Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Camping De L Ile D Offard

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Saumur > Le Camping De L Ile D Offard > Reviews

Le Camping De L Ile D Offard
Rue De Verden
Saumur
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49400
Tel: +33 02 41 40 30 00
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 258
Open: 01/03/2022 to 15/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 40 Reviews
                7/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camp chaos 26 reviews from this member

 We were here during a scorching hot August so were VERY appreciative of the pool. It was busy at times but we were always able to get a sun lounger. The pool was lovely and clean with a friendly vibe.

We booked a riverside pitch but obviously didn't fully read the description as the pitch wasn't actually fronting onto the river, as I pictured, but was merely at the edge of the site with a fence then a path and THEN the river. Anyway, the pitch was a good size with a handy tree for shade. We were nearish 2 clean (with plug sockets) toilet blocks that were never particularly busy and also near various water points.

The walk into Saumur, along the river path, took about 20 mins. The town was busy with a 'real' town feel to it, rather than just being a tourist place. We had some really good meals, particularly the Auberge des Ecuyers where they had delicious flatbreads served with various sides.

There were lots of cycle routes nearby (maps from the tourist info in town), my favourite went through the troglodyte caves at Turquant and Parnay (I think!) on the way to Montsoreau and Fontevraud (amazing abbey with effigies of Eleanor of Aquitaine etc).

My only tiny complaint would be the weird lack of friendly campers! We'd traveled from the municipal at Amboise where everyone greeted you around the site with a friendly 'bonjour'. At Saumur, very few people spoke at all. Not sure why but it was a shame. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gracecook 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here one night, asked to be near toilet block big mistake. The pitch was adjacent to the play area where the children were running wild. One little girl about 2 years old fell from the top of the slide and her parents were nowhere around. Someone had messed on the floor in the toilets and it was still there the next morning. The city is worth visiting and is about a 20 min walk but I will be finding another site if I visit again. It was expencive 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wendy106 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived after some heavy rain which meant the pitches were a bit muddy, add this to the lack of grass due to it being late in the season, but never mind, the pitch was level and the ground dried up when the sun came back.

The facilities were excellent, toilets, showers clean, toilet paper all the while we were there. The pool looked nice, although we didn't use it. Food in the restaurant was excellent but a bit expensive we thought. We used our ACSI card so only paid €16 per night, well worth it. All the staff we spoke to were very helpful, there's a small shop in reception for essentials, and you can order bread too.

It's about a 20 minute walk into Saumur, which is a lovely town. There is an excellent market on Saturdays. The chateau is very pretty, although we didn't go in - we had spent a day in the Chateau in Angers, so enough culture done -.

We went to the wine caves of Louis Grenelle, on Rue Marceau. Only €2. 50 for a very informative 30-40 minute tour round the caves, with wine tasting at the end. Very enjoyable and definitely worth going.

All in all, a lovely few days in Saumur, this is our first time in France, and we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pmgrant1948 3 reviews from this member

 Now part of the Flower Camping group, on the island separating the two parts of Saumur (although there is little of interest in the North part, except the railway station). Site is long and relatively narrow, with three facilities blocks. We paid extra to have a ‘privelege’ site next to the river, which was large and level.

Good reception with English very well spoken. Bread etc can be ordered the night before required.

Pitches are only loosely separated and in a variety of sizes and shapes. Facilities block clean with hot water and showers. No seats but paper, no soap.

There is a pool and restaurant (rather expensive) and this might be noisy if your pitch is close; it was loud one night. We were far enough away not to be too troubled by noise, except that a very noisy event across the river kept us awake until 3am on Saturday night!

Free wifi, but very slow and unreliable, with a more expensive ‘premium’ service available. Personally, I think that is ridiculous on an already expensive site (€129 for three nights, motorhome with two adults and electricity).

Saumur itself is a 20 minute walk along the Loire and across the bridge. Lots to see and good restaurants etc. Very informative Tourist Office and loads of places the visit in the area – it would make a good base for a further visit. There are several other and less expensive sites in the area – we have it down for a possible future visit with rental car. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

 I've been coming here for a good few years and it's one of my favourite sites, it's got better each visit. The staff are a real asset and the bar is great for a drink or meal they really go out of their way to make you feel welcome with fab service and a nice menu and prices are good for a campsite plus it has a lovely view of the pool.

We have a premium pitch, not because of the river view which isn't always on each of the pitches but as we like their position. Used the spa and had an hours massage with my husband very relaxing.

The position of this campsite makes it a real winner with an easy cycle into town.

Free wifi on flowers campsites that works well is a great bonus.

I will keep returning and seeing all the improvements they make each year. A campsite that's really trying. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 186 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We fancied visiting Saumur on our route north, and chose this site from the ACSI book as it appeared to be within walking distance of the town.

We found the site easily, it is on an island between 2 rivers. You drive through a residential area and the campsite is at the end, next to a public swimming pool (though there is one on the campsite). We were checked in quickly and allocated a pitch, also given a necessary map to enable us to find it. The pitches are flat and grassy, and different sizes, and there are lots of trees for welcome shade.

We were pitched opposite a sanitary block which was closed, so had a bit of a walk to the next one. This was fairly modern, mixed sex toilets on the outside, separate sex areas for showering and enclosed basins. Washing up was outside under cover. The shower water was hot, but the washing up water not always so. Because there was only the one sanitary block in use in that area it was very busy, and we had to wait now and then. They were generally clean.

So generally an ok site, except it had a feeling of neglect, some of the pitches had long grass, or large twigs from the trees, and they had a mole infestation, so a man was seen squashing some molehills, but leaving the pitch uneven and messy. Considering this is a 5 star site, it doesn't feel like the other 5 star site we use, which is very well cared for.

We cycled into the town, it only took a few minutes. There are plenty of shops, and interesting buildings. It's a bit of a push up to the chateau.

However we would use this site again to visit the town, the price was moderate with ACSI discount. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TotnesTravellers 24 reviews from this member

 The setting of this site is simply lovely. May be best to seek a hard standing pitch as these have views of the château and this meant that we could look out of the lounge window of the 'van and see the early morning sun on the château and in the evening see it illuminated. It will depend which pitch you get and whether another vehicle is in the line of sight but even in that case you will only walk a couple of metres to see the sight - excellent. The welcome was fine and the staff very helpful. The actual town is an easy walk away and has a good collection of shops and some very good places to eat. Wifi was available on the pitch and worked well. A good base to explore this area and a site we will use again. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

 Second time in 2 years on this site. I love it for it's location to Saumur, lovely and easy on our bikes. Yes there are posh chalets, tents etc on this site but I don't think that detracts from the site. Our pitch was fine, by the river and we got satellite tv. You really don't get a view of the river though so don't be disappointed.

The pool was warm and a great view, bar was good and we didn't eat but it was popular. Shower blocks really good.

Order breakfast by 6pm, great crossiants.

Since arriving home and looking at web site, it seems they have added a sauna spa thing to the site.

Someone on our travels said there is now a new manager on site from Wales.

We were lucky during our 2 night stay there was a music concert on in the old square, picture perfect. I think the best places to eat are around here rather than the main road in where the market is held.

Also heard there are boat tours now running from the river frontage on the mainland.

Would go back again anytime to enjoy saumur. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ben.E 12 reviews from this member

 Sadly not much has improved following our recent visit. The grass was long and we did not hear anyone cutting grass in the 3 days

The pathways were not lit at all. One of the toilet blocks was being converted so was not available. There were many more static units on site than four years ago when we were there last. So So different and disappointing. Other than the bar/restaurant has a new proprietor who is eager to please

Still the most convenient site to visit the Chateau which should be opening the 2nd floor in June 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Alphonse 1 review from this member

 This site may be in the Flower Camping Group but the only flower you will see is on the logo. The plots for tents, vans and motorhomes and surrounding areas are not maintained and when we mentioned it to the reception staff ( who are really helpful and knowledgeable) we were told they did not have a gardener. By contrast the areas around the chalet/mobil homes were much better.

If you return after dark make sure you have a good torch as the pathway lighting is either inadequate or non existent.

There is no on site shop but there are plenty within easy cycling distance otherwise it's a 20 minute walk.

The toilet/shower facilities were excellent and regularly cleaned.

We tried to use the bar/restaurant but the woman running it single handed was totally overwhelmed and after waiting 20 minutes to be served we left.

The town has some lovely shops cafes and restaurants but watch out for the usual beggars and con artists.

All in all, it was ok as a base for a couple of days but you wouldn't want to spend a week there. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Le Camping De L Ile D Offard child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Le Camping De L Ile D Offard have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Camping De L Ile D Offard?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Le Camping De L Ile D Offard dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saumur      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3789 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement