Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ulverston > Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm Reviews

Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm
Bowkerstead
Satterthwaite
Ulverston
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA12 8LL
Tel: 01229 860208
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35 Tents Only

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: BobOn 17 reviews from this member

 We were looking for somewhere with camp fires because of the time of year and found this site complete with camping pods so thought we'd give it a go. As it turned out we had three days of glorious sunshine but it was cold at night! It's good to have a campfire particularly at this time of year. The pod didn't seem much warmer than a tent would have been but Arthur the owner said they may be putting woodburners in them.

There are 6 pods (£25 per night) and ours was facing the sun most of the day whereas three of the others looked like they were shaded all the time. They are up behind the farm in a wooded area whereas the campsite is before the farm. There are three yurts there too which looked interesting.

Arthur is friendly and chatty and was best man at a wedding whilst we stayed, he even came back to 'do some jobs' which seemed to involve riding his quad bike in his wedding suit!

The facilities might not cope with a full site but whilst we were there it was quiet, 3 pods and a tent. The toilets and showers are by the farmhouse about 200 yards from the pods and were clean and tidy. You can't park by your pod so be prepared to do some fetching and carrying.

The site is in a beautiful area and is ideal for Grizedale visitor centre and Go Ape I aim to go back next spring with my daughter and bikes. Think I've found another favourite site. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Icedbanana 2 reviews from this member

 This is more like it! I can’t abide holiday parks – what’s the point in going camping if the site resembles the tent/caravan equivalent of a suburban housing estate?

The ability to have a fire makes such a difference. Camping without a fire is like cornflakes without milk. Once you’ve camped with a fire you’ll find it hard to go back.

A bonus is a pub just 10 minutes’ walk away which serves great food. But check they haven’t got a special function on on the night you are eating as this may mean you can’t get a meal.

En route to the pub we could see the Milky Way overhead – there’s negligible light pollution up here. Your children will love the fact that the sky seems filled with stars in a way that it never is at home.

We really liked the fact that there are some very sturdy & large pub-style picnic tables in the main field – so much better for eating on than a flimsy foldable camping table.

The only minus points (they are minor):

- The men’s toilet & shower block only has 2 showers & 1 toilet. I’d hate to be caught short only to find the toilet occupied.

- One of the showers has no coat hook (the other has just one). We now follow someone else’s advice & take over-the-door hooks with us & a foldable step to sit on when we get out of the shower.

- The campsite is a little out in the Styx. Having said that, we were deciding between Grizedale and the National Trust Great Langdale campsite. We preferred Grizedale due to the laid-back atmosphere and the ability to have a campfire. Distance was not a problem.

Arthur’s great – a real character.

If you read this, Arthur, please buy a floor squeegee so we can clean the shower floor!

If you come here & exit the M6 at junction 36, we only saw one petrol station between junction 36 and the campsite (about 2-3 miles after leaving junction 36). In actual fact, during our whole weekend, that was the only petrol station we saw after leaving the motorway.

The campsite’s good value - £6/adult/night & (I think) half that for children. There was no check out time so we had the luxury of striking out immediately after breakfast on our last day & taking the tent down on our return in the afternoon.

A very laid-back campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krazekt 6 reviews from this member

 Me and my friend came for one night with our dogs. We really loved it here. They people who own it are so nice. They gave us advice on where to walk our dogs. The walks round there where really nice. They have markers around so you cant really get lost, you just retrace your steps, which happened to us.

The facilities are nice and clean. I loved the fact that you can have campfires and that kept us nice and toastie warm. We really didn't want to pack up and go home. I would definitely come here again and would recommend other people to come to. It is in a nice quiet area so there are no noisy cars buzzing around. We did see some goats making a run for it.

The dogs loved it, my dog especially. We had a bbq and the dogs got a little treat. The skys stayed clear while we were sat out so we got to look at the stars all night. It did rain but we were asleep. It is definitely a place to go. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fastmower 3 reviews from this member

 We only camped here for the weekend with another couple. Both in tents. There was a large group booked on at the same time, but that did not cause us any bother. One night someone did decide to start playing the guitar at 'don't know what time' in the early hours, but having had experience on other campsites that have strict quiet time rules, this was preferable.

You were allowed to have campfires anywhere you wanted to, by making use of the various fire baskets around the field or making a ring of stones yourself. This was one of the main reasons we chose this site.

The toilet and facilities were basic, but having read about these on other peoples reviews we were expecting that. There was a queue for the toilets but everyone is aware of this and therefore the queue moved down quickly.

The site owner was very friendly, we enjoyed walking in Grizedale forest, and liked the relaxed atmosphere. The site does get a bit boggy in wet weather but Arthur warned us about where to pitch to avoid that.

We will definitely go back again and take the kids. There is no playground, but they will enjoy running around in the field and the wooded areas. Can't wait for our next visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Watson32 4 reviews from this member

 A good, basic campsite with lovely walks and scenery all around. Arthur very helpful but not overbearing, campfires allowed, facilities basic.

Arthur pre warned us there would be a large group here the weekend we wanted to go but it did not put us off, there was a lot of noise to the small hours but the atmosphere was so relaxed that it was not something I minded and after a days walking and a few drinks round the campfire we settled to sleep easily and were not disturbed until at least 8 am the next morning by sheep, which is pleasant.

This is what camping should be and I would certainly return here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Helso9 1 review from this member

 We arrived at Grizedale in gale force winds and sideways rain. We were greeted by Arthur and given a choice of pods as it was a quiet Sunday. After a brief walk up a steep hill we chose number 2 with the highest outlook down onto the other pods and campsite. Within an hour the weather had cleared and pretty much stayed that way for our 3 day visit.

The pods were fantastic - much warmer than expected, well insulated and surprisingly quiet. It is lovely to have the little decked porch at the front and there is a stone surround ready built for camp fires.

The toilet and showering facilities were good - lovely warm showers, despite there being a number of big parties we never had to queue for loo or shower. The only compromise to having such a great pod was the distance from the loos - but its a small price to pay for such a lovely view.

We had a walk to Scatterthwaite to check out the pub - it was closed until 7pm on Sunday (it had been open earlier in the day over lunch), there was also a sign in the door saying no food served on Monday or Tuesdays). We took a walk to the Grizedale visitors centre which was a great little walk and worth a visit. We ended up driving the 5 miles to Hawkshead in the evening for food - 3/4 pubs there, very different menus and one of the best stopped serving at 7pm on Sunday (sorry can't remember names!) - there is a co-op in Hawkshead open until 10pm on Sunday evening though.

I will definitely be going back to Grizedale campsite and can't recommend the pods highly enough - really friendly and welcoming place - 3 yurts now on the site too! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fedster187 6 reviews from this member

 Visited the site with a bunch of friends for long weekend kayaking / climbing / biking / hiking the weather wasn't on our side lack of rain ment no water sports,But the location was perfect it was lovely weekend so we improvised so much to do in the area was still an amazing weekend

The site toilets and showers always very clean

The choice of pods and Yurts are amazing and very reasonably priced, the site owner Arthur is a great guy checked on us daily to see if anything we need

The local pub has great food and local drink (although food served quite late midweek)

Other than that you book in find a spot and set up as a group. We tend to use the Forest by the pods and get a nice fire on the go and chillax planning are days out,

This place is the best site in the lakes for groups 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hlraybould 1 review from this member

 This is a great campsite. We stayed from Wednesday to Sunday. The cheapest campsite we've been to but you have to book.

The farmer is very friendly and helpful, we had a very noisy night on the Friday till 04.30hrs! however the farmer soon sorted this out the next day and all was well again.

There are only 2 toilets and showers per gender however we didn't have to wait long and they are very clean and didn't spoil the site enjoyment.

There is a stream on the edge of the site which is handy for cooling feet or bottles of wine!

And there is a pub a 5 min walk away which is excellent, however I would recommend booking as it is only small. There is also go-ape for those who are feeling brave! Overall an excellent value for money campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lpeedy 24 reviews from this member

 It's such a shame about this site. During the week it is lovely but at weekends it is a nightmare! We may have been unlucky in our visit and I'd like to be fair and point out that our visit did cross into a weekend during the school holidays so that probably had an impact on the large number of people on the site.

The location is excellent. It is ideal for all the Grizedale forest walks, Coniston, Hawkshead, Windermere etc. It is in a beautiful setting with the option of pitching in the forest (small tents only) or the field. I wish we had known beforehand to bring the small tent as the forest would have been preferable to the field which was full of large groups (one of which was a stag do) and families (most of whom seemed to just let their kids run wild). In all fairness the owners (who are lovely by the way) did suggest the forest to us but unfortunately the pitch size was too small.

The facilities are basic. Only 2 showers and 2 toilets for the ladies (I think there were slightly more for the men) and 1 washing up sink. During the week these are sufficient but not at the weekend. Unfortunately, the sinks are in the toilet cubicles so this caused long queues during busier times. Also there is no separate tap to get water so you have to wait for the washing up queue to go down before you can fill up your water container. Having said this, at a bargain £6 per night you get what you pay for.

It is a lovely idea to allow camp fires as most sites do not allow this anymore. Wood and kindling can be bought from the owners. However, already in June the field is littered with large ash patches which I suspect will make it increasingly difficult to find a clear patch of grass as the season progresses.

The above are just niggles that can be lived with but unfortunately the problem of noise is one that really lets this site down. We experienced rowdy revellers at 2 a.M one night and 4.A.M another. If you want to simply pitch up and party this site is perfect. If not, perhaps this is not the site for you.

All in all I would revisit on a weekday and take a tent small enough for a forest pitch but would not visit again on a weekend or pitch in the field. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lufranwat 1 review from this member

 Just stayed at this campsite for the weekend with my husband. It was quite full which was no surprise considering the weather and the fact it was half-term. Even so, we still had plenty of room around the pitch.

We stayed on the lower field as our tent was too big to go in the woods. There are pleasant views of the forest and surrounding fields where the sheep/horses graze.

The toilet block is minimal. Just two toilets each for men and ladies each with their own sink. There are no other sinks for brushing teeth which means you do have to wait a bit longer when there's a queue but even though the site was full, I only had to wait twice, for about 5 minutes. I always had loo roll in my pocket as it frequently ran out. There are two ladies and two mens' showers and one sink for washing up. The bins were overflowing by the end of the weekend but it was no big deal to us as they are away from the camping area.

The village was a 5 minute walk away with a pub and a church, nothing else! The pub food was lovely and the house ale also good. Main courses were £8-£10 which I thought was reasonable for the location and we definitely got our money's worth.

The next nearest village is Hawkshead which is 4 miles away. It took about 10-15mins by car (mainly as I am not accustomed to the country roads!) The car park there is pay and display (£1.50 one hour/£2.60 two hours). There are plenty of souvenir shops, pubs, cafes, a post office and a co-op.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the campsite owner/farmer is a lovely chap. He will chat if you want to or leave you alone if you don't. He sells bags of logs for £3 each. We found we needed two to keep a fire going all night. It seems you can make a fire wherever you want either using a fire basket from the farmer (we didn't get one so I don't know how much) or just by making a circle of stones from previous fires.

To sum up it is very relaxed and basic camping out in the sticks. Perfect! 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Grizedale Campsite Bowkerstead Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ulverston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3381 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement