Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ulverston > Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm Reviews

Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm
Bowkerstead
Satterthwaite
Ulverston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8LL
Tel: 01229 860208
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35 Tents Only

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Benmark10 15 reviews from this member

 I found just what I was looking for in this site. A quiet space, not too expensive, walking distance to a pub. At 7 per person per night it was excellent value.

The site is basic - don't expect any mod-cons. Toilets and shower are a couple of minutes walk from the main camping field. They are a little dated but kept clean. We found 4 showers to be ample, but we were camping mid-week. You may have to queue at weekends.

Toilet roll and handwash soap was provided. Washing up facilities are basic - just one trough, and it's outside. But perfectly sufficient for cleaning a few plates and cups.

Campsite allows campfires - quite a rarity these days! The only caveat is that you should buy your wood from them (5 a bag, and 4 a bag for kindling), which is pretty reasonable.

The tipi is an on site shop on Saturdays and Sundays which sells a few basic provisions. Note there is NO SHOP IN SATTERTHWAITE. I think the closest is in Hawkshead, 4 miles away.

The local pub is a 12 minute walk from the campsite, sells good food and a good selection of beers on tap for a small pub. These are new landlords, so disregard any previous reviews about the pub. We chatted at length to him and he's keen to be much better than the previous landlord who used to shut early or stop doing food unexpectedly.

Overall this site is a perfect base for exploring the lake district, but far enough from the tourist hell of Windemere to be quiet and reasonably priced.

My top tip is to avoid Windemere entirely. Go to Coniston Water instead! Lovely town, much quieter and boat hire is cheaper if you want to get out on the water! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NooBrew 2 reviews from this member

 Third time visiting this campsite because the location is great. Very nice during the week, super busy on the weekend (was a long weekend so to be expected) with a lot of kids running around.

Was cool to wake up to a sheep standing outside our tent. Good facilities (although showers were quite dirty) but the shop was awesome and love the bonfire areas and picnic tables.

Will no doubt be back there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fast but dim 3 reviews from this member

 Forget the excellent location, warm pods, great pub, hot showers. Or even the campfires.

The owner, Arthur, makes this site an ace place to spend some time. He's chilled, friendly and approachable. Just enough rules to keep a lid on the idiots, but not so many that you can't have a laugh.

I've been with mates on a 4x4 trip, a group of young teens, and with my family.

Every time I've had a laugh.

My favourite lake District site. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wiggydiggypoo 3 reviews from this member

 2 nights here for cycling around the Grizedale forest and its a perfect location as several routes pass right by the site. Its also at the southern end of the lakes so avoids some of the bottlenecking visitors can cause in the more central/northern reaches of the lakes.

I like the surroundings, its very picturesque and is a working farm so lots of animal noises going on to listen to. It is a relaxed site so expect children, games, shouting etc so not for someone wanting absolute peace and quiet. The nights we stayed no one had music or anything, laughing/conversation noises are to be expected and ok.

The only negative I would put in is that the toilet/shower/washing up sink is small for the size of the site. If visited when busy I suspect there could be quite the queue for the facilities.

To end on positives though this site does allow campfires, which are a must for the colder nights! Pus the shop sold meat/eggs is great and to be recommended.

Ignore my no stars for kids, I have none so its n/a. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lezlibean 2 reviews from this member

 If you don't fancy listening to the mournful howling of a penned up dog on the farm or the competing radios/cds of other campers then move on. The site itself is in a fantastic picturesque setting and the facilities are basic but perfectly adequate and are kept clean and tidy. It is a great safe space for children to run around, explore and let off steam and campfires are allowed (logs must be bought on site).

The biggest downside was the number of other campers who feel it is perfectly acceptable to inflict their music on every other camper in the field, drowning out birdsong and other natural sounds.

The final straw which forced us to pack up and move on, was the arrival of a family whose incessant swearing was in competition with the incessant barking of their dog.

There are plenty of walks nearby to suit a range of abilities and it is a short drive to Coniston water and Eskdale water so ideally situated for lots of activities. However if it is peace and tranquility you want, it is perhaps best avoided during the peak of the school holiday season. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ceilingfish 3 reviews from this member

 Very friendly campsite. Lots of families and some groups of young people. A little bit of noise late at night, but not enough to keep us up.

Atmosphere was relaxed, and plenty of kids playing in the field. Got quite busy, but it's a weekend in July, what can be expected?

Aruthur was very attentive, and friendly, and has an awesome little offroad golf buggy.

Facilities were in working order. Showers were hot and clean, and washing facilities included a sink.

A small herd of goats was wondering around too, which were very cute and entertained the little guy massively.

The scenery is absolutely gorgeous. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Backpackerlee 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great campsite, with awesome views of the surrounding areas, the owner is really friendly and relaxed to deal with, they allow fires and you buy the wood on site at a very reasonable price, which we all thought was a nice touch.

The facilities are fine, with clean hot showers, and a separate room with a power point if needed, which the missus appreciates ;-) there's also running hot water to clean pots all close to the camp as well as the farm house should you need to see the owner.

The small group of goats including a baby tickled my missus as they kept following a girl around the yard.

We'll definitely use this site again and would recommend to friends. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacobsmummy 1 review from this member

 Our second visit to Grizedale camp site and we were not disappointed.

A perfectly located site on a working farm with the option of camping in the field or in the woods. We chose the field this time, flat and large enough to accommodate a good amount of tents but not overcrowded.

The site is peaceful with idyllic views of the hills and forest, a stream and rope swing for the kids (I hardly saw my boy all weekend!). The owner Arthur was as friendly and welcoming as last time, quickly showing us to the best spot available on arrival.

We enjoyed a campfire on both nights, logs are available on site for 3. The facilities are basic but the water was always hot and we didn't have to queue.

The site is ideally placed for exploring the surrounding forest with walks straight from the site. The village is about 10 mins walk and has a pub serving good food and local ale.

All in all a fantastic weekend, we will be back for sure! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Broic 16 reviews from this member

 Second time to this site. As great as we remember! Owner, Arthur, very accommodating. Large field in a working farm with a river running beside it.

Toilets and showers are kept clean throughout the stay. Large field, but never overcrowded. Very quiet campsite. Located next to Grizedale forest with is worth a visit. Nice pub down the road.

Excellent campsite we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bmeyer 1 review from this member

 We booked three nights here based on the online reviews I read. We travelled over from Harrogate to escape the Tour De France madness and we couldn't have been happier!

Upon arriving, you will be met by the site/farm owner, Arthur. Arthur will personally show you out to the best available spot or you can pick your own.

We chose a spot close to the river and near one of the bluffs that had a rope swing for the kids. There is plenty of room no matter what size tent or how many people in your party.

I can't really say enough about the experience. Great walks in every direction, scenic views in every direction and a very helpful site owner. It's a working farm, so the goats run free, there were horses and sheep in the fields and friendly dogs and cats around the farmhouse.

There are toilet and shower facilities. If I were to be critical about anything (and it's a very minor negative. After all, you are camping!) is that the toilets and showers could have been a bit cleaner. That said, the water was hot, I never had to queue and there was room for you to even use a sink for washing up (if needed).

We didn't get a chance to view the pods or yurts, but maybe next time we'll treat ourselves.

This is rustic camping at its best. No electric hookups, no cafes, no on-site entertainment, not caravans or motorhomes. Just tents. Lots of room for play. Frisbee, football and plenty of beautiful nature!

10 out of 10 for me! We'll be back for sure! 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ulverston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3302 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement