Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Liniclate > Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) Reviews

Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)
Shell Bay House
Liniclate
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS7 5PJ
Tel: 01870602852  or  07805927657
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2021 to 25/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 48 Reviews
                8/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ally b 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night only, after wild camping for a couple of nights. A nice friendly welcome from the owner who lives in the bungalow on the site.

A beach just over the dunes behind the caravan park and a pub/hotel 5 mins down the road.

The showers were great. Very clean with plenty of room and with a very handy wide shelf just outside the showering cubicle and easily reached when showering to put all your shampoo/shower gels, watch, glasses etc on. Also on the back of the door there were about 5 large hooks in different positions and levels which I really liked as I hate only having 1 hook for everything - your clothes, towel, washbag etc. As invariably an article of clothing falls to the floor and gets wet!

Benbecula is not the prettiest of islands but I suppose we didn't see it at its best as the weather was truly atrocious!

I would definitely recommend this site to anyone visiting the Uists. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zoay 6 reviews from this member

 Utilitarian in appearance but the electric hookup worked fine. Toilet blocks basic but clean. Only one shower working in both the mens' and womens' blocks, but it was warm. Many signs reminding one that the water was metered. There aren't special views from the site but it's a short walk over the dunes to a beach. There is no children's' play area.

Our main disappointment was in not being able to use the laundry facilities as they were 'not really for one night people.' It seemed (and we were only there for a day so might have got the wrong end of the stick) that you had to book a slot in advance of the day of use with the owners who ran the machines remotely from their house. We spoke to other campers who also hadn't been able to use the laundry. At 6pm it seemed the machines were closed for the night with a curtain laid across them. They advertised a local launderette by the machines. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rikaram 25 reviews from this member

 This is the nearest site if you get off the ferry at lochboisdale which is over 20 miles away by road. To be considered if you are cycle touring as I was. An alternative is to wild camp amongst the dunes just 15 minutes cycle from the ferry.

The site is flat and seemed well drained. Whist I was there it had rained for several days although not as much as it can in the Hebrides and the pitches were not churned up or muddy. It was quite windy but again not to the extent it can be in that area. A previous review mentioned the lack of shelter on the site and I could see this as a problem in a tent in more extreme weather.

The toilets are very clean and of a good standard. There are drying / washing facilities or a washing line if weather permits.There is an area with maps/ information and books to borrow. Although no shop on site there is a Coop only 10 minutes cycle away. The owners were friendly and helpful, frequently wandering around to see if you were ok.

The beach and dunes are a short walk away although the site is not the prettiest situation ( near a big modern school and road ) Overall its good value for money and gives you a chance to clean up if youve been wild camping 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Diane Barton 4 reviews from this member

 We stopped one night as we wanted to try and see as much of the islands we could on our visit, we really needed to do some washing but as previously mentioned you have to stay a min of two nights to use machines? we saved ourselves some money by going into local town were a lovely lady at the laundrette took my washing and washed dried and folded for 7.00.

The site is very basic and I think there is a lot of potential for them to improve. I spoke to a lady who stays there regular and she said there is only ever one shower working!

The area is nice and the school next door very handy for a swim. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Irishbhoy1 1 review from this member

 I stayed here with my partner she was looking for campsites in other areas and I came across this one, the site is very clean and well run the owners are really friendly and helpful.

The toilets were spotless and clean nice hot showers when you need them, the washing area is really good for campers and people with motorhomes and caravans the area itself is really nice with a white sandy beach only a 5 minute walk from the campsite there is also a pub in the hotel very close by the nearest shop is 3 miles away if you like to walk it's really nice seeing the area,

I will be back next year and I'm hoping that we can take our grandchildren as the oldest 1 had already experienced camping this year and loved it, if I had the chance to move to the island then I would, don't let bad weather get to you just enjoy the scenery as it's great,

if there was anything to recommend for the site it would be to have a brick bbq built as there plenty of space on the site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Glossopwhite 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights, the site is next to the road but the road noise is minimal.

The campsite is a 5 minute walk through the dunes to a beautiful quiet beach from which we saw lots of seals.

The toilet block is quite spacious with a separate area for washing up which also had a washing machine in it.

Flat pitches can be found but the grass is a bit uneven and bumpy in places. There are quite a few water points situated around the site and electric hook ups.

The nearest shop is about 5 minutes drive away and there is a hotel/pub a short walk from the campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

 Currently the only camping/caravan option in the southern Outer Hebrides, this very small site operates from a private home just outside Liniclate which is the second most urbanised area in the Uists.

The site is situated on the road within 2 minutes walk to the beach which overlooks South Uist. The site offers a great break from wild camping on the beaches with superb shower/toilet facilities. There is a small hotel within walking distance along with another pub and shop.

The main problem however is the constant beating wind. Whilst this is very typical of the Outer Hebrides it's my opinion that the exposure is enough to upset a family stay, even in a caravan/motorhome made even worse by the fact the Isle of Benbecula is almost totally flat.

Having said the above, I was made to feel very welcome indeed and they were very concerned to talk to me on my stay before I departed. I am heading back here in a few weeks and will keep returning, but in my backpacking storm tent only. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Khwood 18 reviews from this member

 We stayed here so we could have the luxury of EHU for a night as it was blowing a gale (some tents didn't last the night!)

It is a small site, not particularly attractive, more utilitarian.

The toilets and showers were clean and there was a small washing up area.

Lots of signs telling you what not to do, not especially welcoming.

All in all a good place to re-charge between wild camps but a bit pricey and not that special. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Worldoftofuness 15 reviews from this member

 The previous reviewer hits the nail on the head about the basic problem with this site: it has not a stick of shelter from the wind. If you're in a tent, that can be a big problem: it was very windy when I was there (though presumably not exceptional conditions by Outer Hebrides standards), so I slept very badly and could not even light the stove in the end of the tent the next morning!
The site was also a bit more expensive than others in Scotland I stayed at--at 7 (non-car single adult) not by much, but the extra cost could usefully go on some trees or at least a 3-sided shelter to hang out in.

There's a laundry/utility room with a small 'library', leaflets etc., but it closes at 10pm (along with the showers) and you can't use the plug sockets (one of the usual benefits of campsites over wild-camping is being able to charge a 'phone in the middle of nowhere).
The litany of signs--No dogs in the showers! Turn the lights off!--did make it feel like being at school sometimes (although if punters really were doing some of the things the signs tell them not to, the site owner has my sympathy). Fair play to the owner though, he didn't raise a fuss either at my cooking breakfast in the toilet block (the aforementioned stove problem) or that I was doing it after check-out time (the aforementioned lack of sleep problem).

It's worth knowing that the school next door with the sports facilities is open most evenings, often until 9pm, and you can get a swim + shower for a couple of quid.
If you're using a tent, then unless you're really set on an 'official' campsite your best option may instead be to check those opening times, then find somewhere sheltered in the sand dunes to put up your tent (I was amazed to find that some spots were so quiet you wouldn't realise there was a gale blowing around you). 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scanner 1 review from this member

 As said a good basic site with hook-ups and reasonable toilets/showers - a useful layover after wild camping elsewhere.

We paid �10/night in early Sept. And felt that was very good value.

One thing would improve the site no end and that is a little bit of shelter from the wind - just a shelter belt of trees would be enough, but then the Outer Hebrides don't really do trees do they? 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Otters Edge Campground (was Shellbay) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Liniclate      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3387 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement