Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ulverston > Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm Reviews

Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm
Bowkerstead
Satterthwaite
Ulverston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8LL
Tel: 01229 860208
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35 Tents Only

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catnip 7 reviews from this member

 Another fantastic stay at this lovely site. We are regulars here and Arthur, the owner, is the most hard working and kind man ever. He's always on hand if you have any queries and nothing is too much trouble.

If you want a site where there's always hot water, always toilet roll, where the facilities are always as clean as they can be(even on a very wet and muddy weekend!) then this is the place for you.

Arthur never overcrowds the site, there's always space for football, rounders or whatever takes your fancy. You are allowed campfires and Arthur will bring logs and kindling to your door on his quad if you need him too.

I'm a bit loathe to leave good reviews really because we might not be able to get on if more people know about this place! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tim-antonia 11 reviews from this member

 It's our second visit to this campsite, unfortunately, it will be our last. It really is a tale of two halves.

THE GOOD:- the location is excellent for exploring the lakes, lots of good walks nearby, only a couple of minutes from the visitors centre, a stream for the children to swim in/splash, a few trees to climb, rocky outcrops to scramble on, having a campfire right next to your tent, the eagles head pub about half a mile away(excellent pub, food and beer (incidently the beer is extortionately priced but very good-£3. 50 per pint. Remember this is cumbria not cental London. Food is very reasonable however, 10 of us ate there for £101. 00, fantastic quality and value) booking is essential, every table gets pre-booked)the owner of the site very helpful and polite, the cost £17 for family of four per night and our tent is massive, he charges per person and not for size of tent.

Ok, now for the bad, there is only one gents toilet and two womens. The facilities are inadequate. One sink to wash up in! We British are famous worldwide for our ability to happily queue but this takes it to a whole new level of patience and tolerance. Most sites we visit have a no noise policy and 10 or 10. 30, I think that is perfectly acceptable, especially if you have children and are up at the crack of dawn. Albeit to only join a queue! however this site has a no noise policy after 12. 30, in principle, that should work ok to have a little extra leeway but if ever there was a case of giving people an inch and them taking a mile, then this is it. Our first visit two years back had drunken teenagers throwing aerosols on the campfire and music, shouting and screaming up till 4a. M. This visit had groups of very drunken people singing, shouting and the tents next to us full of groups of lads having a fight at 3a. M. The farmer comes round at midnight to check on people and they all go quiet and are as good as gold till he goes to bed then all hell breaks loose.

So, there you have it, is it worth a sleepless night and queues straight from an alton towers A-ride for the walks and views and price. If you are a stag party, young mixed sex group who want to party all night and sleep all day then probably, yes. If you have children and are traditional campers then maybe not. It is such a shame and I so wanted to leave a positive review but this is the stark reality of a weekend spent there. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marieclaire 1 review from this member

 Totally brilliant site, got to pitch wherever we wanted, had campfires every night.

Also stayed in a yurt at this site and it was amazing! Futons and cooking/eating equipment provided, lovely log burner inside too. Campfire right outside. Perfect!

The toilet block is basic but always kept very clean. Really nice little stream running under a bridge at the bottom of the camping field and a few little hills and patches of trees for the kids to explore and climb. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 24762231 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite, absolutely fantastic, arthur will do everything he can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Toilets and showers are clean and tidy. And its only a short walk (400m) from a wonderful pub, that serves all types of food. Burgers to venison steaks!

The main attraction to us was the open campfires that are permitted on the site, and which Arthur comes round on his little tractor and sells wood or kindling, or you can go foraging in the local woods.

There are loads of walks ranging from easy to hard, and grizedale forest is just 1.5 miles away. Nearest shop is in hawkeshead about 3 miles again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dean3452 2 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back after a fabulous Easter weekend at this little gem of a site, the site is what I consider a small site for proper campers, it is basic but with clean toilets 2 for ladies and 2 for the men and the same for the showers which were free and always had hot water flowing from them!

There is no shop on site however there is a little vending machine in the pot washing area which was reasonably priced, you can have campfires which is great after the sun goes down (don't forget your marshmallows).

As you enter the campsite you will go over a little bridge, under this is a lovely flowing river where you can go and sit in peace with just the sheep and lambs for conversation if you wish.

Arthur the owner is a wonderful and caring person who always asks if everything is ok for you, he allows you to look around his farm and he is happy to talk about his animals that he has, my two children really enjoyed going to see Arthur who was usually followed round by his two pigmy goats Stella and Pheobe.

All in all this is great little site that we will return to time and time again as there is plenty to do in the surrounding area especially for walkers and mountain bikers. Hawkshead is a short drive away with quaint little shops and pubs. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: KirstenD 2 reviews from this member

 We love this campsite and have been 3 times this winter and stayed in the camping pods. The pods are in a wooded, steep area which offers lovely views from the top, but be warned, if you choose the highest pod with the nicest views you will soon tire of lugging your gear up the hill and the steep walk back from the loos at 11pm after a few shandies!

We went in October, two adults and two small children and found that all the beds just about squeeze into the pod but there's no room to move when they are up. On the plus side we were quite cosy even though there was frost on the ground the next morning. Stayed again as a family at the end of Feb (were meant to be in a yurt but had a booking mix-up) although it was much colder then and we felt it at night.

My husband and his friend went again at the end of March biking round Grizedale and Whinlatter and they found the pods luxurious for 2 people with plenty of room. All in all the pods are basic but cheap and if you are two or three people a great way of visiting the area without bringing a tent and getting a decent roof over your head, especially in the colder months.

Being able to have a fire was a godsend when we went, especially with having to vacate the pod in the evening so the little ones could go to bed. It would have been a cold and miserable evening sat in the dark otherwise.

Arthur is lovely, very helpful and very busy, but he still found time to show us where his pygmy goats and rare breed piglets are. The kids had great fun just wandering around collecting acorns and sticks for the fire and playing hide and seek round the trees.

Clean, warm loos and showers and a small but indoors pot wash area.

We've just bought a bigger tent and look forward to visiting again under canvas this time (and we still want to try out a yurt - they look great and furnished too!) 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnny_lyttle 1 review from this member

 We spent 1 night in a pod and 2 nights in a tent in the upper field, and we had a great time.

The facilities are very good - warm showers, campfires for each pitch, firewood on sale at reasonable prices and they never ran out of bog-roll! Arthur, the owner, is considerate and very easy to get along with. He goes out of his way to check that you're OK and that you've got everything you need.

The location doesn't benefit from the most amazing views - despite being between two major lakes it doesn't actually have line of sight on either of them, which is a shame. It is within reasonable driving distance of Windermere, Ambleside and Hawkshead though.

My only criticism is that the access needs to be improved - the track into the campsite will test your car's suspension if you don't take care to avoid the potholes. Avoidable with careful driving though.

I would happily recommend the site, and if your main priority is to have basic facilities that are reliable and clean, then this is definitely a safe bet. 


Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: JenCooke 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed in a camping pod, which is a wooden structure, one step up from a tent.

It was very cold in November but I did hear word that the owners were considering installing heating.

However, the shower block was a lovely warm sanctuary in which to warm up and was very clean and well maintained.

The pods comfortably sleep two people and the whole site is great for groups.

There is a local pub in Satterthwaite serving lovely food and some interesting home brewed cider!

The location is ideal for exploring areas of Grizedale Forest on foot or driving to further reaches of the Lake District.

I would definitely recommend the Grizedale camping pods for a friendly reception and great value for money. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BiffyBoffy 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed for one night arriving on Sunday afternoon as everyone else was leaving. This is a beautiful farm site with a river running along the bottom, perfect for exploring Grizedale forest and its surrounding hills.

The site is split into two areas, the field (with benches and fire baskets) and the woodland (where the yurts and pods are. We stayed in the woodland as the field does not open until April. Its very refreshing to find a campsite with a simple price structure! £6 per person per night, no extras for dogs, cars, extra tents…

The toilet block / washing up facilities were always clean and there was plenty of hot water. There is also a vending machine selling hot drinks, soup snack bars and crisps.

There are no shops near by so buy everything on your way in if you’re not staying for long like we did. The visitor centre is a thirty minute walk from the campsite along the edge of the forest opposite the campsite.

We had a lovely meal on Sunday evening at the village pub.

We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fedster187 6 reviews from this member

 Just got back from amazing weekend in the lakes

This site is now my number one site for the lakes.

Arthur the owner is a amazing bloke.

We arrived Friday to meet a large group of friends who Arthur had upgraded from a pod and a few tents to the yurt due to heavy rain,

The facility's where very clean local pub the eagles head had great food and always a warm atmosphere, also very central for climbing, kayaking and biking can see 2 more visits this year

Even got to meet Steve the pig 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ulverston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3495 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement