Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Oval And Walker Park
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EN
Tel: 01768 772579
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Christ 1 review from this member

 First visit. Superb reception by the friendly staff.

Very clean and wonderfully managed. Soooo clean.

Very happy with my stay and will be back.

I was working leading groups in the hills and then meetings in Keswick.

Short walk into town centre and not far to walk back after a few beers. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 107 reviews from this member

 Another great year at Derwentwater. We stay every year for a week and the site was as good as ever.

The facilities are clean and tidy and just about cope with the numbers using them in peak season although there were often queues for the showers.

The location of this site, close to the town, is what makes it perfect for us, and there is so much to do in the surrounding area that we rarely use the car when we are there.

I said this in my review last year but I will say it again to try to stop any disappointment. Because of the name of this site, people often get it mixed up with the site next door which is called the Keswick C&CC site.

Although this site is called Derwentwater, it does not have access to the lake, it is the Keswick site that has lake access. This year another family arrived with their canoes and stand up paddle boards etc thinking that they could launch them directly from the Derwentwater site and they were extremely disappointed to find that they had booked the wrong site and couldnít launch their crafts.

If you want direct lake access for canoeing and paddle boarding etc, you need to book the Keswick C&CC site next door, not this one. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pettergo 24 reviews from this member

 Great location easy walk to town or the lake.

Facilities immaculate though the showers were a little too hot.

The site is very well maintained in all aspects.

Staff were friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 50 reviews from this member

 Site perfect for us. Easy access to shops/supermarkets etc but also easy access to lots of walks and buses to others areas.

Washrooms immaculate but shower water almost too hot, push button with no temp control. No direct access to lake but only a short walk to it. Very quiet and peaceful with distant views of the hills.

We took the bus to Grasmere - very touristy but with interesting shops. Perfect cafe for tea/cakes-lots to choose from. Hourly on the half hour there from Booths then hourly on the 3/4 hour back. Very scenic route. Flat fare £2 each way until June.

Pitches narrow but long enough to park our car in front of the caravan. Only room for smaller awning without pegging onto the grass. Plenty of room between pitches.

We will gladly come here again if we can get in. The only odd thing is the position of the 2 super pitches 


Date of Visit: December 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 90 reviews from this member

 Another great stay at the best site in the lakes.

Very welcome arrival and a pitch of our choice.

The toilet blocks were immaculately clean.

The site kept impeccably. Despite very cold frosts, yes we had -8C one night the paths were kept gritted.

Best dog friendly town in Britain, come on other towns !

We will be back again and again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 107 reviews from this member

 We stay at this site every year in order to attend the Keswick convention and it is perfectly placed for easy access to the convention centre.

This year the site was as good as ever with clean facilities and friendly wardens.

The fact you can easily walk into town and to the lake is what makes this site perfect for us.

However, please note that this site does not have direct access to the lake, it is the C&CC Keswick site next door that has direct access.

There is not much for kids to do on site as it is really geared up to adults and without a play area, some kids were constantly being told off by the wardens about kicking balls and riding bikes and scooters.

The kids didnít bother us at all but if you have kids, you might prefer the next door Keswick site as it is better set up for kids.

My only complaint about this site is the price. It keeps going up and up and when we booked for next year a few weeks ago we were shocked to see the price per night for next July is £47. 50 for 2 adults! 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richar 9 reviews from this member

 Excellent place. The best showers.

Can't miss with this place.

They went out of their way to help me when my power cable did not reach the power pole. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Swalke 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site with excellent facilities and very friendly and welcoming staff.

An easy 10 minute walk into the town centre and down to the lake shore. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Path20 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site within easy walking distance of the bus station and town. Turn right out of the site and a few minutes walk over the field brings you to the shores of Derwentwater.

We love it here as it is within easy reach of the buses and shops.

The site is very clean and well maintained. The toilet block is spotless. It is also very quiet and everyone is very respectful.

One morning we saw a young man pushing his motorcycle to the exit, We asked if he had broken down and did he need help. No, he said, I just donít want to wake anybody up if they are still asleep. It was ten oíclock in the morning. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Blake4 1 review from this member

 Good and ideal place to stay while in staying around that area to explore.

Place was looked after and you could tell the facility was cleaned regularly. 
via mobile


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57688 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement