Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Pavilion Drive
Staveley
Chesterfield
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S43 3WL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 96
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 58 Reviews
                9/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jimbly66 2 reviews from this member

 Very easy to find from M1. Very friendly and helpful wardens. Well laid out site and spotlessly clean. Lovely parkland surrounding the site which was ideal for walking without needing to venture out in the car to find somewhere. Plenty of places to visit locally. Would certainly pay another visit. I had an elderly relative staying with me and we were given a choice of pitches very close to the toilet block. Nothing was too much trouble from all of the wardens on duty. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fidibury 39 reviews from this member

 This was an ideal site to stay on for just the one night on route to Warwick. Located just a few minutes from J29a on the M1. It is situated right on the edge of a country park.

The site itself was very well kept with a mixture of grass and spacious hardstanding pitches.

The toilet and shower block was centrally placed but can't comment on it as it was closed as we got there for some repairs but reopened later in the day. We used our own facilities.

Tv and phone reception were good. No children's play area on site but there is one in the country park.

Literally outside of the gate are numerous walks - so great for those with dogs. We walked along the track to Staveley but that wasn't very picturesque (through an industrial estate) so turned back. Walks round the country park were lovely.

The country park is ideal for fishermen with a lovely lake. It also has a visitors centre, cafe and children's play area.

Ideal site for breaking up a long journey. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BelperRovers 3 reviews from this member

 Great site, on our doorstep, ideal for our 1st outing. Spacious pitches, some fully serviced. The facilities were 1st class and pretty much brand new when we visited. Some lovely walks in the area, straight off the site too. Ideal for dog walkers. The only problem was the amount of goose poo, which was all round the lake. However, we will definitely visit again. The wardens were very helpful and very approachable. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BlackVanMan 1 review from this member

 Picked this site because it is only 20 mins from home. Ideal because I was able to go and set up and then collect the kids & wife from work at 4.30pm. A quick stop at home and on site for 5.30pm.

Very friendly staff on check in. This is a very clean and modern site with large hard standing pitches. The toilet block was spotless. You are issued with a key for it, this is to stop people walking in from the nearby country park & using the facilities.

Great as a stop over or for a base to the peak district or Sherwood forest. Country park 5 mins walk from the site with a play park for the kids as no play area on site.

Country park also has a cafe where you can get a full english breakfast for just £3 in the morning, which was great. Can be a bit off putting if you arrive at the site through the housing estate and industrial units. But once on site you could be anywhere. Definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Blongs 49 reviews from this member

 We spent 1/2 of the Jubilee weekend at this site in 2012. The site was easy to find from the 'new' jnc on the M1. The wardens were efficient and I was checked in easily and let through the access barrier. We were advised to find a pitch and let them know the number so we could get a toilet block key and access card for the barrier.

The pitches were mostly hardstanding I would say but as they already had people on all of them we had to make do with grass. The grass pitch stood up well even with all the water that came down over the weekend.

I don't really know why the toilet block is locked down, maybe due to the walking/cycle route nearby.

Shower block was clean and tidy, everything worked. Pretty much a clone of other CC sites. The motorhome filling station was next to the toilets and was very clean and nice. The waste dump was the usual CC grates to lift.

The site was well looked after, there were a few kids about on bikes for our daughter to play with but no playpark.

The site is attached to the country park - a few walks and a lake. There is a cafe on the lakeside and an adventure park for the kids.

We didn't venture far due to the rain so can't really speak of the area.

One of my friends at work turned his nose up at us going to this site as he grew up nearby and didn't rate the area.

I spoke to a few others and they were of the same mind as me - overpriced for what it is.

It was OK, probably won't go back though. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Savanne1 23 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night after picking up our new caravan from a nearby dealer.

We thought the site was excellent with flat pitches, the majority being hardstanding. Yes you have to drive past industrial units but once on site you cannot see or hear them. As has already been mentioned the site is only a few minutes from Junction 29a of the M1. We found the site very clean, quiet and the toilet block immaculate. Other than a visit to Morrisons we didn't leave the site as it was just an overnight stop and we were too busy trying out the new caravan. There is an excellent play area 2 mins walk from the site next to the cafe in the Country park. We took some bread down to feed the ducks, beware of the swans, they will chase you if they see bread! There looked to be some nice walks round the lakes too. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GailV 10 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site to use in Derbyshire for an overnight break on a long journey going north or south.

The site itself is a short drive from junction 29a of the M1. Other than that, it has little to recommend it.

Apart from a short trip into Chesterfield or to Hardwick Hall, it is quite a long drive to anywhere else although Sherwood Forest and Edwinstowe are worth the effort.

The site is barren and windswept as it has little shelter, and is in the middle of numerous industrial units and roundabouts.

There is also the roar of traffic from the M1, and of police helicopters frequently overhead.

Take an aerial cable to use on the bollard connection as TV reception is poor otherwise with ordinary aerials. And if you book a serviced pitch, make sure to take lots of extra lengths of hose and connections for your water roll, as on some pitches the tap is too far away to make a connection! We were able to move pitches to get the 'van closer to the tap, but others were not so lucky. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Peggy2011 17 reviews from this member

 Only stayed one night here purely as a stopover to break a very long journey home from a stay at Durham Grange CC. It was a very strange approach to this site through a built up town and an industrial estate. When you reach the site the country park opens up in front of you and it’s like you’ve been transported to another place!

The wardens were helpful and friendly and we were allowed to choose our own site but we arrived at 4. 30pm on a Friday night and only a few grass pitches were still available. We felt that the pitches were a bit more cramped than at other CC sites but still very pleasant due to the well maintained facilities.

No problem here with phone signal but TV reception was quite poor. Had to jiggle with the aerial a bit to get a picture. The showers and toilets were immaculate but when are sites going to learn that 10. 30am – 12. 00 noon is not a good time to clean them. As you have to be off site and cannot arrive until 12. 00 noon this would be a much better time to do the cleaning allowing people departing to have a shower and new arrivals to get a shower once they had set up. Please take note Caravan Club!

The laundry and washing up facilities were also extremely good. The site has a very modern, eco friendly look to it and some very pleasant places to walk the dog just off site. All in all we would definitely would go back for a longer stay to explore more of what this lovely site has to offer. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bmbonanza 5 reviews from this member

 Easy access only a couple of easy miles of J29a of the M1.

All the grass pitches had been taken out of use as it was fairly wet.

Warden John was very friendly and helpful.

Very strict rules on pitching had to be with the corner of the van to the centre peg.

Toilets and showers very clean and warm.

Saw two people arrive and save pitches next to them for family/friends arriving later - not sure if the warden had agreed to this or they just did it.

Flexibility on leaving was nice - on the non service pitches there was a sign saying you could stay till 2pm.

Some noise from motorbikes and the police chopper but nothing major.

Overall a nice site with plenty of walking directly off site.

Not much for children on site but a play area for 5 pluses near the lake. The children who were on site seemed quite happy cycling round the site and playing swingball. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Eclaire 17 reviews from this member

 Visited on a busy weekend when the site was fully booked (we managed to grab a cancellation).

First impressions weren’t great, the local area is quite derelict and you come up through the industrial estate first before you get into the country park. The site looked crowded with rows of caravans and, as with most hardstanding sites, it lacked character.

Pitches were easy to get onto and standard CC size. Nearly all hardstanding gravel but a few grass pitches on the ends and edges. Trees had been planted on site but these weren’t very big so the wind could be quite strong. I think the site will feel a lot less clinical when the trees have grown and pitching areas are separated rather than just looking out over row after row of caravans. Pitches sloped slightly which was unexpected on a purpose built site.

Site was well maintained and very tidy. Toilet block was lovely – supremely clean and warm, with plenty of hand soap and loo roll at all times. 6 showers and 6 privacy cubicles in ladies. Block closed from 10. 30 – 12. 00 for cleaning.

Pot washing area was inside which was nice – again, plenty of hot water.

Country park was great for walking the dogs in although on some evenings there were teens on motorbikes racing around which did detract from it a little. Trans-Penine way and plenty of other cycle routes locally.

Morrisons in Staveley – a few minutes drive. Didn’t see a chip van on site which is unusual for a CC site as most seem to have them.

No play area on site – a large play area for older children on the country park a 2 minute walk away but younger children had to play on site with bikes and scooters which they seemed quite happy with.

Cost – this was the most expensive CC site we have stayed on and I am not sure why it is more than other sites as it has no special facilities. However it is a nice site, convenient to the M1 J29a and we would visit it again. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chesterfield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3857 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement