Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Camping De L Ile D Offard

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Saumur > Le Camping De L Ile D Offard > Reviews

Le Camping De L Ile D Offard
Rue De Verden
Saumur
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49400
Tel: +33 02 41 40 30 00
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 258
Open: 01/03/2022 to 15/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 40 Reviews
                7/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David Klyne 246 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Approach Saumur from north or south on N347, on the north bank of the Loire take the D952 in the direction of Tours. At river bridge turn right and once over bridge turn left and follow signs to site.

Camping Ile d’Offard is situated on and island in the Loire just opposite the town of Saumur. There are around 200 touring pitches many of which are set out under mature trees. There are some statics and ready erected tents on site. The pitches vary in size but all are a good size if sometimes not square in shape. Those along the river opposite the Chateau command an extra premium of €2 a night. A small section of pitches on hard standing, near the Bar, seem to be reserved for motorhomes. 10 amp electrics is available to all touring pitches using CEE17 connectors. Some pitches have water and waste connections. There are three toilet blocks all of a reasonable quality with seated loos and toilet paper. The site has a nice swimming pool surrounded by a bar and restaurant. Baguettes can be purchased from the Bar in the morning. Reception is open all day. The site has reasonably priced WiFi but it is not site wide although we managed to get it on our pitch which was near to the first toilet block. Out of the main season the campsite accepts Camping Cheques. Date of visit, early September 2010.

Saumur is only a walk away from the site and a walk up to the Chateau will reward you with some stunning views over the town and Loire Valley. For shopping there is an Intermarche about a mile away. In the town of Saumur there are many other shops and plenty of restaurants. Saumur is about midway between Angers and Tours so a good base to explore much of the Loire Valley. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Edwardss 2 reviews from this member

 Would agree with previous positive comments regarding this site. This is a relaxing site with lots of trees, space, attractive pitches and plenty of comings and goings with cyclists and camper vans changing every few days. We stayed in one of the four 'loggia', wood clad mobile homes, which was very reasonable during the last week of august. Although quieter than some sites we have been to we enjoyed a marvellously chilled out week with our 11/8 years olds. Attractive pool area and proximity to Saumur makes this an easy choice for less demanding families, and others seeking a base to explore the Loire. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiftysomething 18 reviews from this member

 Very central and very neat and tidy, but having arrived the day after the thefts, we decided we would only stay one night rather than the two we'd booked.

Staff friendly, Reception welcoming, town interesting (there seemed to be a 'Battle of the Bands' in the town centre, which was fun) but we didn't feel safe and considering it's not a cheap site there are lots of other places to stay. Shame though. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Christineo 3 reviews from this member

 This is an attractive, well maintained campsite with a very nice pool and in a great location.

But be warned. Around nine tents, caravans and motorhomes were broken into on one night while we there. Our tent was slashed in several places - we were in the tent asleep - and they reached in and pulled some belongings out of the tent. Luckily they didn't find anything of value - these were locked in the car.

A couple of days later we were woken at 5.30 in the morning by youths shouting at us as they walked along the public path which goes around the perimeter of the campsite. Security is practically non-existent. There's a barrier at the entrance that anyone can walk through and all that separates the campsite from the path is a 4.5ft high wire fence.

So if you do go, lock your valuables in the boot of your car. Oh, and don't bother going to the restaurant - it's rubbish. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trogs 2 reviews from this member

 We (wife and I) stayed 4 nights here in mid August. We did not pre-book and there were plenty of spaces available.

The site is on an island in the Loire, with good views on one side across to the Saumur chateau. Saumur town centre is 15 mins walk - along the river and across the bridge.

The pitches are enormous, especially for our smallish tent. It's a spacious site, with plenty of mature trees for shade and washing lines. It was quiet at night - we were never disturbed by road or train noise. There's a good pool and bar, where entertainment was put on on one night - a singing duo (guitar+accordian). And don't miss the free wine tasting which seems to be most evenings.

This is a great location for visiting a lot of attractions - especially by bike. We cycled along the Loire - up to Gennes one day and to Montsorau another day (where the cycle path goes through some great old cave dwellings near Bourg-Neuf). Chinon and Usse also make a lovely day out. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bikepacker15 8 reviews from this member

 Good facilities, as visited out of peak season a lot of the site was empty. Noise at night from trains crossing the river bridge. Very central and Saumur is a very interesting place to visit. Good swimming pool and bar with reasonable priced food. Good sized shady pitches for tents, the hard standing motor home pitches near the pool don't have shade. The toilet block is unisex for each section, toilets and showers with one side of each room designated male/female, they must have had some problems with this as it looks as if some extra panels have been added to make the distinction clearer. Excellent dish washing and clothes facilities with washing machines and dryers.

Overall a good site and very well placed for exploring the town. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fedex 4 reviews from this member

 I reserved a pitch at this site in June before we left the UK. and paid 12 Euros. When we arrived we were informed that this reservation fee was not refundable or included in the price and so it cost 47 Euros for one night for the motorhome / electric and 2 adults which I think is a rip off.
There was plenty of room and no need to reserve, bearing in mind it was July. I know it was expensive but I'll still be objective. Our pitch was very small. The toilets were unisex and not very well kept, as you entered them the paving slabs were loose and in my opinion dangerous.
The swimming pool area was very good with a large pool and a very well kept bar behind it. Prices were pretty good for food and drink. The town of saumur is well worth a visit and had a great buzz about it. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kevinsheldon 36 reviews from this member

 The first thing that strikes you is the large and airy reception area. Staff are extremely efficient and friendly. We were able to explore the site before choosing a pitch. Bread and croissants can be ordered from reception for the following day.

Relative to its size there is very little hard standing on the site. Oddly shaped, they offer little shade and are grouped around the new swimming pool / bar area.

The new facilities look great and will be well used in peak season I’m sure. During off peak season only part of the site and one of the toilet blocks is open.

The rest of the good sized pitches, all with 10amp electricity, are on grass and are lovely with lots of trees providing ample shade. You can get a spectacular view of the Chateau across the river from the bottom of the site. If you camp here there will be some noise from trains crossing a nearby bridge.

The British style toilets are kept clean and in the newest block the showers are good. Look for the way they have disguised their large solar panels. Simple but effective.

The Loire was wide, chocolate coloured and fast moving when we made the pretty riverside walk into Saumur. Well worthwhile not only for the cafes and shops but also the Chateau and its panoramic views. Cameras at the ready! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Callamia 1 review from this member

 Nice place. Have to pay for municipal pool now. It's Isle d'Offard I think. Lots of hot water for showers and washing up. Lots to do and a good stop off for nearby Chateaux in Touraine. Many cave dwellings, chateau with underground caves, farms in underground caves, lovely sparkling wines. Checkout Butterfly Bar in town, and family type french restaurant in street to right of main drag (where all the other restaurants are). Checkout Zoo La Doue (in caves)! 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Dickydolittle 3 reviews from this member

 We camped here for 2 weeks and thought it was an excellent introduction to France. It is a big site - 250+ pitches, all with electric and water close by. We saw every possible combination, from 1 cycle + tent, to big motorhome, from just about every country in europe while we were there!

Most of the pitches are pretty big - ours seemed huge with only an estate car and 6 berth tent on it! All have some shade, a couple near us were VERY shaded, and they are ALL different shape pitches - an Italian couple with a motorhome were horrified to find they had a tree in the middle of their pitch - even though they still had plenty of room!!

There are 3 big toilet blocks, all seemingly solar powered!!, with plenty of sinks, toilets, showers, electric plugs for charging up your phone whilst you wash!! 1 of the blocks has a laundry room with washing machines and driers - big capacity, 4 euros.
The kids club runs daily with a lunch break from 12 - 2. The staff all seemed very friendly and helpful, with lots of activities organised on and off site - some of which cost a bit. Our 2 (8 and 11) didn't use it much because they could go to...THE SWIMMING POOL!!!

This is a Municipal outdoor pool at the entrance to the site, which you get a free ticket for each day, and it has;
3 pools- 2 for small children, 1 big pool with a spring board, 2 high boards, 12 foot deep at that end!!, a cafe, small shaded park area, plenty of attentive lifeguards and loads of room for sunbathing. (Gents please note - shorts of any description are NOT allowed - Neither is footwear, not even flip flops, for anyone) The paint was a bit flakey, and there were a few tiles missing here and there, but we couldn't drag our 2 out of there - even on the on day it rained!!! New and Improved facilities are promised for 2006.
The site also has a good bar(with seating that overlooks the pool) + cafe with shop attached. Free wine tasting every night outside the bar!

The site is quiet and relaxing, yet is in the middle of Saumur. LOADS to do locally - more than room here permits.
Highly recommended, the kids are already planning 2006!!! 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Le Camping De L Ile D Offard child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Le Camping De L Ile D Offard have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Camping De L Ile D Offard?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Le Camping De L Ile D Offard dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saumur      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3847 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement