Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Mile Bank Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Whitchurch > Mile Bank Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Mile Bank Caravan And Camping Park
Mile Bank Farm
Mile Bank
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4JY
Tel: 01948 662042  or  07788 912916
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 1st March To 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Garen21 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic weekend, lovely site with great quality facilities, toilet/shower block excellent, clean and well equipped with access for all. On a hardstanding pitch with services, site is clean and tidy and very well kept. Owners are friendly and helpful and very welcoming. The site was busy but not noisy or crowded. The local town of Whitchurch has all the shops you need only 5 minutes away with ample parking, some free. 2 large supermarkets (Tesco and Sainsburys) also an Iceland. And Lidl. Have been to plenty of other sites of this size but this is the best so far. I am so taken by the site, the location and the family who run it, I have taken a seasonal pitch. Would highly recommend to all.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RacyKacy 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from Mile Bank Farm campsite after a three night stay (26th July 2012) with friends and family. In total there was 5 tents erected - 3 large Royal Bordeux tents and 2 Regatta tents, situated beneath what the site owner referred to as, 'Under the Tree'.

Don't expect anything other than a field to pitch your tent. I said that because some reviews you read people say they were in a field, and make it sound that it's a terrible thing. C'mon guys you're camping.

John and Gill the site owners are very helpful and accommodating. Gill has more to do with the admin side of things, while Farmer John takes on the role of Jack of all trades if you like.

There are several fields all with well kept grass. 2 fields mainly host caravans, while our field catered for tents. There is a new shower and toilet block which was a privilege to use compared to some campsites I have stayed.

Inside the very spacious toilet block there are 3 shower cubicles and 4 toilets, as this applies to the men also, only with urinals I'd expect (Going off what my husband told me).

There is also a portable cabin a little further away for the caravanners with the same sort of arrangement on the inside, only this one provided books on a shelf with seating if you wanted to read while waiting to wash, having said that the shower block was always empty when I went to bathe, so no queues. Also the disabled are catered for too.

Showers have running hot water, and was free to use throughout my time there. The farm has animals you can feed (Marjorie the Highland Cow, and Noah the Donkey). Penned in another barn the kids got to feed the baby lamb with a bottle, as wellas feed the goats and pigs - bread.

I believe a play area for kids is in the pipeline, but because the owners haven't long been at Mile Bank Farm, its taking time to get things prioritized, so everyone's stay is a pleasant and pleasing one for both the young and old.

In adjacent fields your neighbours are cows and bulls, which are moved around after being milked to another field, and back again when the grass is high.

No shop within in walking distance, that is if you think 1 mile is far away. Exactly 1 mile from the site, are your big stores (Tesco - Home Bargain - Lidl - Coral Bookies (just saying) chinese and kebab take aways and more.

Whitchurch town is in abundance of shops on the scenic streets. There is not much more I can say, but if you want a quiet relaxing time, then this is a good choice.

Would I camp here again? Most certainly, it has all the beautiful qualities of country life, of which many of us town people crave.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PAVCamp 2 reviews from this member

I booked the site by phone on the lunchtime of the day I was arriving. The owner was friendly and gave clear directions. The site has only been going for four years and is about a mile from Whitchurch.

I was camping (in a tent!) and the field was flat, firm and soft, not to be confused with muddy which is wasn't.

The facilities were good. There are two shower/toilet blocks, the new one is too good for a campsite, it makes camping cheating! The showers are free too so you don't have to pay 50p each time! The views in the distance were good too.

Whitchurch has a few supermarkets and pubs, cash machine etc. We were able to buy all we needed for the weekend. I plan to visit this site again which is the best recommendation I can give.

The shower pressure in the new shower block was the only down side but I spoke to the owner about this because I had read this from an earlier review. He was surprised about this and was going to have a look to see why.

I like the owner because he is looking to press forward with improvements instead of resting on his laurels.

He is setting up a recycling station to be environmentally friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rob09 8 reviews from this member

We came here and loved it. If you pitch opposite the main drive way you have a really good view of the hills. The toilets `are brilliant and are always clean. There was two toilet blocks for at the weekends when it got busy.

However we went for a day trip in to Shrophire the year after and we thought we were that close we may as well call in. IT HAD CHANGED! The main caravan field had was now what was the 'camping' field which was sloping all over the place. Also the old caravan field had turned into a field for semi-seasonal pitches and also the price had gone up from when it used to be a flat rate of £20 per night they had made it so that it was all categorised so that for each item you paid more. Whilst we were in the area we decided to go and have a look at a site called Green Lane Farm which was in Press, South Whitchurch an we went there instead. We have been back to Green Lane Farm three times now and we will be returning again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kerryo231 8 reviews from this member

Stayed at Mile Bank over the August Bank holiday weekend. Nice clean site, good shower block/toilets - only minor downside is that the washroom for washing up is in the ladies toilets (separate room) which meant the men folk couldn't do their fair share!

Fairly flat site but does have some gentle slopes. We were given a large area on arrival for our 3 tents and were not crammed in like at other sites over busy periods.

Helpful and friendly owners. Big plus for the children is the many animals on site, ours loved feeding and stroking them.

Site is about a 20 min walk into Whitchurch down hill - be warned it takes a little longer going back up! Would return to the site again!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KarenLA 1 review from this member

We booked last minute. On arrival we were disappointed to be on an field, I thought I had booked a hard standing pitch, may be a misunderstanding until we spoke to a fellow camper who thought the same. Would advise to clarify this before booking.

The website promotes hardstanding pitches and pictures of well laid pitches. The new shower block was clean but the water ran either too hot or too cold. When it was busy, I tried 4 showers before I found one which the water ran out and not down the back wall. We were unable to shower the children in them.

Also a resident was complaining about the state of the shower block and a sign was put up for the w/e stopping children 16 and under using them unsupervised, may be a one off. There are dirt paths, not gravel so the floors got quite dirty.

The one day I used the washing up facilities so we could shower the children in the van, the outside area was unkempt and the water cold. Having said this, the owners were helpful and it was a good base for days out.

They are making improvements as they are relatively new. It was a quiet time for kids so none for ours to play with. Improvements such as general appearance and tidiness, clearing weeds/nettles away from gates and laying gravel paths, also a play area for kids.

The temperature of water in the showers needs looking at.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul+chloe 1 review from this member

Just got back from camping at mile bank farm. We had 1 four person tent and were given the option to pitch our tent at any location in the field.

On arrival everyone was very friendly and accommodating, we were staying in the area as attending a wedding close by and the camp site facilities provided everything we needed to get ready. The new toilet and shower block were very clean and spacious and the owners were very helpful, even going as far as searching for a belt as we had forgotten to bring one for our suit!

A lovely location with plenty of fresh air which was just what we needed after the wedding. A special thanks to Andy & Sue (permanent pitch) for their generosity with the tea, toast and taxi service! :)

All in all we would highly recommend staying at mile bank farm and would without a doubt stay again when next in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jacquelinesara 1 review from this member

We decided to go camping at the last minute and a friend of ours we were camping with found this on the net.

We just turned up without booking and were greeted by the owner himself. We had a pitch no problem and with electric hook up available. What I liked about this campsite was it felt safe.

We have a 5 year old boy and our friends also had children. The shower block even though basic was absolutely spotless and even had toiletries that you could use. Later on in the evening the owner came over to chat with us and the family was also really friendly.

The farm was also home to a resident donkey and cow, which the kids loved! There is a residential part as well with caravans and this is also kept immaculate!

Even though this campsite is not near the coast, it has lovely rural views. We visited Hawkstone Park while we were there as it is only a 10 minute drive away.

It is also only a 5 minute drive to the local shops such as Tesco and Iceland and has a small shopping complex with some nice arcades. It was also excellent value for money,

I will definitely be going back to this campsite again!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pitch 5 reviews from this member

This site have friendly and helpful owners, they let us use their hoover for our vac bag. They also have three pigs that beg for you. They also have a donkey.

The facilities were clean and spacious. They also have a disabled toilet/ shower as well which we were able to use when quiet.

We went there for a weekend, just the job to wind down after a busy time at work. There are plenty of shops all varied.

The town is near and it is a lovely walk there. The Black Bear is a very friendly pub with good food.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markedwardcarr 1 review from this member

First camping trip for many years so tried this little site as it was only an hour away.

Well the weather was average, very sunny on the day I was packing up, typical !

The pitching field was very good and generally flat with a slope in one corner, but since there was only a few tents that was not a problem.

The toilets and shower facilities are rather old. Two very old portacabins that are past their date. The water in the shower is either too hot or very cold, and the washing up facilities are few poor.

The are cleaned regularly though !

They have also started to build a toilet facility.

There is not a lot for children to-do except play in a big mud pile at the end of the field (strange that's all the kids remember about the trip, and the animals).

Owners are very friendly, I would go back again for a short break when they have the new shower and toilet facilities.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Whitchurch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2038 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019