Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Oval And Walker Park
Crow Park Road
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5EN
Tel: 01768 772579
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 20/02 to 04/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janine1947 43 reviews from this member

 We stayed on the Oval in preference to the main site which is prone to flooding. The Oval is a small neat quiet site all hardstanding pitches with 10 amp electric and water points on each pitch.

The toilet/shower block is housed in a portakabin and has no privacy cubicles or disabled access. There are no washing up facilities. The laundry is located on an adjoining site. Awnings are not allowed.

The site is very close to Keswick centre which has two supermarkets, many shops and facilities, The bus staion is also a short walk away giving access to a wider area.

During our stay the adjoining Walker park site was closed however during the summer months campers on Walker park site also uses also use the Oval's limited toilet facilities. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ken Fox 2 reviews from this member

 Existent site located by the Derwentwater with fishing close by with stunning views from the entire site,

All the pitches are well marked out and easy access, with electric hook up and water not to far to walk,

Site wardens were very friendly and helpful the site is kept clean and tidy,

The toilets and shower block are all cleared every day, with a small shop on site with what you need,

Short walk in to Keswick town with plenty of things to do with out travailing to far,

Local shops and a market Keswick has a lot to offer for all the family. 


Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 We went to this site for 5 nights up until Christmas Eve. The site is in a an excellent spot, with easy access to Keswick and Derwentwater.

The weather was extremely cold (-17 some days) and the facilities struggled. For three days, the shower block was completely frozen and there was no running water. However, this was totally unavoidable and the sit staff did all thy could.

An excellent site, will certainly use again. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wonderer29 3 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic location. Right next to the water and within walking distance of the outdoor orientated town of Keswick. Much of the lake districts are accessible from here - some amazing walks.

The wardens were helpful if you could find them and catch their attention.

On the down side, the facilities (toilet and shower blocks) are really quite dated and in need of some renovation. Also, it's a shame the site can accommodate quite so many units as it would have been nice to have a bit of greenery about. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Loki1066 2 reviews from this member

 My favourite site so far. We've made tentative forays to other sites over the years, but usually end up returning here. No shop to speak of, but within walking distance (ten minutes) of Booths, the excellent supermarket and Keswick town centre, one of the best shopping centres in the Lakes ( not too commercialised but providing everything you could possibly want)

Sometimes subject to flooded pitches, the upside is that you can camp on the very edge of beautiful Derwentwater, and for the windsurfers and canoeists, you could not ask for a better spot.

The toilets and showers were impeccably clean and there are rooms you can lock yourself in to wash and shave

Also, we never seem to have a lot of noise after 11. 00, even when we've gone in the school holidays.

A definite winner, and if anyone can tell me where I can get better scenery, peace and quiet, level pitches and access to a beautiful lake and a first class shopping centre without recourse to the car, I will shake your hand and book our place for the spring. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sinbad 17 reviews from this member

 We have been coming to Derwentwater Site for a few years now and it it the best location we have found. I would just like to reiterate what another reviewer has said though. It is a victim of its own success. There has been a massive increase in the number of units and last time we went it felt really packed.

People seem to be bringing more and more equipment and when they can spread out on the grass pitches they do, marking their territory with chairs, tables windbreaks, awnings, badminton courts, barbeques, and boats etc.

The wardens remain helpful although I do agree stretched at times.

Lovely site however. Try the Indian Restaurant 'Bengal' off the main car park in Keswick as they do a good bargain before 6.30 (check this before you commit yourselves), the leaflets by the door give you 30% discount. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janine47 43 reviews from this member

 The main Keswick Camping and Caravanning Club site is now run separetly from the Oval site. We stayed on the main site. This site is a victim of it's own success. The queue to book in can be lengthy and can take some time.

Many pitches are hard standing but you need to be careful which type of pitch you book as the are not interchangeable. Only Non awning pitches or some tent pitches have clear views of the lake.

The site has many tent pitches, many of which appear to be haphazardly allocated and crowded. One toilet block is in good condition and well maintained the lower toilet block is in desperate need of refurbishment.

The wardens are helpful and hardworking but stressed, they are still working in a portable cabin 7 months after the office was ruined by the November floods.

Keswick is an easy 10 minute walk from the site as is Booths supermarket and will most facilities anyone would need. The lane to the site is poorly lit and a torch is advised if using the lane at night.

The Bus station also 10 minute walk away gives access to a wider area. The site is prone to flooding so a mobile number is required in case campers need to be contacted, and a towcar must be available at all times where applicable. Plans to upgrade this and the adjoining oval site have been shelved 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Harrycad 10 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site.

For:- great location 5 mins walk from town.

Level pitches round perimeter of field.

Clean facilities.

Friendliness of staff.

Against:- Size of toilet block not big enough for the number of units on site.

Push button showers that almost scald you when you press it, to be fair there is a notice warning you of this in the cubicle.

Cubicle floor is extremely slippy when you lather up. No non slip mats or grab rail.

No recycling facilities. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lawsyd 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 3 nights on this site & we loved it. The location is superb; there is electric, water & hardstanding on The Oval; the site is spotlessly clean; it's only 5 minutes from the town centre. There is not shop as such on the site (the office sells a few basics), however you don't need a shop when there is a decent supermarket 300 yards away. The managers were very helpful & I was impressed with their willingness to let our in-laws park on the site for free when they visited for a day. We definitely feel, as relative newcomers to motorhoming that it is our favourite site so far. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sherrif 25 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 great weeks at this lovely site never needed to move van once set up as every thing is on hand or a bus ride away. Had some great walks as the weather was really good for the time of year. Whilst at the site we had a problem with our Carver water heater and needed to by pass it the warden assisted by supplying a piece of pipe.

Local pubs are great for food the Dog and Gun Goulash is great and the Oddfellowers deal on the Lamb Henry is really good value and worth trying 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Derwentwater Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6494 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement