Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Hartlepool > Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Blackhall Colliery
Hartlepool
Co Durham   (Browse area)
TS27 4BN
Tel: 0843 309 2591
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: 22nd March - 4th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 32 Reviews
                7/10 from 32 Reviews

Photos (9)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 541 reviews from this member

 Cheap and cheerful family site which is good for a couple of days away.

Pitch prices are good. Facilities are ok but a little grubby.

Bar and restaurant offer good meals at reasonable prices.

Entertainment typical of the holiday resort type - good fun for kids. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bestyman 46 reviews from this member

 The wife and I (with small dog) stayed here for a long weekend in June in our Motorhome.

I suppose that a review should be written taking into account the price paid and what you want from your stay. For a couple (no kids) looking for a bargain break with nice walks nearby it suited us fine.

The price we paid was 8 per night including electricity. This was a special promotion and the cost is usually much more, an absoulute bargain.

The location worked for us with easy access from main roads. The site is located very close to a beach that is great for dog walking. No punch and Judy, ice cream or fish n chips here, just miles of open beaches with some caves. The site is on a coastal path so great walks towards Hartlepool (about 4 miles) and also a nice walk in the other direction.

On arrival check in was fast and efficient. A 10 deposit was required for the toilet and shower block key. We were directed to the touring field where Gary the warden helped us. I`m not usually a warden fan, but feel Gary needs a special thanks for his help and friendliness. He does his job very well. You choose your own pitch here. Pitches are slightly on the snug size and the grass well worn. Gary made sure that all units faced the same way and securirty drove around occasionally. Overall it was a peaceful and reasonably quiet site, to be honest not what we were expecting.

There is a train track nearby, trains could be heard but noise wasn`t an issue. Our pitch had a slight sea view.

The toilet and shower block was OK. It was heated and had plenty of hot water but on the down side it was old, had the push button type showers with fixed showerheads that sprayed everywhere. Certainly won`t win any bog of the year awards, but it worked.

We had a look in the clubhouse one night. It seemed fairly new and had no complaints. There was an amusement arcade and two bars. I'm not an expert in this field, prefering village pubs, but everyone seemed happy enough.

There is a mini supermarket shop on site, good range of products and friendly staff, a little on the expensive side but this is only to be expected. There is also a laundrette.

Considering the bargain price that we paid I think this site is a 4, however had we paid full money it would be a 3.  


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adzy 4 reviews from this member

 We last visited this site in June 2012 during the extra bank holiday for the Queens jubilee and as we've just upgraded our tourer we just wanted somewhere not too far away so us and the kids could try it out for the weekend. We were going to book somewhere else but we had a discount code so we only paid 24 for two nights -bargain!

The site is so much better now and the new showbar is much more the size it should be for a site this size. The dance floor's no bigger but we could live with that.

The entertainment team had more energy than the kids so they were well entertained. For the adults there was a decent singer on Friday night and a naff Michael Jackson impersonator on the Saturday, however there was a band on in the bar also on the Saturday and these were good.

As has been said previously, Gary the warden was helpful and came straight over as soon as we'd chosen our pitch and when we said we'd been before he knew he could just leave us to it.

We were out with my sister and brother in law all day Saturday and they came back with us and went in the showbar for a while and they liked it too.

Overall we enjoyed our quick getaway, the kids (son 7 and daughter 3) LOVED it and if it stays likes this we will be back for another one soon - well done Crimdon Dene

Well done 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janepot3 1 review from this member

 First venture out in our motorhome, so only booked one night as we are total novices and just wanted to check out equipment etc. And didn't want to travel too far. We loved it. Book in friendly and explained where touring field was, with a highlighted map. On arrival to the field we just pulled into the first available pitch, then we were greeted by Gary (the touring warden)who advised us of a better pitch and took us along. He then explained the facilities, pointing out fresh/waste water points, toilets, laundry, shop etc. We didn't have a hose for the water tank. Mmm lots to learn, so he went away and borrowed one and filled the tank for us!

Toilet and showers, warm and clean, shop well stocked and reasonably priced, play areas clean and safe, fenced in ball area- a hit with the kids. Entertainment what you fine and my 9yr old loved it The swimming pool is small but clean and well staffed. We loved it and have booked to go for 5 nights 4 days after our return. I feel confident going alone with my son as I'm sure Gary will help me out if need be! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Mig2k_uk 16 reviews from this member

 Just got back from spending 7 days here with hubby, my daughter her hubby and my two year old grandson. I read the reviews and was a little worried about this place. But the van we had was great as it was a bronze. Three Bed rooms and very clean. Only problem is it had a large gap next to it children used this as a play area. My daughters van was a gold and more like an apartment with a very large open sitting room all safe with central heating. The entertainment was great for my grandson he loved the sparky rabbit and friends. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The site is on a cliff above the sea wonderful views. 5 mins away from all the large supermarkets. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MEG55 17 reviews from this member

 Warden was very friendly and helpful. Guided us onto our Pitch and explained where the Electric, Water, Waste, Toilets and Shops were.

Pitch was Electric hard standing not the largest but ok for our Motorhome.

We were pitched a little too near to the Entertainment Centre and suffered some noise on the Saturday evening but by Sunday it had quietened down.

Nice walks either on the beach or the Dene.

This Site is a good option for a weekend break for us as we are only 40mns from home but it feels like you are on holiday. Excellent value as it cost us only 18. 40 for the Sat and Sunday nights. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Dolores99 9 reviews from this member

 Just got home from a four night stay in a static caravan at Crimdon Dene. We paid 77 using the Sun 9. 50 offer (3 adults, 1 child). Our caravan was at the back of the park, right next to the train tracks. They were quite noisy being so close but my son loved it. The caravan was fine for a bronze, a gas fire in the living room and ample kitchen equipment. We took our sleeping bags to use with the duvets provided, as I knew it would be cold at night at this time of year. The park facilities were fine, there was a couple of decent sized play parks and a good football/sports court and a clean indoor heated pool. The entertainment complex is quite small but the park wasn't at full capacity so it wasn't an issue. I saw a sign saying a new complex would be built for 2014. The access to the beach was easy, there are two ways down and we must have chosen the easy way because it was a mixture of steps and sloping paths, not a set of steep steps as I've read about in previous reviews. The beech itself was great, clean sandcastle sand towards the water and lovely soft sand littered with a million different pebbles and shells, I can imagine it being even better in the summer months. We did venture into Hartlepool for shopping and to visit the marina and quayside which were very nice, if a little cold. The staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and if we'd had any problems, I'm sure they would have done their best to help. We would definitely visit Crimdon Dene Park again and would recommend it to any family. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kitty2 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 days in July. Luckily we had lovely weather which made all the difference and the kids were on the beach and out in the play area every day. As people have said the touring area is a bit rough and ready but very handy for the main complex and the shop. The swimming pool was nice and clean and the complex itself was fairly small but had a fair bit to do for the kids. The warden was lovely when we arrived as we had a bit of a mishap with the caravan but he was really nice and helped us out. Kids enjoyed it on the whole and we would most likely go back again in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for 5 days near the end of june and paid 70. As stated below the site is a bit rough and ready but lovely views out to see and down towards hartlepool. The hard standing pitches are only 6 meters long so some caravans and motorhomes may struggle to fit on, also the grass is very treadbare round the pitches. Shop is very well stocked and the meals at the bar are reasonably priced

Very good coastal walks and cycle paths and lovely beach nearby.

Now for (our) bad bits

Cheap price attracts a certain type of folk. 2 days in a row the in the female showers someone decided 2 use them as toilets??? Not nice! and also smoking in the toilets.

So for them reasons we wont be back 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jjsr2004 4 reviews from this member

 A cracking site, in a lovely location. Living in the north east, I wouldn't have believed the beach at Crimdon Dene could be so lovely. Lots of steps down to beach mind, so bear this in mind if you have a buggy!

Lots of statics, but touring site fine, with adequate shower facilities(free). Other facilities a little rough around the edges, but you pay for what you get. And you arent forced to use them of course! My children loved it anyway- and that's what matters to me. Pitches overlook the play park too; so we didn't see much of them, as they were either here or in the football court.

Handy for where we live and will definitely be back to keep the kids happy. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hartlepool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3871 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement