Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Oval And Walker Park
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EN
Tel: 01768 772579
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 20/02 to 04/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kiradoggie 3 reviews from this member

 The site is well kept, toilet blocks very nice and clean (showers with push button operation-hate them!). Toilet blocks both within 100 yards of each other which I found strange considering size of site. The one thing that caused annoyance was the size of pitches which were just 6 meters wide. We were warned by the warden that the our awning must not overlap the pitch! As we have a motorhome 2.50 meters wide plus of awning 4 meters wide we were unable to use the awning despite having reserved an awning pitch. So beware. The lack of awnings being used was proof that this was a serious issue for caravan and Motorhome users. There was also restrictions on wind breaks and pup tents this was due to too many pitches crammed in making the 6 meter safety distance between units an issue.

The site is in easy walking distance to the lovely town of Keswick with an excellent bus service. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lazyleyden 8 reviews from this member

 This is the poor relative of the next door Keswick site, with portacabin blocks for showers and toilets. Sounds worse than it is though, very clean, quite spacious showers and very hot water, , note no washing up facilities but welcome to take hot water back to van. But its in a great location, minutes from ferries and bus station and town centre. There are a couple of dodgy pitches right next to the toilets but some might find this a positive. I stayed without electrics on grass area with no problems, . And the staff are very friendly and helpful. Walks for all age groups from site as surrounded by NT land, and delightful off road family bike trail to threckeld. Very scenic bus routes too 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kawasakiversys 12 reviews from this member

 Thought I had reviewed this amazing site, but cant find a record of it so done it again.

We have been many times since and before this date and I have to say it is the most beautiful site because of the views.

You cannot buy them and they are all around you.

Great for kids as there is a playground on site, but because this is such a big site, its also great for couples/singles without kids.

Rugby club next door that holds an annual beer festival in summer. Whats not to like.

Site access is excellent with all the usual efficiency of a caravan and camping club site.

Easy to find pitches, and we were asked if we wanted the wardens to back up our caravan, we didn't but its a lovely offer, and I imagine if we were new to towing we would of taken them up on it.

Hardstanding and grass for the awning.

Toilets and showers all updated, I think there is a utility area with washing machines but never looked/used them.

Loads of well behaved dogs, amazing walks within 5 minutes. Dog walking area, loads of doggie bins.

Booths supermarket very close by 3 minutes walk, can be expensive but have some lovely food inside.

Keswick has a market that sells fresh produce and also plenty of other shops within a really short distance.

The best bit is you can leave your car and not touch it again till its time to go home.

The site sometimes closes due to flooding, but hey, its the Lakes.

If you go to just one site this year, try and make it here. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neil684 35 reviews from this member

 A site we have been visiting since the 1980s when the main attraction for us was access to the lake with canoes, dinghies and windsurfers. This attraction still holds as does the site's position on the edge of Keswick's town centre.

The site is large but well-run with good facilities although it is prone to flooding after heavy rain. Because of this all caravans must have a tow car with the unit (no lending parent's caravan to kids or friends unless they too have a tow car). If heavy rain/flooding is expected, the wardens also request a contact number if you leave the site so they can call you back - the lake can rise very quickly.

Despite this, it is a wonderful spot with plenty of walking and cycling from the site, good bus services from Keswick to the rest of the Lakes. Keswick itself has all necessary facilities including the famous 'Theatre by the Lake' with shows all through the year.

The views from the site south down Derwentwater and north to Skiddaw can be breathtaking.

The staff are usually helpful but seem to get stressed and a bit brusque at peak times. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crossers 9 reviews from this member

 Just stayed here over the last weekend of June as we were taking part in a cycling event. Excellent location to the town and the surrounding fells. Was raining quite heavy went we arrived and was met by the wardens whom were all in good spirit's and very helpful. Was shown to the overflow field which was like a mini lake district with the amount of puddle/ponds. The ducks were loving it.

Was a struggle to find some slightly higher ground for our tent which was only 2m x 2m. As other people have mentioned that the toilet blocks are dated and with crack tiles etc. They are very clean with plenty of shower and toilet cubicle's. The shower/toilet blocks are on the other side of the site from the overflow field and was a hike just to get too and from. Not ideal when you need to visit them in the middle of the night.

Only real gripe is the cost. 25 per night for two people in a tent smaller than my daughter's Wendy house without electric. But hey, I guess the location and views are worth half the cost. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Chris1429 2 reviews from this member

 This is the second trip to this site and it was just as good as the first time. I camp alone although on this occasion I joined my daughter and her husband as they were camping there, it was nice to have help with the placement of my trailer tent.

We find that the site is lovely with plenty of space for each unit, you are moved if you get too close to your neighbours.

Great site once there you don't need to use you the car unless you want to visit different places, as Keswick is a short walk away.

Staff are very friendly and will try their best to ensure your holiday is a success. Toilets and showers are well maintained as are the washing up facilities.

Beautiful location with direct access to lake. Dogs love it and the dog walk takes in a walk round the lake.

A relaxing holiday. We love it so much that we intend to go back in September. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mandm1 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in March 2013 when the site first opened for the season.

A lot of the pitches near the Lake were waterlogged and not ready for use so we were placed near the entrance to the site.

The toilet and washroom facilities were adequate although very dated and in need of modernising.

The main plus point of this site is its location to the centre of Keswick. It takes about 5 minutes to walk into the centre which has an abundance of shops, cafes and pubs.

There are some fantastic walks that you can do from the site, and the scenery is stunning.

We would stay here again as Keswick has something for everyone, albeit not in March when the site is just opening. 


Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 Spent a few days after the new year at this site.

It is a great base for visiting Keswick - it is a five minute walk into town with a range of great shops and pubs available.

The surrounding area has some of the best outdoor activities in the area, with fell walking and water sports in abundance.

Facilities on site are excellent with spotlessly clean and modern shower blocks.

A great site; will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 Arrived for a three night stay on New Year's Day.

The site is a minutes walk from Keswick, a great town with cracking places to eat and drink.

The surrounding area offers slime if the best walking opportunities in the lakes, and an array of other outdoor activities.

Facilities on site are spotless and the staff give a warm welcome.

A great little site, looking forward to another visit soon! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Europa390 12 reviews from this member

 This review is for Walker Park only. The Oval is a separate area on the same site.

This site is very conveniently close to Keswick, which is within easy walking distance. A good supermarket is close by and all the facilities of the town. Best to walk in to town as parking is limited and fraught as drivers wait for spaces. Lake Derwentwater is close by as is Borrowdale.

The actual site is well maintained and neat and tidy. It is completely flat, with lawn-like grass only, (no hard standings) and mostly quiet and very pleasant with marked, well spaced pitches. Despite the 'no tents' rule, there were quite a few, when we were there, ranging from small one-man tents to very large family affairs. There are no electric hook-ups on Walker Park but awnings are permitted and plastic pegs seem to work OK.

When we were there, we had incessant rain and the site became seriously wet with big pools of standing water. We squelched around the site and the wind had a tendency to pull pegs out of the soft ground. By the time we left parts of the site were getting badly chewed up by vehicles coming and going.

There was some noise at times from the static site next door but mostly it was very peaceful both day and night. Wildlife was in evidence with rabbits and wild duck.

The site was completely full over Easter week-end. Some people who had not booked were being turned away.

Check-in was rather chaotic because of common confusion over the two Camping and Caravan Club sites in Keswick, which are close by each other along the same road. It was apparent that people do go to the wrong place so take care. The Walker Park/The Oval site is further along the road.

Facilities were adequate, with two modern Portable cabin shower/loo blocks which were clean, well maintained and warm. Three showers each for men and women, three loos for women and two loos for men plus a urinal and several hand-basins. No dishwashing is allowed.

Some queuing was necessary at peak times with the site being full but people coped. There are three steps up to access each block.

There was plenty of free hot water even if you had to keep your hand pressing on the tap to keep the shower running. The showers have an inner cubicle which should keep your clothes dry and a small folding seat to sit on when dressing.

There is only one coathook on the door. One complaint was that for ladies who wish to use a hairdryer, there are no power points anywhere perhaps because of health and safety issues in the shower blocks and with no electric hook-up on Walker Park, taking one is waste of space.

A loo emptying point, waste water emptying point, recycling bins and rubbish bins are close by the blocks but are a bit of a haul from the far end of the site in the rain over soft ground.

There are freshwater taps at various points around the site; those with lengths of hose attached always make me feel slightly uneasy as regards hygiene.

All in all the site was fine for a caravan with easy access and we would probably return but drainage could be an issue for some in very wet weather. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1361 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement