Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Pavilion Drive
Staveley
Chesterfield
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S43 3WL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 96
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 58 Reviews
                9/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lizzypop 5 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site. Clean, tidy and very well kept. Toilet block very nice; showers, individual wash cubicles and toilets. Free hairdryer. Showers not overly powerful but adequate and NOT on one of those annoying timer buttons! Laundry room and vegetable prep area also but didn't use either of these facilities so cannot comment other than to say, as with everything else at Poolsbrook, they looked very clean.

The pitches are a mix of either grass or hardstanding. We were on hard standing and found them very spacious (will fit caravan, awning and car side by side). We had two children with us, aged 9 and 6 and they both enjoyed riding their bikes around the site. The fact that ball games are not allowed on site I think was a plus as does mean peace and quiet for all and there is an area a few minutes walk away where such games can be played. Here you will also find the adventure playground which our kids LOVED.

Didn't try the cafe here but it is well positioned if you want to have a coffee whilst keeping an eye on the play area. Great safe walking and cycle routes all around the site. The lake was lovely with all the wildlife and seats dotted about to just sit and enjoy the view. All in all a very pleasant long weekend. Cannot think of any minus points and will definitely return.

Our motorhome is 32' long and didn't freak the wardens out (as usually happens!)They were extremely pleasant and helpful when booking and not at all over officious during our stay. The site is also very easy to find, just a couple of minutes off J29a M1, no satnav needed. So close to motorway for ease of access yet no motorway traffic noise can be heard from the site. Would recommend this site to both families and couples of all ages. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kdobson 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here the last weekend in July, site fully booked for the weekend. A mixture of grass and hardstanding pitches- we chose a grass pitch which seemed larger than the hard standing pitches.

A great site, very well laid out and the best ever toilet/shower block facilities. Spotlessly clean facilities all weekend. Ample hot water and no push button showers, free hairdryers. The shower block was closed from 10. 30 - 12 for cleaning but whilst it is closed their is a single toilet available for use. The site has a disabled toilet and a parent and toddler room which was great for washing the children. Included in the facility block was a laundry and a pot wash area - this was again spotless and was used a lot by guests.

The site does not have a play area and no ball games are allowed but children were very happy playing on scooters and bikes but were not noisy.

The shop sold the basics along with sweets and ice creams, you could pre-order newspapers. Alongside the shop is an information kiosk with menus and local attractions leaflets.

The TV signal is very poor and we had no joy from the digital ariel so invested in a TV cable from reception as each EHU socket also has a TV booster fitted - with this the TV was perfect.

Plenty of water, waste and recycling points around the site.

Next to the site is Poolsbrook country park which has a fantastic children's play area, fishing lake and a very reasonably priced cafe (open 10-4 at the weekend).

About a mile away is a Morrisons if you need to stock up on supplies.

If using Sat Nav leave at the M1 junction 29a if travelling from the south as this is much closer than using J30.

Check out time on a Sunday as advertised as 2pm but we asked if we could stay on and the wardens very kindly let us stay until 4pm.

A lovely site, nice and quiet but lots of children enjoying themselves. Fantastic facilities would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clare And Family 2 reviews from this member

 A wonderful site!

This was our return visit. Having been here in April and been so impressed. We visited Bolsover Castle and other English Heritage Sites around the area. There was so much to do we will be returning next year.

The site is set in an old coal mining area. Next to the site is a lovely country park park with a fantastic newly built children's playground. This was great for after tea when we all walked down to the lake and the children played. The equipment caters for all ages, little tots to daredevil teenagers.

The caravan club site itself is immaculately clean. There were super pitches and electric / tv hook ups with plenty of water points. It is an Eco site and great care has been taken with environmental sustainability. The wash block is lovely and warm with great showers and always very clean.

The wardens were very friendly and the children made lots of friends and played happily on the very safe, gated site. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sushutch 10 reviews from this member

 Arrived to a warm welcome; easy to find, just off M1 Junction 29A is best exit.

Quiet site which is immaculate, large serviced pitches. Wardens more than helpful and cheerful which is essential.

Facilities immaculate with what feels like underfloor heating! Exceptionally clean, music fed through the facilities which is nice while you're showering etc. Only drawback, which is minor, is the showers are not very powerful. They are large however, with plenty of space for drying. The facilities are closed for cleaning from 10.30 which, if you are like us and like a lie in, feels a little early, but hey, at least they are cleaned well.

There is a large washroom too if you have a family and wish to do a clothes wash.

The country park which is adjacent is fab for dog walking. The whole area has some great walks, in particular, Clumber park and Chatsworth are all within a decent drive.

Chesterfield is nearby and quite a nice place if you wish to do some shopping. There is a Morrisons in Stavely if you need supplies and it is within walking distance.

Overall a fab site in a reasonable area. Have been to many sites and this is one of the best. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robin54 18 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site everywhere was so clean the wardens and assistant wardens are so nice and helpful, the pitches are the usual high standard you expect from the CC.

There is some lovely walks around the site and a good fishing lake so other half says,

Just behind the site where the lake is there is a small cafe I would recommend the breakfast fantastic value

A lovely walk into Staveley where there is a market on every Friday, the people there were really friendly. Excellent position as a stop over as it's only about a mile from the motorway. Will be going back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesa 11 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site we were sorry that we had only booked this site as a 2 night break in our journey to Oxfordshire. Wardens were extremely friendly and helpful as we were delayed in leaving we phoned to say that we planned on getting there for 8pm but it was late. They were really friendly on the phone and explained where the over night stay was for us to use.

When we went to reception on the morning they were lovely. Nice level pitch and very spacious. Some pitches are hard standing, some service pitches and grass pitches so it was nice to have an option.

The toilet block is brilliant, clean plenty and plenty of facilities. A lovely baby room with a mini bath with over head shower. Also a pull down changing board which was brilliant to get our 7 month boy dried and dressed. The site is kept immaculate.

As the site is in a country park there is plenty of walking and also suitable for bike riding. There is a huge lake where you can go fishing. There is also a cafe which is excellent value for money. You can walk into Chesterfield through a well pathed walk through the park. Theres a big market on in Chesterfield every saturday with lots of stalls, this is also a big town centre so plenty of shops available.

We are already planning a return visit to this site. It is so easy to access due to how close it is to the M1, caravan club book directions are are really clear. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Slimseydy 33 reviews from this member

 First thing I noticed is the directions I got from the caravan clubs own website are incorrect, cc telling you to turn into barnham drive when it should be fan lane of the a619, barnham drive is in the middle of the local housing estate, could catch a few people out

site is well maintained to an excellent standard, toilet block is best ever,nice local walks around the country park next door,

if you like fishing you need a fishing licence for £3.50 from the local tackle shop in town,

altogether very tidy site, well worth a few days stop over, pitches are grass, hard stand & fully serviced. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Liberte1 1 review from this member

 Visited this eco site for the first time and was very impressed. Just a few minutes from the motorway and into a lovely setting. Beautiful, well-maintained site with lots to keep all the family entertained – nearby lake and canal for fishing, café run by volunteers – had a cooked breakfast Sunday morning – what a bargain!

Great walking and cycling area. We had a lovely walk along the canal into Chesterfield where there was good shopping, great market, lots of pubs and restaurants.

The wardens were very helpful and friendly and couldn’t do enough for us. There was a slight odour coming from the recycled water system but it was not a problem. We returned to this site in May and the problem had been resolved.

I give this site 10 out of 10 and will definitely be returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: P4thf1nd3r 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend break at Poolsbrook, what a beautiful site.

On arrival we were met with very friendly staff and this continued throughout. The warden also spoke to the children which I always think is nice - they so often get ignored. We were informed properly when we booked in how you are expected to position on your pitch. The shop sells a few necessities including great value ice cream.

We chose our pitch - lots of space on pitches - the best we have had so far!

The facilities were brilliant - showers are great again plenty of them, plenty of hot water, plenty of space, very clean and modern. Have to say we never experienced any funny smells.

Lots of good walkways/cycle paths. The lake is nice to sit beside and let the kids cycle around. The cafe by the lake looks very nice (although we didn't use it this time) will remember it for future visits.

Stavely is only a few minutes walk away, it has a swimming pool and gym facility. There is also a Morrisons. The town itself was a bit disappointing though.

The only thing lacking was somewhere for the kids to play ball games.

We would have liked to stay longer and will definitely return.  


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nickymoz55 23 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a great bank holiday weekend, this site is lovely, but it had the most awful smell. The site is a eco site and uses used shower water to flush the toilets, this gives off the most horrible smell. What ever time you go to the block even if its 4 in the morning you feel as though you have walked in to the toilets after someone has done a number 2 when they are ill.

On the bright side the site is really well kept with very friendly wardens, it has a kids play area very close to it with a little lake that the kids can easily ride a bike round. Morrisons is just a 2 min ride away in the car. There is also a swimming complex also a short drive away so if the weather is really bad you can still keep the kids entertained.

I will go back but use my own tolet/shower, like other cc members I spoke to, I feel this site should reduce its prices a little due to the awful smell. I hope the caravan club read this review and maybe do something about it, like mix the water with some nice smelling chemical. I give the site 2 out of 10 for site facilities as I feel no one should feel sick when try to take a shower, clean teeth etc. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Poolsbrook Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chesterfield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4546 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement