Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Oval And Walker Park
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EN
Tel: 01768 772579
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Swalke 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site with excellent facilities and very friendly and welcoming staff.

An easy 10 minute walk into the town centre and down to the lake shore. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Path20 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site within easy walking distance of the bus station and town. Turn right out of the site and a few minutes walk over the field brings you to the shores of Derwentwater.

We love it here as it is within easy reach of the buses and shops.

The site is very clean and well maintained. The toilet block is spotless. It is also very quiet and everyone is very respectful.

One morning we saw a young man pushing his motorcycle to the exit, We asked if he had broken down and did he need help. No, he said, I just donít want to wake anybody up if they are still asleep. It was ten oíclock in the morning. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Blake4 1 review from this member

 Good and ideal place to stay while in staying around that area to explore.

Place was looked after and you could tell the facility was cleaned regularly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Bayley321 3 reviews from this member

 Great site with good facilities. The no electric camping field was a very long walk to get to the loo's washing machines etc.

The main problems we had were not with the site but other campers, who had no idea and did not care about campsite etiquette.

Children playing recorders at 8am, same children singing and dancing around other peoples tents at 10pm.

We left 3 days early, kids, weather and general - just want to go home. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 78 reviews from this member

 Another great stay at the Derwentwater Camping and Caravanning Club site. We stay here for a week every year and I have already written some reviews in past years which you should be able to read below and which still stand.

This year a lot of the covid19 restrictions were easing while we were there and there are no longer any restrictions on numbers in the toilet block, however it looked like a lot of people were still using their own facilities and therefore there was never a queue or what felt like overcrowding.

The site was as immaculate as ever and the Wardens do an amazing job of keeping everything spotless.

Keswick itself was very busy, so like last year we tried to keep out of the town as much as possible and stuck to the quieter areas around the lakes.

Most of the shops in Keswick still had signs up asking people to wear masks. A lot of people were complying but there were also many people who appeared to have abandoned all sensible precautions.

We love this site so much! Roll on next year when hopefully things will be a little bit more normal. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Georgia2021 1 review from this member

 We live on this site and is one of the best we have stayed on in all my life to be honest 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 78 reviews from this member

 We love this area and stay here for a week every year. Please see my previous review for more details but I thought I would add a short review now based on our experiences during Covid19.

The site was very sensibly set up to allow the facilities to be used but also to enable social distancing. Five people were allowed in the toilet block at any one time. In the ladies, two toilets, two showers and one wash basin were open. This still allowed plenty of space but also ensured that there wasnít too much queueing! The toilet block was cleaned four times a day, one deep clean and three lighter cleans but it gave the impression that the site was very safe.

The site was immaculately clean and well tended. It looked as though the wardens were constantly cleaning, cutting the grass, trimming hedges, weeding flower beds etc etc etc. Although as Iíve said in my previous reviews, the pitches are quite narrow, itís still one of my favourite sites because of the location and Iím so happy that itís open again.

Our only real concern this holiday was not on the site itself but in the surrounding area. The Lake District was absolutely jampacked with people, many of whom didnít seem to have any concern about social distancing at all, and I felt rather uncomfortable at certain times. We went to Grassmere one day, but only stayed for a short time, because it was clear that there was no possibility of social distancing with the vast number of people in such a tiny village. After that we kept out of the towns as much as possible and enjoyed the lovely walking in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nelehp 7 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site.

Beautifully arranged. Ideal pitches.

Facilities squeekingly clean and fresh smelling every few hours.

Staff go above and beyond their duties.

They are very friendly. Knowledgeable and accommodating.

Thankyou for everything. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 31 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. We visited this site in 2018 while in the Lake District to take a look & liked what we saw so we booked in 2019 for September as a stop off on our way home from Scotland.

We arrived at the site around 2:30pm & was shown the available pitches, as we don't like being under trees or on an all gravel pitch we picked the one pitch left.

The warden was very helpful explaining everything & said anything you want to know just ask. When we booked we advised our caravan was 7 mitres long, and it just fit onto the pitch we chose.

We decided before arriving on site we were not going to put our awning up for the last part of our holiday, so our car was parked at the side of our caravan, however should we have wanted to put the awning up our car would have had to be parked on the grass to the side of our pitch, and they don't really like you parking on the grass.

The site is small & was very quiet while we were there & had views of the distant hills. The shower block was lovely, 4 showers, sinks & toilets, the shower was push button pre set & lovely & hot.

It's a 5 min walk from Keswick town centre & Booths supermarket. Also all the local bus's stop outside Booth's supermarket so you can get to other parts of the Lake District & not have to use your car which was a big bonus.

Keswick has a market, think it was Wednesday, you are not too far off the lake & local walks. We really enjoyed our stay at this site & will book again.

There is another site called Keswick nearly next door which is bigger & has a children's playground, as well as access directly to the lake where you can pay a fee to launch canoes, inflatables etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 78 reviews from this member

 This site is in an amazing location, a short walk from the town centre and close to the lake where you can head off walking in all directions.

We return here every summer as the location is so good but the pitches are very disappointing. We had even more trouble than usual this year getting our caravan, awning and car all on the pitch as the pitches are so narrow!

However, as we spend very little time on site, the location makes up for the poor pitches. The toilet block is still the same with a push button shower system and the water is still too hot for me to stand under comfortably as the temperature is not adjustable.

There are not enough showers for the number of people on site as there are a number of glamping tents on the site as well as the camping pitches and in peak season there are a lot of people!

However, despite all this we still keep going back due to the location. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement