Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Hartlepool > Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) > Reviews

Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Blackhall Colliery
Hartlepool
Co Durham   (Browse area)
TS27 4BN
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 36 Reviews
                6/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (8)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Dolores99 12 reviews from this member

 Just got home from a four night stay in a static caravan at Crimdon Dene. We paid 77 using the Sun 9. 50 offer (3 adults, 1 child). Our caravan was at the back of the park, right next to the train tracks. They were quite noisy being so close but my son loved it. The caravan was fine for a bronze, a gas fire in the living room and ample kitchen equipment. We took our sleeping bags to use with the duvets provided, as I knew it would be cold at night at this time of year. The park facilities were fine, there was a couple of decent sized play parks and a good football/sports court and a clean indoor heated pool. The entertainment complex is quite small but the park wasn't at full capacity so it wasn't an issue. I saw a sign saying a new complex would be built for 2014. The access to the beach was easy, there are two ways down and we must have chosen the easy way because it was a mixture of steps and sloping paths, not a set of steep steps as I've read about in previous reviews. The beech itself was great, clean sandcastle sand towards the water and lovely soft sand littered with a million different pebbles and shells, I can imagine it being even better in the summer months. We did venture into Hartlepool for shopping and to visit the marina and quayside which were very nice, if a little cold. The staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and if we'd had any problems, I'm sure they would have done their best to help. We would definitely visit Crimdon Dene Park again and would recommend it to any family. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kitty2 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 days in July. Luckily we had lovely weather which made all the difference and the kids were on the beach and out in the play area every day. As people have said the touring area is a bit rough and ready but very handy for the main complex and the shop. The swimming pool was nice and clean and the complex itself was fairly small but had a fair bit to do for the kids. The warden was lovely when we arrived as we had a bit of a mishap with the caravan but he was really nice and helped us out. Kids enjoyed it on the whole and we would most likely go back again in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for 5 days near the end of june and paid 70. As stated below the site is a bit rough and ready but lovely views out to see and down towards hartlepool. The hard standing pitches are only 6 meters long so some caravans and motorhomes may struggle to fit on, also the grass is very treadbare round the pitches. Shop is very well stocked and the meals at the bar are reasonably priced

Very good coastal walks and cycle paths and lovely beach nearby.

Now for (our) bad bits

Cheap price attracts a certain type of folk. 2 days in a row the in the female showers someone decided 2 use them as toilets??? Not nice! and also smoking in the toilets.

So for them reasons we wont be back 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jjsr2004 6 reviews from this member

 A cracking site, in a lovely location. Living in the north east, I wouldn't have believed the beach at Crimdon Dene could be so lovely. Lots of steps down to beach mind, so bear this in mind if you have a buggy!

Lots of statics, but touring site fine, with adequate shower facilities(free). Other facilities a little rough around the edges, but you pay for what you get. And you arent forced to use them of course! My children loved it anyway- and that's what matters to me. Pitches overlook the play park too; so we didn't see much of them, as they were either here or in the football court.

Handy for where we live and will definitely be back to keep the kids happy. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bryoak1958 35 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for four nights in august with my wife's parents in a rental caravan belonging to the site, my son and family in their van also my brother in law and family, so, a good party of us. I would like to go through all the plus points first: the park itself and the location by the beach are very good. The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us. The clubhouse I'm told was good including the swimming pool. But where this site lets itself down badly is the shower blocks and water supply. The water supply pipes result in a trickle if no water at all, even in the showers it's hit and miss mostly miss. I was all soaped up went to rinse off, you guessed it, no water. It's a good job my inlaws had a static on hire or I would have been a very smelly chappie. So please do get all the water supply problems resolved and you have a nice site here 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adzy 4 reviews from this member

 Went on the Friday straight after my 5.5 year old son finished school and stayed for four nights on the Jubilee Bank Holiday Weekend (so returned on the Tuesday) and after reading some of the negative reviews on here we didn't know what to expect but we needn't have worried.

We have stayed on far worse sites and this is the first time I've left a review. I know that people are more likely to leave one if they've had a terrible time so I'm happy to leave a positive one in order to redress the balance.

The warden was friendly and came straight over to tell us what going on and how to get down to the dene and the beach etc. He was always busy and showed his presence which was reassuring.

Thought night-times may have been noisy going off previous reviews but it was surprisingly peaceful. Heard the odd person talking or giggling on their way home from the clubhouse and the odd barking dog having it's last walk but that was about it so nothing to complain about there.

The toilet block was clean and warm and there was always hot water. The only negative is that they have severe water pressure problems and if the showers in the mens were in use then the ladies had to wait for them to finish otherwise it would just trickle out but it was no biggie, I just went back a bit later. My husband said the mens was also clean and warm.

We pitched next to the playground so we could watch our son and 18 month old daughter. It was a bit lacking and could do with a few more things but they were happy enough. The only thing really wrong with it was the spinning thing was surrounded by mud because the tap that was uphill from it had a blocked drain.

The clubhouse was OK but it's certainly too small for the site. We didn't try the pool or the restaurant but we took the kids to have a boogie on a couple of nights and after an hour or so they'd had enough anyway. We couldn't get a seat the first time but did the second time (the show bar is tiny)

The shop was alright but nothing special, OK for a paper and emergencies but once when I was in there someone asked for bread but they had none left. We shopped in Hartlepool as next to the Marina you have a choice of Asda, Tesco and Morrisons. We had lovely takeaway from Romeo's Pizza one night and it was cheap - worth the drive out.

Visited Tweddle Farm which is just over the road 5. 50 for adults 4.50 for 2's and over and that put in a couple of hours.

Spent some time in Hartlepool and also visited some family we have there. We only live around 35 miles away so some family came down and visited us on the Saturday and they thought the site was nice. We went to the Merry Go Round pub which is a couple of miles away and the food was good enough and of a reasonable price.

Price of our stay was very reasonable - especially for a bank holiday and only cost 104 for the four nights (all prices include an awning and up to 6 people).

All in all we had a good short break and will definitely return at some stage in the future. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sadiebaby 6 reviews from this member

 We wanted to try out our new tourer so chose this site as it was close to home if there were any problems. We were slightly concerned about the negative reviews but after our visit are glad we went ahead with our trip. We were given our choice of pitch so opted to be fairly central - close to the bar, the shower block and the play area. The park seemed fairly busy even though it was the first weekend of the season but there was plenty of room between the pitches for awnings and we did not feel crowded. The touring warden was very friendly and quick to help when we didn't know what we were doing.

The park was clean and the staff seemed very efficient. We visited the clubhouse and the games room and all were as expected on these type of caravan parks. Security were on the door asking for passes. We did not have a meal so couldn't comment on the food but did see empty plates so must have been ok. The play area was well used by the children on the park as was the area for playing ball games and our children enjoyed both. We didn't have time to try the pool.

The site is ideal if you like the beach as it is only a short walk away. There are also riding stables which have a pony club for children - all day or half a day. Tweddle farm is also close by which is a lovely day out with the kids. The surrounding area is beautiful and there are some lovely walks nearby. The local chinese takeaway delivers to the site or is five minutes drive if you come out of the park and turn right. In the same direction is a fish and chip shop (closer than the chinese) and a Premier convenience store. Definitely worth a visit if you have children. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vivo 19 reviews from this member

 This is a large Holiday Resort Static site. It has all the typical facilities, lots of them. We used one of the bars and it was OK at off-season time.

The tourist pitches are adequate and VERY WELL PRICED. We think they are offering such good rates as a marketing tool.

Well as a touring M/H, it is a well equipped, well priced location, more secure than wild camping.

As an en-route stop over it is excellent value and we will definitely use again. As a longer period holiday resort, I would suggest you read someone's review who stayed for that purpose. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Jesssssxxxa 1 review from this member

 I don't really understand the negative reviews that have been left on this site, the caravan itself was lovely as was the reception staff who got us checked in at 3 o'clock rather than four. The restaurant was a bit pricey so we didn't stay there too much and it took a while for any staff to serve at the bar. This park would be great for families with children however as we travelled without any it was rather annoying when they come into the bar area screaming and running round while the staff ignored this. Also we had six occasions during our 4 night stay where children would knock on our door asking for money and ran away, but after complaining to reception they sorted the situation out with security within minutes. Also we had a power cut during our first nights stay but staff kept us up to date and got it resolved as quick as possible. It has absolutely gorgeous scenery and would definitely consider going back, the caravan was spotless and everything we needed was provided, loved it! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ruth2112 3 reviews from this member

 The campsite was very muddy the pitches had no grass. As we arrived we were met by an unfriendly warden. The showers were fairly clean for couple of hours. The shop was well stocked, the bar prices were alarmingly expensive, nearly nine pounds for bottle of cider and pint of larger, two pounds for a childs slush drink. Food expensive and poor quality. Club was packed for amount of people there. The warden told children off for playing with ball in park area but did nothing about the yapping dog that yapped all day and all night. Holiday was very expensive break 96 pounds for three nights. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hartlepool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5187 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement