Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us


Reviews of Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Liniclate > Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) Reviews

Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)
Shell Bay House
Hebrides   (Browse area)
Tel: 01870602852  or  07805927657
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2021 to 25/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 48 Reviews
                8/10 from 48 Reviews

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JacqWHITNEY 2 reviews from this member

 Campsite host family were marvellous and helpful and enthusiastic with knowledge of area and offer of hot drink on arrival!

It met all our needs and there was always hot water and short wait for shower if any.

Electricity available for charging and campers kitchen and fridge.

No washing up sink or hand-driers but I think they are working on this!

Thanks so much for helping to make our stay fabulous! 
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wessell 1 review from this member

 Good location with level hard stand pitches or good grass.

Currently ďtiredĒ but with good plans to improve by new owners.

Pleasant 3 min walk to glorious beach. 
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Penwrith 1 review from this member

 Found the site by chance and was allocated a space with EHU by the owner. Owners were friendly. The site struck me as a bit bleak though weather not great at the time which didnít help. Toilet and shower block very clean but a bit dated. Didnít use showers. Washing machine and tumbler there but had to see the owner before using it and I think had to be there a min of 2 nights which is a bit strange. Price very reasonable, think it was £15 for the night for myself and motorhome.

I have dogs and for walking them itís great - a lovely beach nearby and able to walk for a long way round the machar too.

Fine for the night but wouldnít rush back, it just lacked warmth somehow and not because the sun wasnít out!

WiFi available but @ £2 /hour. Thought Iíd download a film to watch @ night but after an hour only 10% done completed - signal more off than on. Most sites have free WiFi if itís offered but if paying for it I would expect a good signal so the charge is a bit cheeky. 
Management response: Hi

Price for motorhome 1 person and hook-up rate including showers charged at Shellbay would be £13. Motorhome 2 people with hook-up would be £19 per night.This person was unsure as it states he thinks he paid £15.

As regards internet we clearly state that this facility is not supplied by us but through Voove services Balivanich who cover an extended area through the Uists and other islands. It's a pity this person did not inform us if he paid £2 per hour and download unsuccessful.

We have signs on site to welcome people. Pity he didn't read them! I can't understand what warmth he was looking for. Again if he had any problems we would be only too glad to help.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tinwheeler 6 reviews from this member

 I had doubts about staying on Benbecula as Iíd heard it was very bleak. How wrong can you be! It was beautiful with the typical glorious Hebridean beaches yet there were shops, restaurants and hotels all within easy reach of the site.

The owner of the site was welcoming and friendly and the facilities were fine if a little tired and dark. It was very clean. The site provided everything we needed including EHU. The pitches are grass and ours was level enough. In fact, the whole island was flat.

We would stay here again. 

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for one night with an electric hookup. The facilities were all spotlessly clean although very dated. The owner was very helpful. There is easy access to the beach and a hotel/pub along the road that serves food. There was no wifi. The site was perfectly adequate for one night but could do with a bit of a makeover. I would not have wanted to stay any longer than one night. It is an old military site and the pitches are a bit uneven. The prices was comparable with others we stayed at on the same trip. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

 Nice little site close to lovely beach. Pretty flat with EHUs. The shower blocks were spacious & spotless. Great showers with good pressure & plenty of hot water. Pay at the bungalow & find your own spot. A couple of hotels within 10mins walk for drinks & food. Recommended. 

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vantango 11 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here. Easy to find. Only saw the owners to pay & get directions to our pitch. Flat sight with nothing but the toilet block. Large pitch. Toilet block was clean. Two shower cubicles - water hot.

Short walk to the local hotel- very friendly locals & staff. 

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sunny Jim 60 8 reviews from this member

 This site sits below the sand dunes, with a beautiful beach less than 5 minutes walk away. Spectacular views up there. Local hotel 5 minutes walk away. Nice food and friendly staff. Toilet blocks are old and worn although they function well and are spotlessly clean. Only 1 shower available in each ( number 2 was out of action) which caused a queue in the morning, even although the site was quiet. Owners very friendly and informative. 

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

 This is a nice enough small site situated next to the school in Liniclate, there's a lovely white sand beach just over the dunes behind the site (we sat for ages watching the seals fishing only feet from the shore) the toilet & shower facilities are very large, old but kept immaculate and the site owner was very friendly, we stopped for a pint at the hotel just up the road - quite expensive and the food didn't look too appetizing ! 

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobbyg 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first ever camping trip and we chose to do it in the Outer Hebrides! We stayed 2 nights in Barra, 2 in Benbecula and 2 in Stornoway.

Shellbay was easy to find by just using the satnav and postcode. As others have mentioned site is large with various remains of hardstandings around but these are not a hindrance. Toilets are fine though only one shower in each male / female unit and this hasn't to be used after 10. There is also a kitchen area to wash your dishes, use the tumble dryer and lots of information leaflets about.

Nearby is a hotel which we didn't go into but looked nice and welcoming from outside and form what I have heard, the food is lovely. A mile down the road is a Scotmid Co-Op which opens till 10pm and has a huge range of goods inc fresh bread etc.

The site has very little shelter and its close proximity to the coast means that you are susceptible to strong and blustery winds. When we were there our tent was struggling to stay up although ours is a full height tent so that could be part of the issue.

Site owner, the Buchanans, were a lovely couple and very helpful. Even rummaging through all their cupboards to find a tiny screwdriver to help me as the screw on my glasses had worked loose and my lense had fallen out.

With hindsight, and this is absolutely no reflection on the site or its owners, we would only have stayed there for one night as Benbecula itself has very little to do. The whole area is bleak, quite flat, and just filled with water and marshland. It really did feel very desolate and now I understand why some people just drive right up through Benbecula rather than stopping off. 

Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities

Other Sites Near Liniclate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

2650 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021