Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Camping De L Ile D Offard

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Saumur > Le Camping De L Ile D Offard > Reviews

Le Camping De L Ile D Offard
Rue De Verden
Saumur
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49400
Tel: +33 02 41 40 30 00
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 258
Open: 01/03/2022 to 15/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 40 Reviews
                7/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Flacky 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights here having ruled out Chantepie because it was so far out of town. With two 4 year olds we chose a grass pitch next to a play area which was ideal. They were made up with the bouncy castle as well.

Pitches were a good size. Roads were quiet which meant kids could cycle or scoot around in safety. The site is on an island in the Loire, but don't imagine some idyllic setting, you aren't really aware of the river unless you are on one of the few pitches nearish to it. That said it is still nice with a good view of the chateau.

There are some new and old toilet and shower blocks, so make sure you use the new ones! Good, warm showers.

We seem to struggle to find sites that allow charcoal bbq's, but this one does.

Pool seemed a bit hit and miss, certainly when we used it, it was pretty cold, but on other days saw people using it into the evening so assumed it must have been heated then.

Saumur is a 20 min walk or short bike ride away. We went to the chateau which isn't much to write home about, might have been because it was after 31st August. Also visited two nearby caves. The mushroom one has more mushrooms, mushroom curios and mushroom exhibits than is healthy in my opinion. The miniature village cave next door is better, with stone carvings, but really not sure what the fuss is about either.

Only ate at the restaurant once and they managed to send out food at different times. I had finished mine by the time the kids meals arrived. You can order baguettes and patisseries from the bar the night before, but if you have a bike there are boulangeries a couple of minutes from the site, and cheaper too.

All in all, a nice site, safe for kids and near to the town. Made a change from the eurocamp style sites we seem to find ourselves at! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lycee a 1 review from this member

 We booked this location for it's proximity to Saumur which was great and cannot be faulted for this aspect. Saumur is a lovely place to visit. The campsite was a bit of a disappointment as we paid extra for the XXL pitch on the river Loire. What we received was a XXL pitch with no view of the river only barbed wire and a path with people walking by on a path constantly, there was no view of the castle either, which was a shame, we certainly wouldn't recommend paying extra to anyone.

Bar opens very late in the afternoon so if you need even water whilst at the pool you will need to wait a long time.

WIFI is free which is great but poor signal but was able to use it on our pitch.

Toilet block was adequate no more no less.

The best thing I can say about this campsite is it's location which won't disappoint you. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twin mum of twins 7 reviews from this member

 Spent five nights here; two adults and two four year olds. Kids absolutely loved it - kids club every week day from 10:30 to 12:30, mini disco, family games in evening. Swimming pool also has toddler pool and heated spa pool. Main pool not heated, so could only spend short time in there unless a hot day. Good family shower/ bath/ toilet room. Adult showers are solar heated and dangerously hot - couldn't stand beneath water! Toilet paper provided but no soap. Large pitches with some shade. Downside was very loud bands in bar until 11:30ish which disturbed children's sleep, on two nights. Saumur & chateaux is gorgeous, but not an awful lot to do in area. Excellent area for cycling. About 30 a night, with no electricity. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DrRoger 1 review from this member

 Written from the site on a pitch next to the Loire with more space & electric hook-up & water near by-3 Euros extra to normal ACSI rate.

I was quite put off by the negative reviews so here is a 7 June 2012 update. The site is now part of the Flower Campings chain where a good standard can be expected

There is free wifi all over the site with good speed and connection.

The people in the reception area are very friendly & helpful & English-speaking if you need it.

The toilets are clean & fresh-there's a small army of people who also service the statics sorting 'em out. Toilet seats are a rarity on most French sites though strategically placed Andrex soft makes life bearable! Maybe too much Information.

The swimming pool (outdoor) is good-didn't use it-a bit cold & rainy here at the moment.

Ate in the bar cafe-menu Euro 15 & it was 'good enough' on arrival.

Saumur town is 'touristy' & OK if you like horses, tanks & the castle accessible on foot. G20 supermarket took some finding in the centre. It was OK but LeClerc is the place for cheap petrol & the 'big shop'.

In summary, a very comfortable site with good amenities & close to the town. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jerseycamper 2 reviews from this member

 I had really high hopes for this campsite on reading its facilities etc. We were there 3rd week of May and the pool was empty - infact just getting pressure washed. The indoor pool is only available to use for campers on a monday and Thursday - it did not state this on their website ! Toilet block - only one of three were open - and terrible. It is old, and really smelly ! Men and women use the same toilets and showers, including children ones ! Our electricity cable kept reading external supply off - especially 6-10pm - then would all of a sudden come back on ! I did mention on departure but receptionist was very negative ! The Shop - what shop ? They only sold wine and a few jars of jam. Bread had to be ordered the night before. I tried to get a simple thing like olive oil or salad dressing and nothing. The bar was not even open. The restaurant was opening the weekend we left. Only one rubbish area and a bit of a trek with rubbish and bottles every day. To many and too much attention being spent on static rental homes we think and forgetting the caravans and mobile homes. On the positive - I enjoyed a few days off work and the town of Saumor is lovely. I appreciate its not the height of the season but I feel by May it should all be up and running. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris + stuart 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site mid April on a sunny couple of days. It's such an impressive location overlooking the chateau. Pitches were adequate and sanitary facilities good. Reception were really kind a helpful with a nice Welsh lady who assisted you in every way possible.

Yes wi fi was free and all over the site it's a pity a few more don't do it. The town is a delight, the market fantastic such atmosphere even met the mayor on our visit!

We loved it because we could cycle in or walk to town we even cycled up to the chateau which was worth it just for the views. Loved Saumur and ile d'Offard a well organised site even though it was barely open when we were there, definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dodgydi 2 reviews from this member

 Liked the location although a good walk into town but still nice to be on a campsite within walking distance of a large French town & Saumur is really nice.

But - we just didn't like the campsite. It was expensive, staff were not friendly & the facilities were pretty tired, though that said showers were good & hot. I will admit that neither of us could quite put our finger on why we didn't like it but it somehow felt claustrophobic. No water near the pitches, poor rubbish facility again a long way from pitches, no shop, horrible bar/restaurant. Also bought wi-fi & it didn't work. When I asked for money back I was told it only worked in bar & reception - that info would have been useful before as I wouldn't have bought it - receptionist rude as she threw my money at me!

If you want to be near Saumur it's good - if not don't bother - poor value - there are nicer, cheaper sites than this one 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vonfluff 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to the Loire valley and we chose l'ile d'offard as it was really close to a town (Saumur) and we wanted to be able to walk in to the town itself.

I think we caught the campsite in the process of one or more take-overs. It was independent when we booked it but when we arrived it was either Flower or Kawan. Or both.

The reception was one of the best we've seen but it lacked an on site shop where you can buy bread, veg etc. You could buy some wine and you could also order bread/croissants for the next day. But nowhere you could just drop into. We really missed this. The main street of the island and the town were close enough to get to a boulangerie quite easily but it was just that little too far to be something you could send the kids for.

The facilities of the site were OK. We had asked for a river/chateau-view pitch and were disappointed to see that the view was infact of a big hedge/trees other than a 2ft gap. Behind this was a 5ft mesh fence. Suffice to say, this was a shame.

That said, the site felt very safe - very visible security (possibly armed at night) and police visiting every day.

The pool area was clean and well laid out and (whilst our kids didn't join in. Miserable buggers) the kids club seemed to be fun.

As I mentioned earlier - we'd booked this site to visit the town and it was excellent for that - we had some great walks into the town and some excellent drinks/meals. It's also worth mentioning that Saumur is brilliantly sited for getting to other places - Chinon, Angers, Tours, Le Man etc. We also went to Loches. Which if you haven't been is really quite enchanting.

Back to the campsite - it did what we expected. But there were a few drawbacks - as always. The sanitary blocks. I don't know if I'm spoiled but I expect certain standards from campsite showers and toilets. The showers needed a bit of an update in our block. Although the others were good. My main gripe was the lack of Toilet seats. I can only think that they had bought a lot of cheap seats that had broken and they had run out of money to replace them. There were only about 3 seats for Gents on the entire site. I reported this to the site but they didn't seem to do anything.

In summary, great location, friendly staff. They just needed to get their sanitary stuff sorted! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: J.okane 7 reviews from this member

 Situated on an Island about 15 mins walk from the centre of town, a wooded site with well kept and clean facilities. Friendly welcome at reception. Area outside other than river seems mainly residential. Toilet blocks ample and clean - we were not there in peak season - very nice swimming pool. Some entertainment in evenings on-site, also in Saumur itself from what we could hear - but not at all intrusive. The town itself was very pleasant, small enough to be manageable but large enough to be interesting.

Would certainly return to this site if in area. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Judi S 20 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site in a lovely position. Within easy walking/biking distance of the town centre with a selection of quaint shops. The weekly market is great with a good mix of foods (the majority local) clothes and other assorted bits ! A very large Leclerc is located only 10 mins from the site great for stocking up on the local wines cheeses ect. There are also a few local caves near by, Masion Amiot being one of the favourites. Nice area for bike riding and pool available though we didn't use it.

The pitches are varied in size and in off peak season reception do not seem worried if you want to change your allocated one. Good English spoken by the receptionists, very friendly and helpful.

Toilet/shower facilities were fine, clean and more than enough to go round. Lots of hot water whenever it was needed for both showering and the washing up!

Would happily return there again and probably will as part of a return trip back to the Tunnel. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Le Camping De L Ile D Offard child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Le Camping De L Ile D Offard have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Camping De L Ile D Offard?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Le Camping De L Ile D Offard dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saumur      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3593 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement