Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Camping De L Ile D Offard

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Saumur > Le Camping De L Ile D Offard Reviews

Le Camping De L Ile D Offard
Rue De Verden
Saumur
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49400
Tel: +33 02 41 40 30 00
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 258
Open: 01/03/2022 to 15/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 40 Reviews
                7/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 60 reviews from this member

 Yet another visit to this site to again take part in Anjou Velo Vintage.

We love the location and the cycling opportunities at this site.

We knew the site would be busy for the AVV weekend (normally in early July but moved to the end of August due to Covid) so had booked well in advance. Others who had not booked were turned away as the site was full so keep an eye on the dates). Reception was closed between 12. 00 and 2. 00pm as it was out of high season but booking in after 2. 00pm efficient and quick.

Our pitch this time, C82, was large, quite flat and the ground was very solid. Due to the trees it was mainly in the shade but that was welcome in the hot weather. We chose a Privilege Pitch which had EHU, water and drainage on the pitch itself but standard pitches are available. There are some new pitches that look as if they have a private toilet/shower and kitchenette on them but as the site was so busy we could not really check them out.

The facilities were fine and cleaned a couple of times a day. Hot water was available at all times and we never had to queue despite it being busy.

We ate in the bar/restaurant one night and the food was good and reasonably priced. It did get busy though so booking is probably advisable. Bread had to be ordered from Reception the day before and collected from there unlike last time when we collected it form the cabin near the bar.

We didn't use the pool but it looked inviting and was always busy.

Even this late in the season there were still some organised activities for youngsters along with wine tastings and a small craft market for adults. There was live music in the bar one night but we didn't go as we were out in the town.

We really like this site and will no doubt return again. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Motor homers 4 reviews from this member

 We booked 5 nights at Ile d'Offard.

The site was everything we had hoped for in a site.

Some of the pitches were VERY shaded but through luck we got allocated one which got quite a lot of sun. (I don't know if you could choose your own pitch as we saw newcomers driving round so I don't know if they were lost or just trying to choose a pitch (we arrived on the sunday of the busy Velo vintage weekend)).

The only downside to note, and it is not the campsites fault, is that there is a trainline that runs through the North of Saumur that has trains running on it occasionally through the night. But this would effect the whole of the town and not just this campsite. But to sum it up, we would go back there. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 60 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site.

It is ideally situated for us, a short walk/bike ride from Saumur town centre which is well worth a visit.

There are a variety of pitch options, including fully serviced (electric, water and waste on pitch), standard (electric on pitch, water nearby) and Campetoiles which are wooden tents on stilts for sleeping with a fixed table and benches under, designed for those without car such as cycle, kayak and walking tourists. There are also a number of safari tents and cabins for rent.

The Reception was friendly and efficient, even though the site was full over the weekend due to the Anjou Velo Vintage festival in the town which we there for.

The site has a gate with code for entering and exiting. It's nicely laid out and has many trees etc in the camping part, offering some shade. Pitches are separated by low bushes.

The pitches are not huge but are adequate and have been stabilised with matting as the site is quite sandy. This had rucked a bit so we were glad that we had a groundsheet with us to help flatten things out.

The facilities were good and cleaned at least twice a day. In each indoor block there were shower cubicles which included a sink as well as a shower, washing up sinks and clothes washing sinks plus coin operated washing machines and dryers and a communal freezer for ice blocks etc at no extra charge. There was always plenty of hot water. The toilets are in the adjacent block, plus there were some outside toilets and the black water disposal. The toilets had paper, soap dispenser and a hand dryer.

The pool was being well used while we were there though we did not use it. Adjacent to the pool there's a bar/restaurant. We ate there a couple of times and found the food good and the prices reasonable. We didn't book and got a table each night, though we do eat early. Bread etc can be collected from the Cabin next to the bar/restaurant but has to be ordered the day before from either the Cabin or Reception.

For children there was a simple play area, bouncy castle and a play fort with slides, climbing frame etc.

In the evening there were events such as a small market, wine tasting etc a few evenings a week and live bands at the weekend.

The Petit Train which tours the sights of Saumur, including the Chateau, stops at the entrance to the campsite and you can get on and off there if you wish.

Despite being on the river we were not bothered by any biting insects etc and there was a team of groundsmen on site each day looking after the grounds and keeping the gardens nice.

We really like this site though from other reviews it's not everyone's cup of tea. We will return next year for the Velo Vintage but would happily go back at any time. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Beenie 4 reviews from this member

 Although on an island in the middle of the Loire, you couldn't really see any water and you had to hire one of the cabins if you wanted a view of the chateau. I found this very disappointing.

Our pitch was OK but the place seemed very crowded, like camping in the middle of a campervan showground. Lengthy queues at reception.

The restaurant was very good, the saving grace for us. We wouldn't go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Susanj 18 reviews from this member

 Rather disappointed with the site.

My main gripe- I chose the site as it has a heated outdoor pool. Iím a serious swimmer and need a pool wherever I go. The water was so cold I only stuck it for 20 minutes and Iím a dedicated outdoor swimmer. I only saw one other family try the pool while I was there and they left after 5 minutes.

The pitches arenít large and are a bit scruffy.

Reception sells a few groceries but there is no shop as such.

Good position near Saumur.

Toilets etc very clean, mixed sex.

Staff speak very good English.

Riverside pitches arenít actually on the river but behind hedges.

Lots of cabins etc.

Good for children I would think.

Some pitches a long way from water supply.

At the time of our visit only the main toilet block was open so we were all rather crammed into one area.

I would not return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Liannwilcox 4 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site. Level large private pitches. Shame not direct on the River. Toilet and showers clean and modern take your own toilet roll.

Nice pool very busy didnít get chance to use. Great location over the bridge to Saumur and the wonderful chateau.

Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: List 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this ideally located campsite. With Saumur town only 20 mins walk away with lots of places to eat at any time of day and lots of quaint little shops too. Lots to see and do in and around the area especially if you like wine.

If its too hot there are lots of caves with cellars in and troglodyte caves, even the biopark zoo is cut into the local stone making a unique experience.

Campsite: Lots of trees but still pitches getting lots of sun light, facilities cleaned regularly and there are three toilet blocks. Staff are friendly and very helpful, worth asking them if you have any problems eg puncture. Nice pool to cool off in with plenty of sun loungers though these can get used up during busy periods.

There are animations for both children and adults which include a concert at the bar on fridays. This year there was even a zen relaxation evening where you could get a massage by the pool in candlelight. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaqugra 35 reviews from this member

 3 of us booked requesting pitches together and were were allocated 3 pitches in row. The pitches were hedged and large enough to accommodate large caravans with awnings. The toilet blocks were always clean but full of little flies at night being attracted by the light (obviously no fault of the site). The town is about a twenty minute walk away which has plenty of places to eat and drink and a selection of shops. There is a choice of supermarkets within a couple of miles. We were there during the 'Grand tables de Champigny' which is 2 evenings feeding 3000 folks in the town square with live music. It is a good party atmosphere but we were unable to get tickets for the meal but you can just turn up and buy a glass for 5E and get unlimited red Champigny wine. We visited a couple of wine caves which were interesting including wine tasting, The nearby zoo is fantastic and well worth a visit. I would recommend this site if you want to sample the Loire region. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MrWez 16 reviews from this member

 This campsite is situated on an island in the middle of the river, the main part of the town where the better shops and restaurants are located is over the bridge to the south of the river, the area around the island and to the north look slightly tired. Access from the A85 autoroute would have been straight forward if it wasnít for the diversions caused by the Anjou Vintage Velo festival being held the weekend we traveled there which we only found out about on arrival!

The reception was shut when we arrived and there was a sign saying the site was full (due to the festival), we took a chance that as we were arriving on a Sunday there might be some pitches freed up by the weekend visitors leaving, we were right to do so! We used our ACSI card and were checked in quickly as this site is part of the Flowers chain, having used them before we are obviously on their system! We were given a pitch by the river, sadly like the other reviewer, we didnít get a river view, just a pitch by the hedge/perimeter, by the path that ran alongside the river. The pitch was adequately sized for us but quite sloping, levelling blocks would definitely be required on many of the pitches.

The nearby sanitary block toilets were not very clean, obviously theyíd been overwhelmed by the large number of visitors that weekend, sadly they hadnít been cleaned by the time we left the following day. By contrast, the showers were clean. There is a pool, bar, snack bar and restaurant, had we wanted to eat in the restaurant we would have had to have booked in advance, we didnít so we canít vouch for it. It was closed when we returned from town mid evening so I guess nobody else booked in there either.

Saumur has a bric-a-brac (brocante) market on the afternoon of the fourth Sunday of the month which coincided with our visit as did the previously mentioned Anjou Vintage Velo festival, the latter involves dressing in period clothes and riding around courses of various length often on vintage bikes. It was very good natured and it was interesting seeing the various interpretations of vintage costume as well as the bikes, it made me very thankful that cycling technology has moved on. There were a large number of stalls selling all manner of vintage gear, clothing and cycle parts, the brocante market had many interesting stalls too, the street where this market has an interesting canopy made from bright coloured umbrellas. As youíd expect there was a wide choice of bars and restaurants. Saumur also has a ch‚teau and internationally famous French National horse riding school (Le Cadre Noir), which is closed on Sundays and tank museum (the latter charges Ä5 for a photo pass), we didnít have time to visit the latter.

The campsite is in a great location and has some great facilities, as we were only there for one night we canít tell if the lack of cleanliness in the toilet block was a one off or a more persistent problem. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ian-james 14 reviews from this member

 The site was fairly quiet when we stayed and all units were allocated pitches near the one sanitaire block that was open. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the sanitaires were modern and regularly cleaned, with toilet seats, paper and hand driers but no soap. Our pitch was medium sized, hedged annd hardstanding, though just of grit. Pleasant riverside walk to Saumur, which is okay but nothing special apart from the river. We paid Ä19. 20 a night with an ACSI card, 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Le Camping De L Ile D Offard child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Le Camping De L Ile D Offard have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Camping De L Ile D Offard?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Le Camping De L Ile D Offard dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saumur      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2755 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement