Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Pavilion Drive
Staveley
Chesterfield
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S43 3WL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 96
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 58 Reviews
                9/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karl_C 6 reviews from this member

 I will start with first impressions. Wife rang to book a few weeks ago and because I had the caravan club card in my wallet and she didn't know the number, the lady on the phone was abrupt and nasty, great start. After getting all the info, wife rang back and booked with a nice gentleman on the phone.

On arrival, site is clean and very well kept, large pitches, but they do like to use all the available area's, even the grass between the hard standings, bit closer than the 6m rule!

Facilities were great and the toilet block has excellent showers (fully adjustable) very clean and tidy.

Down sides. Lady staff come across as things are too much trouble and they couldn't be bothered.

I went for gas one evening, usual scenario, 20 to five, middle of tea and it ran out. Hurriedly I disconnected the bottle, went to reception passing the 'calor gas' sign where I was told, 'we have none', sorry I said, there is a sign saying you sell it, 'we have ran out'. Oh I said, then thought why not say that in the first place, ah well I said, while I am here, I need to book another night please.

'Errrr, I am just about to cash up' (4. 51, only close at 5. 00), its card I said, 'That don't matter, Its still, errrr, go on, hurry up!'

Do they want the business I wonder?

Then over one weekend I go to the toilet (I have IBS) the block has the barrier across the door, oh no I think. I see a lady staff member in the washing up room so I ask how long the toilet block is closed for? She tells me about another 20 minutes, then with a sour retort 'There is a toilet there you know?', well actually, no I didn't know and having my close reading specs on I did not read the small sign on the door. OK, Thank you I said and swiftly entered the Toilet.

It doesn't take much to answer people politely and in a nice manner, if I was rude and nasty in my job, I would get nowhere.

Now it did rain a lot, but we are used to it. What we were not used to was wading through a large pool forming on our pitch in front of the awning door and I am not exaggerating when I say it was 2 inches deep and soaked over my trainers trying to get to the car.

I went to reception to let them know, just in case there may have been some kind of grid or soak away that required a little cleaning and was told, 'Oh yeah, that pitch does flood' then if you know, why not do something about it, or warn us when we choose from the 3 pitches available that that one floods?

And to top it off, one of the staff on site have a large dog that likes to bark at every gnat fart. First time we have heard it in 12 days, so must be new?

Great clean, well maintained site. 10 out of 10

Customer care and people skills 1 out of 10

I have only just joined the Caravan Club after a few years away, is this the sort of customer care I am to expect throughout the CC sites? 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freedom4us 41 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first weekend at this site, which is situated in what looks like an industrial estate as you drive up to it. However as you turn into the sites driveway it is a lovely surprise as you catch a glimpse of the country park.

The site has the usual cc standard facilities- excellent toilet/shower block, laundry etc. The pitches are large and well spaced. We had a serviced pitch which was great as the water, waste & tv Ariel socket were right next to the pitch, it was a hardstanding pitch but the pegs went in easily.

The country park is lovely with great walks right off site & a lake which has has an accessible path all the way round. The closest town is Staveley which has limited smaller shops & a Morrisons with a petrol station attached. Robinsons caravans is also in Staveley for all your caravan needs.

We went to the Devonshire Arms which is in Middle Hanley, 10 mins drive, its dog friendly & serves good food, although a little expensive & only open in the evenings.

We didn't have time to explore the area further so we've booked to go back. If it was a little closer we would definitely go regularly 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pevenseypeter 4 reviews from this member

 As normal for a Caravan Club site, everything is kept perfect. The site is right next to a country park which is very handy for you dog lovers and for children. However, be aware that there is a lot of traffic noise which I'm not quite sure from where it comes. Of course the site can't be blamed for that, but it does spoil it. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: S3lKP 3 reviews from this member

 Loved this site. Stayed for 10 days. Great dog walking beside the site. It was very handy for visiting the Peak District. Lots of cycle trails can be reached near by. Site and facilities where Immaculate. Great Morrisons in Staveley. Credit to the wardens. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heron4648 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely two nights but this was not long enough, beautiful site, very very clean, large pitches very well laid out, very friendly wardens, handy for everything.

If you cant be bothered to do breakfast All Inn down the road do a help yourself breakfast for £3. 99

Very nice too. Open at 8. 30 am.

Poolsbrook country park next to site.

Just off junc 29 on M1 but we were not bothered by any road noise.

Cant wait to book in again, only 1 hour journey for us. Perfect.

Kids tend to congregate around toilet block on their scooters but were no bother. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Santa cruz 20 reviews from this member

 Good site, big pitches, all pretty much level and enough grass between for some privacy. Excellent toilet/services block, good TV reception and great access, even if it is through an industrial site.

Superb walks and cycle tracks right out the gate and huge play facilities for the little ones by the lake.

Lots of good eatimg houses and don't dismiss the 'The Little Castle' just off the M1 but accessed from the back just 0. 7 from the site: Out the site gate turn right and right again onto the road and straight ahead over 2 roundabouts and can see the pub. Carvery is excellent.  


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Motobiman 7 reviews from this member

 One night transit stop enroute from Scotland to south coast.

Fine site for a touring stop as handy for the Mway.

Busy when we were there with only one free pitch and that was a bit flooded.

Good facilities.  


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigedd 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site on our shake down trip, never been before.

This site was a very pleasant surprise, it was pretty much perfect, the facilities were second to none and the pitches set out just right.

We like to cycle and though the weather was cold we managed to get out, this site is situated at the side of the trans pennine trail with great paths. We got on to the Chesterfield Canal tow path and went for about a mile the reason being we decided there and then that we would be back and save it for another trip when the weather was better.

Would I recommend this site, definitely! 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DFMids 8 reviews from this member

 Just had our first night of the year away at Poolsbrook. Lovely site, good access from the M1, wardens were very friendly. Facilities were excellent caravan club standard. The walking around the pool is very nice, although lots of children around the café and play ground (only to be expected on a Saturday afternoon) disappointed that no dogs allowed in café. The only down side on site was a bunch of young children constantly riding round on their scooters, parents obviously oblivious to the pain that can be caused by cars hitting them, would they allow them to ride round a car park! A little common sense needed I think 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Duckies 41 reviews from this member

 Lovely site set in a country park. Lovely friendly wardens. Site spotlessly clean and tidy. Clean toilet block. Peaceful and quiet site. Supermarket not to far away. Lovely lake to walk dog by. Hubby did a bit of fishing on the lakes in the country park. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chesterfield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5889 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement