towing to site was very simple from the M25. The site is adjacent to a leisure centre which we didn't make use of, except myself on its running track.

The site is nice and quiet and located close to the town and its amenities. Unfortunately the site was very badly water logged. Even the weight of my 10 year olds was enough to visibly see the ground move beneath them, thankfully we had a hard standing, which was level side by side but note that you may well need blocks for use under the corner steadies.

The warden team were good, and considering the grass guided me onto the pitch to minimise the chances of getting bogged in. We were situated next to the second toilet block, which was closed. That being said the second was not far away and attached to a rec room with some local information. The block was always clean and tidy and stocked with loo roll. Not much for the kids to do on site but they survived with the day trips out and about.

For info, 3 network 1/2 bar reception, 3G/4G very hit and miss.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Samsimcaravan 9 reviews from this member

Had a short break at this lovely quiet site. Lovely friendly greeting on arrival. Our pitch was level although some were sloping, not far from water or the toilet block. There were only 2 showers in both men and women's but we didn't find this a problem, not sure if the same can be said if the site was full. It was clean if a little dated as another reviewer has mentioned. There was another block but we thought this was a family block so never went in it, so not sure what was in there. There were a couple of dog poo bins located around the site which was helpful when you have dogs like we did. We thought the lighting at night was adequate and didn't need to use our torch. The walk to Crowborough wasn't far and pleasant through the grounds of the leisure center and up the road. Shops and supermarkets and a statue of Arthur Conan Doyle. The leisure Center also had a nice circular walk with fantastic views. The only negatives were the bins were located outside the entrance to the site so a bit of a trek and there was a bit of noise from planes going overhead but not too disruptive.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glamcamping 3 reviews from this member

Just stopped for one night and the site was clean and well presented.

Some pitches are on a slight slop but not all and we soon sorted out the van to be level. Showers and toilets are dated but clean and tidy. The site was really quiet at night even though it's next to leisure centre and there was a fun fair on next door as it was the crowborough festival. Once this finished you could of been in the middle of no where.

Close to crowborough town centre with supermarket 2 mins up the road.

We had our dog with us and there was plenty of places to walk her, for children there is a play room but not a play ground that we found although there is one next door.

The wardens were really helpful and welcoming.

We would use this for a long weekend in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 212 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- From Crowborough centre take A26 towards Tunbridge Wells. Campsite is next to the Goldsmith Recreation Ground Leisure Centre just past Speed Camera, the site is signed from main road.

Non-members are accepted. There are 90 pitches in total, mainly set out on terraces although at the end of the site is an open field with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. Pitches are a mix of grass and hardstandings. The latter are only wide enough for caravan plus awning. Depending on length of outfit cars could be parked across the front of the pitch. Some pitches will require a degree of fore and aft levelling. Electric points are convenient to those pitches that are designated to have electricity. They are rated at 16amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. Site roads are in the main compacted gravel. There are two toilet blocks. The larger of the two is nearer to reception and in addition to all the usually facilities also contains a recreation room with table tennis and a pool table. The second smaller block is a bit further into the site and seems a bit newer. Water and waste water points are dotted around the site. Not sure I like the idea of the drinking water tap being over the grey water waste drain. The motorhome service point has an open grid although larger motorhome might temporarily block the road whilst emptying waste water. There is no dedicated play area for children on site. There is site wide Wi-Fi and time can be purchased at reception or online. Signal strength wise it was generally OK but struggled a bit sometimes in the evening. This is generally a peaceful site but there is a fair amount of planes flying overhead en route to the various London airports. There is not much in the way of lighting around the site so best to bring a torch! Rubbish and recycling is situated just outside the site gates. This site has a storage compound.

This site is a ten minute, uphill, walk from the centre of Crowborough. There are plenty of shopping opportunities with both a Waitrose and Morrison’s supermarkets. There are also several eating places. The site has good transport links from the main road to either Brighton or Tunbridge Wells. The latter is well worth a visit not only for the well-known Pantiles but it also has a rather good shopping centre.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wooltman 18 reviews from this member

Nice site near to Crowborough town centre which is a ten minute walk up the hill, the town has the usual outlets and supermarkets.

Our grass pitch had some nice views, bring blocks as the pitches are sloping even the hard standing.

The toilets were always clean and we had a friendly welcome on arrival. The water tap was a good distance away from our pitch but this didn't bother us to much.

The site was quiet at night but as we had a larger group of children in the next area it did get a little noisy at times during the day.

This site is on the flight path too, we think Gatwick airport and the planes go over every five minutes or so in the day, we didn't find this a problem as we liked looking at all the different types as they went over.

There is lots to do in the area and the coast is only a short drive. We spent a lovey day at Lewes.

A miniature railway is just on your right as you turn off the main road, this runs on Saturdays from 14. 00 well worth a ride.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trubytribute 16 reviews from this member

I wondered whether this site would be noisy due to the proximity to a large sports centre and field but I needn't have worried at all as it was a very quiet and peaceful site. We have dogs and the dogs were allowed on the extensive playing fields and what views from there. Living in the Welsh Borders I was actually surprised to find such beautiful scenery.

Crowborough was just about within walking distance depending on how active you are. However it isn't motorhome friendly. There are barriers in car parks and notices not allowing motorhome parking. We asked at the campsite if there was anywhere we could park the motorhome for proper shopping and they didn't think there was. However on walking to Morrisons on the Monday of our holidays we noticed that the barriers seem to have been moved and we could have indeed parked our 10 ft high motorhome in the car park and this was confirmed by the staff.

Also a tip if going in a tall motorhome to the Bluebell Railway which is nearby - go to Horsted Keynes via A275, large open field type car park - no barriers at all and a most lovely spot to have a picnic and if you have dogs they can be walked there too. Roads off A road are an interesting drive!

As for the site, handy location to see lots of places, pleasant environment and up to the expected standards of camping and caravan club sites.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5395 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019