Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Oval And Walker Park
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EN
Tel: 01768 772579
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 20/02 to 04/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Amym2877937hgo 1 review from this member

 Fantastic week away at Park Foot. The site is very well organised, play parks well equipped and suitable for all ages, kids loved it!

Shower/toilet facilities Very clean and well monitored.

The staff in the office and all around the camp site were extremely helpful, friendly and professional, listening to our needs and taking their time to support us as a family.

A short walk into the village and to the lake where you can use your own water equipment, go fishing or just throw stones into the water.

I have been coming to this campsite since I myself was 7 years old, 20 years on I am now bringing my family and will continue to do so. We just LOVE IT! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 62 reviews from this member

 We love this area and stay here for a week every year. Please see my previous review for more details but I thought I would add a short review now based on our experiences during Covid19.

The site was very sensibly set up to allow the facilities to be used but also to enable social distancing. Five people were allowed in the toilet block at any one time. In the ladies, two toilets, two showers and one wash basin were open. This still allowed plenty of space but also ensured that there wasnít too much queueing! The toilet block was cleaned four times a day, one deep clean and three lighter cleans but it gave the impression that the site was very safe.

The site was immaculately clean and well tended. It looked as though the wardens were constantly cleaning, cutting the grass, trimming hedges, weeding flower beds etc etc etc. Although as Iíve said in my previous reviews, the pitches are quite narrow, itís still one of my favourite sites because of the location and Iím so happy that itís open again.

Our only real concern this holiday was not on the site itself but in the surrounding area. The Lake District was absolutely jampacked with people, many of whom didnít seem to have any concern about social distancing at all, and I felt rather uncomfortable at certain times. We went to Grassmere one day, but only stayed for a short time, because it was clear that there was no possibility of social distancing with the vast number of people in such a tiny village. After that we kept out of the towns as much as possible and enjoyed the lovely walking in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nelehp 6 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site.

Beautifully arranged. Ideal pitches.

Facilities squeekingly clean and fresh smelling every few hours.

Staff go above and beyond their duties.

They are very friendly. Knowledgeable and accommodating.

Thankyou for everything. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 30 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. We visited this site in 2018 while in the Lake District to take a look & liked what we saw so we booked in 2019 for September as a stop off on our way home from Scotland.

We arrived at the site around 2:30pm & was shown the available pitches, as we don't like being under trees or on an all gravel pitch we picked the one pitch left.

The warden was very helpful explaining everything & said anything you want to know just ask. When we booked we advised our caravan was 7 mitres long, and it just fit onto the pitch we chose.

We decided before arriving on site we were not going to put our awning up for the last part of our holiday, so our car was parked at the side of our caravan, however should we have wanted to put the awning up our car would have had to be parked on the grass to the side of our pitch, and they don't really like you parking on the grass.

The site is small & was very quiet while we were there & had views of the distant hills. The shower block was lovely, 4 showers, sinks & toilets, the shower was push button pre set & lovely & hot.

It's a 5 min walk from Keswick town centre & Booths supermarket. Also all the local bus's stop outside Booth's supermarket so you can get to other parts of the Lake District & not have to use your car which was a big bonus.

Keswick has a market, think it was Wednesday, you are not too far off the lake & local walks. We really enjoyed our stay at this site & will book again.

There is another site called Keswick nearly next door which is bigger & has a children's playground, as well as access directly to the lake where you can pay a fee to launch canoes, inflatables etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 62 reviews from this member

 This site is in an amazing location, a short walk from the town centre and close to the lake where you can head off walking in all directions.

We return here every summer as the location is so good but the pitches are very disappointing. We had even more trouble than usual this year getting our caravan, awning and car all on the pitch as the pitches are so narrow!

However, as we spend very little time on site, the location makes up for the poor pitches. The toilet block is still the same with a push button shower system and the water is still too hot for me to stand under comfortably as the temperature is not adjustable.

There are not enough showers for the number of people on site as there are a number of glamping tents on the site as well as the camping pitches and in peak season there are a lot of people!

However, despite all this we still keep going back due to the location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ct955 47 reviews from this member

 Quiet club site. Well maintained by helpful wardens. Standard club pitches with car parked in front of your van.

Nice scenery around site. Short walk through crow park to lakeside. Clean modern facilities block. Keswick town and Booths supermarket walkable. We only took car out on one day.

So much to do and see in the area. Brilliant few days wish we could have stayed longer! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 62 reviews from this member

 Please note that this site was completely redeveloped in 2016 so any reviews before that are inaccurate and some mention facilities such as a football field and childrenís play area which no longer exist! We stayed on the Derwentwater C&CC Site in August 2016, August 2017 and again in August 2018.

The site is completely made up of hard standings, which are a little on the small side for a long caravan. You have to put your caravan and awning on the pitch and then you have to park your car horizontally across the front of the caravan and awning. If you have a long caravan this can make for a very cramped experience.

No part of your awning is allowed to overlap the grass, therefore if the combination of your caravan and awning itís going to be wider than about 5 1/2 m you wonít be allowed to put up your awning so be aware. They have really packed the pitches in as well which again makes the site feel quite cramped.

The toilet block is only a few years old so is quite clean and modern, however the facilities werenít enough for the numbers of people using them in peak season and queueing for showers in the morning was a regular occurrence. The showers are the pushbutton variety and you cannot adjust the temperature of the water, which for me was too hot and therefore taking a shower was an uncomfortable experience.

You might be asking yourself why on earth we keep going back if the site itself is so cramped. The answer is the location! The site itself is very well located, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Keswick which is what makes this site for us. Everything you could need from shops to cafes to restaurants are all available within a few minutes walk from site. You also have easy access to Derwentwater by walking through Crow Park and from there, you can head off walking in many different directions.

There are no play facilities for children on site, therefore families will probably be better on the Keswick site next door. Additionally, the Keswick site next door has direct access to the lake which is good for people who want to canoe or do other watersports.

However, it is much bigger than the Derwentwater site and not having any children, we prefer the quiet of the Derwentwater site. Even though itís a bit cramped, we donít go there to stay on site and we are out and about all day so donít mind the fact that the pitches are small as the location is so good. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nectaryweasel 5 reviews from this member

 An excellent site.

The hardstanding pitches are, for the most part, level and all are well maintained with a small area of grass beside them and with nearby electric points. (I only saw two tents there during my stay which were on a small grassy area).

The toilet block is modern and well equipped with what look like new showers, private washbasins and two 'open' washbasins. There are air hand dryers and what I took to be hair-dryers. In the toilets, paper is provided. There is a laundry and washing up area and all the other things one normally finds on a club site.

Although this site is not situated right on the banks of Derwentwater, it is within easy walking distance. It is a matter of about ten minutes walk to the town centre (and the route into town passes by a supermarket on the way, close enough to nip out for forgotten items. )

But most valuable of all was the welcome Ė the staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. I had arrived intending to stay for only two nights but, having failed to do all the things I wanted to do I asked if it might be possible to stay an extra night. The staff bent over backwards to make this possible, and this on the run in to a bank holiday weekend too, and even offered to make it possible to stay yet another night. Sadly, I had to leave for work or I would have taken them up on their offer.

All in all, an excellent site. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John4703 14 reviews from this member

 We loved our week at this site. The two members of staff who welcomed us were really helpful and friendly. We were given a choice from the three empty pitches and we chose one.

The hard-standing pitch was perfectly level across the pitch which makes setting up so easy.

The roads were all good tarmac which made it easy to walk to the toilet block, this was kept really clean. The site was nearly full and in November it was damp outside but the toilets and showers were always spotless so the staff must have cleaned them several times during the day.

The site is a few minutes walk from Keswick which is a nice wee town with loads of shops, cafes, pubs, restaurants etc. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pavlovscat 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a few days to walk and mountain bike which you can do straight from the site.

Immaculately clean and tidy. Minutes away from shops, pubs etc. But still quiet. Handily placed fro lake launches. Will return. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5232 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement