Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Liniclate > Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) Reviews

Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)
Shell Bay House
Liniclate
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS7 5PJ
Tel: 01870602852  or  07805927657
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: DamienP 1 review from this member

 I spent 3 nights, 1 night on my way to Lewis and 2 nights on the way back to relax.

Campsite is perfect, just what you need. Super clean, kitchen space is super convenient, pitches are really good and close access to the beach is a big plus (I spent hours gazing at the local seals, and, if you are lucky, you can spot otters).

Last but not least, the team at Otter's is just fantastic. Really helpful, resourceful and so friendly. A wee family! 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Thatgu 1 review from this member

 The owners were wonderful, very friendly, much enthusiasm for the area and it's wildlife, they had plenty suggestions for places to go to see various species as well as good local knowledge.

They really seemed to care for their guests, which is a lovely touch.

Well located campsite surrounded by machair and just a stones throw from a lovely beach. The birdsong is epic, as was the local flora and fauna.

Facilities were simple but ample enough but impeccably clean at all times which is refreshing for a campsite.

The site was quiet and guests had decent space to themselves.

Restaurant and bar within walking distance, food shop just a 5 min drive away.

It's the perfect location for getting to all of the isles in the chain. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johnm3 3 reviews from this member

 A very worm welcome from Coventry Dave

A legend in his own back garden 😂😂😂

We observed Otters and Seals just over the sand dunes by the site.

The site is very flat however a little featureless but all the facilities were clean and tidy.

John from Preston 👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Abbi077 2 reviews from this member

 Location really good - shortish walk to the dunes and the beach. Spent a good while out on the dunes and saw seals and an eagle.

Sadly no otter - the owner was really helpful and keen to give us tips on how to spot the local otter but she was not to be seen!

Facilities fairly basic but fine. Looking forward to coming back again in future once the new owners have had a bit more time to get some work done in the facilities block. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JacqWHITNEY 2 reviews from this member

 Campsite host family were marvellous and helpful and enthusiastic with knowledge of area and offer of hot drink on arrival!

It met all our needs and there was always hot water and short wait for shower if any.

Electricity available for charging and campers kitchen and fridge.

No washing up sink or hand-driers but I think they are working on this!

Thanks so much for helping to make our stay fabulous! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wessell 1 review from this member

 Good location with level hard stand pitches or good grass.

Currently ďtiredĒ but with good plans to improve by new owners.

Pleasant 3 min walk to glorious beach. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Penwrith 1 review from this member

 Found the site by chance and was allocated a space with EHU by the owner. Owners were friendly. The site struck me as a bit bleak though weather not great at the time which didnít help. Toilet and shower block very clean but a bit dated. Didnít use showers. Washing machine and tumbler there but had to see the owner before using it and I think had to be there a min of 2 nights which is a bit strange. Price very reasonable, think it was £15 for the night for myself and motorhome.

I have dogs and for walking them itís great - a lovely beach nearby and able to walk for a long way round the machar too.

Fine for the night but wouldnít rush back, it just lacked warmth somehow and not because the sun wasnít out!

WiFi available but @ £2 /hour. Thought Iíd download a film to watch @ night but after an hour only 10% done completed - signal more off than on. Most sites have free WiFi if itís offered but if paying for it I would expect a good signal so the charge is a bit cheeky. 
Management response: Hi

Price for motorhome 1 person and hook-up rate including showers charged at Shellbay would be £13. Motorhome 2 people with hook-up would be £19 per night.This person was unsure as it states he thinks he paid £15.

As regards internet we clearly state that this facility is not supplied by us but through Voove services Balivanich who cover an extended area through the Uists and other islands. It's a pity this person did not inform us if he paid £2 per hour and download unsuccessful.

We have signs on site to welcome people. Pity he didn't read them! I can't understand what warmth he was looking for. Again if he had any problems we would be only too glad to help.


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tinwheeler 6 reviews from this member

 I had doubts about staying on Benbecula as Iíd heard it was very bleak. How wrong can you be! It was beautiful with the typical glorious Hebridean beaches yet there were shops, restaurants and hotels all within easy reach of the site.

The owner of the site was welcoming and friendly and the facilities were fine if a little tired and dark. It was very clean. The site provided everything we needed including EHU. The pitches are grass and ours was level enough. In fact, the whole island was flat.

We would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for one night with an electric hookup. The facilities were all spotlessly clean although very dated. The owner was very helpful. There is easy access to the beach and a hotel/pub along the road that serves food. There was no wifi. The site was perfectly adequate for one night but could do with a bit of a makeover. I would not have wanted to stay any longer than one night. It is an old military site and the pitches are a bit uneven. The prices was comparable with others we stayed at on the same trip. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

 Nice little site close to lovely beach. Pretty flat with EHUs. The shower blocks were spacious & spotless. Great showers with good pressure & plenty of hot water. Pay at the bungalow & find your own spot. A couple of hotels within 10mins walk for drinks & food. Recommended. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Liniclate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4862 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement