Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ulverston > Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm Reviews

Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm
Bowkerstead
Satterthwaite
Ulverston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8LL
Tel: 01229 860208
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35 Tents Only

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Itfc 1 review from this member

 Booked for the week, arrived on the Monday to be greeted as normal by the owner. Love the area as plenty to do and see. Tent got flooded out on Thursday night, owner was an absolute star and even put us in a pod for the Friday night so we didn't have to cut our visit short. I can never fail to rate the site or the owner except for outstanding, even when the kids are annoying the owner will always stop to chat. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chaehogan 1 review from this member

 10/10! We went to celebrate our 5th anniversary and started off with the idea to camp but when we arrived we upgraded to a pod and just had the best weekend! It rained and hailed everyday but I wouldn't change a single detail - the local area is full of activities and the local pub serves the most delicious food next to a roaring fire! The owner was beyond brilliant, approaching and very attentive. The pod was such a lovely experience and we'd definitely come back! The chance to have a campfire right next to the pod was so much fun and the wood wasn't expensive at all. The other campers were very friendly and the setting was just perfect! The toilet block was very clean and had all the necessities. Please don't hesitate to book there x 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Wundatigga 2 reviews from this member

 Myself, my partner and my 2 children aged 8 and 5 had a lovely 2 night stay at this site. We decided to try out one of the sites PODS and it was thoroughly enjoyable. It was really nice not to have to mess about with rods and groundsheets. We just popped our stuff in the pod and were off out exploring the area. It was really nice to under the trees (something that isn't always too comfortable in a tent with roots, twigs etc).

The site itself was nice. Arthur was really lovely and very helpful. The toilets and washing up room were clean though there were a few queues first thing in the morning. We liked the idea of having a campfire and had looked forward to this but unfortunately the weather decided that it wasn't going to let us! Maybe something for our next visit to the area.

Not far away is the Grizedale visitor centre where we loaned out bikes (the prices were not too extortionate) for a day of cycling. We all loved this - even the hills! as the surroundings and views were lovely.

We spent quite a it of time in Hawkshead which is a short drive away and has all the shops and pubs etc you need.

We also took a day to go up to Buttermere lake, which again was a beautiful place despite the rain coming at us sideways!

We loved the site, and there is still so much for us to go and see in the area so we will very much be visiting again! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Stu0502 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a 2 day camping trip at this great campsite.

Me my wife and two kids stopped in 1 of the camping pods we normal use a tent but wanted to treat our daughter for her birthday.

The pods are v. Good and the added bonus was that you could have a proper campfire.

Arthur could not do enough for you always there to help, delivering wood on his quad and keeping the site clean and tidy.

The toilets are clean and plenty of running hot water.

The kids loved making the fire and looking at the farm animals (Goats, cows, horse's, sheep and kittens).

The site is within walking distance of Grizedale visitors center.

We have already booked to come back again in August. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Craghoppa 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a two night stay using the Pods.

We will never be using tents again !

Pods are the way ahead.

The forest is great for both the adults and kids to explore.

The washing/toilet facilities are clean and the site even has a vending machine for emergency rations !

Arthur who runs the place is very friendly and

Helpful.

The Grizedale visitor centre is only a 15 minute walk away, from here you can explore the many trails within the forest.

Best of all though is the fact that you can have campfires as long as you buy the logs on site at a very reasonable £3/bag.

The campfire lifts the spirits and is a break from the health and safety frenzy that has took hold of this country.

Youngsters should be able to learn how to make campfires and then sit whittling wood with penknives.

10 out of 10 for this place. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Rach_74 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a fantastic two night stay with my partner at this site. We stayed in one of the pods, which we had never done before and would highly recommend it. The pod was nice and cosy and in a lovely location and definitely good value for money. We purchased wood from Arthur and sat built a fire and sat outside both nights. The site was very peaceful, clean and felt very homely and we were made to feel very welcome by Arthur and the other staff that worked there.

Arthur was really helpful and friendly and gave us a full tour round the farm, which was brilliant. I would definitely recommend this site to people and are hoping to go again ourselves very soon. 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BiffyBoffy 23 reviews from this member

 We drove over to Grizedale via the ferry on Saturday afternoon after a wonder around Bowness. We have only been to this site in the winter when only the top camping area is in use, so it is best to ring before hand to check itís not full, as there is not much space for vans if the yurts and pods are full of mountain biking groups. Luckily there was just enough room for us even though we didnít book! We found a fairly level spot on the gravel but a pair of chocks would have sorted it out a treat.

This is a working farm so it is full of all the associated noise, farming machinery and two little goats that trot about looking for food or a scratch behind the ear! Arthur came round in the morning to check everyone was ok and had a good night sleep which was a nice friendly touch.

The toilets were perfectly acceptable for the kind of site this is and there was always hot water for washing upÖ

We paid £12 for two adults per night and will be returning again but with bikes! 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Davelee88 1 review from this member

 We met Arthur at the site on arrival, what a nice fella, we stayed in a pod which was great, once night fell we had a fire right outside the pod itself and the stars at night where amazing, there were no noise at night and no trouble whatsoever.

Arthurs little baby goats walking around the campsite where funny and they would let you stroke them, I think they thought they where dogs. Lol.

We will be going back next year but think we will try a Yurt next time as they look fun for not much more money.

Arthur is a very happy friendly person who is happy to help you anyway he can, he has told me he is climbing mount Kilimanjaro in January so good look with that and I hope he makes it.

Ps the toilets and showers were very clean with hot and cold running water. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The red one 7 reviews from this member

 We visited this site with 4 adults and 4 kids and had a cracking time. £17 a night for 2 adults and 2 kids. Arthur the owner, is a top bloke and leaves you to your own devices, but is always ready to lend his ears. A review further down says that it was noisy at 4am, true it was. But, when we arose next morning, about 8. 15, the group were packing up and leaving. Five minutes after they had left Arthur turns up on his quad and asks if we were woke through the night, our reply was yes for 5 mins. He apologised and said he confronted the group in the early hours and calmed them down and told them to leave first thing in the morning. It turns out one of the group(to much beer) had fell out with all his friends and they left him to wrap up on his own for being an idiot. You cant blame Arthur as he dealt with the matter as soon as he could.

Never waited for a shower or the toilet, always clean with toilet roll. Fire pits with wood supplied(£4. 00), awesome scenery, good walks. 5 mins from go ape. Extremely peaceful. Went into Hawkshead and got tea at the Red Lion(cheapest pub in village)£12 for a steak, all the other pubs were £18. Your in the lakes and wont find a pint for less than £3. 50 anywhere.

Visited in May also and returned in june as it was such a good site. This is the only site we have revisited as it was so good. Looking forward to returning next year as were booked up this year. Fantastic all round camping experience. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billy Can 12 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site on many occasions over the last 5 years or so and have always had a great stay. Arthur, the farmer and owner, is a dedicated and kind man, whose working hours I do not envy. He is a very busy man between tending to his farm and ensuring the loos are clean and have enough toilet roll!

The site is in a lovely spot with great walks straight from your tent. The local pub is about half a mile away and offers beautiful food and great service.

The site itself is fairly basic, offering space for your tent and clean facilities. At busy times there are queues for the loos, showers and dishwashing area.

Children enjoy playing in the stream and petting the horses, goats and Arthur's dog, Brad.

There is a 'quiet after 12' policy which people have always adherred to during my stays but I know that Arthur has asked people to leave the site on occasion, having made too much noise.

The highlight for us has always been sitting around the campfires, watching the bats. Arthur will deliver the required wood and kindling to your tent for £5. 50 and there is enough wood for a couple of small fires. Marshmallows a must!

Despite the basic nature of the site, it is a real favourite of ours and we will continue to return. A real bargain at £6 per adult per night too! 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ulverston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3175 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement