Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Liniclate > Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) Reviews

Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)
Shell Bay House
Liniclate
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS7 5PJ
Tel: 01870602852  or  07805927657
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2021 to 25/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 48 Reviews
                8/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SarahMo 1 review from this member

 We recently spent a week cycling and camping on the Western Isles and chose Shell Bay House Caravan Park as a base to pitch camp for a couple of nights while we explored Benbecula and North Uist.

The facilities are basic but very clean and well maintained. The ground for camping is soft, free of rocks, stones etc. And easy to pitch upon. The kitchen has a very large washer, tumble drier and plenty of tourist pamphlets and brochures to give you ideas of where you might like to head too next. Having grown bored of the inside of our tiny tent during rain showers we're not ashamed to admit we spent some time hiding out in there.

By far the biggest appeal of Shell Bay is the proprietors. Much like many people we met on the islands they were incredibly welcoming and hospitable. They will always be best remembered for offering us a hot cup of tea and a plate full of biscuits when we returned bedraggled and soaked to the bone from a day's cycling round North Uist. You absolutely made our day!

Aside from the top-notch hospitality, and perhaps rather oddly, one of our favourite points about the site was the number of coat hooks in the showers. 5 double hooks per cubicle - brilliant! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dbcheeses 9 reviews from this member

 We first visited this site in May 2008, and were made very welcome by the owners. We revisited this year and spent 7 nights here. The owners are very friendly and always on hand, although having to search out the owner to do any laundry is a bind sometimes. The facilities are basic, clean and good although only one shower was working. The beach over the dunes is spectacular and lovely to walk on. You will need hard standing pegs for any awning you wish to put up as the caravan area is compacted stones under the grass. Would we come here again? most certainly, the position between the Uists is perfect. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jack Hutson 2 reviews from this member

 Quite a large grassy area and also level. We were made very welcome by the owner who lives in a house adjacent to the site.

Facilities were good and were kept clean.

Excellent location near sandy beaches. Also close to Co-operative supermarket about 1-2 miles away.

Benbecula is an excellent centre for touring from Eriskay and South Uist in the South, to North Uist and Berneray in the North, all of which can be reached by car using the causeways.

It was very windy when we were there.

Would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jim7 6 reviews from this member

 Site is OK. As others mention it is flat grass with blocks of concrete etc lying about. You can see the back of the sand dunes and fields. The beach was a bit smelly with 1000's of sand hoppers on it.

We were charged 18 a night for 2 of us, a dog and EHU. About 400 yards away is the Dark Island hotel. This has a rather grim bar round the back but it has a pleasant lounge which is dog friendly. The food here is exceptional for bar meals and very well priced. We had a couple of meals there and nearly stayed longer to go back again for the hotel.

Our main gripe with this site was that the fact that it just had 1 shower for either sex with the second one marked closed for no apparent reason! Also the lights are movement activated in the gents and turn off after about 15 seconds so even if having a pee you are left in darkness. If you want a number 2 I would take a torch! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rafling 6 reviews from this member

 Arrived 21st May departed 11th June after 3 weeks of glorious sunny weather on a site we loved and were sorry to leave! The site is on an abandoned RAF camp and still has some of the hardstanding hut bases as pitches.

The coastal sand dunes leading to a beautiful sandy beach are on one side of the site with the other sides bordered by a road, a school and the machair.

Parts of the site are somewhat uneven but most pitches are level. The toilet block is kept very clean and showers are free. Electrics are 12amp which is suitable for most users.

We were given discounted charges for our long stay. For 2 adults + electrics 1st week 18 p/night, 2nd week 17 p/n and 3rd week 16. There is no site WiFi but Internet access is available in the school library free of charge.

The site owner is a great character and very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and hopefully will return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pads 13 reviews from this member

 Oh dear. Bleak. Maybe it was the weather but really wet. However we were offered use of the fairly useless tumble drier for a mere 8. Friendly reception. Took multiple emails before I was told directions. Not impressed.

Only one shower working in both blocks. Can't use showers after 10. Shower rooms unheated.

The general site was flat and uninteresting. Parts still obviously from previous army use. We had booked in for longer but left after two nights 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fullerton 4 reviews from this member

 Gorgeous beaches, peace and quiet, total calm! okay, I'm an old hippy and normally go to Orkney for the solstice, but, the beaches in The Uists and Harris really take the breathe away.

Loads of fab beaches for wild camping - actually saw lochside view stopover with a sign for campervans + motorhomes - welcome to stay over!

Ferry from bernernay to Leverburgh (Harris) has a service point for campervans/motorhomes supplying fresh water, chemical disposal and rubbish disposal. No shopping on a Sunday, stock up on Saturday.

Fab wild camping experience 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Annmi 1 review from this member

 This campsite is open and exposed, more suited to motorhomes than camping.

There are adequate facilities and the toilets are very clean. The beach nearby is breathtaking and there are two hotels nearby, one within walking distance, for good evening meals.

Its possible to use the pool and gym during the week at the nearby school.

There is a very good supermarket about a mile and a half away. The area is quiet and peaceful, good for bike riding on the quiet single track roads and bird watching but not hiking.

It's a good base for exploring South Uist 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cabbage69 4 reviews from this member

 The owner was friendly if not keen to get paid his money which is fair enough.

The facilities were clean and the location good re access to the nearby hotel and beach.

The signs re shower closing at 10pm was a tad annoying and I couldn't understand why there would be a curfew on hot water?

There were further signs re heavy handed dish washing would not be tolerated which felt as maybe there was a hidden camera in the kitchen, not a sign to help you relax on your holiday.

Rather exposed site when the wind picked up which it did. I think it did the job in terms of offering some comforts but not an inspiring setting. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stumpythebear 13 reviews from this member

 Retreated here after 4 nights wild camping on Vatersay and Eriskay. We had intended to wild camp on Benbecula, but it was very wet and windy. The campsite was good. The facilities were excellent - a hot shower and plenty of WC's. Good electric hook-up. The campsite is flat and exposed, as is Benbecula in general. The owner was helpful and friendly. Close to a beautiful beach which is over the dunes from the campsite. No complaints and we would be happy to return. Benbecula was spectacularly beautiful when the weather improved the next day. There is a great walk up Ruabhal from the A865, which gives fantastic views of the island. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Liniclate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2648 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement