Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Oval And Walker Park
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EN
Tel: 01768 772579
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 20/02 to 04/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sherrif 25 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 5 nights we arrived late on the Thursday night. It was the weekend of the Christmas Fair the weather was far from ideal for the event but after the weather that Keswick was just recovering from it was good. The toilets were spotless the wardens were really helpful.

It is the second visit this year to Keswick last time staying at Walker Park.

Enjoyed it so much we have booked 2 weeks in March marking down the days 


Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 606 reviews from this member

 The Oval - seems a bit of confusion which site is which - the Oval is the smaller hard standing site - 43 pitches with electric.

Small shower / toilet block - portacabin - but absolutely immaculate. We stayed in freezing weather and the facilities were exceptionally well heated.

We arrived late and wardens showed us to our pitch and said leave everything else until morning - very cheerful and helpful.

As said before site is 5 minutes from Keswick one way and 5 mins from the lake the other. We ate in the Skiddaw Hotel in town - wonderful food and great service. The Christmas festival was also on whilst we were there again wonderful event.

Recommend the site, the town, the views - in fact you would be hard pressed to beat this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Maryiris 4 reviews from this member

 Just a field with portacabin toilets and showers. No campsite atmosphere at all but we were forced into choosing this over the other lakeside campsite as the lakeside one only accepts bookings of a week in high season.You needed both hands and good grip to open the toilets, after climbing 2 steps. No washing up or laundry (which had been removed after we booked.) The only thing its got going for it seems to be the location. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sbray 1 review from this member

 Had a fantastic week here on the Walker Park. Loads of room and very quiet (noise well controlled by wardens). Shared toilet / showers with Walker Park. As mentioned in the previous review, the site was quite wet.
We were there during a week of floods when the adjacent Keswick Caravan and camping club site had to evacuate half its units one night. This site held up excellently given such wet conditions. There was puddles of water (understandably!) but the ground was very firm and not in the least boggy or even muddy really.
Lack of hook ups a small price to pay for such a fantastic site. Will be back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elvirablack 9 reviews from this member

 The oval. Good location. Very clean showers. Awnings not allowed, we where not told this got a telling off. Did not feel at all comfortable on this site.

There is a field behind this site, but no electric points as yet and seemed to be very water logged. Awnings ok on this one

Would stay again though but not on the oval. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buzby 7 reviews from this member

 Camping & Caravanning Club site without electric hookup. Toilets / showers in portacabins, shared with The Oval next door, immaculately clean, but rather on the small side.

As previously reviewed, this has been a football field, apparently football club has now moved to a new site so hopefully the club will be able to fully develop the site. No facilities at all for families with children, rather a long trek (car probably needed) to washing up & laundry facilities on main Keswick site next door.

You really do not need to use your car once pitched, as a 5 min walk in to Keswick with a supermarket, shops, & a bus station.
Biggest downside for us was the waterlogged field after heavy rain, contrary to a previous reviewer I would say the field does not drain at all, in fact it was boggy all the time we were there (8 days). It was so bad we returned home 2 days early. A potentially beautiful site, spoiled by bad ground conditions. We would only visit again if it was substantially improved. 


Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 Spent three nights at The Oval site just before Christmas. Pitches are all flat and level with water and electricity points. Shower facilities are in Portacabins, but they were spotlessly clean and heated.

The main attraction of the site is the fact that it is just a minutes walk from Keswick, with its various attractions, pubs, restaurants and shops. Derwentwater is also a very short walk from the site too, through one of the town centre parks. In easy reach of the site are several excellent walks, as the town is surrounded by many high fells. Would certainly use the site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clarkfamily 8 reviews from this member

 This site was clean and well kept. There are no alternative facilities when the toilets are being cleaned. Motorhomes must go to the other larger CCC Site to dispose of grey water. Close to Keswick centre and not far from a Supermarket.

Do not drive over the centre of the football pitch as you will be breaking the golden rule of the site. Good site overall. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a base for visiting Keswick and the Keswick Beer Festival. It's location is ideal, being only a 5 minute walk into the centre of town and adjacent to the Rugby Club where the fesival was being held. A few minutes walk in the other direction brings you to nice park land and Derwent Lake.

The site is simply a football pitch with portacabin facilities block and water points. There's no electrcity points, but the site is an excellent, and cheap, alternative to the usually very busy Keswick CCC site. Pitches are spacious, flat and were perfectly firm while we were there.

A great site, will certainly return! 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 Spent one night at this site as we were luck enough to actually get a one-off pitch. The site is well-located for the lively town of Keswick, as well as Borrowdale and other Lake District locations. Staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities were superb. Would love to return - if I ever manage to get booked up, as this is such a popular site! 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5362 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement