Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shellbay Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Benbecula > Shellbay Caravan Park Reviews

Shellbay Caravan Park
Liniclate
Benbecula
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS7 5PJ
Tel: 01870 602447
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 25
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 36 Reviews
                7/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Penwrith 1 review from this member

Found the site by chance and was allocated a space with EHU by the owner. Owners were friendly. The site struck me as a bit bleak though weather not great at the time which didnít help. Toilet and shower block very clean but a bit dated. Didnít use showers. Washing machine and tumbler there but had to see the owner before using it and I think had to be there a min of 2 nights which is a bit strange. Price very reasonable, think it was £15 for the night for myself and motorhome.

I have dogs and for walking them itís great - a lovely beach nearby and able to walk for a long way round the machar too.

Fine for the night but wouldnít rush back, it just lacked warmth somehow and not because the sun wasnít out!

WiFi available but @ £2 /hour. Thought Iíd download a film to watch @ night but after an hour only 10% done completed - signal more off than on. Most sites have free WiFi if itís offered but if paying for it I would expect a good signal so the charge is a bit cheeky.

Management response: Hi

Price for motorhome 1 person and hook-up rate including showers charged at Shellbay would be £13. Motorhome 2 people with hook-up would be £19 per night.This person was unsure as it states he thinks he paid £15.

As regards internet we clearly state that this facility is not supplied by us but through Voove services Balivanich who cover an extended area through the Uists and other islands. It's a pity this person did not inform us if he paid £2 per hour and download unsuccessful.

We have signs on site to welcome people. Pity he didn't read them! I can't understand what warmth he was looking for. Again if he had any problems we would be only too glad to help.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tinwheeler 6 reviews from this member

I had doubts about staying on Benbecula as Iíd heard it was very bleak. How wrong can you be! It was beautiful with the typical glorious Hebridean beaches yet there were shops, restaurants and hotels all within easy reach of the site.

The owner of the site was welcoming and friendly and the facilities were fine if a little tired and dark. It was very clean. The site provided everything we needed including EHU. The pitches are grass and ours was level enough. In fact, the whole island was flat.

We would stay here again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for one night with an electric hookup. The facilities were all spotlessly clean although very dated. The owner was very helpful. There is easy access to the beach and a hotel/pub along the road that serves food. There was no wifi. The site was perfectly adequate for one night but could do with a bit of a makeover. I would not have wanted to stay any longer than one night. It is an old military site and the pitches are a bit uneven. The prices was comparable with others we stayed at on the same trip.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

Nice little site close to lovely beach. Pretty flat with EHUs. The shower blocks were spacious & spotless. Great showers with good pressure & plenty of hot water. Pay at the bungalow & find your own spot. A couple of hotels within 10mins walk for drinks & food. Recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vantango 11 reviews from this member

Spent one night here. Easy to find. Only saw the owners to pay & get directions to our pitch. Flat sight with nothing but the toilet block. Large pitch. Toilet block was clean. Two shower cubicles - water hot.

Short walk to the local hotel- very friendly locals & staff.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sunny Jim 60 8 reviews from this member

This site sits below the sand dunes, with a beautiful beach less than 5 minutes walk away. Spectacular views up there. Local hotel 5 minutes walk away. Nice food and friendly staff. Toilet blocks are old and worn although they function well and are spotlessly clean. Only 1 shower available in each ( number 2 was out of action) which caused a queue in the morning, even although the site was quiet. Owners very friendly and informative.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

This is a nice enough small site situated next to the school in Liniclate, there's a lovely white sand beach just over the dunes behind the site (we sat for ages watching the seals fishing only feet from the shore) the toilet & shower facilities are very large, old but kept immaculate and the site owner was very friendly, we stopped for a pint at the hotel just up the road - quite expensive and the food didn't look too appetizing !

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bobbyg 2 reviews from this member

This was our first ever camping trip and we chose to do it in the Outer Hebrides! We stayed 2 nights in Barra, 2 in Benbecula and 2 in Stornoway.

Shellbay was easy to find by just using the satnav and postcode. As others have mentioned site is large with various remains of hardstandings around but these are not a hindrance. Toilets are fine though only one shower in each male / female unit and this hasn't to be used after 10. There is also a kitchen area to wash your dishes, use the tumble dryer and lots of information leaflets about.

Nearby is a hotel which we didn't go into but looked nice and welcoming from outside and form what I have heard, the food is lovely. A mile down the road is a Scotmid Co-Op which opens till 10pm and has a huge range of goods inc fresh bread etc.

The site has very little shelter and its close proximity to the coast means that you are susceptible to strong and blustery winds. When we were there our tent was struggling to stay up although ours is a full height tent so that could be part of the issue.

Site owner, the Buchanans, were a lovely couple and very helpful. Even rummaging through all their cupboards to find a tiny screwdriver to help me as the screw on my glasses had worked loose and my lense had fallen out.

With hindsight, and this is absolutely no reflection on the site or its owners, we would only have stayed there for one night as Benbecula itself has very little to do. The whole area is bleak, quite flat, and just filled with water and marshland. It really did feel very desolate and now I understand why some people just drive right up through Benbecula rather than stopping off.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SarahMo 1 review from this member

We recently spent a week cycling and camping on the Western Isles and chose Shell Bay House Caravan Park as a base to pitch camp for a couple of nights while we explored Benbecula and North Uist.

The facilities are basic but very clean and well maintained. The ground for camping is soft, free of rocks, stones etc. And easy to pitch upon. The kitchen has a very large washer, tumble drier and plenty of tourist pamphlets and brochures to give you ideas of where you might like to head too next. Having grown bored of the inside of our tiny tent during rain showers we're not ashamed to admit we spent some time hiding out in there.

By far the biggest appeal of Shell Bay is the proprietors. Much like many people we met on the islands they were incredibly welcoming and hospitable. They will always be best remembered for offering us a hot cup of tea and a plate full of biscuits when we returned bedraggled and soaked to the bone from a day's cycling round North Uist. You absolutely made our day!

Aside from the top-notch hospitality, and perhaps rather oddly, one of our favourite points about the site was the number of coat hooks in the showers. 5 double hooks per cubicle - brilliant!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dbcheeses 9 reviews from this member

We first visited this site in May 2008, and were made very welcome by the owners. We revisited this year and spent 7 nights here. The owners are very friendly and always on hand, although having to search out the owner to do any laundry is a bind sometimes. The facilities are basic, clean and good although only one shower was working. The beach over the dunes is spectacular and lovely to walk on. You will need hard standing pegs for any awning you wish to put up as the caravan area is compacted stones under the grass. Would we come here again? most certainly, the position between the Uists is perfect.

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3057 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019