Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grendon Lakes Camping And Glamping

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Northamptonshire > Grendon > Grendon Lakes Camping And Glamping > Reviews

Grendon Lakes Camping And Glamping
Main Rd
Grendon
Northamptonshire   (Browse area)
NN7 1JW
Tel: 01933 665303
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 49 Reviews
                7/10 from 49 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pennybun 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for a two night break and were very happy with our decision. This is a very big site, but broken down into smaller areas so we didn't feel swallowed up in a huge field.

We chose to camp in the Frankie's Pond area with EHU, and although this was a longer walk to the toilet block (which we knew would be the case) we enjoyed better views and it was a quieter area too. THere are EHU in other areas, including hard-standing and tent only fields. Frankie's pond was a mixed tent / caravan / motorhome area. The tent only field is huge and closer to the toilet block, we saw several larger groups camped there.

There is plenty of room for children to run around and play games (but no dedicated children's play area), but do be aware that this is a watersports area too, expect to hear loud engines etc at times during the day. There is also lots of fishing going on, but this didn't disturb us at all, even though those fishing obviously started very early in the morning.

There is a large clubhouse with bar, which also provides hot drinks and food--breakfast included if you are having a real break. I would imagine this would be a haven if the weather was bad! There was a wedding on over the weekend we were there but we were not disturbed.

The toilet and shower block look relatively new, they would have benefited from better planning--there are only two showers and three toilets for each sex. These were clean when we visited, but I'm not sure they would be sufficient on busier weekends. There are only curtains dividing the showers from the toilet area, didn't cause me a problem, but be warned. There are additional toilets and showers in the clubhouse. There is one sink for washing dishes which is definitely not enough.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, including offering to supply toilet roll if needed (there is no roll left in the toilet block due to previous misuse).

We will be staying here again, there is plenty to do, even just walking around the park would keep you busy! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gigidyson 1 review from this member

 We stayed at grendon lakes campsite last weekend and had a wonderful stay with the guys there, myself, husband, 2 year old daughter stayed with a group of 4 friends who had 3 children under the age of 10.

The camping trip was in aid of doing something different with or group of friends, so we wanted somewhere fairly local. We live in MK so Grendon not too far to travel.

We really enjoyed the whole stay and found the site to be run by friendly people who couldn't do enough for us. We thought the site was lovely, with beautiful lakeside views.

We stayed on Frankies Lake which was very peaceful even though it was busy - you didn't have any people causing noise problems & we really liked that their was a separate family area unlike other campsites we have been to where you could end up pitching next to a rowdy group without young children. This made us feel comfortable from the start

There was lots of grass for the kids to play right where we were camping. Some people have reviewed that there is a lack of facilities here, but I just don't see where they are coming from.

We took tonnes of games for the kids to keep them entertained & that's all we wanted, we didn't want parks & rides, we wanted camping & good old fashioned outdoor fun. The toilet block was large & clean. I met both cleaners who were there in the morning & afternoon and again they were very friendly & working hard to keep the facilities clean & tidy.

The block was a short walk away. We didn't take part in any of the activities on site even though they looked lots of fun, we did sit out on the lawn & have lunch watching the watersports which was very entertaining. The food in the clubhouse was very nice and reasonably priced - we had a lunch & breakfast there which was a nice break away from the campsite BBQ!

Overall, we loved it & will definitely return. A lovely place which offers Rural camping - 'no frills' like they say on their website & this is just what we wanted to give our kids a proper camping experience.

The one thing that would be great in the family area is a fence along the waters edge to to keep children safe from the water. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caspete 10 reviews from this member

 The web site looks great. However the site is NOT! The toilets & showers were dirty for most of our stay no hot water either(should have been 3 nights could only stay 2 as needed to come home to shower.

Some of the ladies loos & all of the mens had no locks none had any loo roll, mens urinals leaked and several ceramic tiles had fallen / falling off the walls due to damp & the shower had fungi growing in it.

We did report this but was not fixed. Only one toilet/shower block for all 3 fields.

You could not use the laundry room as this was full of overalls used on the paintball field & you were expected to use this room to wash dishes!

The fields were very uneven not really suitable for caravans they were like ploughed fields.

There was a lot of rubbish thrown around, bottles cans etc, this could be because there are no bins around the site.

No signs around to say where chemical waste bins etc. Are.

No staff were in reception to check in when we arrived.

On the camping field staff drove a RTV vehicle around at quite high speed and this started at 6. 50 am. We will not be going to this site again. Really disappointing, as this could be a great site with the lakes & views. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: KevinJones 2 reviews from this member

 The campsite was in a lovely location and was 'off the beaten track'. The booking in was easy and done over the phone. The facilities in general were ok but basic. A tip is to avoid any stag or hen nights as their was a 'hen night' during our stay. And so the site was really noisy until really late and we struggled to get to sleep! This may have been a 'one off'.

Overall good site in a very picturesque part of Northamptonshire. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richardandfam 1 review from this member

 After reading the reviews we were hesitant about booking on this site, but its central location to friends overruled the reviews, and I am glad we decided to give the site a chance.

Once on site you could be anywhere in the country, a beautiful complex with friendly staff.

We booked on to the Family area, which was gated off, allowing peace of mind with young children and cars etc On booking we had been told there was no Childrens play area ( I do feel this would be a welcome addition to the site) so we went prepared with ball games etc, as did other campers in this area. We had a huge family v family game of rounders and had a blast! Although the weather was 'British' we had a great time. We spent Saturday evening in the clubhouse and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, providing Playing Cards, pens, paper etc for us all. The food was lovely and good value. Drinks no more expensive than your local pub, which was a refreshing change for a campsite.

The site was busy, The campsite toilets although not immaculate, were by no means dirty.

On chatting with the owner early sunday morning, it is clear this a well loved family run site, all staff could not help us enough.

Will be booking in again for next summer. If you read the reviews Grendon Lakes Thanks for a Great weekend and have a think about a play area 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janepeters 1 review from this member

 Well, myself & husband are fairly new to camping, its not something we do often but decided to buy a tent for a cheap weekend away and do something different.

A friend recommended grendon lakes to camp, and we checked out this review site & read a mixed bag of reviews. We booked as we don't live too far away so in the worst case scenario we would have gone home. But I honestly do not see why people would find the facilities on the campsite negative at all.

We thought the whole set up was great and the toilets were open 24 hours which I was so grateful for as I was worried about needing the toilet and not being able to go. They obviously were not as clean as my own toilet at home, but - this is a campsite. This said, there was nothing offensive about them at all. I have seen far far worse at country parks around the county.

I was pleasantly surprised when we pitched up as I went to check our the block & I was very happy with what I found. It made me relax and feel comfortable and from here on in, I really enjoyed our stay.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and stayed just the one night (like I said - we are new to this so baby steps!) The site had lots going on and seemed full of lots of different groups of people doing all sorts of different things with different agendas.

There was stags, triathletes, couples, families. A real mix and everyone seemed happy and friendly. I thought the site was lovely, clean & just what we were after.

We stayed in Frankies Lake area which was nice and quiet with lovely views over the lakes. What a pleasant way to wake up in the morning! There was wildlife around and we found it very relaxing. We had a BBQ which the site allows and we felt very at ease as the clubhouse was a short walk away.

All together a very pleasant experience & we will definitely return. The facilities are more than what you expect to find on a campsite & although we were only a short drive from home - we felt like we had really escaped day to day life for a while

& all for 10! Bargain! I noticed that they have opened up a Glamping Area which looks amazing - have already started talking with girlfriends about booking that later in the year. A lovely site with lovely people who in my opinion have received negative comments which are not justified. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and this is mine. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lmcggc 1 review from this member

 Stayed at Grendon lakes over the jubilee weekend & myself, husband, daughter & friends had such a lovely time, I felt compelled to write a review as I had read some mixed reviews on here before going. I think some people have been very unfair in their reviews & I just don't see where they are coming from. Having lived in Northampton all my life, I never realised Grendon lakes existed until I attended a friends 30th birthday party over at the clubhouse last summer. I realised then that they had a campsite & knew that we would visit this year. We got a group of friends together (ages 30-40) with young children, & booked some pitches hoping to celebrate the jubilee a little differently.

We booked onto Gerald's ponds area as it was closest to toilet block & the campsite was quite busy with lots of people who had similar ideas to us. The atmosphere on the campsite was great & welcoming. People had put up bunting & decorations & we knew we were going to have a great time. We settled in very easily, registered at clubhouse which was also decorated for the occasion! Some of us are new to camping but the whole process was easy. Soon enough we were set up & ready to go. We had such a lovely time, getting together with our friends, having bbqs & we even booked a session on the banana boat which was loads of fun.

The weather was horrid but it didn't dapper our spirits nor anyone else's. The toilets were a stones throw and were kept in good condition throughout. I expected a far worse facility for a campsite but it was actually really good & clean.

The clubhouse was also a short walk and we enjoyed heading over there to get out of the rain & enjoy one of their 'deluxe hot chocs'! A must- well recommended to warm you up! We had breakfast one day & we found the clubhouse to be warm & welcoming. Overall we thought the setup was great and it was nice that their was a clubhouse to get drinks and food if you wanted

Or just to play pool or watch tv. We had electric hookup which powered our small tv in the tent so we could watch the jubilee on the tv. We paid 54 for the 3 nights and I think this was really reasonable.

The one thing it would benefit from is a child play area to make more kid friendly- but we did pack up

Loads of games & sports which the kids found great in the campfield which was large & flat & perfect to play in.

We are already planning our return for August when hopefully the weather will be better! Overall. A great place, not too far from home but far enough to feel relaxed. Staff were friendly & we loved it!  


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Michelledolce18 1 review from this member

 We camped at Grendon Lakes with a group of friends (all aged 30-40) with 3 children between us. We are all from Milton Keynes/bedford area.

We camped in the main campfield as we wanted the kids to be able to run around and be safe. The campfield is large so we picked a spot away from everyone but close enough to the toilets & showers.

We thought the set up of the field was very good as they segregate the parking which although you have to walk a way with your stuff - it does make for a peaceful & relaxed stay as the kids can runabout without cars driving around. We visited another campsite last year and it was shocking that cars were able to just drive around, in and out where peoples tents are. At night it was frightening but here, they have segregates it which is very good idea.

There was 6 tents in total and we were able to spread out & erect a large central gazebo at no extra fee which was great.

We pitched about 200 metres from toilet block which was very good, clean & convenient as open all the time.

I think the price is very reasonable - I paid 15 per night for our 6 man tent which is very good value.

We liked that we could all camp together and have a lot of space around us for games etc. BBQs were allowed which was also a very good point as we enjoyed sitting around the BBQ at night.

The kids really enjoyed the outside space & spent their time playing football, rounders etc. My friends lad also went fishing for the day which he really enjoyed.

All in all, a very pleasant camping experience and we shall definitely return. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaceyluce 2 reviews from this member

 Myself & a group of my friends organised a camping weekend over Easter for a getaway & to do something different. We booked our pitches at Grendon Lakes & despite the weather, headed down with our tents & enthusiasm. Registering in at the clubhouse was easy & the staff there were very welcoming & friendly.

We had a hot drink in the bar before heading off to the camping area. We camped in the Main Camping field and we had an abundance of space to set up. In total we had 5 tents & a large gazebo. We were only a minutes walk from the toilet & shower block. After reading some of the poor reviews we were surprised to see that the toilets & showers were clean, warm & the staff kept it this way all weekend.

We went on to have a great weekend, the atmosphere was relaxing and chilled. We had loads of space to spread out, we had a BBQ at night and had full English breakfasts in the mornings at the clubhouse. We had a great time, played games on the camping field & just enjoyed spending time outdoors.

We had no complaints at all and will definitely return in the summer.

Unlike other campsites, Grendon Lakes accepts single sex groups which we were & there was other groups of men & woman around. A group nearby was a stag party who were doing activities on site. Everyone was well behaved & friendly. The good thing about this campsite is that all large groups camp in the main camping field and this is away from the 2 other camping areas.

We had a chat with a couple in the bar who were camping on the family area and they said it was very quiet and peaceful.

Overall we found the site great for our needs. It has everything we require for a camping trip & the clubhouse is an added benefit - we sat & enjoyed the lake views whilst getting out of the rain sipping on hot chocolate - what more could you want! Apart from sunshine!

The only down side is that as it was so early in the season, the clubhouse closed at 9pm at night. To go to the local pub was couple of mile drive, we ended up just staying put but if you are wanting to explore some local pubs etc, its worth remembering that this campsite is miles from anywhere. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madgirl03 3 reviews from this member

 We used this site as it is local to us and we had just purchased a new tent and wanted to try it out.

We went on the unusually warm weekend at the start of October this year, so went for an electrical hook up, so that we could use a heater, the hook up cost us and additional 2. 00 per night and we bought an electric card costing 5. 00 which would have lasted us a week if we had stayed that long.

The site had a bar and restaurant but this appeared to close quiet early, we did use the bar early afternoon for a drink.

The site was has great lakes for skiing fishing etc.

The site does not have a play area, which I feel it would benefit from.

The big downside to this site were the toilet and washing facilities. There is only 1 toilet block, although additional toilets and showers are located in club house.

The toilet block was approx 5 min walk from where we were pitched and the road to them is not lit, the bulbs in the ladies loo was out, and I felt somewhat vulnerable using them at night.

In daylight it looked like they have never been cleaned and 1 of the 2 ladies showers was out of use. There were so many spiders etc in the gents block that my son refused to use them and had to go in the ladies which were a little cleaner.

Over all I felt that the site has a lot potential if it had some money invested in it, and additional shower blocks were installed and cleaned regularly 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Grendon Lakes Camping And Glamping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Grendon Lakes Camping And Glamping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Grendon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northamptonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3743 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement