Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flower Camping De L Ile D Offard

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Saumur > Flower Camping De L Ile D Offard > Reviews

Flower Camping De L Ile D Offard
Rue De Verden
Saumur
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49400
Tel: +33 02 41 40 30 00
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 258
Open: 01/03/2024 to 15/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 44 Reviews
                7/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: June19 19 reviews from this member

 I rang the camp up to check they took 8m motorhome as the ACSI book indicated they didn't. We were given a good size pitch but the overhanging tree branches caught the roof so we asked to move.

Think a lot of branches were in need of the chop. We paid Ä17pn with ACSI. Only 1 facility block was open which was near the entrance and a long walk from our pitch.

This included the elsan. We didn't use the indoor pool and outdoor 1 was closed. It has a drive over grey waste disposal. We did order bread. It is a busy site and very close to the town.

We ate at Le Boeuf Noisett (might need to book) and although the choice was very narrow - steak or fish at Ä30 for 2 courses it was the nicest meal I had in all our 6 week holiday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Annies 2 reviews from this member

 A busy camp site in September. Noisy but not excessively so going quiet by 11 in terms of bar and social areas. Facilities are ok unisex toilets/ showers.

Shower cubicles are fine & good size but showers themselves are poor with 10 second maximum on water delivery before need press again and the shower heads so close to wall that it is difficult to get underneath the water.

Swimming pool is reasonable size but probably can feel very full high season. Pitches are reasonable size and bush privacy screens for most of them, which is good as everything is close together.

It is basically excellent for access to visit Saumar Town centre which is a short flat 10/15 minute walk away.

A small tourist train comes direct to camp site and does a circuit of important historic areas for 8 euros per person. Both French and English speaking guide of town, including castle ( you can get off and go inside if choose and catch later train back ).

There are cycle routes nearby along Loire River.

There is Lidl 10 minutes from the site in the opposite direction to the town.

Bread can be ordered night before.

Staff are friendly if a little harassed, but it is a really busy town site.

There is a barrier and code access and you won't get in until 14. 00 if you are just arriving as this is when the office opens for booking. However once they open it is a quick easy process. Highly recommend booking before arrival as several people were turned away who had not booked.

NB there is a camping carpark area just by the side of the camp site which has several pitches if you don't want park facilities just town ease of access. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JohnBedale 4 reviews from this member

 A large and busy commercial campsite on an island on the Loire river, about 15-20 minute walk into Saumur town centre.

Reception staff spoke English, if your French isn't very strong, and the site itself attracts international visitors from across Europe.

Great view of the chateau from the swimming pool and the poolside restaurant was good but not cheap.

Site fees otherwise are reasonable (although we weren't there during peak season). 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Murjo 1 review from this member

 The pitch had no grass so if it rained dread to think how muddy it would be. It had a tap and drain.

Overall impression of site was not good as too many trees and felt very scrappy.

Would not go away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 67 reviews from this member

 Yet another visit to this site to again take part in Anjou Velo Vintage.

We love the location and the cycling opportunities at this site.

We knew the site would be busy for the AVV weekend (normally in early July but moved to the end of August due to Covid) so had booked well in advance. Others who had not booked were turned away as the site was full so keep an eye on the dates). Reception was closed between 12. 00 and 2. 00pm as it was out of high season but booking in after 2. 00pm efficient and quick.

Our pitch this time, C82, was large, quite flat and the ground was very solid. Due to the trees it was mainly in the shade but that was welcome in the hot weather. We chose a Privilege Pitch which had EHU, water and drainage on the pitch itself but standard pitches are available. There are some new pitches that look as if they have a private toilet/shower and kitchenette on them but as the site was so busy we could not really check them out.

The facilities were fine and cleaned a couple of times a day. Hot water was available at all times and we never had to queue despite it being busy.

We ate in the bar/restaurant one night and the food was good and reasonably priced. It did get busy though so booking is probably advisable. Bread had to be ordered from Reception the day before and collected from there unlike last time when we collected it form the cabin near the bar.

We didn't use the pool but it looked inviting and was always busy.

Even this late in the season there were still some organised activities for youngsters along with wine tastings and a small craft market for adults. There was live music in the bar one night but we didn't go as we were out in the town.

We really like this site and will no doubt return again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Motor homers 14 reviews from this member

 We booked 5 nights at Ile d'Offard.

The site was everything we had hoped for in a site.

Some of the pitches were VERY shaded but through luck we got allocated one which got quite a lot of sun. (I don't know if you could choose your own pitch as we saw newcomers driving round so I don't know if they were lost or just trying to choose a pitch (we arrived on the sunday of the busy Velo vintage weekend)).

The only downside to note, and it is not the campsites fault, is that there is a trainline that runs through the North of Saumur that has trains running on it occasionally through the night. But this would effect the whole of the town and not just this campsite. But to sum it up, we would go back there. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 67 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site.

It is ideally situated for us, a short walk/bike ride from Saumur town centre which is well worth a visit.

There are a variety of pitch options, including fully serviced (electric, water and waste on pitch), standard (electric on pitch, water nearby) and Campetoiles which are wooden tents on stilts for sleeping with a fixed table and benches under, designed for those without car such as cycle, kayak and walking tourists. There are also a number of safari tents and cabins for rent.

The Reception was friendly and efficient, even though the site was full over the weekend due to the Anjou Velo Vintage festival in the town which we there for.

The site has a gate with code for entering and exiting. It's nicely laid out and has many trees etc in the camping part, offering some shade. Pitches are separated by low bushes.

The pitches are not huge but are adequate and have been stabilised with matting as the site is quite sandy. This had rucked a bit so we were glad that we had a groundsheet with us to help flatten things out.

The facilities were good and cleaned at least twice a day. In each indoor block there were shower cubicles which included a sink as well as a shower, washing up sinks and clothes washing sinks plus coin operated washing machines and dryers and a communal freezer for ice blocks etc at no extra charge. There was always plenty of hot water. The toilets are in the adjacent block, plus there were some outside toilets and the black water disposal. The toilets had paper, soap dispenser and a hand dryer.

The pool was being well used while we were there though we did not use it. Adjacent to the pool there's a bar/restaurant. We ate there a couple of times and found the food good and the prices reasonable. We didn't book and got a table each night, though we do eat early. Bread etc can be collected from the Cabin next to the bar/restaurant but has to be ordered the day before from either the Cabin or Reception.

For children there was a simple play area, bouncy castle and a play fort with slides, climbing frame etc.

In the evening there were events such as a small market, wine tasting etc a few evenings a week and live bands at the weekend.

The Petit Train which tours the sights of Saumur, including the Chateau, stops at the entrance to the campsite and you can get on and off there if you wish.

Despite being on the river we were not bothered by any biting insects etc and there was a team of groundsmen on site each day looking after the grounds and keeping the gardens nice.

We really like this site though from other reviews it's not everyone's cup of tea. We will return next year for the Velo Vintage but would happily go back at any time. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Beenie 4 reviews from this member

 Although on an island in the middle of the Loire, you couldn't really see any water and you had to hire one of the cabins if you wanted a view of the chateau. I found this very disappointing.

Our pitch was OK but the place seemed very crowded, like camping in the middle of a campervan showground. Lengthy queues at reception.

The restaurant was very good, the saving grace for us. We wouldn't go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Susanj 18 reviews from this member

 Rather disappointed with the site.

My main gripe- I chose the site as it has a heated outdoor pool. Iím a serious swimmer and need a pool wherever I go. The water was so cold I only stuck it for 20 minutes and Iím a dedicated outdoor swimmer. I only saw one other family try the pool while I was there and they left after 5 minutes.

The pitches arenít large and are a bit scruffy.

Reception sells a few groceries but there is no shop as such.

Good position near Saumur.

Toilets etc very clean, mixed sex.

Staff speak very good English.

Riverside pitches arenít actually on the river but behind hedges.

Lots of cabins etc.

Good for children I would think.

Some pitches a long way from water supply.

At the time of our visit only the main toilet block was open so we were all rather crammed into one area.

I would not return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Liannwilcox 4 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site. Level large private pitches. Shame not direct on the River. Toilet and showers clean and modern take your own toilet roll.

Nice pool very busy didnít get chance to use. Great location over the bridge to Saumur and the wonderful chateau.

Would recommend. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Flower Camping De L Ile D Offard child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Flower Camping De L Ile D Offard have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Flower Camping De L Ile D Offard?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Flower Camping De L Ile D Offard dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saumur      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53294 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement