Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mile Bank Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Whitchurch > Mile Bank Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Mile Bank Caravan And Camping Park
Mile Bank Farm
Mile Bank
Whitchurch
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY13 4JY
Tel: 01948 662042  or  07788 912916
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 1st March To 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John+Kazza 6 reviews from this member

Arrived Tuesday and booked for 4 nights. Welcomed by Gill and John on arrival. Given a choice of pitches and free to choose. Freshly mown fields and grass collected and fed to the animals (no grass in our tent then).

Shown around site by John and toilets / shower facilities shown to us. Outside washing facilities (though we didn't need). Shower / toilet block are 2 portaloos. Gents with 4 shower cubicles, changing / drying area still behind doors. Heater, extractor fan and 2 sinks with mirrors and paper towels for drying. Both were cleaned around 0530 / 0600 hrs each morning and am sure were attended too during the day as always spotless and fresh.

The foundations have been laid for the new toilet / shower block. The views from our pitch were superb. We had EHU and were only 30' away from the nearest supply of drinking water.

The animals kept us entertained, including sheep, goats, cows, a donkey, the most beautiful bull, couple of ponies, pigs the list goes on. Breakfasts / home cooking were also offered to all (again we didn't try as we were more than stocked).

Nicely located for exploring. We took in the canals, Nantwich, Shrewsbury and Chester Zoo. Would highly recommend and will be returning in the coming months

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alandw 3 reviews from this member

We were in a touring caravan.

This camp site was not what we expected. The toilet and shower facilities are dire being 2 very old portaloos and the showers went hot and cold. The washing up facilities where outside and only very basic. The waste water goes down the same toilet as the grey water.

The field we were put in was littered with sheep droppings which had a tendency, if you where not careful, to end up in your caravan. The price for this was 21 per night and was not what we agreed upon when booking, even tried to charge us for an extra night.

Other than that the position was fine very near to Whitchurch and easy drives to Nantwich and the lovely city of Chester. Wait until they get better facilities.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Les n Joyce 6 reviews from this member

Well, here we still are after a year !

Find everything is great and we just would not be anywhere else at the moment.

Seasonal pitch has really worked well for us and we just keep coming back, with a 25 minute stroll to the pubs/shops of town!

Owners just can,t be more obliging and really make us feel as though we belong, its just great !

Looking forward to the new toilet facility that is well under way, and I cannot see us going for a good while yet.There is a waiting list for seasonal pitches !

We are happy campers !

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Poundy 2 reviews from this member

Having anticipated a wonderful place after reading the reviews, I have to say we were very disappointed with this place. Have to disagree with some of the other reviews. We found the site to be rather unkempt. The facilities for the amount of 23 per night for a tent with hook up is very expensive and there are no facilities compared to many other sites.

The showers/toilet, although kept very clean, are in a portable cabin and the washing up area is just a sink with no cover what-so-ever, good job the weather was good.

On Saturday, a tipper truck visited the site at least 3-4 times to dump sand / soil on an ever expanding mound which was in our view. Electric hook ups were surrounded by stingers. The tent site is on a slope, so if your unlucky enough to get there late, you'll be slipping off your blow-up bed!

On the plus side, the owners were very friendly and it was a relaxing atmosphere and the site did feel safe. The kids loved the farm animals. However, we do feel the price does not reflect the facilities and general standard of the place and we won't be visiting again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy1 6 reviews from this member

Initial impressions were that it was clean, well maintained and very very friendly.

We were met by the owner and his son and shown to our pitch with electric.

This place is so relaxing, I opened my tent in the morning to see rolling hills, it was just what the doctor ordered.

Sheep, goats, cats with kittens, a cow, pigs and a lovely donkey - all the donkey needed was a straw hat with her ears poking through. The kids loved it.

The toilet, showers and hand basin facilities were adequate in the form of two portable cabins. At the rear of these they have a large sink to wash your crocks. They have just got the foundations in for a new toilet/shower block. This should be up and running by next year (2011).

We took a trip in to Whitchurch, no problems parking. It's a pretty little village with old buildings and plenty of pubs. Well worth a visit.

Called at the chippy for tea. There's a Lidl and a Tesco so no problems with stocking up with food.

Would I go back? Most definitely. Would I recommend it? Yes I would.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Denise35 2 reviews from this member

Very warm welcome from the owners.

The tent field was a little muddy but after the rain from the previous few days it was hardly a surprise. Set up on a flat piece next to the entrance. We didn't need EHU but the field was newly equipped if required.

The toilet block was kept very clean and heated though the showers and tap water could have stayed hotter longer. They are currently housed in porta cabins but foundations have been laid for a new brick built toilet block. There is one sink for dish washing which is on the outside of the toilet block.

Dogs are very welcome and they have their very own field which you can let them off their lead to run free, with out fear of escape.

There is no children's play area but plenty of room for them to roam plus lots of different farm animals including a crazy donkey :), sheep and pigs.

The owners are excellent hosts and you can even buy home made cakes (recommended), breakfast, tea and coffee and many other items from the main house.

We have just tried to book again for the end of May but the site is fully booked. :(

Pleasant, comfy and very friendly!

We will be using the site for most of our weekend trips in the future.:)

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andcow 5 reviews from this member

Spent the first May bank hol weekend here in a FC and a tent. The tent field was a little worse for wear with ruts in the grass, bare patches that were muddy and the whole tent field on quite a slope. More rain led to large puddles and more mud.

Plenty of EHU, toilets, though housed in a porta cabin still, were warm and clean, though only one place to wash up and this was outside. Good price as paid per unit with, or without EHU, with no charge for extras such as awnings, children, dogs etc.

Friendly, helpful owners and lots of farm animals about for younger children to see. Sort the drainage and this would be a lovely site.

PS Caravans were better serviced on two different fields with hardstanding.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wee3jessies 3 reviews from this member

What a hidden gem!

We were greeted by John who runs the site with his wife Gill & family, he showed us our pitch, offered help ( even with a broken shoulder! ) and chatted to us about his plans for the site over the next year ( sounds fab and we will be back ).

Shannon disappeared to look around, and only returned all weekend for meals and bed! She made fabulous friends with John & Gill's children, and all of the lovely animals.

The facilities are spotless and always warm. Currently 2 toilets and 4 showers in each of the two blocks. Washing up area, and an emptying point for Portaloos. Electric Hook up available for those who need it

Fresh eggs and homemade cakes were available at reception, as were B&B facilities for those who prefer home comforts!

John & Gill are full of great information on the local area, market days, where to eat out etc. Whitchurch town centre only a few minutes away by car or perhaps 10 minutes walk and has lots of shops, Boots,Tesco, Argos, WHSmith etc and a number of friendly pubs!

We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kosb2446 5 reviews from this member

This site is well situated as most major towns and cites are only one hours drive away.The site is a new site so they do not have a toilet block yet but there is two portacabins witch have four showers and two toilets and two hand basins in each and they are kept clean.John the owner was telling me the plans that he has for the future.So I would recommend this site as it is not only value for money but a very good site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pocoyo 8 reviews from this member

We visited this site the week before the summer bank holiday. Although it hasn't been open for long, the facilities are better than many long established sites I have visited and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. The site fees were very reasonable too.

The toilets/showers are in a portacabin but they are very clean and perfectly adequate. Although there is no children's playground our children had great fun looking at the animals on the farm and flying their kite in the field. We can recommend the Swan at Marbury; they serve a first class Sunday lunch.

We would definitely visit this site again.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Whitchurch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019