Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Oval And Walker Park
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EN
Tel: 01768 772579
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 21/02 to 02/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 44 reviews from this member

Please note that this site was completely redeveloped in 2016 so any reviews before that are inaccurate and some mention facilities such as a football field and childrenís play area which no longer exist! We stayed on the Derwentwater C&CC Site in August 2016, August 2017 and again in August 2018. The site is completely made up of hard standings, which are a little on the small side for a long caravan. You have to put your caravan and awning on the pitch and then you have to park your car horizontally across the front of the caravan and awning. If you have a long caravan this can make for a very cramped experience. No part of your awning is allowed to overlap the grass, therefore if the combination of your caravan and awning itís going to be wider than about 5 1/2 m you wonít be allowed to put up your awning so be aware. They have really packed the pitches in as well which again makes the site feel quite cramped. The toilet block is only a few years old so is quite clean and modern, however the facilities werenít enough for the numbers of people using them in peak season and queueing for showers in the morning was a regular occurrence. The showers are the pushbutton variety and you cannot adjust the temperature of the water, which for me was too hot and therefore taking a shower was an uncomfortable experience.

You might be asking yourself why on earth we keep going back if the site itself is so cramped. The answer is the location! The site itself is very well located, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Keswick which is what makes this site for us. Everything you could need from shops to cafes to restaurants are all available within a few minutes walk from site. You also have easy access to Derwentwater by walking through Crow Park and from there, you can head off walking in many different directions.

There are no play facilities for children on site, therefore families will probably be better on the Keswick site next door. Additionally, the Keswick site next door has direct access to the lake which is good for people who want to canoe or do other watersports. However, it is much bigger than the Derwentwater site and not having any children, we prefer the quiet of the Derwentwater site. Even though itís a bit cramped, we donít go there to stay on site and we are out and about all day so donít mind the fact that the pitches are small as the location is so good.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nectaryweasel 5 reviews from this member

An excellent site.

The hardstanding pitches are, for the most part, level and all are well maintained with a small area of grass beside them and with nearby electric points. (I only saw two tents there during my stay which were on a small grassy area).

The toilet block is modern and well equipped with what look like new showers, private washbasins and two 'open' washbasins. There are air hand dryers and what I took to be hair-dryers. In the toilets, paper is provided. There is a laundry and washing up area and all the other things one normally finds on a club site.

Although this site is not situated right on the banks of Derwentwater, it is within easy walking distance. It is a matter of about ten minutes walk to the town centre (and the route into town passes by a supermarket on the way, close enough to nip out for forgotten items. )

But most valuable of all was the welcome Ė the staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. I had arrived intending to stay for only two nights but, having failed to do all the things I wanted to do I asked if it might be possible to stay an extra night. The staff bent over backwards to make this possible, and this on the run in to a bank holiday weekend too, and even offered to make it possible to stay yet another night. Sadly, I had to leave for work or I would have taken them up on their offer.

All in all, an excellent site.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John4703 12 reviews from this member

We loved our week at this site. The two members of staff who welcomed us were really helpful and friendly. We were given a choice from the three empty pitches and we chose one.

The hard-standing pitch was perfectly level across the pitch which makes setting up so easy.

The roads were all good tarmac which made it easy to walk to the toilet block, this was kept really clean. The site was nearly full and in November it was damp outside but the toilets and showers were always spotless so the staff must have cleaned them several times during the day.

The site is a few minutes walk from Keswick which is a nice wee town with loads of shops, cafes, pubs, restaurants etc.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pavlovscat 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for a few days to walk and mountain bike which you can do straight from the site. Immaculately clean and tidy. Minutes away from shops, pubs etc. But still quiet. Handily placed fro lake launches. Will return.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zeagle64 5 reviews from this member

The newly devolped Derwentwater club site (the old oval and walker park site no longer exist as the land as been re-developed into the new all hard standing site).

Arrived Friday 15th July 2016 to a very warm welcome from the friendly wardens ( even though the Heavens had just opened). The new site looks quite impressive although it's not quite finished; the amenities block is in position but not roofed or serviced yet, so temporary Portaloos are in place and pot wash is a Portacabin. Also some fencing is to be completed and the hedge planting obviously has not had time to establish yet. All pitches are hard standing with 16A electric but no service water point anymore, so Aquarolls required. Also there is no wifi on this site. There are also nine fixed tents on the old oval section. There are no children's facilities on the site, so families maybe better suited to the main Keswick site. I know it's early days for Derwentwater but I think the club could have maximised the re-development opportunity and made all the pitches fully serviced and slightly larger. The wardens told us they are hoping the amenities block to be complete for early August.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kiradoggie 3 reviews from this member

The site is well kept, toilet blocks very nice and clean (showers with push button operation-hate them!). Toilet blocks both within 100 yards of each other which I found strange considering size of site. The one thing that caused annoyance was the size of pitches which were just 6 meters wide. We were warned by the warden that the our awning must not overlap the pitch! As we have a motorhome 2.50 meters wide plus of awning 4 meters wide we were unable to use the awning despite having reserved an awning pitch. So beware. The lack of awnings being used was proof that this was a serious issue for caravan and Motorhome users. There was also restrictions on wind breaks and pup tents this was due to too many pitches crammed in making the 6 meter safety distance between units an issue.

The site is in easy walking distance to the lovely town of Keswick with an excellent bus service.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lazyleyden 8 reviews from this member

This is the poor relative of the next door Keswick site, with portacabin blocks for showers and toilets. Sounds worse than it is though, very clean, quite spacious showers and very hot water, , note no washing up facilities but welcome to take hot water back to van. But its in a great location, minutes from ferries and bus station and town centre. There are a couple of dodgy pitches right next to the toilets but some might find this a positive. I stayed without electrics on grass area with no problems, . And the staff are very friendly and helpful. Walks for all age groups from site as surrounded by NT land, and delightful off road family bike trail to threckeld. Very scenic bus routes too

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kawasakiversys 12 reviews from this member

Thought I had reviewed this amazing site, but cant find a record of it so done it again.

We have been many times since and before this date and I have to say it is the most beautiful site because of the views.

You cannot buy them and they are all around you.

Great for kids as there is a playground on site, but because this is such a big site, its also great for couples/singles without kids.

Rugby club next door that holds an annual beer festival in summer. Whats not to like.

Site access is excellent with all the usual efficiency of a caravan and camping club site.

Easy to find pitches, and we were asked if we wanted the wardens to back up our caravan, we didn't but its a lovely offer, and I imagine if we were new to towing we would of taken them up on it.

Hardstanding and grass for the awning.

Toilets and showers all updated, I think there is a utility area with washing machines but never looked/used them.

Loads of well behaved dogs, amazing walks within 5 minutes. Dog walking area, loads of doggie bins.

Booths supermarket very close by 3 minutes walk, can be expensive but have some lovely food inside.

Keswick has a market that sells fresh produce and also plenty of other shops within a really short distance.

The best bit is you can leave your car and not touch it again till its time to go home.

The site sometimes closes due to flooding, but hey, its the Lakes.

If you go to just one site this year, try and make it here.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Neil684 33 reviews from this member

A site we have been visiting since the 1980s when the main attraction for us was access to the lake with canoes, dinghies and windsurfers. This attraction still holds as does the site's position on the edge of Keswick's town centre.

The site is large but well-run with good facilities although it is prone to flooding after heavy rain. Because of this all caravans must have a tow car with the unit (no lending parent's caravan to kids or friends unless they too have a tow car). If heavy rain/flooding is expected, the wardens also request a contact number if you leave the site so they can call you back - the lake can rise very quickly.

Despite this, it is a wonderful spot with plenty of walking and cycling from the site, good bus services from Keswick to the rest of the Lakes. Keswick itself has all necessary facilities including the famous 'Theatre by the Lake' with shows all through the year.

The views from the site south down Derwentwater and north to Skiddaw can be breathtaking.

The staff are usually helpful but seem to get stressed and a bit brusque at peak times.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crossers 9 reviews from this member

Just stayed here over the last weekend of June as we were taking part in a cycling event. Excellent location to the town and the surrounding fells. Was raining quite heavy went we arrived and was met by the wardens whom were all in good spirit's and very helpful. Was shown to the overflow field which was like a mini lake district with the amount of puddle/ponds. The ducks were loving it.

Was a struggle to find some slightly higher ground for our tent which was only 2m x 2m. As other people have mentioned that the toilet blocks are dated and with crack tiles etc. They are very clean with plenty of shower and toilet cubicle's. The shower/toilet blocks are on the other side of the site from the overflow field and was a hike just to get too and from. Not ideal when you need to visit them in the middle of the night.

Only real gripe is the cost. £25 per night for two people in a tent smaller than my daughter's Wendy house without electric. But hey, I guess the location and views are worth half the cost.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


432 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!