Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Hartlepool > Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) > Reviews

Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Blackhall Colliery
Hartlepool
Co Durham   (Browse area)
TS27 4BN
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 36 Reviews
                6/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (8)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Donna08 1 review from this member

 Campsite was clean, toilets were quite clean, children's park was small and very muddy, some things kids could not play on because of mud. Food to eat in was ok but quite expensive, takeaway was expensive and not worth the money. Kids drinks in bar (coke lemonade) was charged at 1. 75 a half. The club for entertainment was very small for the size of the campsite and we could not get in as all seats were taken. Only a few arcade games 1 pool table and 1 air hockey table but nothing for little ones. My son was not impressed with pool as it is only 1.2 metres deep. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gaznat 1 review from this member

 Nice location on the coast with Hartlepool near by. Touring pitches basic, and some not very level. Toilet block very old and tired. Electrics tripping all the time. No refund offered when had to leave early because we had no electrics. Park resorts please have a look at this site, gave it a much need facelift. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Miss baritone 20 reviews from this member

 A mixed view of this site. First few days were fine. The pitches were concrete and reasonably level. The site appeared clean and tidy and we were allowed to choose our own pitch so we chose one as far away from the clubhouse as possible.

The problems started when it started raining. The awnings were pegged out on slopes and when it rained excess water ran straight through the awning. The showers were cleaned daily but tended to fill up with mud etc in between. As has already been mentioned there was nowhere to hang your clothes whiles showering and the only seat available to sit on while you were drying yourself was a bench outside of the cubicles.

We had one meal in the clubhouse and it was fine but the clubhouse itself looked very tired and in need of renovation.

There was a reasonable sized kids play park and the noise wasn't too bad during the day but it was annoying when it got dark and teenagers were still using the park.

The site is fine if you just want a base for a couple of days while you explore the area but we wouldn't stay longer than that, especially in the rain.

We got several free nights to use on a park resort as part of a promotion when we booked but we won't be going back to use them. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petergt5 8 reviews from this member

 The pitches are muddy uneven and if it rains get flooded inside your awning, it would of been a struggle with a car to get on and off the pitches with all the mud and troughs in the ground although I have a 4x4 which makes it easier.

Now on to the site itself, the staff are not very helpful and the lack of a warden means kids aged 10 and upwards to around 18 were just wandering the site and causing trouble.

The shower block has nowhere to hang clothes while you shower and was not cleaned whilst I was there. I did visit the clubhouse in the evening and if you do not get there mega early you do not get a seat. There is a small pool with lifeguards. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tracey01 1 review from this member

 We arrived at this park at 8.30pm and were met by a member of staff who was moaning that he had been left on his own. He pointed us in the direction of the touring pitch and told us to choose any pitch. The only one left was right next to the club house. While I understand that people are entitled to enjoy their holidays it does not mean that they have the right to ruin other peoples. The music from the club was booming until after 1am and some if not all of the 'clubbers' then decided they would continue their parties until daylight. There were no wardens.

The next day we ventured down to the beach which was filthy and strewn with rubbish. I wouldn't let my dogs on it, let alone my children. We drove 70 miles to caton bay where the beach is superb.

There was a very small play park, full of unsupervised teenagers drinking on the top of the climbing frame and shouting obscenities to young girls.

The camp facilities were poor. The toilets and shower were dirty, humid and smelly.

Somebody had emptied their chemical toilet into the drain of the drinking water tap and it was not cleaned the whole time we were there. The icing on the cake had to be the member of staff that spat on the floor outside the club.

The only decent thing was the shop which was well stocked.

We were so disgusted that we wrote to park resorts who said they would take our comments on board. This was the most expensive weekend on a campsite, we have paid half the price at other parks and had better facilities.

The best part of the weekend was the journey

Home.

This site really lets down Park Resorts reputation and I would not recommend it. I have to rate 1 out of ten as there is not a zero out of ten option. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheltie 10 reviews from this member

 This was a strange site for us to visit with our tourer, both good and bad points, I will start with the bad but does not mean it's a bad site, please read all.

When we tried to book we were told we couldn't just arrive but must book and pay by phone.

When we arrived I was concerned by the water and mud on-site, but it had been very wet so that was maybe to be expected. Some pitches were really not very level or accessible unless like us you own a 4x4, Security gate was broken.

Toilets were OK but not the cleanest, showers were OK but nowhere to hang clothes to keep them dry.

Bank machine didn't work and the shop couldn't give cash back although it could take cards, it was well stocked with super staff.

Service at the bar was uninspiring and food disappointing.

We put up with some noise from the late night entertainment for two nights until I went to see what all the noise was about, then it all changed!

I found a superb if a bit loud centre of fun for all ages which was just good fun.

The pool was carefully watched over by superb lifeguards providing excellent entertainment, the kids loved it.

Office staff were really nice and very helpful.

We will stop there next year and maybe this year if we can. It's just simply good fun :-} 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Triaj07 5 reviews from this member

 This is the 5Th time we have visited this place in 3 months

Its nice, small touring field but very nice pitches

The shower blocks are OK if there is only 2 of you using the showers any more than that and the water seems to stop

The club house is OK - but it gets very busy very fast especially on a Saturday nite

A nice pool for the kids and a little play area fairly cheap to stay too

We will keep coming back 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kirsteen09 1 review from this member

 I visited this park in the summer with my boyfriend and his 8 year old daughter. We stayed in one of the Gold Caravans for 4 nights. The Caravan was one of the best I've stayed in, It was clean with a high standard of furnishings. The Caravan had a flat screen telly with digital and all new kitchen equipment so would recommend to anyone to upgrade to a gold. This campsite is a fantastic location next to the beach.

The communal areas were great for flying the kite and playing with bats and balls ect.

We were very disappointed with the children's outdoor play area which more or less consisted of a slide and climbing frame, however we found one 5 minutes drive on the road to Hartlepool.

The swimming pool was small, and on three of the four days it had no heating which meant our swims never lasted more than 20 mins. And I was disappointed to see the life guards on duty sitting doing crosswords.

We ate in the bar on the first evening we arrived. The service was terrible, My boyfriend was served his dinner and the barman/waiter proceeded to stop at an arcade machine for five mins before returning to the kitchen to serve the remaining meals. The food was of very poor standard and no vinegar, ketchup ect were available (we were told they were waiting for an order), so I had to nip along to the campsite shop to buy some (something the bar staff should have done.) We decided not to eat there again.

I would recommend Hartlepool marina which has an abundance of reasonably priced places which cater for families.

The kids entertainment was great, the entertainment staff were very enthusiastic and kept The wee one very amused, however the service at the bar was appalling, so we opted to go out and about more often. Hartlepool has a great cinema, and ten pin bowling alley. We also visited The Metro Centre on a few occasions.

I would recommend this park if you are looking to explore the area and use it as a base, as the location is fantastic and the caravans were of high standard. But be wary of the level of service you will receive if you plan to use the amenities. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kmaddison 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location, right beside the beach, and first impressions of the site's presentation were very good. Park Resorts have spent a lot of money improving the site's facilities including the swimming pool and an all weather sports pitch. There was entertainment for the children and the food from the bar was very good.

The pitches were concrete slabs surrounded by mud and the toilet and shower blocks were shabby, dirty and smelly. The toilets were never cleaned throughout our stay, yet speaking to other campers they used to be kept spotless. What has happened?

The touring pitches are in such a brilliant location on the site, right next to all the main facilities, and for such a big company as Park Resorts it would not take much to provide clean modern toilet facilities for tourers as well as improving the drainage on the pitches.

We will probably return to give it a second chance because it is in such a lovely location. It could be a wonderful site for the north-east. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Sueandjohn 4 reviews from this member

 We had booked for a four night stay.We only stayed for one and decided to drive home the next day !

Caravan was awful.Supposed to be new for 2008 but was filthy with cigarette burns and pet hairs in the shower and everywhere else!

Park resorts say that a reduced entertainment program runs outside school hols.They don't mention that this is reduced to nothing!

The pool was ok (but small), didn't really want to spend a week in amusements but of course they were open!

We felt like we were at a deserted place.Even when going off site.The nearest pub didn't let kids in even for a meal. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Crimdon Dene Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hartlepool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


25889 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement