Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grendon Lakes Camping And Glamping

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Northamptonshire > Grendon > Grendon Lakes Camping And Glamping > Reviews

Grendon Lakes Camping And Glamping
Main Rd
Grendon
Northamptonshire   (Browse area)
NN7 1JW
Tel: 01933 665303
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 49 Reviews
                7/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianmcg 1 review from this member

 Lovely location, very large site with multiple fields. We stayed in the main camping field. This was relatively flat and while there are rocks it was not a massive problem. There are a limited number of hook up pitches so book early if you need one.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. You can, it seams have camp fires as long as they are not bonfires! When a group of numptys did just that, and were being stupid on the far side of the field, the staff appeared quickly and dealt with it while ignoring the numerous other small campfires, The food in the cafe was mostly fine if slightly expensive. DO NOT repeat DO NOT have the Pizza 7 for a plain 5 inch blob of melted cheese. The burgers were fine though.

The Toilet block is woefully inadequate for the size of the site. It was it was dirty and the gents were overflowing ! The showers were a roller coaster ride of scolding hot and cold.

But all that said The views of the lake and the fireworks from a wedding that was going on in an other part of the site made this a great weekend which we enjoyed greatly. If and we would come back we'll bring our own beer and food, BBq and off ground fire pit. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Donjon 7 reviews from this member

 I booked this camp site for a party of two caravans and one tent for the May Bank Holiday weekend and was pitched on Frankies Field. I had read the negative reviews but had decided to give it a go anyway as we wanted somewhere not too far from the Santa Pod races.

On first impressions it seemed to have the peace and tranquility that was advertised. I was impressed with the pitches which were not regimented like on some camp sites and you had plenty of room to spread out and there was plenty of room for ball games etc.

The negative points however far outweighed my initial impression:-

The toilet block. This has to be the worse toilet block I have come across. I don't mind out of date facilities as long as they are clean but these were outdated and filthy and insufficient toilets and showers to service the whole of the camp site. Toilet paper was not supplied and you had to take your own, a fact I was only aware of from reading a previous review.

Rubbish. There were insufficient rubbish bins and there were no bins situate on Frankies Field and you had to take your rubbish to the bins outiside the toilet block which, by Sunday, were overflowing.

Noise. We were aware that there was jet ski-ing and paint balling nearby but were not aware how close these were and how noisy the jet skis could be. They started at 9. 00 am and went on and off throughout the day until 9. 00 pm.
The paint balling wasn't too bad and you only heard this on several occasions throughout the day. We were also kept awake on Friday evening by residents in the static caravans in the adjoining field playing loud music until about 3. 00 in the morning.

Apart from the condition of the toilet block it was an inconsiderate camper that spoilt most of the weekend for the whole of Frankies Field. There was a caravaner who pitched up his caravan on Friday afternoon (without electric hook up) and proceeded to put on his generator which sounded like an industrial lawn mower constantly in the background.

I did go to the clubhouse to enquire whether generators were allowed and told that they weren't and 'that it must be one of the jet skiers and was it bothering us?' I informed them that it was and was told that they would sort it out. Nothing happened and the generator was switched on Saturday morning at 9. 00 and continued constantly throughout the day until early evening when one of the other campers thought enough is enough and turned it off to a loud round of applause from the whole camp site.

Still the caravaner concerned had no consideration for his fellow campers and the generator went on again Sunday morning at 9. 00 am. At which time we had all had enough and went to complain again, this time with success and the caravan was removed elsewhere. Apparently if you are a member of the jet ski club you can camp for free on non-electric but have to pay the full price if you want electric - hence the generator (even though we are told they were not allowed).

Hardly the peaceful site that is advertised.

I would say that there are some positive points such as the size of the pitches and being able to pitch as a group, the area is picturesque, and there are plenty of places to walk the dog. I would also like to mention that the staff were always pleasant.

The site could be quite nice if the owners put a little time and money into it by improving the toilet block and ensuring that it is clean at least. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Franklin9 1 review from this member

 We booked for 3 nights over the bank holiday after looking at their web site.

1 - not very well sign posted

2 - Road to get to the site was very narrow although it did have passing points

3 - book in at clubhouse and was shown to our camping field

4 - No toilet facilities in our field just some water/electric points

5 - Went in search of the toilet block which was in another field - went in and walked straight back out as they were disgusting - old out dated and filthy - I am glad we had a loo & shower in our caravan, felt sorry for the other ladies who had to use them - 3 toilets & 2 showers in each of the mens & ladies.

6 - No waste area for loo or waste water in our field had to use the loo waste by the toilet block ( not very nice )

7 - No where to get rid of rubbish on field so had to take it to the toilet block - overflowing and rubbish every where

This could be a lovely site as the area is beautiful but the present owners are not spending the money needed to update all the facilities, with only 2 toilets for the whole site its not really acceptable.

I have been to basic sites where the toilets are at least kept clean but this site is BASIC to the core.

Dont think I will be returning anytime soon 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Graycbr 2 reviews from this member

 Would not come to this site again.

Toilet block was unclean had two showers one shower head was missing, just shower curtains. No where to leave clothes safe while showering. Showers running hot & cold. Changing area was muddy. Toilets dirty. No toilet paper as children was block up toilets.

Club house was shut on Thursday, just managed to book in at 3pm the place was shut staff just about to leave !

No play area for kids.

Had no confirming letter or e-mail of booking, emailed 6 times with no reply's.

Staff forgot to give me a key code for the main gate, so had to phone somebody for it 20 min wait for a reply to get back into site at 8PM !

At 25 a night with electric hook up would never stay here again not at 5 a night still be the same answer. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moons1234 1 review from this member

 Myself and my wife spent a night 'glamping' in a lovely tent on its own by a picturesque lake. It really was beautiful. The staff were attentive and always ready to help with any enquiry.

The tent was well equipped with a double bed, Kitchen utensils, BBQ and tea making facilities. It was a short walk to the clubhouse which has a bar and restaurant and overlooks the main lake where lots of watersports take place.

There is also a group glamping site but we were happy to relax and unwind in our secluded spot. The shower and toilet block was a short walk away and we found this to be clean and well looked after.

I would recommend this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GEORGIAGC 1 review from this member

 Never been camping before and went to grendon lakes for the bank holiday weekend with some friends to try out their new tent and generally have a bit of fun. We are local and were recommended grendon lakes as they do take single sex groups which many other campsites do not. As a group of women (age 21-25) we wanted to go somewhere that we could experience camping and play games and have BBQS and a few beers at night without worrying about disturbing children or families.

We booked over the telephone and arrived mid afternoon on the Friday. Having never visited before I thought the site was lovely. Beautiful lakes & scenery and a lovely clubhouse which they obviously use for weddings and functions. We registered at the bar and the young man was very helpful & friendly.

We were directed to the main campfield for our stay which was easy to find and a short distance from the toilets. We had loads of room which was great as we spread out and had a general gazebo for us all to sit under. There were no restrictions on how much space to take up which we found good. There was a few other campers in our field but they were so far away we didn't even hear them. We spent the next few days chilling out and BBQing, playing games. It was very relaxing and we didn't experience any problems.

The toilets were cleaned at least twice per day and we had to take our own toilet roll (given free of charge at the clubhouse) which was annoying but after the staff explained why this was I can understand. There was a washing up sink which was helpful and overall the facilities were fine.

We had lunch at the clubhouse and breakfast which were both really nice and we played pool and watched TV in the bar for a while which was also a good point. We met a family in the clubhouse who were camping and had camped at Grendon Lakes with their families for years. They had young children and teenage children and they did say the site would benefit from a play ground but that said - they personally found it enjoyable bringing footballs, tennis bats etc.

Our pitch was not in the family area which was good for us - I think its great that single sex groups and kids can be separate but still enjoy the camping experience. The campsite was just perfect for what we wanted. It is simple and basic but that suited us. For 12 per night I was very impressed and pleased with what we got.

I would definitely return with my mates when the weather improves and recommend to others. I am in fact invited to a wedding here in July and so will probably use the campsite then as well.

The only improvement would be to the site to allow fires as we would have really enjoyed a campfire but the rules stipulate that this isn't possible. We had a fire pit to bring but left it at home. I also think that a Hairdryer in the ladies would be good. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chubberchubster 2 reviews from this member

 First impressions were not great! Tried contacting to book for Easter, and had to keep calling them as my calls weren't replied to. I ended up emailing as that seemed to get an answer!

The site is easy to find and has 3fields. We stayed on Frankie's, as we wanted to be near the fishing. The fishing is not that good and some of the fisherman were even arguing with the bailiff over reserved swims!

The actual site is very basic and there are no toilet rolls in the loo so you need to take your own! The club house was only open at the weekend and is in need of a bit of work. It's a bit run down but we only used it to register so didn't bother us.

The chemical disposal is a hole in the ground with a tap next to, so be careful when using it! there was only one bin for the whole site, so a lot of rubbish was thrown by the side! making it look untidy.

Apart from the ending a little tlc, we did enjoy our stay and will go back for a long weekend. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Esmaroo 3 reviews from this member

 We were attracted to the site for its picturesque, quiet location but mainly for the fact that it is dog-friendly (though NO poo bins!) and we were under the impression that we would be able to use our kayaks in one of the two watersport lakes. On arrival we were told that the lakes are all privately rented to different syndicates and not for visitors use.

Even though it was Easter we were allocated a well spaced pitch (with EHU) and the rates are very reasonable (17 per nt with no hidden extras. Our little camper van, awning, 2 adults and small terrier)

We enjoyed 'on lead' dog walks although were a little alarmed to find ourselves almost in the paint-balling area. NO warning signs !

We will more than likely make a return visit but lack of adequate waste disposal/signage/elsan points/ablution facilities and non admittance to boating on the lakes were a bit of a disappointment.

All in all a no frills, cheap and cheerful site but be aware. Showers/toilet facilities leave a lot to be desired and the watersporters and paintballers are very noisy. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SQUIGSUM 4 reviews from this member

 The actual camp site is lovely but when it rains it is like sandy clay in the fields and the fields are very slippery and trying to drive on and off the fields can be tricky.

The site really needs to have more toilets and showers built as we were there over a busy week and the toilets were not adequate. Ideally each field should have their own toilet block. The showers were like being back at school where only the brave who were all right with the shape of their body used them. I have had a lot of surgery through illness and like privacy when I shower or undress and just a shower curtain does not allow this. Even when the shower curtain was pulled across the shower area,

If the door was left open to the toilets the people outside could see anyone getting dressed or undressed.

The toilets we used near the clubhouse when we arrived were diabolical and an absolute disgrace. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ebowden 2 reviews from this member

 This is the worse campsite I have been to! The website looks great, the reality is not. Everything was shut up when we arrived and had to hang around waiting for staff. We were directed to Gerald's Ponds field. It was like being in the middle of an industrial wasteland! There were fag ends and bottle tops all over the field. The toilets were filthy and no loo rolls. Also wasp infestation. There were only two other tents on the field - unsurprisingly. Clubhouse remained shut throughout.

Don't be fooled by the website, this site is minging! 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Grendon Lakes Camping And Glamping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Grendon Lakes Camping And Glamping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Grendon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northamptonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement