Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Crowborough > Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Goldsmith Recreation Ground
Elridge Road
Crowborough
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN6 2TN
Tel: 01892 664827
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Deeana 16 reviews from this member

 Spent another week on this site at the beginning of September. We were blessed with good weather, and the site is always at its best at this time of year - relatively quiet and peaceful. We found time this time to walk the dog from the bottom of the site, where a gate links to a network of footpaths which can take you all round Kent and Sussex!

As a regular visitor to this C & C site I feel I must defend it from the comments about planes. There is no way they come in 500 feet above the ground. Plenty of planes do pass overhead, and I personally don't like them much, but they are far higher up than that and don't make an unusual amount of noise. In fact, nothing remarkable at all considering Crowborough is only thirty miles from Gatwick.

Although it is nothing to do with the site as such, I also want to correct the comment about the boating lake. It is a small pond which you can sail toy boats on, and as such is great fun, but does not constitute a boating lake. There is also a small ride-on model railway and a petanque club in the same area.

The club has applied for planning permission to improve this site, extend the opening times into all-year-round and improve the pitches and amenities. I believe the work is expected to start this winter.

This site is run by a very friendly couple who work hard to keep it clean and tidy, quiet and peaceful. Not always the case on some other sites in East Sussex. Hats off to Vicky and Richard! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MichaelBenj 20 reviews from this member

 This will be our last camp this season I think and the crowborough site was an excellent choice. Clean showers (and no annoying push buttons, hurrah), a short walk to the supermarket and swimming pool, a bus stop outside the site to Tunbridge Wells and Brighton.In fact everything you need.

Personally I don't like town sites so the icing on the cake here is the facilities of a small town are a short walk away but the site itself is secluded and very quiet (no traffic noise, no airplanes nothing).

The only minor but niggling problem was no rubbish bins on site. Top marks, hope to return as our first camping trip of the 2011 season! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dogberry 2 reviews from this member

 We found this site to be of the usual C&CC standards. However, considering the size of the site we felt that the toilet / shower blocks were a little on the small side. In the male toilets there are two showers (no push-button time limiters) and three wash-hand basins that are not in private cubicles. A small family room is provided with a sink, baby changing area and baby bath. Three sinks are provided in another room for pot washing. But saying all that we never queued. All are kept clean and tidy.

The pitch that we camped on was level but speaking with other campers they complained of sloping ground. There were more caravans & campervans than tents at our visit.

This site is set well back from the main road into Crowborough and there is no road noise whatsoever, there is plenty of overhead noise from planes but this is not that bad considering and does keep the children amused counting them !

There is no playpark for children on this site.

The only rubbish bins are next to the entrance barrier, there are non on-site.

Morrisons is right out of the site, up the hill through the lights and next left after their petrol station, left at the mini roundabout and straight down the hill. About a 20 minute walk.

Good central site for East Sussex and all it offers. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Susanj 18 reviews from this member

 Pretty site, lots of flowers. A bit sloping, but quite a few hardstandings, which were level. We were not troubled by the aircraft or road noise- yes, aircraft do come over, but it wasn't that frequent. It certainly wouldn't put me off visiting again. Lots of shops and eating places in Crowborough. Usual CCC facilities, one useful thing for campers is the campers kitchen, which you have to pay for. The 2 toilet blocks would be enough when busy I think.

The best thing about visiting here is that there is loads to do. We discovered the Ashdown Forest-lovely walks and nature trails- you can get guided walks from the visitor centre, woods, heathland- really lovely. A bit like the New Forest, only less busy and no biting ponies!

Lots of gardens and NT properties within easy reach. Will definitely go back to this lovely part of the world. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jadsett 49 reviews from this member

 Extremely well run site, right next to the local leisure centre and large park.

The site has immaculate toilet blocks and boasts both grass pitches and hard standings.

Although it is a short distance from a busy main road, it is very peaceful at night.

The site itself has no playground, but this is more than compensated by the neighbouring park which has a huge adventure playground and cycle/skateboard facilities.

A bus stop immediately outside the site gives easy access to Tunbridge Wells, East Grinstead and beyond. Ashdown Forest is on the doorstep with all its connections with Winnie the Poo. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blazer666_uk 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 days at this site. Facilities are excellent as per all Camping And Caravan Club Sites are. A very large site with lots of pitches.

The location is near 2 major supermarkets and is located right next door to a sports centre and boating lake.

Staff were friendly and helpful, only saw them on the day of arrival but they live in the office so not a problem if you need them. Site shop is very small but has a good stock of cold drinks and ice cream! There is a good amenities block with washing machines kitchens and family rooms, very handy if there are a lot of you or you have a 'accident' with the little ones.

There are some limitations

Our tent is 8m long plus another 3m for the awning. The pitches are only 26feet long so space is a bit limited. You are also allowed 6m between pitches so again if you have a large tent you are restricted in the space available.

This site is very noisy with lots of road noise and it is also in the flight path of Gatwick airport so all the planes make their approach 500ft or so above this site.

Most of the tent pitches are sloped and to be honest it is quite a slope too we had trouble with tables and chairs this was a minor pain.

Overall a good site but has some restrictions. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Deeana 16 reviews from this member

 We are regular visitors to the Crowborough Camping and Caravanning Site, due to family commitments nearby. The site is due to be improved this autumn, and not before time. As one of the Camping and Caravanning Club sites which is heavily featured in their literature it does not stand up to close examination. One of the toilet blocks is only open in the high season, which can mean a long walk to the facilities depending on where you are parked. Crowborough is well equipped with supermarkets, and Tunbridge Wells is about 8 miles away.

There are plenty of attractions nearby (by car or bus) but there is little to do within walking distance apart from the swimming pool which is adjacent to the site. For popularity the site depends heavily on people who are en-route to other sites or visiting friends and relatives in Crowborough or the local area.

The site gets very muddy in wet weather, although hopefully this will be improved with the upgrading we are being promised (subject to planning permission being granted) this winter. A new recycling scheme has just been introduced, which involves carrying all your rubbish to a collection point outside the site, about a 5 minute walk from most pitches. This has replaced the central bins which used to be emptied daily. We found this to be very inconvenient. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarefuchs 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend at this site.

Travelling with 2 toddlers is tricky at the best of times but this site was great.

Very clean and provisioned parent & child bathroom. 2 baby baths on site.

Swimming pool next door and also a public playground with great sand pit and few minutes walk away.

Slightly sloping but good grassy site affording good views.

Visit the Llama Park nearby - a winner with little people. They also have real reindeer!

Just a few minutes from town too where they have a Waitrose and Morrisons - very handy. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RubyDooby 1 review from this member

 First time I have ever camped (went with 14 year old daughter). Very helpful reception and choice of pitch although it was very busy. Had forgotten to mention we had dog when booking but was accommodated by dog walk (which I didn't know the site had) and near to toilet blocks.

Hardly any queueing for showers/loo or washing up. Crowborough town has lots of supermarkets (Waitrose, Lidl, Mdorrisons, Sainsburys local and Tescos) and take-aways. Leaflets for these and eating places in first block near kitchen. Was recommended a pub by the warden that we could take dog - was really good food and dog friendly.

Will definitley go again for the weekend/midweek break.

May have caught the camping bug! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SKTTY 1 review from this member

 This is an excellent site. Our pitch was a good size, the showers/toilets were of a very good standard, clean and never seemed busy. The site is convenient too, for the public swimming pool a short walk away, nice recreation ground (excellent little cafe adjoining) and great views. Site office and staff all very helpful. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Crowborough Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crowborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4749 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement