Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Liniclate > Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) > Reviews

Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)
Shell Bay House
Liniclate
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS7 5PJ
Tel: 01870602852  or  07805927657
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 36
Open: 17/04/2024 to 06/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 62 Reviews
                8/10 from 62 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Juliec 2 reviews from this member

 Nice site very flat. School next door with swimming pool apparently.

Hotel about 500m away with restaurant. Bookings only on the night we were there so were glad we had booked.

First time we had eaten out after almost 2 w on Harris/Lewis so made a nice change.

Beach a short walk away but we felt too far to walk in Wetsuits for a swim. Unfortunately didnít see any otters 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Moragn 1 review from this member

 What a lovely friendly, well kept site. The owners welcome you as you come on site, and do their upmost to make sure you are familiar with everything show an interest in your trip without being intrusive. The facilities are clean and fresh. A short walk from the dunes and beach, ideal for swimming - but the swimming pool is next door if you'd rather.

There is a well stocked shop within reasonable distance for anything you need food wise.

An ideal site for the Hebridean way whether walking or cycling, but a good central base for sightseeing too.

The only things missing would be laundry services and maybe a hairdryer, but you don't go on holiday to do laundry I suppose! There is a drying line, just make sure you have your strong pegs to keep anything on the line!

The Kitchen area is ideal with excellent seating, kettle, fridge and loads of hot water.

The 'ladies' are bright, modern, fresh and always clean. 2 free showers. I'm sure the gents will be the same, but didn't peek!

David is a lovely host with good humour and full of ideas for interesting things to do if you're needing inspired. Many will return I'm sure. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ianwickford 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent Facilities. These were very clean, but cold!

My shower was nice and hot but my wifeís shower was only lukewarm.

Best part of the showers was the room inside the cubicles, it was brilliant.

Too many site shower cubicles are too small!

Rose was extremely helpful and gave a full explanation of everything available at the site.

Pitches are level. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Norfolk Jim 2 reviews from this member

 What a nice site and a lovely owner who took over the site a couple of years ago.

We had booked originally only for one night but decided rather than going all the way down South Uist we'd like to stay a second night which Dave quickly accommodated and made sure we kept same pitch.

Excellent location with major facilities not far away at Benbecula.

Yes it is a little exposed but all sites are; perhaps made worse by rather strong wind during and after our stay. We did however spot a golden eagle fly pst the site twice!

Would recommend and stay again anytime. Facilities first rate and free showers 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helen2616 1 review from this member

 Our arrival at Otters Edge was complicated as our clutch failed some distance away - after 19 miles in 3rd we coasted in and were met by Dave the owner with thoughtful and unstinting help. He towed our caravan into place, helped us push the car out of the way, contacted the local garage (who responded with equal generosity), took us shopping and helped us arrange and collect a hire car with tow-hook with which to continue our holiday.

Even as we were leaving, Dave leaned out of his car window to point out a small black plastic clip for which we were searching fruitlessly on the ground.

While it may not boast a sea view, everything which the other reviewers have said about the cleanliness and the amazing location is true, and we streamed Britbox happily on the EE signal.

However it was the generosity and kindness which we encountered which we will remember - we were left to ourselves to enjoy a rather different holiday to the one we planned, but the best of help was there when we needed it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul Harrington 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely lovely site, beautifully situated near a fabulous beach.

Wonderful seafood available nearby.

Very welcoming host.

Really enjoyed our stay, Benbecula is spectacular! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Christ 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet location

Great facilities in a bungalow full kitchen, place to sit and eat

Great toilets and showers and very clean,

Hosts very welcoming 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jowade 1 review from this member

 Well located site, spotless facilities in this site run by very friendly family.

Pitches roomy, didnít feel crowded at all.

The Otters Den room with kettle and sinks was really useful in the really wet weather. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sbrop6 1 review from this member

 Excellent touring site.

Easy to book in good location for doing the Hebridean way.

Coop and other shops minutes away for re provisioning.

Very friendly and helpful owner.

Well run site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scankguy 22 reviews from this member

 Stopover well located between South and North Uists.

New shower toilet block which was kept very clean. However no where to put clothes towels etc in the cubicles. Press the shower button until warm water comes before undressing. It takes a while.

Exposed site donít bother with an awning. We paid extra for one but owners acknowledge that itís normally too windy -no refund. Good shops locally. Good dog walk towards nearby beach.

Only place we stayed on the islands without a sea view. Grey water allowed to spill onto grass.

Felt the price was a bit expensive, but this is the Hebrides! 
via mobile


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Liniclate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3531 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement